Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treviso v Leinster 15/09/2012 18.05 WEB ONLY

• 14-09-2012 11:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Leinster return to the scene of what many people regarded as one of their lowest points in league rugby; a 29-13 defeat in the early days of the Joe Schmidt regime. Normal service has been resumed in the interim, with Leinster winning the last three games.

Treviso
    15McLean
    14Gori
    13Benvenuti
    12Sgarbi
    11Nitoglia
    10DiBernardo
    9Botes
    8Barbieri
    7Zanni
    6Favaro
    5VanZyl
    4Minto
    3Rouyet
    2Ghiraldini
    1DeMarchi

Just for info, that Treviso team shows 14 changes from the XV that took the field against Munster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Leinster return to the scene of what many people regarded as one of their lowest points in league rugby; a 29-13 defeat in the early days of the Joe Schmidt regime. Normal service has been resumed in the interim, with Leinster winning the last three games.

Treviso
    15McLean
    14Gori
    13Benvenuti
    12Sgarbi
    11Nitoglia
    10DiBernardo
    9Botes
    8Barbieri
    7Zanni
    6Favaro
    5VanZyl
    4Minto
    3Rouyet
    2Ghiraldini
    1DeMarchi

how do ppl think they will do will probably come down to the packs i think has the leinster team been named yet would think cullen and browne will start anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

LEINSTER:
    15: Ian Madigan
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Eoin Reddan
    1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Damian Browne
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Sean Cronin
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Jamie Hagan
    19: Leo Cullen
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: John Cooney
    22: Noel Reid
    23: Isa Nacewa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

LEINSTER:

15: Ian Madigan
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Eoin Reddan

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Damian Browne
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Sean Cronin
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Jamie Hagan
    19: Leo Cullen
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: John Cooney
    22: Noel Reid
    23: Isa Nacewa

REFEREE: Ian Davies (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Carlo Damasco, Stefano Traversi (both FIR), TMO: Stefano Marrama (FIR)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Madigan at 15?

Is Joe gone Mad-again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Wow, plenty of talking points in that Leinster team anyway. The most obvious being the full-back; Joe's talk of getting Madigan game time at 12 or 15 was no idle boast but it could prove to be a master-stroke. Madigan's strength is in his ability to read what's in front of him and attack the line, could be a great fit at full-back while he develops his overall game management needed for out-half.Plenty of fire-power coming back into the team with BOD, McFadden, Reddan, Sexton, Ross, McLaughlin and Heaslip all making their seasonal debuts. Somewhat disappointed to see Roux absent, I'd have liked to see him get more game time but the partnership of Browne and Toner won't lack physical grunt in what is bound to be a hard test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

strong team especially in the pack probably a must given the treviso pack with the likes of zanni,van zyl,Barbieri in it will be a close match leinster by 5-7 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Wow, plenty of talking points in that Leinster team anyway. The most obvious being the full-back; Joe's talk of getting Madigan game time at 12 or 15 was no idle boast but it could prove to be a master-stroke. Madigan's strength is in his ability to read what's in front of him and attack the line, could be a great fit at full-back while he develops his overall game management needed for out-half.Plenty of fire-power coming back into the team with BOD, McFadden, Reddan, Sexton, Ross, McLaughlin and Heaslip all making their seasonal debuts. Somewhat disappointed to see Roux absent, I'd have liked to see him get more game time but the partnership of Browne and Toner won't lack physical grunt in what is bound to be a hard test.

Would have expected Roux on the bench ahead of Cullen. I would have thought we would be using Leo as sparingly as possible this season until we need him in the Heineken Cup etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Certainly an interesting line up for Leinster. Looking forward particularly to seeing Madigan joining the attacking line from 15. That back three will certainly be an interesting watch, if Carr fires up his engine.

EDIT: Agree with respect to Roux. I liked what I saw last Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Hersheys wrote: »
    Madigan at 15?

Is Joe gone Mad-again?

Madigan is a 15 by trade. He played 10 irregularly until the last 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

Madigan at 15 is a little odd really. At least at 10 he's only behind Sexton, at 15 he's got Kearney and Nacewa to deal with. It looks a little like Joe's just trying to find a place for him no matter where. I'd prefer to have seen him at 12 to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I think Schmidt is being very clever with his second row selections. We dont really have star second rows like Munster so what he is doing is creating competition for places by giving gametime to all our options and bringing them all up to a miniumum standard. Cullen,Toner, Roux and Browne will all be rotated and be played on a horses for courses basis.

And Madigan at 15? Well, like the Hiroshimans on 6th August 1945, I did not see that one coming...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Wasn't too impressed with Roux when I saw him personally. He looked powerful, but that's about it. Anonymous in the line-out and in attack, plus he had a couple of dopey knock ons. Plus, he's only here for a year so you don't wan't to invest too much time in him in case he decides not to stay. I was more impressed with Denton. Looked very athletic and comfortable with ball i hand.

I'm looking forward to seeing Conway around O'Driscoll, McFadden and Sexton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

ray jay wrote: »
    Madigan at 15 is a little odd really. At least at 10 he's only behind Sexton, at 15 he's got Kearney and Nacewa to deal with. It looks a little like Joe's just trying to find a place for him no matter where. I'd prefer to have seen him at 12 to be honest.

This I reckon is a one off. He wants to start Sexton and wants to rest Nacewa plus Kearney obviously isn't ready. Madigan is playing well and will slot nicely into 15 for this one game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Agreed Quint. I don't think it's a viable long-term move for Madigan. There are already two outstanding candidates to play there - at least at 10 there's only one in front of him!

I think it reflects a lack of outside backs available as much as anything else.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

ray jay wrote: »

I don't think Madigan has any kind of a future at 12. He's a bit small and didn't look great there against Glasgow last year. I don't think there is any harm in having the option of playing him at 15 available to us, makes him more valuable on the bench for HEC games.

Excited about this game now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Maybe Joe has Madigan on his fantasy team as a winger and doesn't want the website to change him to 10 so figured he would start him in the three quarters to keep them happy.

In any case it's exciting!

Shame to see Marshall not make the bench for this leg, then again it'd be a shame if Murphy didn't! Pumped for this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Madigan's played a lot of rugby at 15, no issues there. Is there an A match scheduled? Roux wont be allowed play with a club as a NIQ player so i'd have expected him to get game exposure.

no sign of Denton at all.

any word on Flanagan's injury?

It creates the nice option in attack, if we're in the middle of the pitch, of throwing Madigan to one side and Sexton to the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeh Mads is a 15 by trade, but I don't think I can recall him starting there in a blue shirt... Should be interesting. We need to beat Treviso up front first before we can wonder how that backline will pan out. That backrow has a nice balance to it - Heaslip looked in tiptop shape last week as waterboy, hopefully he can convert his form. :)

I'm also excited about seeing Ferg back at 12... I reckon the first 40 we'll see plenty of rustiness in that midfield but I'm hoping in the second half we get some nice plays coming out of that area....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

That's a strong side we're putting out. Pack is very solid so I'd be happy enough with our set pieces. Madigan at 15 is certainly a talking point, but it will be good to see how he can get on there. My only concern is Carr. I understand giving Isa a rest but Carr has been poor so far and hasn't really improved over the last 12 months. He's bloody lucky to be there at all.

Thankfully the middle of the park is looking a lot more secure this week. For whatever rustiness or issues we may see (particularly with Ferg) it's defensively a step up from the last 2 weeks. I'd fancy us to win this one, but not by much. Pity it's not being televised properly. Anyone know if you can get SportItalia on Sky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

If Madigan at 15 can play the Paul Warwick role (creative 'third' centre in attack) then it could be a great move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭chancer12

Really exciting looking side, although I think we miss Leo as captain, he's great at communicating with the ref and I feel he doesn't get enough credit for that. Although with BOD on the pitch, I don't think it will be a problem. Howevere, despite having the captain's armband so often before I don't think Jamie ever rises to the occasion. Anyway, I suppose its just a little moan, as other posters said am looking forward to see Conway outside BOD. Only fly on the ointment is Carr.

chancer12 wrote: »
    Really exciting looking side, although I think we miss Leo as captain, he's great at communicating with the ref and I feel he doesn't get enough credit for that. Although with BOD on the pitch, I don't think it will be a problem. Howevere, despite having the captain's armband so often before I don't think Jamie ever rises to the occasion.

I think he's underrated. He's a calm guy on the pitch and generally a fairly clear thinker and good speaker with the referee. He's won every game he's ever captained for Leinster also which isn't a bad record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Anybody know if any pub will be showing this from Italian TV? Wouldn't mind a few pints while watching it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

What does WEB ONLY mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Grimebox wrote: »
    What does WEB ONLY mean?

It will only be shown on the tg4 website live stream and is not been televised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I think Madigan at 15 is just going to be thing to give more cover at that position. While we have two high quality 15s our third and fourth choice 15 is out injured. Having more cover at that position isn't a bad thing. 10 will obviously be his main position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Podge_irl wrote: »
    He's a bit small and didn't look great there against Glasgow last year.

He's 5'11". Taller than BOD and the same height as D'arcy. He looks smaller on tv than in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

So much love for this team. McFadden at 12 with Sexton inside and O'Driscoll outside him, Heaslip as captain, and most of all, Madigan at 15!

Not only is that a great team, but the bench is top quality also. We're back in business now lads. Come on George North, try and slap us in the face again.

As mentioned by Thomond, I was a major fan of Warwick in the 15 jersey, added an entire new dimension to that Munster back line. With all due respect, I think this Leinster backline doesn't have the flaws of that Munster one, and I think Madigan could really flourish there. I didn't realise he learnt his trade there, but he played there for the A's a few times when McKinley was around, but thought that was more fitting both in. With his turn of pace, eye for a gap and distribution coupled with more time and space when on the ball, it will be an interesting experiment. I would still like to see him tested at 9 though (I just can't let it go!!)

I hope we can put in a very positive display and try and run up a score against a good and always improving Treviso side and really hit the ground running from here.

What's the craic with the Kearney bro's, can't remember if they're injured or not...

[Jackass] wrote: »
    What's the craic with the Kearney bro's, can't remember if they're injured or not...
    Rob is fine just a little behind getting ready after his pre-season

Dae had an elective hip surgery in june and should be ready in November or december

I wouldn't say he learnt his trade at 15, unless he played there when he was in Willow Park. He played most of his secondary school rugby at out-half. Although I know he represented Ireland u-20 at fullback. But that was to accommodate McKinley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Anyone have a link to the TG4 live stream?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Sindri wrote: »

Ditto. I can't find it.

Oops this is on tomorrow night

Hagz wrote: »
    I wouldn't say he learnt his trade at 15, unless he played there when he was in Willow Park. He played most of his secondary school rugby at out-half. Although I know he represented Ireland u-20 at fullback. But that was to accommodate McKinley.

He played there in schools but all other levels he was moved to 15 for the most part. He was on the bench or at 15 for the Irish schools team to accommodate Andrew Burke. At U20 level McKinley and Burke were preferred but Madigan got a couple of starts when Burke was out as McKinley was a stronger option to play in the centre and Dave Kearney was at 15. He played the vast majority of his AIL rugby at 15 with James Power at 10 (who he probably played with in Blackrock on a few occasions). The majority of his representative and senior level coaching would have come at full back. Nice to have someone that can cover both roles. Seems most countries aside from us have outhalves that can cover other positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

A lot of these players will be very rusty, so I wouldn't expect a classic performance, would be happy with a win in any shape or form. Then again I thought the same about Cronin coming back so soon last week and he was excellent, so who knows.

Madigan and McFadden on the Irish bench covering the entire backline 10-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

I think if Madigan can prove his worth at 15, it will be a huge bonus for him and Leinster (and Ireland?) versatility is vital for backs these days.

And plenty of young players have gotten their first big day out due to covering a position. Remember D'arce playing on the wing, Rob on the wing and even Sexton played 15 in his early days too! So you never know, Madigan may end up starting his first "big" game at 15 if he shows himself capable!

Sindri wrote: »
    Grimebox wrote: »
    Ditto. I can't find it.

Oops this is on tomorrow night

http://www.tg4.ie/en/tg4-player/tg4-player.html

It's tempermental and unreliable though. :/

The game will be up there when it's on. It's up there now, but nothing happens when you click it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Like the look of the team. Would think Carr is getting close to last chance at this stage....he has been muck since he arrived.

Not sure if Joe sees something in him because he has had loads of chances but never delivered. I would think a poor game and with players returning he will start to see less and less of 1st team action. I wonder would he be out there is D Kearney wasn't injured?

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Like the look of the team. Would think Carr is getting close to last chance at this stage....he has been muck since he arrived.

Not sure if Joe sees something in him because he has had loads of chances but never delivered. I would think a poor game and with players returning he will start to see less and less of 1st team action. I wonder would he be out there is D Kearney wasn't injured?

At one point last season contract negotiations were stalling and then word came from the medical staff, David should have an elective surgery at the end of the season ruling him out till November and Luke needs a surgery that could rule him out till January and Carr got an offer that made him stay.

If Dave Kearney or Luke Fitzgerald were around then I don't think Carr would have got a sniff.

Considering my hope and expectations for Carr when he came back vs how he's performed, it has been quite disappointing. I think it would do him a diservice to say he's been muck though.

Certainly he's not above Pro12 standard though, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭chancer12

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Considering my hope and expectations for Carr when he came back vs how he's performed, it has been quite disappointing. I think it would do him a diservice to say he's been muck though.

Certainly he's not above Pro12 standard though, unfortunately.

He's probably the only player who hasn't developed under Schmidt. Only ever scores against a weak opposition and most frustratingly is always out of position. Isa is constantly telling him where to go, saw Leo doing the same as well last week. Mads will have enough to do playing out of position without having to keep a winger in line. Difference between Conway and himself is spectacular. Come back Luke and Kearney.

Anyone reckon any pubs in the Dublin 1 area will have this via Sportsitalia? Don't fancy sitting in on a saturday staring a computer screen all day...

Thinking the same, rattling my brains but can't think of anywhere that would be any more certain than a long shot.

Maybe woolshed on parnell st or that place around the corner on Cathal Buragh st. / Thomas st., just off upper O'Connell st., next store to the Best Western. It's at the turn across O'Connell St. from Dr. Quarkies and the Garda station, on the other side of the street.

Worth a shot, but wouldn't hold my breath!

Might try Kileys, or even email the OLSC to see if they could get BBC Alba, S4C and SportsItalia in the Laighan Out so people have a place to go and drink whilst watching away games in future...

Screw it. Sent them an email about the Laighann out, maybe one day they'll show all away games there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭geekington

Had a look on the Woolshed website and the game is advertised - I know they have Sports Italia but I don't want to guarantee anything!

geekington wrote: »
    Had a look on the Woolshed website and the game is advertised - I know they have Sports Italia but I don't want to guarantee anything!

I'll pop in after connacht game and find out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I think saying Madigan is a 15 by trade is a little inaccurate. Hes pla,ed lots of rugby there but AFAIK he definitely sees himself as a 10.

Think so too. As I said before, he played there when McKinley was around to incorporate both of them into the A team, might be wrong on this, but I don't think he's ever played senior rugby there and was certainly vying for the 10 spot in the A team and Irish U20 teams when he played there.