Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the tallest hunting tale u ever heard?

• 12-09-2012 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭

U hear some cracking good tales from fellas who hunt, the best ones are always lies, wondered what the best you've all heard is?

Once a fella at a long pheasent competition told me he went down the fields behind his house and shot himself a huge cock pheasant he had his eye on for a while, placing the bird in his game bag, apparantly stone dead, he made for home. Leaving the game bag in the kitchen he went to wash up when he heard a scream from his mam in the kitchen, he ran to investigate to find the game bag was dancin round the room. He caught hold of it, opening it gingerly only for the resurrected cock to jump out and run around the kitchen, his mam ran screaming out the door into the yard only for the bird to follow her. As soon as it got outside it took flight crowing and was never seen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Two guys heading out shooting,driving up this lonely road when the passenger says to the driver "pull over,pull over"
    With that he jumps out with the rifle and shoots a horse in the adjacent field.

"Jesus" says the driver,"why did you do that"
    "Ah,the owner is a miserable auld b****x and wouldn't give me permission to shoot the land"
    "Oh right"says the driver and he jumps out and shoots a bullock.
    "That'll teach him" says the driver.

Turns out the passenger had been asked by the farmer to put the horse down as a favour.

True story;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Vizzy wrote: »
    Two guys heading out shooting,driving up this lonely road when the passenger says to the driver "pull over,pull over"
    With that he jumps out with the rifle and shoots a horse in the adjacent field.

"Jesus" says the driver,"why did you do that"
    "Ah,the owner is a miserable auld b****x and wouldn't give me permission to shoot the land"
    "Oh right"says the driver and he jumps out and shoots a bullock.
    "That'll teach him" says the driver.

Turns out the passenger had been asked by the farmer to put the horse down as a favour.

True story;)

Are ya sure tis true? sounds very similar to this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

"Lamping is illegal", "there will be a big clamp down on that because so and so's crowd shot a cow/horse last week thinking they were the eyes of a fox". Wont even start on some of the ones ive heard of from the cops over the years "you wont get a license till your 18"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Think i posted this before before a lad that shot a "Trophy" stag at over 900 yards through the heart. When he went to get the animal there was a second "Trophy" stag dead behind the first.

Turns out when he shot the first one in the heart/lung the bullet passed through him, and struck another sitting behind the one he shot first.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjWzFiEFz2dpJ67w95IMxaEHwvsiSBbWWa2ymTmoHbCoKMDUYb-A
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Patsat,
    I was wondering how long it would be before someone would compare it to the Pat Shortt sketch.
    Where do you think he got it ?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

two lads trying to outlie eachother one day and one of them said that he canoed up niagra falls,
    and the other lad said i saw ya who's the biggest liar owa those two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Ezridax wrote: »
    Think i posted this before before a lad that shot a "Trophy" stag at over 900 yards through the heart. When he went to get the animal there was a second "Trophy" stag dead behind the first.

Turns out when he shot the first one in the heart/lung the bullet passed through him, and struck another sitting behind the one he shot first.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjWzFiEFz2dpJ67w95IMxaEHwvsiSBbWWa2ymTmoHbCoKMDUYb-A

well now I never said they were stags.....two fallow hinds maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

snipe02 wrote: »
    two lads trying to outlie eachother one day and one of them said that he canoed up niagra falls,
    and the other lad said i saw ya who's the biggest liar owa those two

Very good:D I think the first lad is the second biggest liar I ever heard of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Vizzy wrote: »
    Patsat,
    I was wondering how long it would be before someone would compare it to the Pat Shortt sketch.
    Where do you think he got it ?:)
    heard that one long before the man about dog film must have come from somewhere

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

4gun wrote: »
    well now I never said they were stags.....two fallow hinds maybe
    Still a hell of shot ............................................. well done.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

snipe02 wrote: »
    heard that one long before the man about dog film must have come from somewhere
    Same here snipe02 but I think that it was just made up though.

Heres another gem though;

Two guys go out for a shot in a blue nissan micra and they spot a pheasant in a field(in season but not on "club ground") so the passenger gets out with the dog and the driver says I'll go up the road and turn and meet ya back here in 2 minutes.
    Passenger shoots the bird, dog retrieves and then the guy jumps out of the field.
    Along comes the micra so your man lobs the dog into the back seat,jumps into the passenger seat and says "job done,drive on"
    Then he spots his pal approaching in another blue micra.

He was after jumping into an identical car(with sh***y wellies,a wet dog and a dead pheasant) belonging to an elderly woman.
    That is genuinely a true story.

A Cavan man had a cousin over from England and brought him shooting. The English lad like a bet but the Cavan man being from Cavan didnt like to part with cash at any odds. So the Cavan man proposed that whatever one lad shot the other would have to carry. The day went well for the Briton, he shot geese, ducks and pheasant, in no time the Cavan man was weighed down carrying game and wildfowl, however his Cavan cousin was not capable of hitting a bus if it was comin towards him(and probably to tight to part with lead). That was until they entered a yard and the Cavan man fired a shot into a barn, there was a squeel and the sound of a heavy thud, the Brit looked into the barn to see a huge pig lying stone dead, now says the Cavan man, 'you carry that'. The Brit learned on returning home that his cousin had been fattening that sow for that sometime but had no way arranged of getting the carcass back to his house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

A mate of mine once told me that he took the head clean off a bird that he "shouldn't have been shooting" at 800 yards with his .223!!!!!! After I told him to stop talking out of his arse he got quite offended and showed me the spot where he was standing and the rock that the alleged bird was perched. I smugly took out my rangefinder and measured it out to be bang on 280 yards:-D He told me that lasers aren't accurate and he was shooting long enough to judge any distance out to 1000 yards, which he regularly shoots foxes at with the same rifle!!! Just for the record he has a tasco 6×42 scope on it:-D
    you gotta love some people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

I went too look at a german pointer pup i was interested in buying a few years back i asked the owner is the mother any good at retrieveing off water he told me he stopped letting the mother retrieve off water cause 1 day he threw the dummy into the river for the bitch to retrieve when the bitch was swimming out for the dummy a duck swam by the pointer set the duck in the middle of the river and sank to the bottom and he had to swim in and save the bitch :pthis i was told by a well respected hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

A well know lad in our club once had a pointer, that was that good, that whilst at point, it lifted it's right paw if it was a cock, and it's left if it was a hen!FACT!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

A lad swore to me that he shot a 56 inch cock pheasant!!
    Must've been one of those Reeves fellas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Johnny.G

I was once told by a respected hunter that he shot a 60 inch pheasant but in doing so he also said the round passed through a bulls nose in what he described as the bridge of his nose and the round supposedly went on to hit a woodcock.
    When I told him he was talking sh1t he drove me out to his farm to show me the bull, little did he know that my cousin was a vet.My cousin had pierced the bulls nose for a ring but was still waiting for the ring, guess which hole in the bulls nose he showed me ,the perfectly round hole that was hardly even an hour old.
    He went on to deny my theory.

Some people were actually designed to lie for our amusement or so I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

a lad once told me that one time he was driving home from the sea side when he seen a stag he turned on his full beems in the van and stunned the beast he jump out of the van wrestled it to the ground hog tied it brought it home and had it for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭2smokinbarrels

a lad once told me that one time he was driving home from the sea side when he seen a stag he turned on his full beems in the van and stunned the beast he jump out of the van wrestled it to the ground hog tied it brought it home and had it for dinner

Deadly man pi55ed meself for the last 10 mins,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭2smokinbarrels

afella (me da) tells me his old dog used to catch ducks alive and bring them back to him he wouldn't even need to shot them,

afella (me da) tells me he shot a black fox

afella (me da) has millions of these stories its actually really really funny

A fella told me once he blew out the barrel in his gun because a small mouse had run up it when he left it down in a corn field while shooting pigeons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

Dalken wrote: »
    A fella told me once he blew out the barrel in his gun because a small mouse had run up it when he left it down in a corn field while shooting pigeons.
    All these are very very good.a fella told me he shot a duck and it hit him and broke his nose.
    Another one i heard is afella sat under a magpie nest under Tree because it was eating his duck eggsand when the mag returned he threw a stone and killed it because he had no carts for she sg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

i know alad that reckons his german pointer will only go in and flush a bird when he hears the click of his safety catch.and i mite believe him if the dog actually pointed for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Steady...Bang

I knew a auld lad (round here) that used to tell a story about a big english pointer dog that pointed a cock pheasant one day. when the lad went back the day after, both the dog and pheasant had never moved.....:rolleyes:.....:D:D:

staghunter wrote: »
    i know alad that reckons his german pointer will only go in and flush a bird when he hears the click of his safety catch.and i mite believe him if the dog actually pointed for once.

Why is it the Pointer men seem to be the biggest bulls*iters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Dalken wrote: »
    staghunter wrote: »

Why is it the Pointer men seem to be the biggest bulls*iters?
    Ha ha was thinking that myself :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 abba twar screams

'BOUT TEN FT TALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Heard a great tale on here cant seem to find the thread.

Something about some lad was out with his pointer and he lost the dog in cover and couldn't ever find the dog... The following year in the same spot he found the dogs bones 2 foot way from a pheasants bones (probably still in the pointing position) ...

Or something like that :D I remember getting a good laugh out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

I no a man that i used to hunt with he said he was out lamping foxes with the lurchers and he called a fox in so close he had to hit him on the nose with the lamp to make him run away he swore in was true but he is known for them kind of stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭alderdeer

There's a lad around here that his dog which he has since birth only takes commands in Irish even though he hasn't a word of Irish himself.
    After sayin that I could listen to his ****e all night its very entertaining once you know its ****e your listening too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Fella I ferreted with told me his dad used to have a ferret That was so big he used to hunt foxes with it and used big nets to catch the foxes when the ferret flushed the fox and told me it'd sometimes kill the Cubs aswell
    I used to just nod along but always cheered my day up listening to his stories about his super dad

alderdeer wrote: »
    There's a lad around here that his dog which he has since birth only takes commands in Irish even though he hasn't a word of Irish himself.
    After sayin that I could listen to his ****e all night its very entertaining once you know its ****e your listening too

Thats a good one, what do these lads be thinking to come up with this sort of thing, I honestly think they have talented imaginations, they should be writing stories. Roll on the 1st Nov, we know an old fella we bring for a couple of hours on the opening day,a few pints after and he's f*ckin priceless to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

a lad told me that he had a setter that set in a field of kale on a bird the kale was that high he couldnt see the dog he came back in the spring and the skeleton of the dog was still set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

afella (me da) tells me his old dog used to catch ducks alive and bring them back to him he wouldn't even need to shot them,

I fairness I've seen that happen with pheasants a few times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

i was talking to a local lad from Ballyconnel ( pure bull sh#ter) about to ware to get a dog trained, he told me that there was a lad in belturbet that made his dogs do a 7 mile swim from garadise lough to coolougue lough, while they keep trowing a dummy and incuraging the dog to keep going.

i played along until i could smell the dung off him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Theshooter2012

i was talking to a local lad from Ballyconnel ( pure bull sh#ter) about to ware to get a dog trained, he told me that there was a lad in belturbet that made his dogs do a 7 mile swim from garadise lough to coolougue lough, while they keep trowing a dummy and incuraging the dog to keep going.

Jaysus you would kill a dog with a swim like that and if he survived he wud be afraid of the water. He must not want ya to do well with ur dogs n:P

ya well i never belived a word from the fella, if you were to walk into the pub and sayed ya shot 40-50 crows today he would say Ah thats sh#te, i shot 200 yesterday, you could smell the dung off him a mile away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

At my local gun shop today a lad came in and started boasting he shot 230 pigeons on his own in one hour. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

When I bought my .270 a gundealer who will remain namless told me it was the greatest calibre ever (never a truer word has been spoken) but he went on to tell me he was out deer stalking with a friend....

Friend takes shot at 375yard fox, misses. Fox runs, your man shoot the fox running. A running fox at 375yards. :rolleyes:

Fox is split in 2 (This part I believe).

Glensman wrote: »
    When I bought my .270 a gundealer who will remain namless told me it was the greatest calibre ever (never a truer word has been spoken) but he went on to tell me he was out deer stalking with a friend....

Friend takes shot at 375yard fox, misses. Fox runs, your man shoot the fox running. A running fox at 375yards. :rolleyes:

Fox is split in 2 (This part I believe).
    That one could possibly be true
    I met a lad that shot a fox at 250 yards with a 243 when it decided to run it rand bout 15 yards to the left before he shot it and took a chest shot
    Its reckless shootin a movin target with a rifle in the first place but it has been done
    I myself shot a fox in the chest as it jumped into cover in mid air few weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

an oul lad in the pub who was a compulsive liar claimed he nailed the fox which got his hens down along the riverbank. at the same time a salmon jumped n he had that with the spuds that night! had'to go out 4 a fag as i couldnt stop laughing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

The lad I work for says he had a pointer that would hunt the opposite side of the ditch to him and drive birds out to him, and that if he happened to be on the same side as him and met a bird, he'd set the bird until yer man was within shooting distance, then he'd nip out to the other side and drive the bird out to yer mans side. Apparently he did this without any training from 9 months old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

declan1980 wrote: »
    The lad I work for says he had a pointer that would hunt the opposite side of the ditch to him and drive birds out to him, and that if he happened to be on the same side as him and met a bird, he'd set the bird until yer man was within shooting distance, then he'd nip out to the other side and drive the bird out to yer mans side. Apparently he did this without any training from 9 months old

Old boy I know says exact same thing.
    It's plausable but I dunno

Old boy I know says exact same thing.
    It's plausable but I dunno

Heard stuff like that off fellas before. It's definitley plausible but I've never seen it and I don't think I ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 dogcityroller

The worst one I've heard was on here a while back- someone's uncle who had shot over 300 foxes in a year with an air rifle! That one still cracks me up

i say he was shurely taking the piss with ya or he is very, very gulabel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

I was told by fellow that he shot a really big pheasant and the pheasant so big he knocked a stone wall when he was coming down. Then they had to get a wheel barrow to carry him across the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

i did have a setter that would hold the point until id get out the other side of ditch but dog was never trained for it he only started doing it as he got older it was more good luck than good training.i suppose it came to him with experience of birds flushing and no retrieve for him that s my thinking of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D priceless yarns ans storys lads, havnt time to post some good ones up as on a mates laptop ,just checkin in as the lad says i,ll be back when new laptop arrives,old one finally snuffed it (r.i.p) til then take care and staysafe

yessam wrote: »
    I was told by fellow that he shot a really big pheasant and the pheasant so big he knocked a stone wall when he was coming down. Then they had to get a wheel barrow to carry him across the field.
    Did the pheasant fall down into the wall with his mouth open and swallow half the wall?
    Fcukin wheelbarrow that's the worst I heard