Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealer won't send out Log Book

• 12-09-2012 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭stiofan85

Hi Guys,

I'm having some difficulty with a dealer from whom I bought my car about 7 weeks ago. He hasn't sent the Log Book to the Motor Tax Office for change of ownership. I've been phoning him constantly to only be fobbed off with various excuses. The main one is the owner is the one who deals with these things and he's rarely in the office. The guy there says they don't keep the Log Books in the office and "the boss" has them and he sends them out when a sale is made. So showing up at the office will apparently have no effect as 1) "The Boss" isn't there most of the time and 2) The Log Book isn't there.

Today I went ape at him on the phone only to be told "the boss" is gone to America and is not contactable until he returns this weekend. So that'll make it almost 2 months since I bought the car and still no log book, and hence, no tax. I've asked for the boss's phone number, he only gives me the office number, and I get the same guy on the phone. I've asked for the boss's email, and I get the business email address. He won't give me the boss's personal or direct contact details.

I got the guy in the office to confirm in writing that the missing log book is their fault, so I have that printed to keep in the car along with the receipt for purchase to show to the Gardai, should I be stopped.

They're not SIMI registered, although on their site they say they're members of I.M.I.A. (Irish Motor Industry Asocciation), which only turns up SIMI when I search for it, but SIMI confirmed he is not a member.

I don't know what to do. I don't want to start a name and shame process on here, but thought maybe someone has some experience of what to do in this case. I'm at my wit's end with this. I just want to be the registered owner and tax the feckin car. It's running perfectly otherwise.

Thanks in advance,

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Stop contacting them.

Get your solicitor to contact them on your behalf. I would be surprised if the log book is too long after that in turning up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Apply for a new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Can you apply for a replacement? I think you can do that when a dealer (preferably a different dealer) verifies the VIN and you get a Garda or solicitor to witness it, or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

TheChizler wrote: »
    Can you apply for a replacement? I think you can do that when a dealer (preferably a different dealer) verifies the VIN and you get a Garda or solicitor to witness it, or something similar.

Needs sales prove - receipt... at least shanon asked me, when had renew logbook.
    dealers or garage wont do vin verification for free, solicitor wont identify your personality for free. i paid 50 quid to dealer, and solicitor 10 euro .. that time( 5 years ago).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Turtle-TM

You need to get a form from the tax office for a new log book. You need to get a dealer, or someone from the tax office or revenue ( if you know someone) to verify the vin on the car, then take the form to a solicitor to witness you signing it and to sign themselves, take along your sales receipt too. I had to do this when I bought my car 3 years ago, gave the solicitor 20€ and had a relative in vrt section of revenue verify the vin. Pretty easy and straight forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Mar4ix wrote: »
    Needs sales prove - receipt... at least shanon asked me, when had renew logbook.
    dealers or garage wont do vin verification for free, solicitor wont identify your personality for free. i paid 50 quid to dealer, and solicitor 10 euro .. that time( 5 years ago).

Never said it would be free! It will however allow the OP to not have to deal with the original dealer any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

did you sign the log book change of ownership when you took the car and he hasn't sent it off? If so it's now legally your car. So bypass this tool.

Ring up shannon, they will send you out a form, you can get it verified and stamped by a main dealer for whatever brand of car you have and then you can get a commissioner of oaths to sign it for you, for free. Just go to your local station to get a list of these people.

i didn't need any sales receipt.

I did this, if you haven't signed the log book at all then get a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

This happened my OH until the garage went bust overnight and everything disappeared. She had to get in contact with the Dept of Transport, who sent her out a form. She filled in the form (fairly positive she had to get it stamped by a solicitor) and then sent it back in. The Dept then sent out a letter to the "current" owner. If no response back within 10 days, or that person said they no longer owned it, it was transfered into her name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭stiofan85

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies. I spoke to the tax office yesterday and they explained the process outlined above but they made it sound much more painful. Obviously it's not free, but if that's what I've to do, then I'll do it.

Since posting earlier, I was told I can get free legal advice through work, so I'm waiting to hear back from those guys. They may give me a letter that I can present to the dealer and if after that I get nothing, then I'm off to do the statutory declaration.

Buying a second hand car is a minefield. I went to a garage to keep things as straight forward as possible. This was my first time buying a car and I have learned so much. Any issues with naming the dealer here? I'd like to warn others of my experience with this garage.

My main learning: sign the bloody log book on the day and don't hand over cash until you do so!

Thanks again!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Make sure you don't drive through the M50 toll anyway. The bill would go to the registered owner, and not yourself, if you were to forget it.

Same for speed cameras actually. Drive safe.

MarkR wrote: »
    Make sure you don't drive through the M50 toll anyway. The bill would go to the registered owner, and not yourself, if you were to forget it.

Same for speed cameras actually. Drive safe.

I registered the address for the M50 and have my tag working on it so that's all gravy. I've been billed as normal by eFlow, so I believe it's okay anyway!

Didn't think of the speed cameras though.... I'll cut the speeding down so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I believe he may have been using some sarcasm there. ;)

As you're not the registered owner, you will not "technically" be liable for either of those things as it stands, so you can be sure if the previous owner starts getting Toll charges and Speeding tickets in the post, they will be quick to get that log book sent off for you! :P

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

dar83 wrote: »

As you're not the registered owner, you will not "technically" be liable for either of those things as it stands, so you can be sure if the previous owner starts getting Toll charges and Speeding tickets in the post, they will be quick to get that log book sent off for you! :P

768278_stock-photo-businessman---on-the-nose.jpg

dar83 wrote: »

I thought the registered owner would still be the previous guy and not the dealer? - that's my honest nature! I assumed I'd be getting the previous owner grief!

If that's the case then I'm speeding to fook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

did you sign the log book change of ownership when you took the car and he hasn't sent it off? If so it's now legally your car. So bypass this tool.

Ring up shannon, they will send you out a form, you can get it verified and stamped by a main dealer for whatever brand of car you have and then you can get a commissioner of oaths to sign it for you, for free. Just go to your local station to get a list of these people.

i didn't need any sales receipt.

I did this, if you haven't signed the log book at all then get a solicitor.
    It's legally his car whether or not he signed the change of ownership portion. Legal ownership is obtained through transfer of title, e.g. the sale. The only issue is he that's he is not registered as the owner, which as you've indicated, he can claim easily enough.

PS : A Commisioner of Oaths can charge a small fee, €10 per signature.

Hi Guys,

So just a quick update on this - he's now gotten to the point of hanging up on me. Today's excuses were:

"I don't need this first thing on a Monday morning". My response: Send out the log book.

"I'm too old for this stuff". My response: Retire, or send out my log book.

I think I'm going to have to go with the commissioner for oaths and the Revenue. I'm not too happy to do it as it will let him off the hook but at the end of the day, what can I do. Once I've resolved the situation, I'll name the garage here. I think future buyers from this guy should be aware of his deplorable customer service.

Thanks for the advice above - much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Take a trip to Dublin and pass through barrier free toll 8 times or more.
    You will get the log book fairly lively as the registered owner which is not you will be on the hook for the bill.
    He/ she will be onto the dealer about it .
    Otherwise you have to bring the car to a dealer of your model of car , they have to confirm chassis etc then you have to get it notarised by a solicitor to say all is above board then you will get log book directly.
    Choice is yours .

Hello all,

It's been a while since I posted on this, so I thought I'd warn the masses about this garage:

Since I last posted, the owner of the garage contacted me and said he was sending out the cert. He was in no way apologetic and I didn't even ask for one. I just wanted the cert. He said it was being sent out and it should take 5-10 days to arrive as per the norm.

I went on holidays for a couple of weeks and figured it would be there by the time I got back. No sign. A week later I just got off the phone with him telling me to "f*ck off" and I was hit with a lot of shouting and f'ing and blinding.

So it's been ample enough time for these jokers. I'm sorting it out via the tax office and the commissioner for oaths. I don't want to do these cowboys' jobs for them, but what can I do.

Garage is V.K. Motors of Harold's Cross. They are to be avoided if you want a straight-forward and pleasant experience. I've given them ample opportunity to rectify this. The guy I've dealt with is called "Timmy". I've been waiting 3 months to get the log book and now I've to go the long route despite being fair.

I hope no one else has my experience.

Thanks,

Stephen :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't understand this behaviour. If they don't have, why not just say they have misplaced it and at least give out the form and be helpful telling you how to go about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

http://www.vkmotorsonline.com/used-cars/BMW/6-Series/635d-COUPE/7913391409675350/

Had a quick look on their site and what stock they had. I found the following line in the above Ad interesting:
    We are also approved members of the I.M.I.A. (Irish Motor Industry Asocciation)

What the feck is the IMIA....? Seems like a right shyster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Irish Motor Industry Asocciation - maybe something to do with socks? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

GavMan wrote: »
    What the feck is the IMIA....? Seems like a right shyster

About 3 years ago somebody tried to start a new association for the motor trade that as well as motor dealers would accept all relevant suppliers, e.g. motor factors, paint shops, etc. It never went anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Marcinek_55

i had the same problem with log book few years ago. I went through solicitor and he didn't charge me anything. I had to fill some form by dealer and the solicitor and then send it to Shannon - i got new log book in 3 days. When i change my car with the same dealer there was the same problem. He was telling me that he send the log book - but i found it in the car :| I fill it, do a fake sign of dealer and send it. That was the last time when i bought something with this dealer. i have no idea why they are doing it ??

I saw that on their website before I bought and did a search for negative reviews online and found nothing. This being my first time buying a car, I wasn't too sure of what IMAI or whatever it is they say is, and I foolishly didn't check it out.

Another update - I missed a call from them during a meeting in work and called him back. I actually tried to record the call but the app didn't work well. Basically this lad just started f'ing and blinding at me again and hung up.

I genuinely think they lost the details of the sale and don't know what car they sold me or any of my details. They could simply ask me, or say "sorry, we've lost the log book". I've given them the reg again on one of the earlier calls, but they don't seem to have done anything with it.

Like many posters above, I'll just go the Shannon route, but it irks me to essentially let these lads off the hook having treated me like absolute dirt. The language out of this fella is heinous!

When I was trying to find a Ford dealership near me I found many had closed down and then read about Bill Cullen's places closing down last week. For a trade that is suffering extremely harsh times, you would think these guys would treat every customer like a king for fear of bad PR like this thread. I decided not to name the garage on here until I absolutely had to as I'm not the type to go slating a business without good reason - they have had more than enough opportunity to rectify this but instead have resorted to telling me to go f*ck myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Their website looks like a burn victim.

Sorry to hear about all the fuss OP. I hope the motor treats you well, however. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

That's pretty ****ty treatment, but you probably should have dropped this and went the route you are going to go now a long time ago. You are not letting them off with anything. If they were a proper business and/or competent they would have sorted this within days. It's just some paperwork, and wasn't worth the hassle you have been put through.

Anyway, if the car is sound then consider yourself lucky!