Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti Eviction

This is my home. I am in negative equity. I don’t think it would be worth €80,000 now

I fail to see the relevance of the above statement. I also find it amazing that someone who worked in the construction industry could innocently do what he did when buying that place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Over €220,000 for an apartment in Dundalk - What an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭BOF666

His argument is basically "I didn't read my contract, and now I'm getting kicked out because I didn't pay my mortgage, it's not fair"

Surely if the sheriff turns up with the Gardaí they’ll do something? If he’s allowed stay there, he might as well be getting a free house…

BOF666 wrote: »
    His argument is basically "I didn't read my contract, and now I'm getting kicked out because I didn't pay my mortgage, it's not fair"
    He's only a lowly quantity surveyor, he obviously had no idea about how property transactions work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

In before everyone attacks people for "living beyond their means" instead of attacking the banking and political establishment which repeatedly lied to people, mislead them about property values and told them it would all be fine.

Nothing pisses me off more than watching our society descending into mud slinging at eachother while those in authority who sold us down the river get to walk away unnoticed with our money :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

They wouldn't have to ask me to leave.

In before everyone attacks people for "living beyond their means" instead of attacking the banking and political establishment which repeatedly lied to people, mislead them about property values and told them it would all be fine.

Nothing pisses me off more than watching our society descending into mud slinging at eachother while those in authority who sold us down the river get to walk away unnoticed with our money :mad:

You're right, those bastards at Mastercard let me spend hundreds of euros at a time that I don't have on pieces of ribbon, A4 paper in assorted colours, novelty bottle openers and hundreds of other things that I don't need. If at some point I can't pay it back I'm going to barricade myself in my house so they cant get to me.

Surely if the sheriff turns up with the Gardaí they’ll do something? If he’s allowed stay there, he might as well be getting a free house…

“It is the common story of getting into difficulties and arrears. But I am only six years into my 30-year mortgage – who is to say my situation won’t change? I want to keep paying but based on what I can afford,” he said after the sheriff had left yesterday.

Mr Dooley said he has an appointment to discuss his mortgage with Permanent TSB later this month and he would suggest that he keep up his repayments but at a lower amount than at the start of the mortgage term.

He's not intending to simply not pay his mortgage, ever.
    I love how Boardsies are so beautifully quick to turn on people like this man while clearing the other side of all blame or responsibility. Who was shoving these mortgages down people's throats? Who was misleading people about the value of their properties? Who was telling anyone who disagreed to commit suicide?

Barking up the wrong tree in such an unbelievably sad way by persistently coming down on the side of the bank in cases like these. As if they're perfect angels who never deliberately manipulated or screwed anyone over?

You're right, those bastards at Mastercard let me spend hundreds of euros at a time that I don't have on pieces of ribbon, A4 paper in assorted colours, novelty bottle openers and hundreds of other things that I don't need. If at some point I can't pay it back I'm going to barricade myself in my house so they cant get to me.

Implying everyone who has found themselves in negative equity as a result of this mess squandered thousands of euro in credit on useless junk?
    Seriously?

This is pathetic.

Implying everyone who has found themselves in negative equity as a result of this mess squandered thousands of euro in credit on useless junk?
    Seriously?

This is pathetic.

You're right, I bet my collection of antique baby carrot jars hasn't depreciated anywhere near as much as houses in the last 5 years.

Who was shoving these mortgages down people's throats? Who was misleading people about the value of their properties?

I doubt the bank made him apply for a mortgage, he probably made that choice himself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭trodsky

It's great finally some one has the balls to stand up to these people.

I hope this movement gathers momentum fast

trodsky wrote: »

What people? Just pay your bills and there'll be no evictions and no need for protests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Also why doesnt he just stop paying move out and then buy 2 apartments for the €220k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Where's my NAMA?! Derp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

bmcc10 wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0912/1224323911784.html#.UE_arUPsc0A.

What yous make of these i sense i real bloodbath in the making really look like a hardy bunch.

I don't see any gun wielding yobs in the picture?:confused:
    the banking and political establishment which repeatedly lied to people, mislead them about property values and told them it would all be fine.

Quite a comedian here, nobody was misled over property values. They bought at a price they thought was value. Real problem is that they didn't know what value was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

This country is made up of idiots according to the brains of AH. Idiots who believed the lies and evasions their leaders, government and financial institutions told them. Bertie telling us a couple of weeks before he resigned that there was no danger of a recession, prior to that suggesting people who talked downturn and recession should go commit suicide. Officials who told us that there were no bank problems right up until they could hide it no more. Either the people can believe and rely and on their elected representatives to lead them honestly or they can rely on them to lead them up the garden path, to their over-priced, now negative equity homes. Is it any wonder that we don't believe a word those gouging, self-interested and dissembling fucks who lead our government, both in power and in opposition, say?

Is there one person who can put their hand up and say that they implicitly believe that the present government is doing the best by the Irish people? Is there one person who can put up their hand and say that if this government was brought down, the next one elected in would be any better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I hate when people play innocent like this.
    "I was unaware of what I was signing"
    Total BS. He was well aware of what he was signing, he needs to stop throwing the toys out of the pram and face up to his responsibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Nobody put a gun to his head .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

“It is the common story of getting into difficulties and arrears. But I am only six years into my 30-year mortgage – who is to say my situation won’t change? I want to keep paying but based on what I can afford,” he said after the sheriff had left yesterday.

Mr Dooley said he has an appointment to discuss his mortgage with Permanent TSB later this month and he would suggest that he keep up his repayments but at a lower amount than at the start of the mortgage term.

He's not intending to simply not pay his mortgage, ever.
    I love how Boardsies are so beautifully quick to turn on people like this man while clearing the other side of all blame or responsibility. Who was shoving these mortgages down people's throats? Who was misleading people about the value of their properties? Who was telling anyone who disagreed to commit suicide?

Barking up the wrong tree in such an unbelievably sad way by persistently coming down on the side of the bank in cases like these. As if they're perfect angels who never deliberately manipulated or screwed anyone over?

That's what he says to the newspaper. Truth can be totally different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Indeed, I find it hard to believe that a bank would rather repossess the home, and be left with a loss of upwards of 100k rather than arrange a payment plan. And nobody gets evicted like that for missing a single payment, chances are he hasnt paid a penny in 6 months or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So they basically want free houses. Someone else paid €200,000 on their behalf for a property and now they want that property for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭haulagebasher

The authorities need to and will get tough with this guy. Look, the way I see it this guy signed a contract with the lender to pay back so much per month and that if he failed the house and security could be seized. Of course, there is a certain amount of risk involved always, but by signing he accepted that risk and if he wasn't prepared to deal with the potential consequences then he had no business signing a mortgage. Simpple as. Why is it that people are alwasy looking for soft treatment because of their sob story and expect the rules to be bent to suit them?If this carry on were to be accepted and evictions were not carried out then why would anybody bother to pay a mortgage when they could just sit pretty, not pay a penny and get off scott free. No surprise that the usual suspects are involved - People before profit chap and other far left extremeists. Gardai need to nip this one in the bud.
    Anyway as said by someone else, the bank doesn't initiate a eviction/repo if someone is paying a lower rate. There is more to this than that crowd are letting on and they know it too. He probably isn't paying anything for ages and is now spinning us a yarn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Indeed, I find it hard to believe that a bank would rather repossess the home, and be left with a loss of upwards of 100k rather than arrange a payment plan. And nobody gets evicted like that for missing a single payment, chances are he hasnt paid a penny in 6 months or more.
    Yeah, there's always more to the story. People don't get evicted for nothing. Remember the last guy who was evicted that got lots of media attention? Turned out he owned 30 properties.
    Not saying this guy does, but would like to hear the full story.

And he bought in 2008! Jasus, even Brendan O'Connor wouldn't have advised you to buy then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I have relatives who overstretched themselves to buy during the boom- this was a time where you were sneered at for merely renting and not getting on the ladder, as house prices were "only going to go up".

However, they've all made changes to ensure they can make the payments, despite job losses/relationship break ups etc.

This guy sounds like he's just had a hissy fit and is squatting. There's no mention of if he went to the bank to see about interest only for a while, or if he got in lodgers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

You sign a a contract to pay the mortgage back at a certain rate.
    If he fails to do that he's broken the contract, simples.

He can't decide he deserves to continue payment at a lower rate himself, he can only do that with the agreement of the bank. If they haven't agreed to anything yet then he's got no leg to stand on.

Banks are generally very willing to accomodate people. They have the potential to earn back their money by adjusting payments whereas they take on the negative equity themselves by evicting people.

The fact that this guy is being evicted shows that there's probably more to the story than he's saying.

I have relatives who overstretched themselves to buy during the boom- this was a time where you were sneered at for merely renting and not getting on the ladder, as house prices were "only going to go up".

However, they've all made changes to ensure they can make the payments, despite job losses/relationship break ups etc.

This guy sounds like he's just had a hissy fit and is squatting. There's no mention of if he went to the bank to see about interest only for a while, or if he got in lodgers etc.

He also seems happy to sit at home all day, wonder if that maybe contributed to him not being able to make repayments. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

He took out the mortgage in 2008 and now says hes 6 years into it...
    I think I see the problem here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

He took out a loan and he can not pay it back. As a shareholder of Permanent TSB, i demand that this house is repossessed and sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I wonder what the right attitude with these people should be, turf them out\renegotiate the mortgage\debt relief.

2008 I thought about buying a house, I had a decent size deposit but anyway I looked at the figures it didn't make sense, I'm not in business or anything like that but I saw it.

So this sh*t about the poor people been tricked into mortgages by dirty banks makes me sick.

But overall to many of these greedy or silly people bought houses and collectively are sitting on massive negative equity which will stifel any growth in this country for years.
    So even though me and others like me may not like it too much there will have to be some sort of debt relief etc put in place.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Why am I supposed to feel sympathy for this man exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

He spent nearly a quarter of a million euro on a basement apartment in Dundalk, and took out a 30 year mortgage. What the hell was he thinking? Well I suppose I can answer my own question, either 'nothing' or 'I will sell this on in five years, sure property can only go up!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Lol. Next time the sheriff won't tell him sh/she is coming. They will arrive early morning in about a month with a van load of guards and will turf him out into the street. And you won't hear a dicky bird about it.

Also in order to get a eviction order, this has already been and gone to court. Irish judges are loath to turf people out of their only home so he has either other properties or hasn't tried to pay a cent over a large number of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Who's gonna buy a 220,000 euro basement apartment in Dundalk of all places ? Half the business there is either going bust or shut down due to Newry being up the road.

You can get 3 bedroom houses for a lot less than that anywhere else. Permanent TSB are better off just re negotiating a temporary lower rate with him in this meeting he's supposedly having with them this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Permanent TSB are better off just re negotiating a temporary lower rate with him in this meeting he's supposedly having with them this month.

Apparently that already happened and he turned it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Quote from IT.com

He said that when he signed the contract for his home, he “signed an agreement but I was unaware of what I was signing – you don’t get to inject your own terms and conditions . . . I had a solicitor at the time but he was not with me when I signed it and it was not witnessed or co-signed so I want to see the original contract.”

This was also the case with me and lots of people I know.
    I did not know the ins and outs of a massive loan. The solicitor and broker said this is best for me.
    I can pay my mortgage but like most people in this kip, I could be 1 month away from the makings of Eugene Dooley's situation if I lost my job.

The banks and government caused the boom and deep recession more than the people. But I am getting the feeling from Boards that ye support the bankers and sh1t heads .

Why not side with the people?

Why cant he make a reduced payment and hold onto his home till better times????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Quote from IT.com

He said that when he signed the contract for his home, he “signed an agreement but I was unaware of what I was signing – you don’t get to inject your own terms and conditions . . . I had a solicitor at the time but he was not with me when I signed it and it was not witnessed or co-signed so I want to see the original contract.”

I did not know the ins and outs of a massive loan. The solicitor and broker said this is best for me.
    I can pay my mortgage but like most people in this kip, I could be 1 month away from the makings of Eugene Dooley's situation if I lost my job.

The banks and government caused the boom and deep recession more than the people. But I am getting the feeling from Boards that ye support the bankers and sh1t heads .

Why cant he make a reduced payment and hold onto his home till better times????????
    Why side with the people who are in the wrong? Of course the banks have to share the blame, but if you don't know what you're getting into then don't do it. This whole "oh the bank pushed the mortgage on me and I didn't know what I was signing" attitude is bullshít. It's exactly the same as the excuses that the "bankers and sh1t heads" use.

I understand perfectly well that people have it tough right now (I've been let go twice in the last 3 years) but people need to hold their hands up, accept some responsibility for their debts and cut their losses however they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Quote from IT.com

If you sign a legally binding contract without being aware of just what it is you are signing, and take advice on what's 'best' from people who have a vested interest in getting you to sign, you pretty much deserve what you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Here's some hilarious trivia:

Eugene Dooley's actual home is in Inniskeen, where his business is listed in the Golden Pages.

Hilarious right?

I wonder how many rental appartments this guy calls home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

Think I went to college with that guy.

Anyway being a QS a knowing that it probably cost the builder E85 - 100 / sqft to build these apartments how could he justify to himself that the purchase rate of E270 - 300 / sqft represented value for money.

I worked in the industry in Ireland up until 2010 and although I could have bought, the value just wasn't there and I'm a lowly PAYE worker, this guy advises people on construction costs & financing everyday as his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'd love to know how he claims he didn't know what he was signing, christ when i bought my house i knew exactly what i was signing, because it took nearly 2 months for everything to go through. I've no pity for him, and the people who are blocking the sheriff are going to end up getting arrested for impeding an official in the execution of their duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

I fail to see the relevance of the above statement. I also find it amazing that someone who worked in the construction industry could innocently do what he did when buying that place.

The sense of entitlement from the article gets me too. You don't own a house until you pay for it, surely that's elementary. It doesn't matter if you're 1 cent away from paying of the mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

Seriously?

This is pathetic.

I don't think it's the point, instead of just blaming the banking sectors and those in the seats of power, the people themselves also hold a certain amount of blame for jumping on the bandwagon. Everyone who voluntarily stepped on that bandwagon should get a certain amount of blame. After all, it wasn't as if they didn't have a choice in the matter. The people (some people) wanted more credit from the banks to pay for their houses, the banks wanted more credit from the government to fuel their supply of credit, the government wanted more credit to fuel the banks, etc... It was a vicious cycle.

What people? Just pay your bills and there'll be no evictions and no need for protests!

And when people's income is decimated due to circumstances entirely outside their control, there should be absolutely no negotiating?
    Are you by any chance a former employee of Anglo Irish Bank?

I'm absolutely amazed at the lack of any sympathy for people like these on Boards. It could be you any day of the week, it could be any mortgage holder in the entire country if their company goes bust tomorrow and they find themselves with no income.

So you're going to believe a bank over an ordinary citizen?
    It's not as if the banks in this country didn't lie through their teeth the last time they were asked important questions, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Don't see the problem , he wants to pay back his what he owes. Up the amount of years and have the pay back at a lower rate.

The bank basically want to write this off an give it too NAMA so the tax payer foots the bill and the bank make a profit on the sale.

If the guy is willing to pay back the full amount and up the amount of time he is repaying the loan, I don't see the problem to be honest. The bank get there money in the end and make more money on it long term.

Better than NAMA (US) footing the bill of an overpriced apartment in Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

trodsky wrote: »

I hope it doesnt. I have no appetite for more taxes to bail out silly brats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Seriously?

This is pathetic.

What does being in negative equity matter unless he's looking to sell it?
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    Also why doesnt he just stop paying move out and then buy 2 apartments for the €220k?

You know how mortgages work yeah? The €220k isnt sitting in a box waiting to be collected if he decides to just walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

msg11 wrote: »
    Don't see the problem , he wants to pay back his what he owes. Up the amount of years and have the pay back at a lower rate..

He's 35 now and as it stands the mortgage has 26 years to run. Thats 61. How many years extra would he need to add on? What happens when he hits 65 and he's on a state pension? Will he use every penny to pay off the mortgage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,888 ✭✭✭✭ted1

The bank also have to pay back the loan, so its not a matter of Simply extending the loan.

People need to have social responsibility.