Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oktoberfest Beag

• 11-09-2012 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭

http://oktoberfestbeag.ie/

Anyone been to last years? Is it worth paying in? Seems a bit pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Went last year and going again this year. Was enjoyable alright but then again s+s club at work paid :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

It is well worth it. Been for the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I'm going on Thursday Sept 20th (my first time going), got half price tickets :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

kingtut wrote: »
    I'm going on Thursday Sept 20th (my first time going), got half price tickets :D

How did you manage to get them half-price?

Is that because it's the Thursday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Nervosa

Na I'm going Thursday too and the tickets weren't half price! Doing the platinum package fir the seating but also because I think 4 beers will finish me off!

Are the beers 1L or 0.5L does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

I'm heading in on the Thursday nite. It starts at 5 but I won't be there at that time, more like 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Ludo wrote: »
    Went last year and going again this year. Was enjoyable alright but then again s+s club at work paid :-)

and still paying for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Heading on the 22nd can't wait!

MrFrisp wrote: »
    How did you manage to get them half-price?

Is that because it's the Thursday?

LivingSocial had a deal running and you could choose between 4 dates. 2 Thursdays, a monday and a Sunday.

Nervosa wrote: »
    Na I'm going Thursday too and the tickets weren't half price! Doing the platinum package fir the seating but also because I think 4 beers will finish me off!

Are the beers 1L or 0.5L does anyone know?

4 x 0.5L or 2 x 1L.

The grub voucher can be used for beer also.

gimmick wrote: »
    The grub voucher can be used for beer also.

Gotta love the German way of drinking!

Nah, thats the Irish way. Germans vould insists that ze voucher is used for ze food, not ze weissen.

Thursday will be the best day as there is Paulaner tasting at 5pm. Can't wait!

For those that haven't been in yet just a heads up; was in there last night and it was good craic. Not too crowded, the Paulaner Oktoberfest beer was the best I thought (there was another one I didn't like; can't remember the name but it was a bit too yeasty for me). Food is a choice between those hot dog yokes and the pork meat in a sandwich (pardon my uncultured description).
    There was a dude with a handlebar moustache wearing lederhosen who encourages everyone to get up on the tables and raise their glasses.
    Oh, and lots of lovely girls wearing the Bavarian dresses as well (and fairly low-cut their necklines were too :)).

I am headed in tonight. I reckon it will be pretty busy, given that its a friday and all. Should be there for about 5.30 and fall out of the place at kicking out time for a few more where ever anyone is kind enough to leave us in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

lukin wrote: »
    <snip>
    Oh, and lots of lovely girls wearing the Bavarian dresses as well (and fairly low-cut their necklines were too :)).
    would they have been like this? Or maybe a little more conservative?
    Just trying to get a feel for what its like seeing as theres very little on their facebook site.
    The traditional clothes are as much a part of the oktoberfest nowadays as anything else !

o1.jpg

also, I didnt see any Brezn (pretzels) - do they actually sell them there at all and are they the proper big steering wheel sized ones?

would they have been like this? Or maybe a little more conservative?
    Just trying to get a feel for what its like seeing as theres very little on their facebook site.
    The traditional clothes are as much a part of the oktoberfest nowadays as anything else !

o1.jpg
    :DHeh, no pun intended I'm sure. A bit more conservative than those pics but still very er, authentic.
    also, I didnt see any Brezn (pretzels) - do they actually sell them there at all and are they the proper big steering wheel sized ones?
    Yeah they had pretzels, they looked like the real ones to me.

?

There are hundreds of pics on their facebook site, and some extremely comely frauleins among them in their drndels etc :)

Are they dancing at the crossroads?:)

They can do as ever they please as long as they are quick and attentive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Do you get a small free sample of the Beers first (For taste purposes),or do you just have to buy the pint,or whatever and hope you like it?

Are the Beers/Food expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

MrFrisp wrote: »
    Do you get a small free sample of the Beers first (For taste purposes),or do you just have to buy the pint,or whatever and hope you like it?

Are the Beers/Food expensive?

I think they only have two beers. This isn't like the Franciscan Octoberfest, it's a Paulaner (or is it Erdinger) Festival. If you value titty women and smashing glasses over good beer it's grand. If not, go to a beer pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

is it ticket only? I'm in Dublin at the moment (can see them putting up the tents for this one right now) but I don't wanna drive down and find that I can't get in. I'd only be able to go Friday or Saturday this week or next. Errah, off to Munich in 3 weeks anyway. Won't be too sad if I don't go to OB

You'd be safer booking; link to registration here:
    http://oktoberfestbeag.ie/event-registration/

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I think they only have two beers. This isn't like the Franciscan Octoberfest, it's a Paulaner (or is it Erdinger) Festival. If you value titty women and smashing glasses over good beer it's grand. If not, go to a beer pub.

Yeah there's only two beers, both Paulaner cause the whole thing is sponsored by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Was at it last year, great craic. Queues for beer were quite long, meaning you have to order two at a time (per person), meaning you're holding two heavy tankards of beer, meaning you drink quicker, meaning you're drunk. As I said, great craic....

Watching drunken girls falling off the bucking bull was quite funny to watch too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Did they say there are bumper cars this year?

They were not open last night anyway.

Great night. Today is suffer time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

Bit of a cheeky price increase this year! 20% incease in price of a beer!
    Steins now €12, madness

Would I be right in saying they are more interested in large group bookings this year? Seen very little advertising aside from compnay night out ones.

Wouldn't be bothered with it any more either.

Its badly run this year, We have a group of 11 people so we asked could we squeeze one more in as they sell tables of ten only, their answer was to book two tables of 10. So for 11 people we would be paying for 20. Bit of a disgrace that so we just ended up buying a spare entrance only ticket in the hope we can get the 11th man in.

Beer prices up 20% is also a bit cheeky. They will lose alot of goodwill this year Id say.
    This will definately be my last year anyway.

Between a glass deposit of a fiver, €12 for a Stein and paying €18 for a seat at a table, my first beer is costing €35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Frog Song

Yeah doesn't seem as appealing this year with the price increases and them aiming more at large parties. A few of us might head along, we've had good craic in the past but not too bothered this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Guess the thinking behind it is; if went well last year let's try to ride people on price and hope they won't notice this year.
    Free cheap plastic hats to the first fools in the door, yeah.

Dammit didn't spot the price increase!!

20 of us going but the table booking was a right pain in the arse!
    There were originally 26 but we weren't going to book 3 tables and waste money!

They really screwed up the booking system this year.

Oh and if it is anything like last year people with general entry tickets will NOT get into the main tent at any point in the evening, also got stung by that last year!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Bit of a cheeky price increase this year! 20% incease in price of a beer!
    Steins now €12, madness

€6 for 500ml of beer you have no choice in - no thanks!

I haven't been in a couple of years but I remember lines maybe 20 people long to get a pint. That was enough to put me off at the time. Maybe that aspect is better now, but I'd rather go to a pub I like and pay €5 for a proper pint of my choice.

I saw the flyer and was a bit taken aback by the cheekiness of the prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Trend Setter in Training

I've two tickets for tonight and won't be able to make it now with work... late notice I know and based on the above may not be a huge amount want them but if you do PM me and I can send them by mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Went this year again and had a great time, but the price increases and corner cutting was definitely noticable. Will be slower to sign up again next year.

I agree, the cost of it was a bit of joke and the seating arrangement was crap (everything was so much better last year)
    Think I'll still go next year but I'd get a general entry ticket, there was way more craic outside than inside!!!

Rubbish night, was stuck in the corner, couldnt even hear the band, Music outside of the band was crap.. Thats the end of a 4 year run for us anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I did security at that place around three years ago, Jesus what a pain in the arse. It used to be on from 5-10pm so I thought people couldn't get into too much of a state in that time frame. There was multiple scrapping pretty much every day, every two seconds some gobsh*te would bang his glass against another one and burst them all over some table and I had to turf out at least ten people for reefing coke in the jacks.

All in all it looked like a scream, only for the fact I wasn't allowed join in.

FTA69 wrote: »
    at least ten people for reefing coke in the jacks.

Thought with the 'downturn' everyone would be reduced to sniffing household cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Thought with the 'downturn' everyone would be reduced to sniffing household cleaners.

I also remember a fella actually whipped out his dick and p*ssed on a Polish doorman's leg while he was sending a text. Honest to God like, I think it's the 6% beer that sends people mental. They had that oompa loompa band too and every time they'd start people would jump up on the picnic tables, every night some clown would fall clean off it and the first aid box had to come out. Christ above, I still have nightmares about it. On top of that we were getting paid f*ck all because it was daytime hours.

I see "Voted Corks Best Night Out" is back (who votes for these things?)

Its at the Marquee this year. Prices are a bit complicated and insane. The top price for a table of 8 is €695 which includes 33 "free" drinks" and some food.

There are plenty other booze deals which do not include entrance ticket and they are now selling Bulmers at it.

Not gone in years. Wont be bothering this year either.

With prices like that they might be going for the corporate market.

People should vote with their feet and go elsewhere.

He has been aiming at the work night/corporate now for the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Have to have it in a marquee because of the containers on the beamish site for the event centre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I see "Voted Corks Best Night Out" is back (who votes for these things?)

Its at the Marquee this year. Prices are a bit complicated and insane. The top price for a table of 8 is €695 which includes 33 "free" drinks" and some food.

There are plenty other booze deals which do not include entrance ticket and they are now selling Bulmers at it.

Not gone in years. Wont be bothering this year either.

Went last year with work and there was about 75 of us went.

Just doing the math on the above quote basing it on how many people went the last time for us, it works out at about €6,500.

Our office is about a 2 minute walk from the Marquee to but I cant see us going back this year for that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Its madly priced. I was chatting to one chap who was running it, as I mentioned last year I could not make head nor tail of the prices.. And all he did was waffle on tell me nothing I needed to know and let it at that. It is a shame as tis good laugh but mad money

Milly33 wrote: »
    Its madly priced. I was chatting to one chap who was running it, as I mentioned last year I could not make head nor tail of the prices.. And all he did was waffle on tell me nothing I needed to know and let it at that. It is a shame as tis good laugh but mad money

Having met and heard plenty about the guy who runs it he is a tool and is despised by anyone who he has ever done business with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

It could sort of be justified when in the beamish site but this new site is crazy. I wonder how other other publicans feel about a massive pop-up pub being built down the marina? At least in beamish they were drawing punters into the city centre.