Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy hints he will play for Great Britain at Rio.

• 10-09-2012 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Rory McIlroy hints he will play for Great Britain at Rio 2016 Olympics.

What an absolute farce the other thread was closed earlier. What exactly is a "Nationality" thread? And the big bold writing, in typical boards.ie fashion, "You have been warned." What kind of an ego trip are some people on?

The topic has been discussed in all national radio stations today. Pat Kenny had very strong views on the matter, saying it was a very stupid thing to say by Rory. Another guest felt the same way. They were relating it to more commercial reasons (in the states), where Rory is mostly referred to as Irish.

I briefly heard David Harvey on 4FM saying (sarcastically) "be British so".

I for one fully respect his decision and his leanings, but obviously would have loved to see him representing Ireland in Rio.

If people want to discuss it, leave them. Jesus we're all grown ups!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

<Ollie> wrote: »
    Rory McIlroy hints he will play for Great Britain at Rio 2016 Olympics.

What an absolute farce the other thread was closed earlier. What exactly is a "Nationality" thread? And the big bold writing, in typical boards.ie fashion, "You have been warned." What kind of an ego trip are some people on?

The topic has been discussed in all national radio stations today. Pat Kenny had very strong views on the matter, saying it was a very stupid thing to say by Rory. Another guest felt the same way. They were relating it to more commercial reasons (in the states), where Rory is mostly referred to as Irish.

I briefly heard David Harvey on 4FM saying (sarcastically) "be British so".

I for one fully respect his decision and his leanings, but obviously would have loved to see him representing Ireland in Rio.

If people want to discuss it, leave them. Jesus we're all grown ups!
    If we were all grown up's, we'd let the grown up whose decision this is, go off and make his decision in peace without any repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

I'd recommend going to the after hours thread if ye wanna talk about it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

kippy wrote: »
    If we were all grown up's, we'd let the grown up whose decision this is, go off and make his decision in peace without any repercussions.

I agree.

But certain people in the media thinks there will be repercussions, like in the states, where there's huge commercial interests. Have a listen to Pat Kenny's radio show today.

Although I think myself, McIlroy will become such a big star (if not one already), it won't really matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭speeding

Yeah its a banned topic of conversation in the golf forum as i found out earlier. Speak no more or be banned !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I agree.

But certain people in the media thinks there will be repercussions, like in the states, where there's huge commercial interests. Have a listen to Pat Kenny's radio show today.

Although I think myself, McIlroy will become such a big star (if not one already), it won't really matter.

I was listening to it. I think it's much ado about very little to be honest.

I'd recommend going to the after hours thread if ye wanna talk about it..

AH is a stupid forum. This is the golf forum, after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 MartonD2

Hes a gimp!! The GUI funded all of his amateur golf and he turn his back on Ireland after representing us for his all his teenage years!!

FOOL!!!

The american's where he 'feels at home' will hate him for this aswell!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

If anybody needed justification for this topic being against the charter.....

May I present, Exhibit A:
    MartonD2 wrote: »
    Hes a gimp!! The GUI funded all of his amateur golf and he turn his back on Ireland after representing us for his all his teenage years!!

FOOL!!!

FOOL!!!

Well, I can't say I agree.

But that's your opinion (and some others), and you should be perfectly entitled to express it.

Where did freedom of speech go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Not another Rory McIlroy British or Irish Thread. :rolleyes:

No point in even starting lads because thread will be closed.

Benny Cake wrote: »

So he's not entitled to say what he is thinking?

I'm sure this is the minority view anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

The third one today. Really??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Well, I can't say I agree.

But that's your opinion (and some others), and you should be perfectly entitled to express it.

Where did freedom of speech go?

Read the charter ollie, there is no "free speech" on boards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

So he's not entitled to say what he is thinking?

I'm sure this is the minority view anyway.

He is certainly entitled to his opinion.

But calling someone a gimp is childish and its turning a discussion/debate into a bashing thread..
    That in my opinion is not an opinion it is jealousy and anger not an opinion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

I like cake..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

If he says he hasn't made a decision then that actually means he has made his decision if you know what I mean and that is to play for team gb,at the end of the day it doesn't really matter,Harrington is gonna win anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

FOOL!!!

GUI represents ROI and NI not just ROI :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

On a side issue I feel the golf at the Olympics should be for amateurs. I feel they would cherish a medal more as the majors will always be the ultimate goal for the pros.

Read the charter ollie, there is no "free speech" on boards...

Did do, cheers. But we can't discuss a golf story that was discussed on nearly every radio station today?

The Last Word with Matt Cooper had a good discussion on it. But we can't do that here on the dedicated golf forum?
    kiers47 wrote: »
    He is certainly entitled to his opinion.

But calling someone a gimp is childish and its turning a discussion/debate into a bashing thread..
    That in my opinion is not an opinion it is jealousy and anger not an opinion!!

I agree, silly language to use. But that goes on in every forum. Read the soccer or GAA forum. Take it on the chin and laugh it off. Use the ignore button if that doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

over 3 years away. who knows what the golfing world will be like then.

this topic should be locked until 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

http://twitter.com/McIlroyRory/status/245216699652132864/photo/1/large

http://golfjimbutnotasweknowit.blogspot.co.uk/?spref=tw

Just posted on Twitter from Rory, plus a very insightful piece re the situation he finds himself in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭DiegoWorst

I wish people would leave the guy alone. He is a super golfer, and should be appreciated for just that. If I was in his shoes I'd decline to play in Rio, as there'll be fallout no matter what country he elects to represent. Four years out from the event, and idiots on the airwaves are putting huge pressure on him, what's it going to be like for Rory closer to the event?
    Potentially the greatest sports star ever to emerge from this island, and we're going to make life very tough for him. He's given us all a lot to shout about over the last couple of years, forget about politics, just give him all the support to rack up as many majors as is possible.

Deank wrote: »
    http://twitter.com/McIlroyRory/status/245216699652132864/photo/1/large

http://golfjimbutnotasweknowit.blogspot.co.uk/?spref=tw

Just posted on Twitter from Rory, plus a very insightful piece re the situation he finds himself in...

The blog is obviously written by someone who doesn't know much about politics in the North.

His musings on passports and football are both wrong, the rest is a good read.

The blog is obviously written by someone who doesn't know much about politics in the North.

His musings on passports and football are both wrong, the rest is a good read.

He may not know a lot about Irish politics North or South of the border, frankly at times I wish I didn't either:mad:

DiegoWorst wrote: »
    I wish people would leave the guy alone. He is a super golfer, and should be appreciated for just that. If I was in his shoes I'd decline to play in Rio, as there'll be fallout no matter what country he elects to represent. Four years out from the event, and idiots on the airwaves are putting huge pressure on him, what's it going to be like for Rory closer to the event?
    Potentially the greatest sports star ever to emerge from this island, and we're going to make life very tough for him. He's given us all a lot to shout about over the last couple of years, forget about politics, just give him all the support to rack up as many majors as is possible.

I agree. There's huge pressure on him.

But from reading the blogs/forums, most people (vast majority seemingly) from the South share your view. They just want to watch him play golf, which is nice to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Absolutely pathetic listening to the bitching about his decision. We Irish are the biggest hypocrites around, chastising the British if they claim someone as their's and yet here we are making a big deal of Rory simply claiming the nationality he is entitled to. Sometimes I'm ashamed to be Irish when crap like this makes headline news.

Su Campu wrote: »
    Absolutely pathetic listening to the bitching about his decision. We Irish are the biggest hypocrites around, chastising the British if they claim someone as their's and yet here we are making a big deal of Rory simply claiming the nationality he is entitled to. Sometimes I'm ashamed to be Irish when crap like this makes headline news.

Couldn't agree more with you, and it's the same people who'd be lauding up English born footballers that have declared for Ireland through the "Granny Rule", slightly different situation of course but just smacks of double standards.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Su Campu wrote: »
    Just two points, he has made no decision yet which IMO is the biggest problem, he should just make his decision and be done with it, secondly declaring for anywhere other than the country where the organisation resides that gave him the backing as an amateur is lunacy IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Rory is a decent golfer. He's doing well now, the lad.
    I don't really care which country he chooses. For me its not about country, but about personality.
    Subconsciously, when watching golf, I tend to shout for players with a bit of personality, like Bubba Watson or Greg Norman. Even Poulter strangely. Unfortunately I never took to Rory. But that could change, not because he's Irish or British. He just bores me at the minute..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

MP62 wrote: »
    Just two points, he has made no decision yet which IMO is the biggest problem, he should just make his decision and be done with it, secondly declaring for anywhere other than the country where the organisation resides that gave him the backing as an amateur is lunacy IMO.
    I'd agree that making the decision sooner would probably be the best course of action for him, but it doesn't make it any less difficult.

Unfortunately on this island, flags have been hijacked by extremists from either side and the end result is that whatever flag Rory chooses, it will come to the fore if he wins a medal at the Olympics.

Irish Rugby recognised the position that Northern Irish (and ultimately British) players were put in when they had to stand for Amhrann na bhFiann before a match and commissioned the awful 'Ireland's Call' to deal with this. It's not something we can dismiss out of hand.

We had Northern Irish athletes at the Paralympics who won gold and had the tricolor raised for them. There are many sports that are governed on an all island basis apart from Golf and Rugby and those athletes who declare for Ireland do so in the full knowledge of what that ultimately means. For each of them it's a personal decision and has more to do with the opportunity to be an Olympian than with any allegiance they may feel.

Rory is one of the few who really does have a choice and that makes it much more difficult.

The article that started all this merely acknowledged this fact, the headline that accompanied the article was very misleading and imo intended to cause an uproar.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I don't get it at all, let him off and I hope he does well (but let Padraig get the gold;)). Only 2 from each country so it should be interesting to see how they manage the format etc.