Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do ye make of these cars?? Advice Needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

closeline wrote: »
    Just looking for a bit of advice on a few cars. 19 year old on a lerner permit so obviously I am taking that into account. 3500 euro or less and looking for reasonably low milage.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3869843

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3869696

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3829947

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3294722

isn't 1.8 and 1.9 bit powerful for you as learner/19 years old, is this your first car?
    Your insurance will be mad high, I am 19, learner and for 1.2 I am paying 1700, or did you count insurance already?

I was quoted for a 1.8L Audi they said 3400 Euro, that's for third party, fire and theft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

arleitiss wrote: »
    isn't 1.8 and 1.9 bit powerful for you as learner/19 years old, is this your first car?
    Your insurance will be mad high, I am 19, learner and for 1.2 I am paying 1700, or did you count insurance already?

I was quoted for a 1.8L Audi they said 3400 Euro, that's for third party, fire and theft.

Under my parents. Wont be too high hopefully.. second car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Under my parents. Wont be too high hopefully.. second car.
    Are you looking for diesel specifically?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Cryogen

BMW e46 325ci msport is what your looking for

Travelling about 40 miles to college 5 days a week...20 up and 20 down so Diesel would be better although tax could be high. Any good links to a few cars???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

The felt you must fight it little one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mention TDI to the insurers and they will make sure your farts are silent for the next few months. They will bum you silly on quotes.

Why the felty brigade may I ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I had a Mk4 Golf SDi as a company car years ago, I'm a lazy ba5tard but I would've walked quicker than that car.

I personally consider diesel to be the fuel of satan but I found some nice diesels for you

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3549671
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3741361
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3581866

you will be the badass in college with any of these

watch-out-we-got-a-badass-over-here-meme-240x180.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭hoodrats

Just looking for a bit of advice on a few cars. 19 year old on a lerner permit so obviously I am taking that into account. 3500 euro or less and looking for reasonably low milage.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3869843

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3869696

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3829947

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3294722

wouldnt touch them overpriced piles of **** with a bargepole.
    why not buy a nice little diesel octavia. :)

Cryogen wrote: »
    BMW e46 325ci msport is what your looking for

Any link to those??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Cryogen wrote: »
    I personally consider diesel to be the fuel of satan but I found some nice diesels for you

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3549671
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3741361
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3581866

you will be the badass in college when any of these
    19 year old on a lerner permit so obviously I am taking that into account

srsly.jpg

330d He wouldn't be a badass he would be the broke fella who smelled funny

If I dont go for diesel what are cheap petrol cars??

Anything 1.4 or below, cheaper on tax comparible fuel economy on short runs and less to go wrong.

Civic/Corolla or a VAG 1.4 (mine gave zero hassle and got 44mpg)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

hoodrats wrote: »
    wouldnt touch them overpriced piles of **** with a bargepole.
    why not buy a nice little diesel octavia. :)

True, but the meme was funny. :D

Any link to those??

Joking aside, the 318ci will be the best choice for a BMW you will get due to insurance, they are a 2.0 engine or if you prefer a diesel the 320cd is also a 2 litre

comfortable cars but not considered speed machines

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3543812
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3374113
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3857077

These are just to show you the BMW 318ci

4500 euro should get you an 85000 mile model with msport package if you take your time searching

Unfortunately 3500 is the max..maybe even 3000. Anyway wouldnt go near BMW at the moment.

wise words, as BMW are considered reliable but when things go wrong, the costs can escalate.

Realistically a japanese car will give you the reliability

Lexus IS200 2.0

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3846009
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/lexus%20is200?sort=publishDate+desc&start=30

Toyota Corolla
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3381048

with the corollas take your time, finding a good car, low mileage. The ad I posted is just to show you that toyota can be sporty too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Cryogen - the guy is 19 and on his LEARNERS PERMIT. He will not get insured on any of the cars you have posted without it costing an absolute fortune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just a thought if your set on diesel a 1.9 tdi is just going to be too expensive to insure. What about an Astra 1.7 diesel suppose to be a great engine think it was an isuzu engine I could be wrong. Wouldn't imagine there that fast but a lot cheaper on insurance. Your kind of wasting you time asking an insurance company for a quite on a 1.9 tdi as it will be very expensive.

Might have a look at 1.4 focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just a thought if your set on diesel a 1.9 tdi is just going to be too expensive to insure. What about an Astra 1.7 diesel suppose to be a great engine think it was an isuzu engine I could be wrong. Wouldn't imagine there that fast but a lot cheaper on insurance. Your kind of wasting you time asking an insurance company for a quite on a 1.9 tdi as it will be very expensive.

Correct me if im wrong, but is the izusu 1.7 engine not a TD?

Anyway OP.

I think your options here are as follows:

Diesel: 1.9SDI golf
    1.9SDI leon

Petrol: 1.2 punto
    1.0 micra
    1.0 Yaris
    1.0 corsa
    1.1 peugeot 106 or citreon saxo
    1.0 or 1.4 polo
    1.4 golf, leon or fabia.
    1.2 Clio
    1.3 corolla
    1.4 focus

I wouldn't go any higher that a 1.4 petrol or 1.9sdi in diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

i would like to point out something,

insurance can actually be cheaper on a 1.9 TDI than a 1.4 petrol.

i learned this when i started out,

me, no experiance, full license on a 2007 1.4 civic - €2,000.00 - dead

me, no experiance, full license on a 2007 Skoda octavia 1.9 TDi - €1,575.88

dont ask me why but how and ever.....

grant they were both modern cars but even still you get the picture.

what i did was i bit the bullet and got me something reliable and that would last. which i did, for my yoke its keep her serviced and it doesnt stop (until i crash or hit a kerb etc.) but thats money that would be spent anyway and i would rather spend it on a car the will last than a **** box that will be gone soon anyway and get another yoke. and i can assure you i got my moneys worth out of my yoke for reliability, I'm probably the most reliable driver for my company. I only stopped working one for 15 mins cos i got a puncture but was back on the road again. (as opposed to other fools in peugoets over heating and astras burning oil and over heating and puntos having electrical meltdowns.)

my advice to yourself however is to get the full license and then use the oulwans for insurance, (cheaper again)

but anywho,

Dont get a BMW, Audi or Merc, lancer, civic or something stupidly big like that ., or with boy racer image

maybe an older avensis or hyndai accent, matiz, mazda, ford focus etc.
    something nice and reliable but nothing to show off with (maybe focus sucks a lil at reliability but i dunno)

but im talking too much now... time for sleep.

Kopparberg - the reason for the insurnace on the civic being much higher is because of the name that boy-racers have given civics. I know it was the newer model but the stigma is still there.

That and the fact that more than likely, much fewer Octavias would have been involved in accidents than civics, hence making them cheaper to insure.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3871220

What ye think?? A bit expensive?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3871220

What ye think?? A bit expensive?

Overpriced and underpowered. A reasonable asking price for that would be €1750. The 1.4 is known for being fairly underpowered and the 1.6 is the one to go for.

However, it would suit you perfectly but I wouldn't pay that asking price.

Overpriced and underpowered. A reasonable asking price for that would be €1750. The 1.4 is known for being fairly underpowered and the 1.6 is the one to go for.

However, it would suit you perfectly but I wouldn't pay that asking price.

Only 93000 miles on it. 1.6 would be very heavy on petrol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I think what (the more sensible) people are trying to do here is steer you towards a cheaper alternative while you're young OP so that you can save monies and get a few years NCB behind you.

Would you not consider something a bit cheaper to tax and insure like the below?

Fiesta 1.25, 05 Good looking car imo.

Punto 1.2 05.

Polo, 1.2, 04

Getz, 1.1, 2004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Travelling about 40 miles to college 5 days a week...20 up and 20 down so Diesel would be better although tax could be high. Any good links to a few cars???

What you save on petrol, you will spend on tax. Seriously now - 19 yo learner means micra/corsa/fiesta. It is not a myth - it's reality.
    No chance you will insure anything else for less than 2-3k.
    And 40 miles/day isn't big mileage (it is for learner but i leave it out).
    My advice - spend money on car, not on insurance.
    You do not need a diesel at all.

Also - and it may be better for you - buy something much cheaper, and insure it on your own. You will build your ncb, and in no time be able to afford insurance for something more fancy.
    No matter what your first car is, you will enjoy it anyway.

Only 93000 miles on it. 1.6 would be very heavy on petrol

Not necessarily, the 1.6 would be more capable of pulling around the weight of the car compared to the 1.4 which would be under more stress.

I think what (the more sensible) people are trying to do here is steer you towards a cheaper alternative while you're young OP so that you can save monies and get a few years NCB behind you.

Would you not consider something a bit cheaper to tax and insure like the below?

Fiesta 1.25, 05 Good looking car imo.

Punto 1.2 05.

Polo, 1.2, 04

Getz, 1.1, 2004

Unfortunately they are what I call "crap" cars and I have already gone through 2 of those. Terrible looking cars..it's time to move up a bit..might have a look at that focus sometime next week. Hopefully it won't be gone.

You never mentioned that you have been through 2 cars. To be honest, these "crap" cars are the only thing you'll be able to have until you get your full licence or get older or both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Gman21

Hi I'm taking a look at this 206 van tomorrow anything to look out for in particular. Are 206's reliable. http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/3633798
    It's 1.9d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

Tbh, a diesel won't suit you. Diesels need to do 20k+ miles per year. You will only be doing 40 per day, 5 times a week which is 40 x 5 x 52 = 10,400 miles per year. Give an extra 100 miles for the weekend for random stuff which is generous, you'll still only hit 15,600mpy. After a couple years of driving like that you'll have to repair your car as they aren't made for little trips. Plus its an extra 300 euro on tax, and extra on insurance, so you'll gain nothing at all imo

You never mentioned that you have been through 2 cars. To be honest, these "crap" cars are the only thing you'll be able to have until you get your full licence or get older or both.

Oh ya sorry about that..I just wont be driving a punto, fiesta or punto..will be a focus or corrolla at this stage id say.

Gman21 wrote: »
    Hi I'm taking a look at this 206 van tomorrow anything to look out for in particular. Are 206's reliable. http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/3633798
    It's 1.9d

From what I've heard and seen: No. The 106 was probably the most robust peugeot but the standard drops dramatically with the 206. The 206 was a completely new front wheel drive system made by peugeot so I wouldn't bet my house on its reliability... obviously you could pick up a minter by luck and it may last you another 10 years but I wouldn't hold my breath imo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Gman21

Thanks what are almera's like.Im thinking of this one to http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/commercials/3398310

EDIT: For the 206 above I entered the reg into the online tax checker and it's in 600 range does that mean it isn't registered properly as a commercial? Any potential problems with sorting that out?

Almera's are a solid car. My neighbour is a mechanic and he had 2 Almera's that he let people have while he fixed their cars. Both were 13 years old. Never gave a spot of bother. Passed NCT's every year without any major problems. Someone fell asleep driving one recently tho and wrote it off so he just has the one now... Very sturdy car any how

Don't have a clue about the commercial tax though...

EDIT: What I do know is that commercials need a DOE and cannot be taxed as commercial without this... maybe he just doesn't have it done for some reason. It must be done every year

Sound for the help lads. Think il go for a cheap corolla at this stage.