Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Dragons RDS 6.15pm Saturday RTE2

• 07-09-2012 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭

Yis are a bunch of lazy feckers not starting a match thread.
    Hopefully we'll scrape over the line anyhow... Looking forward to seeing some of the new guys, particularly Quinn Roux.

And to having a few scoops and a hot dog in the RDS. Oh how I've missed it......

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Noel Reid
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: John Cooney

1: Jack McGrath
    2: Sean Cronin
    3: Jamie Hagan
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Quinn Roux
    6: Ben Marshall
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Leo Auva'a

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Tom Sexton
    17: Heinke van der Merwe
    18: Martin Moore
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: Luke McGrath
    22: Colm O'Shea

DRAGONS: Dan Evans, Will Harries, Pat Leach, Andy Tuilagi, Tom Prydie, Steffan Jones; Jonathan Evans; Nathan Williams, Sam Parry, Nathan Buck, Ian Nimmo, Adam Jones, Hywel Stoddart, Jevon Groves CAPTAIN, Toby Faletau
    REPLACEMENTS: Hugh Gustafson, Aaron Coundley, Tim Ryan, Lewis Evans, Tom Brown, Liam Davies (Bedwas), Ashley Smith, Hallam Amos
    REFEREE: Marius Mitrea (FIR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Mark Patton, Jonathan Peak (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Gary Glennon ((Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: David Williams (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Alan Rogan (IRFU)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

durkadurka wrote: »
    Yis are a bunch of lazy feckers not starting a match thread.
    Hopefully we'll scrape over the line anyhow... Looking forward to seeing some of the new guys, particularly Quinn Roux.

And to having a few scoops and a hot dog in the RDS. Oh how I've missed it......

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Noel Reid
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: John Cooney

1: Jack McGrath
    2: Sean Cronin
    3: Jamie Hagan
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Quinn Roux
    6: Ben Marshall
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Leo Auva'a

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Tom Sexton
    17: Heinke van der Merwe
    18: Martin Moore
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: Luke McGrath
    22: Colm O'Shea

DRAGONS: Dan Evans, Will Harries, Pat Leach, Andy Tuilagi, Tom Prydie, Steffan Jones; Jonathan Evans; Nathan Williams, Sam Parry, Nathan Buck, Ian Nimmo, Adam Jones, Hywel Stoddart, Jevon Groves CAPTAIN, Toby Faletau
    REPLACEMENTS: Hugh Gustafson, Aaron Coundley, Tim Ryan, Lewis Evans, Tom Brown, Liam Davies (Bedwas), Ashley Smith, Hallam Amos
    REFEREE: Marius Mitrea (FIR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Mark Patton, Jonathan Peak (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Gary Glennon ((Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: David Williams (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Alan Rogan (IRFU)

Yeah really looking forward to getting back. Can't beat the few pints on the terrace, especially this time of year when the weather is still decent. Might have to forgo the grub in the RDS in favour of the deal in Bear though. Steak, chips and a beer for €10 on match days. And it's on my way in too.

As for the match I'll be interested to see how we do. I know feck all about that Dragons squad. But we did a bit of a number on them this time last year (albeit in the second half) so I'm hoping we can see something similar this time around.

COME ON LEINSTER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

ok, a bit of name dropping , but was speaking to BOD at the Picnic, and he said he is rarin to go again :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

molloyjh wrote: »
    Might have to forgo the grub in the RDS in favour of the deal in Bear though. Steak, chips and a beer for €10 on match days. And it's on my way in too.!

That's a savage deal. First I've heard of it - how do you get it, just show your ST/match day ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Ah but the quality foot long sausages in the sausage shacks next to the bars are not to be missed.

Although they caused a mustard stain on my Leinster shirt which won't go away...

Ah but the quality foot long sausages in the sausage shacks next to the bars are not to be missed.

Although they caused a mustard stain on my Leinster shirt which won't go away...

... just make another two stains - three h-cups, three mustard stains... Legendary stuff.

.ak wrote: »
    Might have to forgo the grub in the RDS in favour of the deal in Bear though. Steak, chips and a beer for €10 on match days. And it's on my way in too.!

That's a savage deal. First I've heard of it - how do you get it, just show your ST/match day ticket?

Show the season ticket. There's a standard 10% discount for STHs every other day.

Spoken to a few people who are nervous about this game. We fielded a similar strength team this time last year though. Score predictions anyone? I'm going with 24-16....

After last week without many changes I'd be nervous regardless. I think having Roux will give us a bit more parity at ruck time, hopefully. We shall see... Not confident enough to call it imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Nervous about this game. We're running very thin. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Paddy Power have us at a massive -11 for this game. I find it hard to bet against Leinster so have given that a miss. I'm not sure what happened in the first half last week against Zebre so I don't know how good the Dragons actually are. I think they could be the third Welsh team at the end of the season ahead of Cardiff but I expect Leinster to still win tomorrow.

They don't usually travel very well over here and the team we've out is actually relatively strong considering the teams we put out for our last two games, that we won.

McGrath, Madigan, Carr, Read, Macken, and Conway all played the game in Newport at the end of last season which we won. The team we put out this time last wasn't that strong either!

In the pack the question will be how will Roux and Marshall will play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Do Leinster only have a 22-man squad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Do Leinster only have a 22-man squad?

No, Hudson is no.23.
    Leinster only have 21 senior players to choose from at the moment. Need these internationals back ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Hagz wrote: »
    No, Hudson is no.23.
    Leinster only have 21 senior players to choose from at the moment. Need these internationals back ASAP.
    Whats more 5 of them are locks

Weather's looking great. Can't wait to get down the RDS, hopefully it stays like this and some of the lads get to stretch their legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

50% into the craft beer fest in RDS also with match ticket. Gonna drop in here first and grab a few nice beers prior to the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

chris85 wrote: »
    50% into the craft beer fest in RDS also with match ticket. Gonna drop in here first and grab a few nice beers prior to the game.

I wish Alwed Brew still played for Dragons, because there would have been a joke in that

Weather's looking great. Can't wait to get down the RDS, hopefully it stays like this and some of the lads get to stretch their legs.

The great thing about having a gf who is into the rugby is the lack of brownie points required on match day.

The bad thing being hanging around the house ready to go waiting for her to finish putting on her f-ing make-up. GET A MOVE ON WOMAN!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

The great thing about having a gf who is into the rugby is the lack of brownie points required on match day.

The bad thing being hanging around the house ready to go waiting for her to finish putting on her f-ing make-up. GET A MOVE ON WOMAN!!!

Trust me, it is more good than bad you have it today. Now, back to IKEA....

Count your blessings. I can't get herself into it at all. I've even tried showing her topless photos of David Pocock :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I guess I'm stuck with "another means" of watching this, seems this is only on RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Count your blessings. I can't get herself into it at all. I've even tried showing her topless photos of David Pocock :mad:
    It may have worked for you, but it doesn't mean it will get everyone into rugby.

Fishooks12 wrote: »

I've been reliably informed thats not the player to convert the ladies. Apparently a few of the lads closer to home are a far better option. Wally, Heaslip and Darce all seem popular. My missus was always a big fan of Paterson and Michelak too.

Can't wait to get back into the terrace now. Lovely day for a few pints as well. Hoping for a good performance to go with it. Munster are looking far more solid than I'd expected so far and I expect a lot from Ulster this season too. We need to get our season going as soon as possible and as well as possible.

Mine has an unhealthy obsession with Dan Carter, and Brad Thorn... Talk about chalk and cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Shopping. Done.
    Children entertained with boucy castles galore. Done
    Laptop repairs. Done.
    Family desptached to the granny's. Done.

Leinster shirt fished out of laundry basket. Done.

And it's 45 minutes till I leave for the ground.

Tine for a quick dump and a cuppa tae and I'm good to go!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭backawaygo onahead

Shopping. Done.
    Children entertained with boucy castles galore. Done
    Laptop repairs. Done.
    Family desptached to the granny's. Done.

Leinster shirt fished out of laundry basket. Done.

And it's 45 minutes till I leave for the ground.

Tine for a quick dump and a cuppa tae and I'm good to go!!!!

A superfluity of information, still good luck, hope they ate the Dragons.

I've been reliably informed thats not the player to convert the ladies. Apparently a few of the lads closer to home are a far better option. Wally, Heaslip and Darce all seem popular. My missus was always a big fan of Paterson and Michelak too.

Can't wait to get back into the terrace now. Lovely day for a few pints as well. Hoping for a good performance to go with it. Munster are looking far more solid than I'd expected so far and I expect a lot from Ulster this season too. We need to get our season going as soon as possible and as well as possible.

Relax, Leinster can give the rest a healthy lead & still top the table - sadly. Great day for a game, enjoy.

Its a much bigger day for Ulster, we need a start and like Leinster are against a team with far fewer absent internationals.

GerM wrote: »
    Trust me, it is more good than bad you have it today. Now, back to IKEA....

You have my sympathy.................IKEA .......grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Oh look at ye with yere women. Im going to put on a few Kerr pink, dust off my capeen, put the feet on the dog and sit down with my plate of spuds to watch it on tv. Oh the Kerry life, cant bate it.

I missed last weeks game so im looking ward to seeing how Reid and Macken do together and of course Conway. Seems like good weather for running rugby. Good luck to ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Oh look at ye with yere Irish television. I've dusted off my pretentious shirt, hopped on a train to Covent garden, going to put my feet up on a bar stool and watch it in the porterhouse. London life, can't bate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,977 ✭✭✭✭phog

I guess I'm stuck with "another means" of watching this, seems this is only on RTE!

S4C? I saw earlier that they are showing rugby at 6 and assumed it was this game, didn't really check their schedule.

phog wrote: »
    S4C? I saw earlier that they are showing rugby at 6 and assumed it was this game, didn't really check their schedule.
    Ulster Ospreys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Hopefully this is an entertaining game. Shane Horgan talks a lot of sense, very good pundit and a decent bloke too!

Just turned on the tv, OP said O'Shea was on the bench, RTE said it was Coghlan.

3-0 to the "Dragons"

And the Leinsters make a hasty riposte 3-3

Good man Conway 8-3 with a conversion to come

EDIT 10-3 conversion made

What a try!

Try to the Leinsters....by Conway....will almost certainly be converted for 10-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

What a break from Reid!

I mean you could say it was poor defence but that was superb from Reid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭clsmooth

that was awesome!

Sloppy from Auva'a

Intercept....very well read

And then sloppy from Reid...he telegraphed that.

Cooney looked very very quick in getting back though.

Liking Cooney even more every time I see him

Very naive Leinster side but it's to be expected given the youth of it

Fireball07 wrote: »
    And then sloppy from Reid...he telegraphed that.

Cooney looked very very quick in getting back though.

I wouldn't have said it was completely telegraphed....maybe a bit sloppy but it was a brilliant read.

Leinster 13-10 up now

Dragons conceding a lot of penalties here....lineout just inside the 22 now....

Hagan and McGrath going very well at scrum time

My fears about or strength and depth at 1 and 3 are lessening considerably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

thanks for the updates lads

13-13 now

soft penalty given away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

That quick tap from the drop out almost never works.