Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

words you hate used to describe cars

• 06-09-2012 8:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭

for me irrational as it sounds are

1) a car with some poke
    2) car has lots of toys inside

anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Not sure if it's what you're at but I hate when tyres are referred to as "boots" or "shoes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Poke
    Lift
    Mint
    Teutonic
    Miser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Pea 9

"absolutely mint"........ B1tch please :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

1- One
    2- Lady/ Careful (delete/combine as required)
    3- Owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

"she is a minter lads"
    "she is twincam lad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Mint - never is.
    Fully loaded... mostly means has elecrtric windows.
    Just fully serviced... yeah right.
    TB kit done - cost me a bottle of tippex.
    will fly the test...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

-Cheap road tax
    -Miser on diesel
    -When someone describes a 325/330i as a V6.

The winner being "No NCT but should pass easily."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

one off customised bodykit cost 1000's when describing it on a punto, saxo, clio etc

166man wrote: »

The winner being "No NCT but should pass easily."

I believe the phrase you're looking for is 'fly through nct'

103 matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Immaculate.

Yeah?

Solid.

Well it's hardly feckin liquid or gaseous is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

shes some wagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

She

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Somebody pointed this out on here the other day and I had to laugh - "tax just out". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I hate it when (mainly country) people call a car a bus.

- "Jaysus she's a grand bus"

There was a magazine called Flush Bus

No buses though. Just civics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Not so much words but I hate a price list alongside parts bought in the last 2 years... as if to remind me how much maintenance will cost me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 maintenance

she

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

When a particular model is described as Bulletproof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Not a geeks out of her.
    Could mean anything from a flat battery to a seized engine.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

First to see will buy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

"All electric".......grrrr....

What if its a Nissan leaf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Re-advertised due to timewasters!

Meaning anyone who came to see it realised it was a heap of shít!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Selling as I'm leaving the country next Tuesday.

May P/X or Swap for the right car.

Also another is people using TwinCam in the title,
    Seriously WTF? Ah she's TwinCam laaaaaad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

1- One
    2- Lady
    3- Owner

You forgot the word "careful". Is there such a thing as a careful lady owner. I laugh when i read that.

Easy now with the gender stereotypes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Need quick sale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A bargain at 6k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Gonna qoute a few ads which have become stereotypical of most of the sellers online.

''has only done bla bla bla miles since last test and all work done to it
    engine gearbox and turbo etc. is all 100%
    good pull from turbo''

''cheap to run 60mpg+ no lie..''

''Will not need much for nct''

''will lash evo's nd sti's''

And the RWDs:

'' NEVER ABUSED '' Ya sure..

And the RWDs:

'' NEVER ABUSED '' Ya sure..

Hmmm I own a modified RWD BMW and it's NEVER abused?

Depends on the vibe you get from the seller, easy to tell an enthusiast from a boy-racer. :)

Another I seen earlier,
    'If it doesn't sell, I'm keepin it'

:pac: Well errrm you've know choice. :pac:

And 'Just testin da water' Pisses me off!

Hmmm I own a modified RWD BMW and it's NEVER abused?

Depends on the vibe you get from the seller, easy to tell an enthusiast from a boy-racer. :)

Another I seen earlier,
    'If it doesn't sell, I'm keepin it'

:pac: Well errrm you've know choice. :pac:

And 'Just testin da water' Pisses me off!

I love reading the ''just testing the water'' then they have a picture of their 10 year old slammed Pisshat TDI sitting halfway in a lake.. :pac: lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Full Main Dealer Service History. ROTFLMAO
    Most likely two stamps in the book and then no service for 50k km. And then a quick oil change with the cheapest, nastiest, 10w40, regardless of the fact the car needs a very specific grade of 5w40 fully synthetic.
    I would have zero confidence in the servicing of about 90% of all cars. Only a handful of people actually know or even care what is required to properly service a car and I'd include garages in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

I love reading the ''just testing the water'' then they have a picture of their 10 year old slammed Pisshat TDI sitting halfway in a lake.. :pac: lol

NOT your usual rubbish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

"Mazda for sale, going great, phone for details"
    Nothing else; no picture, mileage, engine size, fuel type etc........:rolleyes:

"lowered" = Avoid

Senna wrote: »
    "lowered" = Avoid

My car is lowered? :confused:

Again depends on the car. :)

NOT your usual rubbish :pac:

Nah course not laddddddddddd, shure she's the red ''D'' red ''I'' version, she's mad powerful like... I still get 180mpg though and four wimmen in the back..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ShanE90

"Kitted" - cracks me up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭martyc5674

She's me pride and joy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Alfa Romeo
    Had a brand new Alfa back in the 90's, was unreliable to say the least, electrical, engine problems. Still get shivers down my spine. Shame really it was a good looking car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

"Drives like new"

My hole. Its 15 years old.

Alfa Romeo
    Had a brand new Alfa back in the 90's, was unreliable to say the least, electrical, engine problems. Still get shivers down my spine. Shame really it was a good looking car.

Just because you had a bad experience with a car the guts of 15 years ago doesn't make them still sh1t now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

"First to see will buy"

How the fcuk do u know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

1.0 on the log book.

ShanE90 wrote: »
    "Kitted" - cracks me up!!
    Just because you had a bad experience with a car the guts of 15 years ago doesn't make them still sh1t now.

They haven't changed much in 15 years! Where are they in the J D Power survey? Wouldn't drive one if I got for free! If they are so great why are Alfa not selling more cars in Ireland?

How are Dacia doing in reliability tests? :pac:

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How are Dacia doing in reliability tests? :pac:

Good question, if you have any info on that I would greatly appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

My car is lowered? :confused:

Again depends on the car. :)

Sorry to tar all cars with the one brush, but if it been lowered i just go on to the next advert.

No calls or texts.... How the fook are you meant to contact them then??!!!
    Alfa Romeo

Oh dear, this could get ugly... :pac:

PopCorn.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭flintash

sorry for offtopic- but WHATS wrong with lowered car?

flintash wrote: »
    sorry for offtopic- but WHATS wrong with lowered car?

I think he means lowered and clearly owned by a skanger... So the car has been modified and neglected in other major departments.