Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just got caught driving in the bus lane :(

• 06-09-2012 4:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

Hey,

I just got caught driving in the bus lane. Can someone please tell me how much the fine is?

Im actually suppressed it took this long for me to get caught. I go into them every time I see some traffic for nearly two years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

€60

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

draffodx wrote: »
    €60

Thanks, thats not too bad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

DylanII wrote: »
    Hey,

I just got caught driving in the bus lane. Can someone please tell me how much the fine is?

Im actually suppressed it took this long for me to get caught. I go into them every time I see some traffic for nearly two years now.

nelson_muntz_ha_ha.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Hey,

If it has taken them 2 years to get you then €30 a year is not so bad. Each day you drive up the bus lane you should stick a euro in a moneybox, build up a warchest for future fines!

I don't do it unless I am in a rush but have never been caught.

I always go up them when they are open and it's amazing the amount of people sitting in a queue through Donnybrook, for example, at 7.15 while the bus lane is empty and open to all vehicles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... Im actually suppressed it took this long for me to get caught. I go into them every time I see some traffic for nearly two years now.
    I'm fecken depressed it took so long, yeh little canat, yeh!

canat= a Dublin expression, a mis-pronunciation of "gnat"; a slang term for a little bollix. If anyone remembers the Foley Family from the wireless years ago Tom Foley used it as an expression of disdain to younger disrespectful males. "Alice, Alice, where's that little canat gone now? Alice, Alice, can yeh hear me Alice?" (Alice = the long suffering Mrs. Foley)

Im from Dublin and I have never heard that expression.

It's well worth it though and it certainly won't stop me from doing it. The amount of time it has saved me over the past two years is unreal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Im from Dublin and I have never heard that expression. ...l.
    But you drive in bus-lanes; you'll learn nothing doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Is there not also penalty points? I might be mistaken but I thought you also received one point for driving in a bus lane/failing to adhere to road traffic markings.

Nope, just a fixed charge, well thats what the guard that stopped me said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Im from Dublin and I have never heard that expression.

It's well worth it though and it certainly won't stop me from doing it. The amount of time it has saved me over the past two years is unreal.

This is what a friend of mine said to me while we were argueing about using the bus lane...

Driving on the bus is a great idea, best way to go to the city centre during rush hour, it takes me 30 minutes to get to grand canal wether it takes my work colleagues almost 2 hours to make the same trip.

I also love watchig peoples faces watching me passing by, its brilliant. Bunch of losers they all are. Bus drivers and taxi drivers dont seem to like me either, mostly because some times, as I am using the bus lane I am blocking their access but I couldnt care less as I never use public transport neither use taxis. The important thing is that I make it in time, I know I could have left earlier like most people do and then dont use the bus lane, but I rather spend that time in bed.

so basically Its all about him him him thats how he rules..........

In my opinion using the bus lane just because you want to save time it is no a good excuse, same as steping in front of someone else while waiting in the queue, etc.

I dont use the bus lane out of respect to other drivers/people. This said I wouldnt mind someone using the bus lane if it is an emergency or even if they are running late to an none planned event or other similar circumstances but that's about it. If you are running late either leave earlier or use public transport (or cycle or get a motorbike or walk).

What is going to happen is that one day, they will realise that more and more people are using the bus lane and they will start placing cameras etc to control this, and that will be the end of it. Until then, enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Shakti

Have you considered driving a bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Nope - http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/accidents-gardai-and-penalties/penalty-points-fixed-charge-offences/index.html

Possibly should be a 2 point offence to discourage people but as far as I'm aware the points are for safety and this isn't in general an offence against road safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

When I was in Dublin this year I was using the bus lanes too :pac: 100kph up the roads passing by every car I met :cool: Great feeling and way to save time ;) Never got caught either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

I rarely, and I mean rarely use the bus lane but I've been caught out twice in a span of 5 years. First time I only got a warning, no fine, nothing. 2nd time I also didn't have my seatbelt on according to the copper (I'm pretty sure I did and just unfastened it after I pulled in to the side of the road). Eitherway I was let off with just the fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

People who drive in bus lanes are tossers.

If im coming up to an intersection/ roundabout to turn left, for which the bus lane ends. I have absolutely no problem cutting off what ever idiot is driving up the bus lane.

No.1 you are not a bus.
    No.2 hit me from behind and its ur fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sitec wrote: »
    What would happen if you had an accident in a bus lane?
    Depends, number 1 or number 2?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Hey,

I hope you won't be that cuffed if you ever crash in one........you'll be faaaaaaacked:D

Doom wrote: »
    I hope you won't be that cuffed if you ever crash in one........you'll be faaaaaaacked:D

What do you mean? Surly the fact that Im in a bus lane wont be relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Whatever about doing it, boasting about it is pretty stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

You've just got caught for driving in a bus lane, and now you're using a mobile while driving? You're just begging for trouble you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Hopefully you will get caught again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I am so happy you got caught OP.

The amount of knobheads who break the rules to suit themselves is unreal.

I suppose you walk up to the front of the queue in shops and push in because that's how a rule breaker rolls.

There is a reason it's called a BUS lane....you don't drive a bus so get into the traffic like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Could just leave earlier and save €60? :confused:

Its kinda like speeding in this country, its pointless. The time saved is seconds, if even. The difference between a 140 km/h and 120km/h run from Dublin to Galway is about 15 mins if you could keep it held. So reduce that down to city driving, and its pure cod to think your actually saving much time with traffic, lights etc. Just drive intelligently in traffic. From working near UCD and coming from Wicklow, I'd regularly catch any bus that passes me at say Foxrock by the time I'd hit Donnybrook. And if you choose your route intelligently, its entirely possible to beat them.

Frankly I don't care, if thats how you want to drive, then all the best to you. Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Depends, number 1 or number 2?

Brilliant, thanks for the chuckle..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

ironclaw wrote: »

Its kinda like speeding in this country, its pointless. The time saved is seconds, if even. The difference between a 140 km/h and 120km/h run from Dublin to Galway is about 15 mins if you could keep it held. ....

15 minutes could be the difference between getting caught by some Galway bloke shagging his wife and getting away with it.

newmug wrote: »
    You've just got caught for driving in a bus lane, and now you're using a mobile while driving? You're just begging for trouble you are!

Where did you get the Idea that I was on my phone from?

ironclaw wrote: »

If I was going to be charged €60 each time I done it then sure, I would stop doing it unless really necessary.

The amount of time I saved over the past while from driving in bus lanes it worth much more than €60 to me.

The journey that I done today took me about 20 minutes + 5 minutes for being stopped by the guards. If I hadn't used the bus lane it would have taken well over an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I never drive in bus lanes unless during the hours , however everytime I go to park my car of a road I need to drive in a bus lane to take the left and the amount of beeps I get from taxis , less so busses is unreal - be in the lane for about 100m max as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

My last 2 visits to Dublin I drove through bus lanes. Great thing - I got from M4, then near Heuston station, and then through the quay's to Parnell square in about 10 to 15 minutes, while there were huge queues on all other lanes.
    Bus lanes is a great idea.

I never drive in bus lanes unless during the hours , however everytime I go to park my car of a road I need to drive in a bus lane to take the left and the amount of beeps I get from taxis , less so busses is unreal - be in the lane for about 100m max as well

Well, I think taxi's can go and F them selves. I don't see why they should be allowed into a bus lane. - Im not saying I should be allowed either though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

The amount of time I saved over the past while from driving in bus lanes it worth much more than €60 to me.

They started enforcing it better I think, I live by a QBC and recently see cars being stopped all the time. Easy money for them, expect a couple more sixties soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

CiniO wrote: »
    My last 2 visits to Dublin I drove through bus lanes. Great thing - I got from M4, then near Heuston station, and then through the quay's to Parnell square in about 10 to 15 minutes, while there were huge queues on all other lanes.
    Bus lanes is a great idea.

Can't wait for the thread when you get caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

There are two kinds of drivers, those who obey (more or less) the rules of the road, and cunts.

I do more or less obey the rules of the road. This would be the only rule that I would generally break.

P.C. wrote: »

Get caught for what?
    I wasn't doing anything wrong :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Well, I think taxi's can go and F them selves. I don't see why they should be allowed into a bus lane. - Im not saying I should be allowed either though.

I suppose the main issue is that you wouldnt want to be in a taxi and get caught in traffic. Taxis are also part of public transport system therefore they are entitled to use it.

Remember that the reason for its existance is to force people to use public transport.

It doesnt really matter if we like it or not... they are allowed, we arent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The sooner they bring in bus lane cameras the better.

Also bring in yellow box cameras. Sitting at the terenure/templeogue junction one day and my light turns green. I don't move as i would have to go into the yellow box. Horn blares behind me. Light changes to red...horn blares again. Out i hop - "what the fcuk is the horn about?" "why didn't you move forward?" "yellow box as*hole, do you know you're not allowed to sit in it. Blare that horn again and i'll kick you through that junction" W*nker.

This evening i'm driving on the m50 on the inside lane for the tallaght turn off. Just about to go off completely and i see a black audi a6 coming from the 3rd lane to hit the slip road (nearly lamped a car in the process)...he tries to bull in front of me...i wouldn't give him an inch from the truck in front...cnut blares me and follows me down towards the spawell....throws me the finger for good measure...gave him the w*nker signal............w*nker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

P.C. wrote: »

He's well known around these parts as a bus driver!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

What's the bet that our finest in their skin tight leather bike suits will be out like the plague monitoring bus lanes after reading this thread?

Careful on the N11 junction newparktown ave/lepordstown rd inbound to city......like shooting fish in a barrel for those trying to turn left towards the m50. Put a wheel on the bus lane and Kerr chunk...60€ gone west. Biker chaps there in rush hour a lot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Bearcat wrote: »
    What's the bet that our finest in their skin tight leather bike suits will be out like the plague monitoring bus lanes after reading this thread?

Careful on the N11 junction newparktown ave/lepordstown rd inbound to city......like shooting fish in a barrel for those trying to turn left towards the m50. Put a wheel on the bus lane and Kerr chunk...60€ gone west. Biker chaps there in rush hour a lot.

Everyone knows cops can't read!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Jesus the OP does make a convincing argument for using the bus lanes. Probably easily saves more than 30euro a year in fuel by not sitting in traffic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Prick!

Hi, can anyone tell me when you can actually legally use a bus lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Clog up the bus lanes and those of us on the bus will drive instead. It's in car drivers interest to encourage people to use the bus as it means less traffic.

Prick! wrote: »

If you are driving a bus, is the most relevant answer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭number66

Prick! wrote: »

http://www.drivingschoolireland.com/bus-cycle-lanes-luas.html#2

Where did you get the Idea that I was on my phone from?

In your original post, you said you just got caught. As in, minutes ago. So you either posted that from a mobile or a laptop. For the sake of all reason, tell me you weren't using your laptop while driving!

newmug wrote: »
    In your original post, you said you just got caught. As in, minutes ago. So you either posted that from a mobile or a laptop. For the sake of all reason, tell me you weren't using your laptop while driving!

Is that what you actually thought? Or were you trying to act stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Is there a website which lists out various bus lanes and at what times regular traffic can enter them.

Very hard to read those small signs notifying the hours while driving.

Is that what you actually thought? Or were you trying to act stupid?

Well did the Guard type it up for you then? And as for acting stupid, I wasn't the one fined for breaking the law lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

you can drive in the most of the bus lane on the N11 after 7pm, which not to many people realise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Surprised more people don't do it, it's rarely policed and saves so much time.
    Doop wrote: »
    People who drive in bus lanes are tossers.

If im coming up to an intersection/ roundabout to turn left, for which the bus lane ends. I have absolutely no problem cutting off what ever idiot is driving up the bus lane.

No.1 you are not a bus.
    No.2 hit me from behind and its ur fault.

I'd love to see you do that move in front of an unmarked garda car!