Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spillane assaulted by Donegal supporters

• 06-09-2012 2:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭

Kerry Gaelic Games pundit Pat Spillane has confirmed that he was assaulted by a number of Donegal fans after he left Croke Park following Donegal’s All-Ireland semi-final victory over Cork two weeks ago.

Speaking to the Donegal Democrat, the nine time All-Star told how, as he departed Croke Park minutes after the game, and as he headed up Clonliffe Road, he was surrounded by a number of Donegal fans. He said he received a number of ‘belts’ in the stomach.

Mr Spillane confirmed also that he did not report the incident to the gardaí.

In his column, which is carried on the back page of this edition, former Derry All-Ireland winner Joe Brolly, described how he spoke to Spillane before the second of the All-Ireland semi-finals between Mayo and Dubin last Sunday and Spillane was still shaken as a result of what Brolly called a ‘scandalous’ attack.

“Once the game was over, as I always do, I left Croke Park immediately because I have over a four and a half hour journey ahead of me back to Kerry,” Spillane told the Democrat yesterday. “As I was headed out of Croke Park and walking up Clonliffe Road, there must have been 10,000 Donegal supporters on the road.

“Many of them were shouting at me and most of the comment was good-humoured banter. But I just kept my head down and carried on about my business before the next thing I knew was that a flag was dropped in front of me and I was surrounded by a number of supporters and I received a couple of belts to the stomach.”

When asked if he was frightened he said he wasn’t, though he did state that it wouldn’t go down as the best 15 minutes in his life.

He also went on to say that he did not feel safe until he was in Urlingford on the way home.

The assault has been condemned by the Donegal GAA chairman, P. J. McGowan, who said he was shocked to hear of the incident and apologised to the Kerryman.

“I’m really shocked to hear of the assault and I want to condemn it in the strongest possible way and I want to apologise to Pat on behalf of the decent and genuine Donegal supporters,” said the chairman.

Mr. McGowan went on to say that while he could understand Donegal supporters getting involved in good-humoured banter with Pat Spillane, he could in no way condone supporters physically assaulting the RTÉ pundit.

Donegal Democrat

I'll start by saying that what happened is completely wrong. But as a side note I think it's a good time to discuss the comments from the armchair pundits on The Sunday Game. Do people really listen to what these guys have to say? From Cyril Farrell to Tomas Mulcahy to Michael Duignan to Joe Brolly does anybody really listen to what they have to say any more?

It's like watching Aprés Match at this stage. Now there is a few good pundits don't get me wrong. But it's silly the amount of rubbish they come out with like Cyril Farrell's "Hello magazine" style of dramatisation. Let's not forget these guys are amateur sportsmen and have full time jobs to return to afterwords. Tomas Mulcahy's 'inside scoops' as well are hilarious. This years best was the Tipperary hurlers fighting in bars over wives and girlfriends (Cyril Farrell's baby) or Ciaran Whelan talking about the ethics of the GAA.

Now, it's understandable that some people love the controversy of the comments they make but surely nobody takes them seriously and surely were not all that stupid. If somebody has taken Spillane's comments seriously enough to hit him then they need a mental health check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

I'll start by saying that what happened is completely wrong. But as a side note I think it's a good time to discuss the comments from the armchair pundits on The Sunday Game. of the GAA.

we've a thread for that called "The sunday game thread" or something equally cryptic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is coming out at a very "attention seeking" time considering how the Donegal match was millions of years ago. If true it's a scumbag thing to do from a tiny portion of fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Spillanes one of the greatest players to ever play the game, his opinion will always hold weight with me anyway.

What a shower of absolute scum those fans are. Ironically, Splillane has been very fair in his praise of Donegal this year.

Fcukin gobshiites. Football wouldn't be what it is today if it wasn't for the likes of Spillane and the superb teams he was on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Puke tactics by the donegal lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

They were bad losers last year & it's looking like some of them are being bad winners this year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

I'm surprised that the likes of Spillane (and I assume his colleagues) have to make their way home up through Clonliffe Road with the rest of us mere mortals.

How long before all Donegal fans are now tarred with the same brush as these dumb ****s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

comeraghs wrote: »
    They were bad losers last year & it's looking like some of them are being bad winners this year too.
    In fairness like alot of hooligan acts its always a minority scum. Most Donegal fans would just have had a bit of banter with Spillane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

er...good on them....anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

This is coming out at a very "attention seeking" time considering how the Donegal match was millions of years ago. If true it's a scumbag thing to do from a tiny portion of fans.

Didn't he write about that in the Sunday World this weekend just gone.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Really sorry to hear this. A small element of idiots and the whole county will be tarred with the same brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

buck65 wrote: »
    er...good on them....anyone?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

From what I hear about the incident on facebook from people who were supposedly present a group of 4/5 Donegal fans came over to him for a chat and were like "Oh its Pat Spillane" and they went over and started slapping him on the shoulder poking him in the ribs and all that craic.

It's just Spillane trying to darken the Donegal name yet again, which is disappointing, because I honestly was starting to warm towards him and his playful banter about the Donegal style of play.

curry-muff wrote: »
    From what I hear about the incident on facebook from people who were supposedly present a group of 4/5 Donegal fans came over to him for a chat and were like "Oh its Pat Spillane" and they went over and started slapping him on the shoulder poking him in the ribs and all that craic.

It's just Spillane trying to darken the Donegal name yet again, which is disappointing, because I honestly was starting to warm towards him and his playful banter about the Donegal style of play.

Oh that makes it all OK then so he is lying about getting digs to his stomach. The fact is there was no need for that sort of behaviour I know if it was me and 4/5 guys started that "craic" I would not be to happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

It's just Spillane trying to darken the Donegal name yet again

Jaysus.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Really sorry to hear this. A small element of idiots and the whole county will be tarred with the same brush

I don't think the whole county will be tarred with the same brush. What happened was wrong of course but when people think of Donegal supporters the first word that is going to come to their mind is not going to be "hooligans".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

.. but when people think of Donegal supporters the first word that is going to come to their mind is not going to be "hooligans".

The first word that comes into my head is Air-Horn. Although that's kinda two words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Didn't he write about that in the Sunday World this weekend just gone.??
    Didn't get it but surprised nothing popped up on here till today. That said if it happened it's a right arsehole thing to do, regardless of whether you like Pat or not. Pat isn't even the controversial one anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

IrishAm wrote: »
    Jaysus.....

Making a mountain out of a molehill is still defamation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

From what I heard on Facebook, 65,000 Donegal fans, armed to the teeth, surrounded Pat, dragged him down the ally beat 7 Shades of Shíte out of him, and left him in a gutter bleeding.

What you read on facebook is more then likely absolute bullshít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Making a mountain out of a molehill is still defamation.

Mentioning an incident where you get slapped around a busy street by five grown men is not making a mountain out of a molehill. Not a nice experience for anyone and the man was reportedly very shaken after the incident.

But please feel free to claim it is one big conspiracy against poor wee Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭henke

Spillane isn't Mr Popular in Donegal after his comments last year but this was an idiotic thing to do by a minority. The rest of us would have banter with him and remind him who put Kerry out but assault him no. I doubt there is a County in Ireland who doesn't have a minority who are idiots so I hope Donegal doesn't get tarred with this brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

i read apperently donegal are planning the homecomeing all ready

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Ye, teams usually do return home when they play in Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Not necessarily, re-read the start of the story again. Specifically Pat Spillane confirmed the story, the way I read that is the paper, in this case the Donegal newspaper contacted him after hearing these rumours in order to confirm them.

Oh ok, I will take the word of people who would have a reason to lie over a person who has no reason....

I am surprised you can even read it from that cross up there to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

So set the picture Spillane walking down busy street and confronted by 5 morons gets poked around messing or serious makes little difference but nobody can defend that Jesus what a horrible thing to do to pat!!!

Louth were so badly tarnished after ref attack, this looks terrible too that's all I will say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Buzzzzzin

Where ever those guys were from, shame on you. Majority of Donegal fans can laugh about comments like pats but obviously there is a wee minority out there who don't get out too often and can't behave themselves. On some occasions I've been at croke Park for Donegal games Dublin fans mainly kids have been verbally abusive and jeering as we made our way back to our car. (Meant in good humour Im not sure as we didnt stop to ask)This kind of behaviour is not just confined to one county.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

but with the cup

shiibata wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭henke

but with the cup

There are planning a homecoming, win or lose.

http://hoganstand.com/donegal/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=176946
    "There will be a reception for the team on Monday, September 24 at around 8pm on the Diamond, whatever the result. The team and management deserve a great reception, whether they win or not. They've worked so hard throughout the year,"

So you heard wrong if you heard there planning a homecoming with the cup. That will only happen if they win.

I don't think the whole county will be tarred with the same brush. What happened was wrong of course but when people think of Donegal supporters the first word that is going to come to their mind is not going to be "hooligans".

You would be surprised how easy it is for fans all to be tarred with the same brush. Take it from me I am an expert in this area ;)

God ye Rangers fans are all the same, always looking for sympathy!

;) :P

DDC1990 wrote: »
    God ye Rangers fans are all the same, always looking for sympathy!

;) :P

LOL I just spat coffee all over my screen. Thanks for that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

but with the cup
    this has been discussed to death on another thread, get your facts rather than spew ****e everywhere. there is always a homecomming for a donegal team after a final, win or lose. it has always been organised for various reasons by the Four Masters Gaa club in Donegal Town. some dimwitted letterkenny politicians thought they would stick their nose in (publically) believing their divine right to everything and it has blown up in their faces, no donegal gaa squabbling and you can bet your house something is planned in mayo too.

and on this i dunno which is worse; the scumbags or how the fook they got away with it on the packed road. should be found and lifetime ban

spillane has been fair on us this year and was over the top last year (managing to insult a load of muslims while trying to have a go at donegal) but lets face it rte pay them to come out with provocative ****, same as with soccer same as with rugby... accept it and move on, although when your at the match you generally have the benefit of not having to listen to the bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

This is a very un-GAA thing to happen..

And from fans of the potential All-Ireland Champions..

Doesnt look good at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

As bad as the pundits might be there is no place for them to be assaulted by a couple of clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

This is a very un-GAA thing to happen..

And from fans of the potential All-Ireland Champions..

Doesnt look good at all!

sure didnt ye have people spit on Dubs supporters at weekend?:p:p

Allegedly.

Is assaulting an elderly man not worse no?

Allegedly.

So we can put thuggery into nice separate piles now then. Oh well

Good man yourself

Allegedly.

well if you really want to know what I think then those incidents at weekend were made up.

Personally if what Spillane said is true then its disgrace. No reason to doubt him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

FFS... some bloody people. Really and truly can people not get it into their thick heads that Spillane et al are just there to give opinions and what they say isn't necessarily fact?

I hope he's not too shaken up by this.

I like Spillane and think he is fair and gives teams credit when its deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

While yes I agree that pundits aim to be controversial as entertainment - I still think they can go overboard and make very hurtful personal comments. Jim McGuinness was right to be annoyed over the comments last year. This year derogatory comments were made about Martin McElkennon and McEneany described how hurtful this was:
    Spillane claimed Tyrone native McElkennon was over-rated on last Sunday night’s show but McEnaney rounded on the Kerry legend.

McEnaney fumed: "There was one thing that really annoyed me during the week. On the Sunday Game last Sunday night you (Spillane) had a personal attack as far as I was concerned on Martin McElkennon, without any personal knowledge of the type of character that Martin is.

"When he came into Monaghan, in his first year, Monaghan were in Division 4 and [he] left them in Division 1. Monaghan hadn’t played in an Ulster final for 20 years and played in two under Martin McElkennon.

"For me, this was Pat Spillane being anti-Ulster, anti-Ulster coaches, anti-Ulster teams, anti-Ulster full stop. Martin McElkennon has a wife and five kids, watched the Sunday Game and might not have slept since last Sunday night. He’s a top class coach, has trained five intercounty teams.

"All the players he has trained would have a seriously high regard for him."

I just think pundits should be a bit careful. Also having heard the original comment from Spillane he gave the impression that McElkennon was a nobody. Was this also showing his lack of knowledge.

Sorry forgot to say obviously I would condemn the yobs who hit Spillane - they are just the usual drunk idiots you get everywhere. They are no reflection on genuine Donegal supporters - and everyone should already know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

I doubt it was people offended by what he said tbh just wanted to be the big man moreso.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Personally, I don't ever think physical violence ever is warranted and I think people should be free to go wherever they want, whenever they want, but if you are known for controversal opinions about a team involved in a match and you know that some of the supporters will have drink in them, wouldn't you wait a while before leaving?

Also, is it just me or does a lot of this story seem a bit off? The live program usually stays on for ~30 minutes after the final whistle, most of the supporters will have left by the time he'd be leaving, I couldn't imagine there being 10,000 supporters there. If he's in such a such a rush to get on the road (4 and a half hour trip....) wouldn't he be better off parking in the Croke Park Hotel to allow him into his car asap and on the road, finally, as Cork were in the final, and most of their supporters would be West Cork based, surely he'd have been better going home via the M7 rather than the M8, lot quieter road after the match.

Clareman wrote: »
    Personally, I don't ever think physical violence ever is warranted and I think people should be free to go wherever they want, whenever they want, but if you are known for controversal opinions about a team involved in a match and you know that some of the supporters will have drink in them, wouldn't you wait a while before leaving?

Also, is it just me or does a lot of this story seem a bit off? The live program usually stays on for ~30 minutes after the final whistle, most of the supporters will have left by the time he'd be leaving, I couldn't imagine there being 10,000 supporters there. If he's in such a such a rush to get on the road (4 and a half hour trip....) wouldn't he be better off parking in the Croke Park Hotel to allow him into his car asap and on the road, finally, as Cork were in the final, and most of their supporters would be West Cork based, surely he'd have been better going home via the M7 rather than the M8, lot quieter road after the match.

There is a video from before/after the incident.

Pretty clear to see that there is a sizable number of Donegal people there, as Pat said throwing abuse at him, but in a playful way. Pity it went downhill from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

Clareman wrote: »

DDC dealt with the first part but on the bolded part if you search on google maps the suggested route from Croke Park to Templenoe it is via the M8. Its also worth noting the M7 and M8 are the same thing until county Laois so he could have made up his mind on the way. I don't recall a huge Cork support that day anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I've talked to and seen a number of comments on places like facebook from Donegal people in recent weeks, after their defeat of Kerry especially, when they had things like 'take that Spillane' (or far ruder)written, or have said something similar to me. I know a good few people from Donegal, and people who have had little or no interest in football are all on the bandwagon and heading to matches, same as any county that suddenly starts going well. These same people aren't watching the Sunday Game or don't keep an avid interest in football so have no idea that Spillane has actually been very complimentary of them this year.

I'm fairly certain that what may have happened Sunday had nothing to do with people being slighted over something Pat has said. They couldn't be after this year when he's been full of compliments. It was a group of young idiot lads with a few drinks on then who wanted to act the clown. These same ill-informed eejits are the ones who have the distorted view that Spillane is anti-Donegal because they know little or nothing about football.

Its just a false aura around Spillane that makes him a hate figure for many for no reason. Everything he says is over hyped up, and comments he makes are remembered. Look at this video..

In that what you actually have is a full minute of Colm O'Rourke slating Donegal. Spillane then makes 1 comment 'victory for Gaelic football that Donegal were beaten', and goes on to praise Dublin for the rest of the video. What does the video title read? 'Smug Spillane ripping at Donegal'. Not O'Rourke, but Spillane, even though he only said one line.

And lo and behold, a perfect example of the clueless bandwagon idiot I mentioned above in the first comment:
    'victory for gaa football' !!! go fist your dick hole spillane, we showed you there on august 5th ya prick. UP DONEGAL ..**** spillane

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I've talked to and seen a number of comments on places like facebook from Donegal people in recent weeks, after their defeat of Kerry especially, when they had things like 'take that Spillane' (or far ruder)written, or have said something similar to me. I know a good few people from Donegal, and people who have had little or no interest in football are all on the bandwagon and heading to matches, same as any county that suddenly starts going well. These same people aren't watching the Sunday Game or don't keep an avid interest in football so have no idea that Spillane has actually been very complimentary of them this year.

I'm fairly certain that what may have happened Sunday had nothing to do with people being slighted over something Pat has said. They couldn't be after this year when he's been full of compliments. It was a group of young idiot lads with a few drinks on then who wanted to act the clown. These same ill-informed eejits are the ones who have the distorted view that Spillane is anti-Donegal because they know little or nothing about football.

Its just a false aura around Spillane that makes him a hate figure for many for no reason. Everything he says is over hyped up, and comments he makes are remembered. Look at this video..

In that what you actually have is a full minute of Colm O'Rourke slating Donegal. Spillane then makes 1 comment 'victory for Gaelic football that Donegal were beaten', and goes on to praise Dublin for the rest of the video. What does the video title read? 'Smug Spillane ripping at Donegal'. Not O'Rourke, but Spillane, even though he only said one line.

And lo and behold, a perfect example of the clueless bandwagon idiot I mentioned above in the first comment:
    I'd like that post 100 times if I could.

Nail on the head.

The ordinary Donegal fans are outraged at this, but lads who've jumped on the bandwagon, making Facebook Pages, Putting up pictures of Donegal players photoshopped with Sam, writing #jimmyswinningmatches after everything they say on Facebook are defending the attack, saying he deserved it for all the shít he's said about Donegal. Yet ask any of them what exactly he said and they'll be quiet very quickly.

Donegal played a form of football last year that was almost excrutiating to watch. Pat pointed this out, and peaple didn't like it. But it was true. It was effective but boring, and horrible to watch. This year Jimmy has added to the tight defence, and developed a decent style of counter attacking, which improves their game from a viewers point of view and from a general footballing point of view. Pat has praised them for that, and has hardly had a bad word to be said about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,547 ✭✭✭✭muffler

shiibata wrote: »
    Great stuff shibata. There's no feckin answer to that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Every county in Ireland, North and South, has a yahoo element who are capable of doing what the socalled Donegal supporters did in this instance. Sometimes it's caused by a pure rush of blood to the head (Red Mist like....well known to anyone who plays physical games) sometimes by alcohol, sometimes by cheerleaders (big mouth types) who egg on excited groups of supporters, and sometimes it's a combination of all these things. The truth, however, is that the vast bulk of people do not engage actively with buffoonery when they see it although they will rarely lose an opportunity to be close observers. The decent people of Donegal are not tarnished by this but the buffoons are.......as if they care !

As for the bold Pat.....I had the good fortune to see him play and by any standard he was a MIGHTY player. There were very, very, few players who could lift a whole team as Pat could do when he was on song. He was an entertaining player too as he was unpredictable and always brought the crowd to the edge of their seats or onto their toes as the case may be and that is what the great crowds come to see. For those who did not see him play, well that is your misfortune, for he was always a joy to watch.....and a great 'character' on the field of play.

Pat, this behaviour says far more about the yahoos than it does about you. And I'm no Kerryman who often did battle with them.