Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Field Trial any new gear or equipment?

• 04-09-2012 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭

Now that we're all back hunting and hard at it, did you get any new purchases over the summer and give them a try out?

I got some Surefire EP4 Sonic Defenders and gave them a try duck shooting on Saturday morning.
    I usually wear Peltor Sportac electronic ones but wanted a cheap back-up to throw in the kit bag.

The obvious big disadvantage is that the ones I was using were passive and block out most sounds, including communication with others.

Advantages are that they are cheap, comfortable, streamline and give great sound reduction. The Peltors are excellent but are bulky and warm.

The Surefire EP4 have me thinking about getting the electronic in-ear ones. Pricey I know but they really would be the best of both worlds. Wearing the EP4 on the shore did not feel right though, felt cut off from the group and couldn't hear the lads whistle or give a heads up when duck were coming in. They'd be grand for a scenario of popping them in before firing a single shot, like stalking or similar. Not so great for sessions of prolonged shooting where communication is vital.

So, try out anything new?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Anyone ever wear MacWet gloves for shooting? If so what were they like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Very good idea for a thread Vegeta.
    If this took off it could work very well. Would be good if it started with what the review was about;
    For example if your heading had to be "shotgun review- berretta xxx" or "knife review-xxx"
    Then add a Pic(s) followed with a paragraph or essay on pro/cons likes/ dislikes etc
    I've new dog box that I'll do when I've time.

The thought came from my wish list. I have a wish list of stuff I want to buy for shooting and as I get them I will probably review them as I go.

Currently on wish list are shooting gloves, lighter silencer for rifle and maybe if I am really generous to myself a nice set of binoculars and a decent spotting scope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

visionary-hd-8x56.jpg

not everyone has big money to splash out on zeiss or the likes when it comes to binos.
    These were picked up at birr after for 110 after a bit of haggling.

Having been out stalking with them now a few times they are really impressive.

They are crystal clear during the day and brilliant in low light. They out perform both scopes we have anyway by miles in low light. so much so we were watching 5 deer in darkness that we couldn't see at 100 yards with the naked eye or scopes after the deer came out just as we were about to give up waiting in around.

I'd highly recommend them to anyone who hasn't big money to be spending on bino's

Visionary HD 10x50 Binoculars
    Optical Hardwares Visionary binoculars have an excellent quality, bright image. The have easy grip rubber armouring and large eyepieces and eyecups for stress free viewing.
    All Visionary classic style binoculars feature :
    * Quality body construction with rubber armour
    * High quality coated glass lenses and prisms
    * Centre focusing, with large easy to use focus wheel
    * Dioptre adjustment
    * Rubber eyecups, push down for use with spectacles
    * Centre tripod fitting
    * BaK4 Prisms * Case and strap
    * 10 year guarantee

Magnification 10x
    Objective 50mm
    Field of View (°) 8.42°
    Twilight Factor 22.36
    Exit Pupil Size 5.00mm
    Weight 800g
    Dimensions: HxWxD 180x180x80mm
    Case / Strap Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Vegeta wrote: »
    Now that we're all back hunting and hard at it, did you get any new purchases over the summer and give them a try out?

I got some Surefire EP4 Sonic Defenders and gave them a try duck shooting on Saturday morning.
    I usually wear Peltor Sportac electronic ones but wanted a cheap back-up to throw in the kit bag.

The obvious big disadvantage is that the ones I was using were passive and block out most sounds, including communication with others.

Advantages are that they are cheap, comfortable, streamline and give great sound reduction. The Peltors are excellent but are bulky and warm.

The Surefire EP4 have me thinking about getting the electronic in-ear ones. Pricey I know but they really would be the best of both worlds. Wearing the EP4 on the shore did not feel right though, felt cut off from the group and couldn't hear the lads whistle or give a heads up when duck were coming in. They'd be grand for a scenario of popping them in before firing a single shot, like stalking or similar. Not so great for sessions of prolonged shooting where communication is vital.

So, try out anything new?

Good review and very helpful . I was just about to order these as after a recent day's pigeon shooting ( of course i forgot the ear plugs!)and 5 boxes of cartridges later ,I was left with ringing in the ears and thought I really must do something about trying to avoid further hearing damage as mine is already not the best....

I'm surprised that you say you couldn't hear the lads whistle etc. as the manufacturers say '' EP4 Sonic Defenders® Plus protect your hearing without interfering with your ability to hear routine sounds or conversations.''. So I presume thats just advertising b*lls*t and you can't believe what you read anymore. Still I might still get some of these as I suspect they are somewhat more effcetive than the foam plugs ( well especially in my case as I had even left them at home :) )

Good review and very helpful . I was just about to order these as after a recent day's pigeon shooting ( of course i forgot the ear plugs!)and 5 boxes of cartridges later ,I was left with ringing in the ears and thought I really must do something about trying to avoid further hearing damage as mine is already not the best....

I'm surprised that you say you couldn't hear the lads whistle etc. as the manufacturers say '' EP4 Sonic Defenders® Plus protect your hearing without interfering with your ability to hear routine sounds or conversations.''. So I presume thats just advertising b*lls*t and you can't believe what you read anymore. Still I might still get some of these as I suspect they are somewhat more effcetive than the foam plugs ( well especially in my case as I had even left them at home :) )

We were covering a large body of water in fairness and the closest guy to me was 30 yards away. They do have little caps to leave open, this supposedly allows more sound in but I felt effectively deaf and isolated with them on. I wore them for long enough to assess them and then switched back to the Peltors. In a hide scenario sitting right next to your shooting buddy then you'll be fine with them I think. I also wore them clay shooting and found them a much better in that scenario because I didn't need to whisper or hear wings whistling through the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Thanks Vegeta. Sounds like (pardon the pun !) they are worth a go. Did you order online from surefire in the states or do you know if there's an Irish supplier ?

Sorry for the delay in replying, only seeing this thread now. I got them off ebay from a seller called bravotac I think.

On a different note, I was in TK Maxx at the weekend and while herself was browsing handbags I thought I'd go and have a look at some of the outdoor clothing they usually have in stock. Low and behold they had the Bear Grylls line of Craghopper pants for 46 euro. I got them in green. These appear to be about £70 online when I went looking.

Now I already wear a pair of Craghopper pants but honestly the fit is not great so comfort was always an issue with them. Performance wise they were good, tough, water resistant and plenty of storage pockets.

So I decided to try on a pair of the Bear Grylls pants to see what they were like. First impressions upon picking them up is that they are very light. This is good and bad, good because it's not excess bulk being carried for no reason but bad because barbed wire might love to see me coming wearing them. Also their lightweight nature does not lend well to cold weather.
    Got into the dressing room and put them on and they are a brilliant fit. Unbelievably comfortable and do not restrict movement whatsoever. Streets ahead of my current Craghopper pants in terms of fit and comfort.
    They have lots of pockets, some zipped and some buttoned so pretty decent for storage. I do find the side pockets a bit tight but can be a positive as it prevents stuff falling out.
    Have worn them deer stalking and working in the garden and they are a brilliant pants for Spring/Summer when the weather doesn't require something warmer. Although with a set of running leggings or similar they'd be great in the cold too.

They're not waterproof but water drops bead on the surface and they dry very quickly. Other than downpours and lying for prolonged periods on soaked ground they'd be fine.

Gorse or furze bushes poke through easily too so that's another point worth mentioning.

Overall I'm happy I got them as they are extremely comfortable and will serve me well for most outdoor needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

IMAG0168_zps734386c1resize_zpse6ad9e9f.jpgIMAG0169_zps379875b7resize_zpsd15de370.jpgIMAG0170_zpsd6f29b33resize_zps030d2798.jpgIMAG0171_zpscc39c1ddresize_zpsbf3f2843.jpgIMAG0172_zpsbde89607resize_zpsfc700804.jpgIMAG0174_zpsc82c9e89resize_zps4a9931fd.jpg

I picked up one of these last Wednesday.

On first impressions I was happy with it. It was lightweight and compact. The pack weighted in at just over 0.5kg.

After my first night out with it you wouldn't even notice it on your belt. The cigarette lighter connection can get annoying but a little tape will keep things in place.

Last night I headed out again and got to run the pack down a little more.
    I got the pack down to the 3 lights showing. I say it is very close to only having two lights lit.

When it gets to that stage the light starts to turn to more of a yellow light but it can still light up a fair distance away.

I would say that the pack would easily do one of my nights lamping where I have a LED Lenser P3 for walking/getting over gates etc, A P7 for taking the shot and the U Caller lamp for searching.

If someone was using the lamp for searching, walking and taking the shot I would advise them to go the 15Ah or 22Ah depending on how much lamping they would do during a night.

Repeat post but more detail less ranting!

Dog transport box
    Polypropylene black plastic
    3 compartment, single key
    Perspex window to cab face
    Price - up to you based on design 300-500 euro

08D61FE5-B954-4E51-B000-C981812ED9B8-590-000000E85F757B7D_zps76abfe44.jpg

8C5A340C-F197-4162-8312-0BC71936D391-590-000000E838B49F19_zpsf3d83479.jpg

BA3509CE-0559-4761-B8CC-5C894995971C-590-000000E8197B0AB8_zpscd19c7ac.jpg[/QUOTE]

I don't have it long enough to judge value for money & whether it will stand the test of time but I'm so far happy with it & it is exactly what I wanted.
    Fits 3 dogs easy, 2 other compartments, 1 shelved at back, 1 top opening general storage. Big aul yoke & awkward enough But that's my design not the box.
    Easy clean, good quality handles & locks.
    All seams are heat welded.

Rapala filleting knife
    Cost 17 pounds at the midlands.
    Bought sharpened for fiver

B3F9424D-EA21-4762-895E-CDF0818BACB8-590-0000010F121B772E_zps1deca568.jpg

8850886A-3A6D-4E76-847F-9B041B83FCFE-590-0000010F3C55270A_zpsdc3f7634.jpg

Used it at the weekend for the first time for general gutting & dressing small game. Thought it was very good. Seriously sharp & nice give in the blade.
    It should see it's share of work thus season so I'll update in Febuary.