Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wedding at lakeside hotel ballina

• 03-09-2012 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

hi all,
    wondering can you help me, I'm hoping to get married at the lake side hotel in ballina, Tipperary. the doubt question is I am having is the bedrooms in the hotel. i stayed there ones at a friend of mine wedding. it was awful, small and very warm. it was a bit dated.
    i am originally from tipp myself, but moved to kildare in last 15 years. my boyfriend is a dub. so as u can imagine all his families and friends would be staying there. i would like it to be an enjoyable stay. it is a beautiful settings. but.......
    am i over exaggerating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Have you seen the new 'revamped' Bridal suite??!! I think (no joke) they converted a store room into a bedroom! It has views of the roof, of all places, despite the gorgeous settings that the hotel sits on! And you couldn't swing a cat in it, it's that small! They have an older bridal suite which has nice views, but the decor is a little tired and dated. It is a year ago since we were looking at it, so perhaps they have sorted this now.

However, I have to say the bar and restaurant has stunning views out over the lake which we were really impressed with when we spent a night there on our 'reconaissance' mission ;) The room we stayed in that night was nothing to write home about, but was still fit for purpose. The staff are excellent and very attentive.

Overall, I think the hotel is over priced for what it is offering in comparsion to what others are offering. We went down with a view to booking it there and then, but it didn't turn out that way in the end. They are cock sure that they can and will get business from neighbouring Limerick and Tipp and therefore see little reason to have to tempt new customers. Mores the pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 mazzo

Thank you for your reply. That's what I'm afraid of. It's such a pity. The location is fantastic. Just hotel itself is dated. Guess I'll just go back and look around what Kildare has to offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You are dead right Mazzo, it is a real pity. The setting is probably one of the best in the country.

It's just it's such a lot of money to be paying out that things really have to be top notch in every aspect.

Don't panic though. You will eventually find your perfect venue with a little more searching. Just don't leave it to the last minute!

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 thisusersname

mazzo wrote: »
    Thank you for your reply. That's what I'm afraid of. It's such a pity. The location is fantastic. Just hotel itself is dated. Guess I'll just go back and look around what Kildare has to offer

If you love the area and views, try annacarriga estate. I have nothing to do with them, but I live near there and it looks lovely. Permanent marquee on the lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭holding

We just actually booked with them! Went to see it last weekend, it was either there or the Armada in Spanish Point for us, and we went for there in the end. The staff are so so nice - the wedding planner there couldn't do enough for us, she was amazing. The price was really good too - it came in lower than the budget offerings at a lot of other hotels (38 a head for when we're having it, but I know it goes up and down depending on the time of year), and includes loads of things. We were concerned with having a great chef who would work with us on the menu, and the head chef there met us himself, he was also so nice, and was happy to do as many tastings as necessary until we were happy.

I did see the 'second bridal suite' that someone else mentioned, yeah it's a bit dire! But she explained to us that it wasn't really used for that, it was just done up fancier because it has no views, and it was one way to sell the room.

Also, they have their own jetty, which will be fully operational (it's new) in the next 2 months, so if you want to arrive by boat, you can! I have to admit this sounded really cool to me ;)

Anyway I'm really excited about having our thing there and I hope you find somewhere you like too :D

Edit: that green toothy face was meant to be a smile by the way! Hope you don't think I'm throwing you an alien face or sth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Number27

holding wrote: »
    We just actually booked with them! Went to see it last weekend, it was either there or the Armada in Spanish Point for us, and we went for there in the end. The staff are so so nice - the wedding planner there couldn't do enough for us, she was amazing. The price was really good too - it came in lower than the budget offerings at a lot of other hotels (38 a head for when we're having it, but I know it goes up and down depending on the time of year), and includes loads of things. We were concerned with having a great chef who would work with us on the menu, and the head chef there met us himself, he was also so nice, and was happy to do as many tastings as necessary until we were happy.

I did see the 'second bridal suite' that someone else mentioned, yeah it's a bit dire! But she explained to us that it wasn't really used for that, it was just done up fancier because it has no views, and it was one way to sell the room.

Also, they have their own jetty, which will be fully operational (it's new) in the next 2 months, so if you want to arrive by boat, you can! I have to admit this sounded really cool to me ;)

Anyway I'm really excited about having our thing there and I hope you find somewhere you like too :D

Edit: that green toothy face was meant to be a smile by the way! Hope you don't think I'm throwing you an alien face or sth!

Hi. Just wondering if you have had/are having any trouble with the hotel? We also booked a wedding with them and everything was going great until we discovered the wedding planner had left and had to re-agree our package with them. Since that we have 4 guests that we know about that have been quoted way above and beyond(€175 extra pp!!!) our agreed price. We have emailed them 3 times and each time we received assurances that it wouldn't happen again. Last night a friend rang to book and was quoted one price, he rang again today and has got another price and he's going to ring tomorrow to see if he gets another price! Really starting to get annoyed now, we've less than 6mths to the day. Any feed back would be much appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

If you love the area and views, try annacarriga estate. I have nothing to do with them, but I live near there and it looks lovely. Permanent marquee on the lake.

Just another mention for Annacarriga Estate, they seem to be trying to break into the weddings market! They have a marquee set up right on the edge of the lake! Like the other poster I have no connection but I have a boat moored in the marina there! They have put in tremendous work over the last 18 months doing up the grounds! Plenty of houses on site for guests and they have a bar and restaurant also so I'm sure a liquor license isn't a problem!
    Mike and Jeremy are the two lads who run the place, PM me if you'd like a number for them!

Just saw the had a website.... http://www.annacarriga.com/
    www.loughderg.net

Hi. Just wondering if you have had/are having any trouble with the hotel? We also booked a wedding with them and everything was going great until we discovered the wedding planner had left and had to re-agree our package with them. Since that we have 4 guests that we know about that have been quoted way above and beyond(€175 extra pp!!!) our agreed price. We have emailed them 3 times and each time we received assurances that it wouldn't happen again. Last night a friend rang to book and was quoted one price, he rang again today and has got another price and he's going to ring tomorrow to see if he gets another price! Really starting to get annoyed now, we've less than 6mths to the day. Any feed back would be much appreciated!

Omg! When did that happen? Our wedding planner from the start was Courtney, & I have emails from her as recently as a few days ago. I can check our brochure for the price of wedding guest rooms if you want, I think they were 29.95 pps, discount included.

alan1990 wrote: »
    Just another mention for Annacarriga Estate, they seem to be trying to break into the weddings market! They have a marquee set up right on the edge of the lake! Like the other poster I have no connection but I have a boat moored in the marina there! They have put in tremendous work over the last 18 months doing up the grounds! Plenty of houses on site for guests and they have a bar and restaurant also so I'm sure a liquor license isn't a problem!
    Mike and Jeremy are the two lads who run the place, PM me if you'd like a number for them!

Just saw the had a website.... http://www.annacarriga.com/
    www.loughderg.net

is Annacarriga estate far from all those housing accommodation?

Number27 wrote: »

what? can they do that? oh hope ye will get away with it lighly, that is far to pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Number27

mazzo wrote: »
    what? can they do that? oh hope ye will get away with it lighly, that is far to pricey

Hi Mazzo. We had a sit down with the management to clear the air and we were really pleased with their attitude. We're really excited about it now, the new jetty is so cool!
    Good luck on your day!

Hi Mazzo. We had a sit down with the management to clear the air and we were really pleased with their attitude. We're really excited about it now, the new jetty is so cool!
    Good luck on your day!

Hi number 27,
    Congratulations, wishing you all the best. you 've must be delighted.
    I've decided to hold off mine for another yr.
    happy planning :)

Number27, it is 7 days to our wedding there, and I just found out that our wedding planner has quit!!!! I thought of you and this thread straight away. They have reassured my OH on phone that they will take care of us etc but WTF?! Anyway, might just send you a pm to see who you were dealing with etc and what happened with ye?