Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Format Farm

• 30-08-2012 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2012/0830/formatfarm.html
    Format Farm, a new five-part series of homegrown entertainment pilot shows, begins at 9.30pm on RTÉ Two tonight, Thursday August 30, with The Takeover.

Fronted by Norah Casey from Dragons' Den, The Takeover sees workers become the boss for two weeks as they try to turn a struggling company around. The pilot episode focuses on cake makers Tea Time Express.

The other upcoming shows in the Format Farm series are The Hit, Six in the City, Baptism of Hire and Love Clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Birdsong

Very interesting idea, am enjoying it. Norah Casey is very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Has anyone else noticed that none of the bakers are wearing gloves, rings on their fingers and all.

Apart from that it has a slightly rougher undercover boss vibe to it, could work as a series if they could find companies willing to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

mailforkev wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed that none of the bakers are wearing gloves, rings on their fingers and all.

Apart from that it has a slightly rougher undercover boss vibe to it, could work as a series if they could find companies willing to do it.

Your allowed to wear a wedding band and gloves aren't a requirement. They wouldn't be a highcare site. Gloves can be more of a hindrance with a risk that parts can end up in the product.

I tried a TeaTime Express product last week, the driest cake I had in a while. Perhaps they should focus on existing product quality.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I never had a tea time express product. think ill chance one of those cupcakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I quite liked The Takeover too - as pleasantly surprising as the Tea Time bosses found those cupcakes. ;)

Not too sure about the idea of the next pilot, though - and not just because the description of it on RTE TEN isn't very well worded:
    The second pilot's called The Hit, and is presented by Laura Whitmore (or "Laura Hit-more" as Eddie Doyle describes her). Doing what the title suggests, pop stars search for their next hit by picking from songs that a group of unknown songwriters have created. From hundreds of songs submitted eight are selected for the two stars to pick from - and then go on to develop it and perform in front of an audience at Dublin's Olympia Theatre in Dublin.

"Dublin's Olympia Theatre in Dublin"? I much prefer "American Dodgeball Association of America". ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

The Takeover was a good pilot episode and I would like to see it commissioned for a full series, purely to see a group of employees feck up the company completely and end up forcing themselves out of work.

But then again I'm just in a cynical mood this morning! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭The Jaw

Has anyone else noticed that there are no cup cakes in the shops?

I can only think of 2 reasons for this.
    1) They are amazing and sold out completely, or;
    2) The bosses were actually right and they dont really work/are not cost
    effective etc.

I know the Santa looking guy to see in Galway. He lives there and runs some businesses there ( restaurants, bars etc). I dont know what input he has into that Bakery is the other young looking guy is the M.D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

Thats true, I went in to Tesco yesterday especially for the cupcakes and there was none. They only had the big cakes coffee and a pineapple flavoured one.

I really enjoyed the show. Nora was very good in the show too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

The Takeover was watchable enough, but felt very staged.

If the staff could manage to get the brand relaunched, develop a new product, and secure new deals two (or was it three?) major customers in just ten days, then either the existing management was useless, or there was some element of staging going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Anyone watching tonights Format Farm:The Hit? A change from the usual way these kind of music shows are done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

yes. enjoying it but not sure of the whole concept. Those that are picked have a chance of the two celebs singing their song is it?

le la rat wrote: »
    yes. enjoying it but not sure of the whole concept. Those that are picked have a chance of the two celebs singing their song is it?

Ya thats it I think,it will on itunes to download when the show is finished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Thanks. Thats a good song there

le la rat wrote: »
    Thanks. Thats a good song there

A right Tony Fenton tune,should get plenty of air time

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Really enjoying the hit, really hope it get picked up for a full series!

lockie1983 wrote: »
    Really enjoying the hit, really hope it get picked up for a full series!

Is there a public vote for which pilot show gets picked to go on to be a series?

I don't think so I think they'll prob base it off ratings more than likely.

lockie1983 wrote: »
    I don't think so I think they'll prob base it off ratings more than likely.

Pity thought they would do it the same as that competition that got The Hardy Bucks on the TV
    RTE needs more of Laura Whitmore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

Who won in the end?

Roy Seven or your man off Boyzone?

Orange pilled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Prick!

el diablo wrote: »
    Who won in the end?

Roy Seven or your man off Boyzone?

I lol'd

Prick! wrote: »
    I lol'd

Why, Prick? :)

Orange pilled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Prick!

el diablo wrote: »
    Why, Prick? :)

I might be wrong but in the ad it was brian mcfadden and royseven.

And you said yer man from Boyzone :pac:

I didn't watch the programme.

Prick! wrote: »
    I might be wrong but in the ad it was brian mcfadden and royseven.

And you said yer man from Boyzone :pac:

I didn't watch the programme.

Ok, I thought he was from Boyzone. :o

Can anyone tell me who won?

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Tune in to Larry Gogan tomorrow at 1pm to find out the winner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Enjoyed The Takeover and I'd have to give a tip of the hat to RTE for the 'Format Farm' idea itself.

A successful format is a potentially a global goldmine with licensing agreements in other countries - how much have Big Brother, Who Wants To Be A Millionaire etc brought in to the original series creators?

The sole exported format from Ireland I can remember is The Lyric Board. If even just one these formats gets commissioned into (say) a six part series on RTE, the potential success and money for the format overseas is pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Duck Soup wrote: »
    The sole exported format from Ireland I can remember is The Lyric Board. If even just one these formats gets commissioned into (say) a six part series on RTE, the potential success and money for the format overseas is pretty good.

Another programme which (apparently) sold abroad was 'Wanderlust', Brendan Courtney's Travel/dating/Internet show.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/offtherails/presenters.html
    Brendan's TV career began in Ireland as fashion researcher and reporter on RTÉ's Open House after which he moved on to present Ireland's hit internet chat room dating show, Wanderlust, a format that went on to be sold to 11 countries. Following the International success of Wanderlust, ITV quickly offered Brendan a presenting contract and he has worked on hits such as Ant and Dec's Saturday Takeaway and Blind Date.

The Format Form is a good idea, it will be interesting to see if any of the shows are developed and/or sold. The first two shows were decent enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Royseven is at number 26, Brian McFadden at 38.

That's not bad on 90 minutes sales when everything else in the chart was available for a full week....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

loved the whole concept of the hit, really enjoyed it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Enjoyed The Takeover and I'd have to give a tip of the hat to RTE for the 'Format Farm' idea itself.

I have Channel 4's Comedy lab on line two for you......... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comedy_Lab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

loved the whole concept of the hit, really enjoyed it..

Yep liked the show and the end songs as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Anyone watching this tonight?!

I swear it's like a candid camera episode :eek:

I'd swear it's a set up and they're actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It should be called Stereotypes in the City.
    Dublin Yuppies vs Galway Hippies vs Limerick Pikies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

It's brilliant, I haven't laughed as much in ages. It's absolutely hilarious. The up themselves Dublin couple, the uber trendy Galway/American types and the skankery Limerick/London people.

I have connections in all three cities and recognise they types.

Best thing on TV at the moment.

Everyone in it knows they're taking the P! They're all stars!

bluecode wrote: »
    It's brilliant, I haven't laughed as much in ages. It's absolutely hilarious. The up themselves Dublin couple, the uber trendy Galway/American types and the skankery Limerick/London people.

I have connections in all three cities and recognise they types.

Best thing on TV at the moment.

Everyone in it knows they're taking the P! They're all stars!

:rolleyes: okay let's not get carried away now

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Wasn't martin on come dine with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

This is hilarious!!
    The dubs are so bloody pompus but my sweet Jesus that couple from Limerick are like 13 year old kids, only want chips!!
    Blatant come dine with me rip off but thumbs up from me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

speechless..... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Tavern and Levi!!!

Wow the American girl is a bitch! God love your man, talk about giving him a hard time...

Galway man is in trouble when he gets home.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

spockety wrote: »
    I was thinking the same.

spockety wrote: »

Yep I knew he looked familiar the pretentious git

She's been here since 4, schooled though Irish and still has the yank accent?
    Do you think maybe she is trying to create an apparent 'identity' for herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Lorgach

The Jaw wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed that there are no cup cakes in the shops?

I can only think of 2 reasons for this.
    1) They are amazing and sold out completely, or;
    2) The bosses were actually right and they dont really work/are not cost
    effective etc.

I know the Santa looking guy to see in Galway. He lives there and runs some businesses there ( restaurants, bars etc). I dont know what input he has into that Bakery is the other young looking guy is the M.D

What's the big interest in Cupcakes ?? They seem to be everywhere you look nowadays

Ah-hah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

amdublin wrote: »
    :rolleyes: okay let's not get carried away now
    Yes I am being a little facetious.:D

Reality stars! A good laugh!

Martin reminds me of Dick Byrne off Glenroe and you could tell he loves the burlesque dancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

that was AWFUL!!!!! is there going to be a vote for these programes :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

What the fcuk was that about tonight , no wonder rte ad revenue is falling. Plus rte are state subsidised , WHY ?