Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time potty training :-/

• 26-08-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Ok so E is now 26 1/2 months do decided to potty train before l go back to college in September.

So day 1 went great only started at 3pm and she went 26 wees in potty and 4 accidents 2 at the start and 2 where she said wee but just missed potty. Seems a lot of wee's to me, she spent most of time sitting on potty waiting on the noise as its a musical potty. Gave her stickers n a small button each time so she was delighted with this.

Today was a bit different the wee's where every 25 min or so but she would do 4/5 but stop do one then wait n come back do another. We had a lot more accidents 10 I think and about 15 wees in potty. I not hundred percent sure she no's she's doing the wee's. As when I brought her out back she went everywhere and never notice and other times she notice and said wee wee but done it on floor instead of potty. Also she just likes to sit on potty even when she's not weeing she sit there for 20min or so

Is it wrong to have potty in front of telly? Should she be wee'ing this much or is she not ready? I'm so unsure of it as its my first experience and it's so tough being stuck in house besides potty. She's in crèche for few hours on weds and thurs and I'm not sure she'll be ready toilet training wise as they can't let her sit that long.

Anybody any tips or tricks or is this how it's done

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Hey, Sorry I can't be of much help as my Son is a little way off potty training.. But I'm just wondering.. by small button, do you mean a chocolate button? If so, then I'd say that's the reason she's on the potty so often.. What child doesn't want a sweet.. If it is sweets she's getting then she's probably just squeezing them out cause she knows there's a button in it for her..

Like I said, sorry I can't be of more help, that's just my two cents :)

Best of luck with it.. I'm dreading the whole rigmarole tbh :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

When we were training one of our children we left the potty in the sitting room. He wore a tee shirt with nothing underneath for the first while to make things easier for him (plus the house was very warm) I can't remember giving him treats but I can remember loads of clapping and cheering and "showing the pee" to his teddie and anybody else who happened to be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

I thought this site gave some useful advise (apologies for the awful background, if you press ctrl+A it makes it easier to read!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I think its always possible to persevere and it will click with her eventually, but my rule is, if they don't know they're peeing they're not ready. The first time I did potty training it was a disaster and I was 8 months pregnant so when he was peeing right in front of me and not flinching I left it. 3 months later I went back to it and he was no problem whatsoever...took to it straight away.

Potty training is when you realise how clever and manipulative they are :D. Offer them a treat they can do anything...but no incentive, they'll look you in the eye and pee right in front of you :D

There's no problem leaving the potty in the sitting room for the first while.

Keep calm and good luck! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭bulmersgal

Thanks every1 for the advice, going to try this morning but leave the telly off so no distractions. Might hold off on the buttons as well! I only introduce them cause she was bored of stickers.

I think it's going to take a while as cause the last 26 months she could wee whenever n wherever she wanted so it will take a while. I agree that if she doing it in front and not noticing she not ready so will watch out for that, as her few accidents face really been when she was excited n playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

We trained our little girl in April. We kept the potty beside the toilet in the down stairs bathroom and told her all the time when she made it what a big girl she was doing wees in the potty where mammy and daddy wee.

We also used a sticker chart that we put on the back of the door so she got to stick one sticker on for every wee.

What we found useful too is we bought undies that had pictures on them, animals, minnie mouse and stuff and we said "Oh be careful not to do wee wees on the bunny or the little girl etc, she will get really wet then". She was more conscious i think not to wet the undies that had pics on it.

I wouldnt give her the choc buttons for wees, maybe one for a poo, she might be chancing her arm, see if a wee comes out so she can get a button if shes sitting on it for 20mins.

We only had a few accidents in the first week, maybe 5 or so a day. Week 2 was a nightmare!! Oh my god, if we got a wee in the potty it was a celebration, she completely regressed and had no interest - so just bare in mind this can happen. But we struggled on and she came back around in week 3,

Just keep thinking it will be all worth it in the end.... and treat yourself to a hair appointment after it cause you will either be a bit balder or greyer ;)

My little one was 29 months when we started potty training.

Going well so far woke up and said wee wee n wanted potty then had a few more was happy getting a sticker or herself and one on chart. Made it big celebration as I think I wasn't doing that enough yest. Only one accident but 5 wee's

Thanks every1 for all help and advice hopefully today stays as good

Sounds good. Keep with the good work both of ye, its tough going :D

So once again thanks every1 for all the advice stopped giving sweets all together, well I gave a few this evening as she had kept her princess underwear dry all day. Can't believe it day 4 and dry the whole day, she even goes over and does it by herself without me reminding her. Will demand Peppa pig but thank god for sky plus. Gave her a present of a play dough set this morning from one of her teddys so she was chuffed.

Still no poo'd but lately she had become a night pooer, so had to change her last night as she had done it in her nappy but other from that so happy.

She in crèche now for 4 hrs for next 2 days so hopefully she is ok

Yay, that's great bulnersgal! What a great girl you have there.

The poos are a totally different ball game. It takes them a bit longer to get that, so don't get disheartened.

Well done!

Thats fantastic Bulmersgal, hopefully now the worst is over you, as long as the creche bring her in and ask her she should be fine. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭treascon

Sorry to hijack the thread but just wondering if anyone can offer me any advice? We began potty training my son almost 2 months ago now. He will be 3 in November. He took to the pee's very well & goes no bother himself but will not for the life of him do any poo's in the toilet. We have tried treats, reward charts, lots & lots of praise & still nothing works. Its like he is afraid to go himself on the toilet but will eventually go when brought. I'm at my wits end with him at this stage. Anybody got any advice or suggestions? Thanks in advance.

treascon wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack the thread but just wondering if anyone can offer me any advice? We began potty training my son almost 2 months ago now. He will be 3 in November. He took to the pee's very well & goes no bother himself but will not for the life of him do any poo's in the toilet. We have tried treats, reward charts, lots & lots of praise & still nothing works. Its like he is afraid to go himself on the toilet but will eventually go when brought. I'm at my wits end with him at this stage. Anybody got any advice or suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Yea we've had none in loo and only had 2 poos all week. Both in nappy and she was usually every day so very frustrating. She wanted to go today but think she was too afraid and nothing worked either

The poos take a lot longer. Don't despair. There are lots of tricks you can use, we used gold star stickers, others use treats. But it really is normal for them to get to grips with the poos a long time after the wees. What a lovely post this is turning out to be lol.

Our fella even went so far as saving his poos for his night time pull up!

I think I remember reading here before that some one put the nappy in the potty and that helped too.

treascon wrote: »

My little girl will be three in Novemeber too and we dont get all the poos in the potty either, everybody is saying its nothing to worry about, it just takes them longer to get it apparently. Its frustrating i must say as she knows when the wees are there and i dunno if she just dont want to hold the poos until the potty or what. We get it sometimes i must say but mainly the poos end up in the underwear :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

I am glad to hear I am not the only one struggling with the poos. He is just gone 3 and will go into a room by himself and do the poo in his underpants. I am at my wits end. No problem with pees unless he forgets himself when watching mickey mouse.

You are certainly not alone Mohawk. Yeah thats when we only have an accident too, if she is playing out the back or with her cousin and she literally just doesnt want to go to the toilet as she would have to stop having all the fun!!!

You're definitely not alone...the poos are very tough for them to get. We thought there was something wrong until I mentioned it to the creche and to other mums. It's another parenting surprise no one tells you about!

The first time our son did it, he was disgusted by what he saw in the potty and was almost afraid to do it again. I bought egg timers, stop watches everything to keep him on the toilet long enough. But he kept it all for his night nappy/pull up.

BTW, once they do get the poos, there's a whole other nightmare of wiping their bottoms to follow! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

BTW, once they do get the poos, there's a whole other nightmare of wiping their bottoms to follow! ;)

we have just got that down this summer, she kept clenching her bum so the tissue would rip and get stuck, we used use baby wipes but now we get her to bend her knees kind of like a ballerina and it allows wiping fairly fuss-less.

she has been trained since january, and poo-ing since then too, we made it kind of fun, we gave her a book to read while poo-ing so she got distracted and let it out. (i should add we had one of those toilet seats that sits on the main one to make it smaller for them so her hands weren't holding her up)

Haahaa...we got him to bend over putting his head between my legs...it was the perfect angle to wipe without him clenching.

We tried the book too and had.one of those toilet seats. After the first potty poo I went out and bought the toilet seat lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

We tried the book too and had.one of those toilet seats. After the first potty poo I went out and bought the toilet seat lol

those toilet seats are a blessing, i found it better than the potty

a: because she learned straight away, when you need to go wee you run to the toilet, (where with potty's its like a "i used always watch tv while wee-ing why can't i do the same now?")

b: easier for mum and dad as there is no cleaning involved, just flush :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭treascon

I feel somewhat better that i'm not alone in all this but still headwrecked all the same. He's as well up but just couldn't be bothered telling me when he needs to go. My daughter had it within a matter of days. Its definitely true that boys are harder to train although i realise that every child is different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Going Demented

I potty trained my 28m old last month. All went great until day 4. She went everywhere except the potty. She hasn't had an accident since that day. Pooing was always a problem in this house. She suffers from chronic constipation and is on movicol for it. Now that she poos on the potty she is flying it and no more complaining or holding it in.
    I used bribery. In the form of a jelly. Everytime for a wee. She went so she could have a jelly. After 2/3 days she forgot about the jelly for wees and got two for a poo. After a few days she forgot to ask for the jelly. The jelly worked thankfully.