Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Lad Advice for a Career as a GARDA!!

• 25-08-2012 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2

Heya i am 18 years old (still a gosson) but i have my heart set on becoming a member of AGS from a early early age watching Family members in the force and also done abita work experience type work with the Gards... THIS IS WHAT I WANT!!!! im going back to repeat my Leaving Cert as i know i coulda done abit better and failed maths... ive a few questions dou if some a ye could help me with???

(1) Im Repeating English (Honours) and German.. do i need to Repeat Irish???... Or Would English and German be grand??

(2) Does anyone think theyl be recruiting before June 2013 or idea when? (I know no1 knows for defo said id just put it out there)...

(3) Any Courses PLC's,Fetacs or College wise that would aid me on my CV for the Recruitment Process whenever it may start?!

(4) Any Advice for me from current members of force/retiree's thatl help me achieve my aim whenever recruiting may occur??

be much appreciated thanks very much guys!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭angeline

I doubt very much they will recruit before June 2013. Even if they did, you are a bit young to join. It is no harm to have some life experience before joining the guards. My advice would be to repeat your leaving cert, do a college course for a few years and maybe consider joining the reserves while at college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Marquis de carabas

I know it sounds terrible for people to say your too young but really if I was to give you advice I'd suggest slowing down. Think about all the other things you might like to do in life that a full time career might hinder.

I was in my mid 20's and I still wish I had done more. One thing I don't regret is college and the experience I gained. But I wish I had travelled more.

You may feel that its pointless going to college but what I gained from it was options to do other things and life long friends. Both are important as the last thing you want is to feel trapped. Even in a job you love.

You will need Irish but if you past it already that's good enough. Assuming your school allows you to drop it. Of course check with a guidance teacher. Its been 12 years since I was there and things change.

By the way in case your upset about repeating I too failed honours maths and repeated and I will happily say without a doubt it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Get as good a grade as you can next time and don't rush yourself. The job will always be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Ofcourseceltic

nateman! welcome to the waiting, i to am a bit older and waiting around like everyone. but i have some info on some plc and course to do. last year i did a plc in criminology and social studies which is a fetac level 5 then this year with the aid of the fetac course im doing a hons degree in criminal justice in Waterford IT, these two course would be very good on the cv if you wanted to join the guards. it also leaves your options open for other work to. good luck in your studies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

The average age for a person joining the Gardai is 23 approx and the majority now have some form of third level qualification.
    However if not third level minded a young person can get some advantage by joining the Garda Reserve, show commitment to involvement in community activities (not necessarily turning out once a month for the junior Bs)
    It doesn't look like there will be recruitment for a few years and it will be very competitive then. Of course one could always apply for the other police force on the island the Police Service of Northern Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 EimearM1

Can you apply with gcse maths i failed my leaving cert maths but i can go and repeat the gcse maths in derry , would this count

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 zolinho

Nateman94 wrote: »
    Heya i am 18 years old (still a gosson) but i have my heart set on becoming a member of AGS from a early early age watching Family members in the force and also done abita work experience type work with the Gards... THIS IS WHAT I WANT!!!! im going back to repeat my Leaving Cert as i know i coulda done abit better and failed maths... ive a few questions dou if some a ye could help me with???

(1) Im Repeating English (Honours) and German.. do i need to Repeat Irish???... Or Would English and German be grand??

(2) Does anyone think theyl be recruiting before June 2013 or idea when? (I know no1 knows for defo said id just put it out there)...

(3) Any Courses PLC's,Fetacs or College wise that would aid me on my CV for the Recruitment Process whenever it may start?!

(4) Any Advice for me from current members of force/retiree's thatl help me achieve my aim whenever recruiting may occur??

be much appreciated thanks very much guys!! :)

I have a bad news for you... http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfojkfsnqlmh/rss2/

You have 8 more years to think about it...:/