Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

generic worm and fluke doses

• 23-08-2012 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭

i was wondering if anyone could recconnmend good generic doses for fluke and one for lung worm . i gather the active ingriedient is the same in them all so why pay for a name. is there a any one more/less effeactive ? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

cjmc wrote: »
    i was wondering if anyone could recconnmend good generic doses for fluke and one for lung worm . i gather the active ingriedient is the same in them all so why pay for a name. is there a any one more/less effeactive ? thanks

We usually get the one that's on offer in the office when I go in :o
    Our vet says there is little difference and indeed changing frequently is better than using the same product all the time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

cheers. meant to ask about a good lice product also cos the renagade didnt seem to be great but ill just call to the vets and get their cheapest product:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

if Pudsey comes on here he will shine as he did in my thread.. .

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79012025

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

we just got panacur this time round. anyone any pros or cons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Lads the most cost effective treatment for worms at present is a generic ivermectin such as bimectin/kilomec/animec at present animec can be got off magentdirect 3X500mls for 78 euro's
    http://magentadirect.ie/proddetail.php?prod=IVERMECTINJECT1500
    this equates to 52 cent for a 500kg animal

For fluke you can use flukiver injection at present it is 1 litre is 92 euros or trodax 1 litre 213.

I am not a fan of pour-on especially combination pour-on's such as closmectin. Also combined injection products are grand at housing but any fluke will not give a complete fluke kill you have to inject after about 6-8 weeks.

The other choice is an oral dose for fluke grand if you have a dosing hook but for worms it is hard to beat ivermectin injection. you can do the a week-10days before housing and no worry about peunomia.

Only disadvantage of these injections is the withdrawal period 56 days for ivermectin, 60 days for trodax and 77 days for flukiver.

If suckler weanlings have not been done for worms during summer do not use ivermectin it kills all the worms togeather and they can clog the lungs. Use either an oral dose or else there is a pour-on (only one I use) Levecide it is a blue liquid these paralysis the worms and the calves can cough them up however they dont give a complete kill so two weeks later give a shot of ivermectin and it will clean them up completely.

Also Ivermectin kill lice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

I use MASTERMECTIN pour on 1litre for 30 euros its Dairygolds own brand ivermectin I find it great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,303 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

just on magenta and the smallest amount (250 ml) pour-on is ivermecton pour-on not levicide.
    i assume this would be a good first dose and 2 wks later ivermection injection for weanlings? €40 including p&p. dear but is there a cheaper option apart from a larger volume.
    i only have 10 weanlings so 1L is no use to me

just on magenta and the smallest amount (250 ml) pour-on is ivermecton pour-on not levicide.
    i assume this would be a good first dose and 2 wks later ivermection injection for weanlings? €40 including p&p. dear but is there a cheaper option apart from a larger volume.
    i only have 10 weanlings so 1L is no use to me

No it is hard to come accross levicide some vets and merchants stock it. Using an ivermectin pour on is the same as using a any ivermectin product, you get a complete worm kill-blocked lungs if weanlings have not beem wormed routinly during summer-peunomia-dead calf. If you cannot get levicide pour on use an oral dose you do not want all the worms in the lungs of a weanling to die togeather and find he is unable to cough them out.

It is not an issue if you have been doing suckler weanlings every couple months. It is an issue with calves that are 4+ months and never been dosed'

I have a bullock with peunomia at present and I suspect he has hoose (lungworm) he was last dosed in early may he is around 30 months. So be very careful with calves this year with the weather.

mikeoh wrote: »
    I use MASTERMECTIN pour on 1litre for 30 euros its Dairygolds own brand ivermectin I find it great

It costs 1.5 euro's/500kg animal just because you do not want to inject nearly a euro/animal more expensive than the injection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Was having terrible problems with hoose all season even after rigorous dosing program. done everything not destine for slaughter 2 weeks ago and all seems okay again so just watch. treating animals with hoose who get pneumonia is no fun and a slow rehabilitation.

I would prefer to use levacide injection if you suspect any animal may have hoose as it dose as Pudsey has mentioned above, also the big advantage with levacide injection is the short withdrawal period, the pain is that the dose rate is high. it doesn't suit or program perfectly as an oral levamisole product has already being used earlier in the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Was having terrible problems with hoose all season even after rigorous dosing program. done everything not destine for slaughter 2 weeks ago and all seems okay again so just watch. treating animals with hoose who get pneumonia is no fun and a slow rehabilitation.

I would prefer to use levacide injection if you suspect any animal may have hoose as it dose as Pudsey has mentioned above, also the big advantage with levacide injection is the short withdrawal period, the pain is that the dose rate is high. it doesn't suit or program perfectly as an oral levamisole product has already being used earlier in the season.

we used levicide injection twice and normection pour on once, had 1 case of mild pneumonia and some coughing after the pour on but all ok

calves seem to be thriving ok and have a good coat

bob do you vaccinate for IBR , on the vet's advice we started about 3 years ago and think it has helped a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

snowman707 wrote: »
    bob do you vaccinate for IBR , on the vet's advice we started about 3 years ago and think it has helped a lot.

from September to March vacc for IBR, probably economic to vacc all year round. Will be vacc for all 4 strains of pneumonia this year as a few sick animals will quickly cover the cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

It costs 1.5 euro's/500kg animal just because you do not want to inject nearly a euro/animal more expensive than the injection.

fair play good advice , its a bad day you dont learn something new

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Does any lung worm treatment have a quick clearance time?

restive wrote: »
    Does any lung worm treatment have a quick clearance time?

Some Oral drenches have a 14 day withdrawal period only and I think Levicide pour on and injection are the same check the pack before buying. These will not give a complete kill however are easier on cattle as the paralyse the worm allowing the animal to cough out same. As opposed to ivermectins that kill instantly and can cause worms to to form groups in the lung that are harder to cough out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

I dried off cows two months ago and dosed them for fluke with fasinex. Was looking at them yesterday and one cow still has fluke. Her dung was all watery and full of bubbles. And she got the right dose because i had her on the scales

I did some of my cattle with Levicide last tuesday. One of them is very heavily scoured today. Is it possible this is a reaction to the Levicide?
    They have not been done for fluke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

lads i use flexiben from Osmonds, not sure about 80 euros for 5l and an extra 1l free oral dose also it doesnt show in the milk samples i done 2 yrs ao. the rep said it but i wouldnt chance it again. i dose the cows and heifers when dried off. It does fluke and worms. Is it a good product or should i alternate??

Seen another cow that calved last week and she is rotten with fluke. And she was dosed at dry off. Very pee'd off. Considering giving her endospec and dump the milk for 3 days

restive wrote: »
    I did some of my cattle with Levicide last tuesday. One of them is very heavily scoured today. Is it possible this is a reaction to the Levicide?
    They have not been done for fluke.

Put him in the crush this evening, no temperature. I give him some trodax and applied some bayticol for good measure. He is still coughing. I will keep a close eye on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Albex 14 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

jersey how do u know she is rotten with fluke wat signs do we look out for is it something in her dung ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

leoch wrote: »
    jersey how do u know she is rotten with fluke wat signs do we look out for is it something in her dung ?

And if she is rotten with fluke, she's fooked in any case:confused: Right or wrong? I thought there was no way back from that point!

leoch wrote: »

her **** is lyk water and full of bubbles. Thats how i recognise fluke. The cow is in good condition saying that. And she is yeilding well so i dont know. Maybe im being daft