Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Painter managed to get the car as well as the wall

• 22-08-2012 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭

Any helpful suggestions how best to get the dots of paint off without damaging the car paint further? Will exterior paint be harder to get off seeing as it's designed for inclement weather?

I'll be billing him if it needs to get a detailer to get the paint off. It's all over the back of the car, the windows and the roof. I'm absolutely disgusted.

Any helpful suggestions much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

The first thing I'd do is take some picture of it so you have a record of the damage before you do anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

You're actually the fifth person that I've heard this happen to.

Honestly if it happened to my car I'd have to attempt to hold back an uncontrollable anger.

Surely someone in that profession would have experienced it before and know to warn others? It's absolutely an unacceptable thing to happen and I would not hesitate in seeking compensation from the painter/company.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Rag, dipped in petrol should remove all that excess paint! Drove over a can of paint before (thought it was an empty bucket) paint went everywhere. Did the above and was left as good as new!

*I accept no respsonsbility if you screw up the car!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭blue5

Thanks for replies, appreciate the responses.

Would the petrol not have some effect on the car paint at the same time as removing the outdoor wall paint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

clay bar should remove it also. the longer you leave it the harder it will be to remove. petrol wont do harm to the cars paint if you use a soft cloth. wash, polish and wax after using it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What amazes me is why someone would leave their car anywhere near a house when it was being painted.

I have had a neighbour two doors down call in to me to say they were getting the house painted, and suggest that I move the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

try something like a plactic spatula.....try it on a part that is not seen first....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

try something like a plactic spatula.....try it on a part that is not seen first....

I wouldn't do that. Petrol and/or a clay bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

You're actually the fifth person that I've heard this happen to.

Honestly if it happened to my car I'd have to attempt to hold back an uncontrollable anger.

Surely someone in that profession would have experienced it before and know to warn others? It's absolutely an unacceptable thing to happen and I would not hesitate in seeking compensation from the painter/company.

I was just thinking the very same thing. Not something you'd expect from a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Petrol won't do much, exterior wall paint is water, not oil based.

The longer it is left on the more difficult it will be to remove.

Try and go at it with a sponge first thing in the morning when the car is covered in dew and the paint will be softer. Use lots of water. You will get it all off without damaging the car but take your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Valetta wrote: »
    What amazes me is why someone would leave their car anywhere near a house when it was being painted.

I have had a neighbour two doors down call in to me to say they were getting the house painted, and suggest that I move the car.

Eh, because the painter has the paint which is the offending item. If he doesn't dust sheet the car then be it on his head.

OP I'd be running this painter through the cleaners if I were you. His public liability insurance will cover this.

MugMugs wrote: »
    Eh, because the painter has the paint which is the offending item. If he doesn't dust sheet the car then be it on his head.

OP I'd be running this painter through the cleaners if I were you. His public liability insurance will cover this.

That's like saying "I won't bother with smoke alarms, because if my house burns down the insurance will cover it".

You should take preventative measures- not rely on others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

nail polish remover should take it off easily enough if it's (I think) oil based paint. removed exterior wall paint from the car before this way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

nail polish remover should take it off easily enough if it's (I think) oil based paint. removed exterior wall paint from the car before this way :)

I wouldn't do this in a fit, nail polish remover is very strong and as already said, the paint is water based.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Acetone and shiney car paint dont mix very well!

That's like saying "I won't bother with smoke alarms, because if my house burns down the insurance will cover it".

You should take preventative measures- not rely on others.

They are worlds apart. Whilst I agree that one should take measures to mitigate loss there is also a duty of care on the person with the paint brush up a ladder on a windy day.

He knows it's windy, he knows what he is doing, he see's nearby cars, he dust sheets them.

There's no excuse for what this painter has done. He is out and out liable and should be made to compensate the OP in full for what he has done to the OP's property. No if's but's or maybes.

With your logic, none of us would be taking to the roads in the first place because somebody might crash into us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Many years ago, my mother had a red fiesta that was only a few months old. The neighbour two doors down decided to hire a spraygun and spray the pepple-dash of their house themselves. Needless to say, one side of the new red car was speckled with white paint. The mother was furious and stormed up to them to inform them what had happened. They offered to come down and clean it off, but my mother declined, that she'd rather have it cleaned off by a valeter, rather than risk further damage.

The next morning when she came out, the whole side of the car was destroyed with scratches where the neighbour had been down, unknown to us, with a brillo pad and water trying to erase the mess...

They are worlds apart. Whilst I agree that one should take measures to mitigate loss there is also a duty of care on the person with the paint brush up a ladder on a windy day.

He knows it's windy, he knows what he is doing, he see's nearby cars, he dust sheets them.

There's no excuse for what this painter has done. He is out and out liable and should be made to compensate the OP in full for what he has done to the OP's property. No if's but's or maybes.

With your logic, none of us would be taking to the roads in the first place because somebody might crash into us.

I have never said that the painter is not fully liable. Of course he is.

I just think prevention is always better than cure.

I agree 100% and the painter being a professional should have either asked the OP to move or covered the vehicle.
    David09 wrote: »
    The next morning when she came out, the whole side of the car was destroyed with scratches where the neighbour had been down, unknown to us, with a brillo pad and water trying to erase the mess...
    Brillo pad?
    On a car?
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ8CjoS3WT6ZIrfzFa-h9YSpMduCQOwzoxDOaP6FcMIYQ3eMSZ5DJqthNXz3Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

gpf101 wrote: »
    I wouldn't do that. Petrol and/or a clay bar.

that is how i got black underseal off my daughters lime green vw....

worth a try....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭haulagebasher

OP, I highly suggest you disregard the bulk of advice give above regarding DIY remedies such as petrol soaked rags etc
    The workmen have obviously been hugely negligent and sloppy so here is who you need to do:
    DO NOT REMOVE ANY PAINT SPOTS. Take many photos of the paint spatters and write up a small letter detialing the damage and then present it and a copy of the photos to the painter. Do not entertain any offers from him to remove the spots and if he protests just inform him that he is neither qualified nor competent to work on cars. Tell him that due to damaged you are withholding payment until an assesment of damages is made. Then ask him for his insurace details. He is obliged to inform you if you have suffered loss or damage.
    You must not entertain any offer from him to pay to have a professional carry out remedial work to your car.
    Then you go and get three or four quotes from auto body repair shops for having the car substantially or totally resprayed to return it to pre damage state. Make sure to point out to the assessor that the painters insurance wil be paying. Hint: pick your autoshops carefully, go upmarket.
    .Write a letter to detailing the damage, how it was caused and the quotes and send a copy to the insurance co and to the painter. If the painter kicks off just tell him that "you suffered loss and damage due to his negligence and that you are entitled to compensation". Keep a record of any travel, fuel or assessment expenses as these can be added to the claim
    It is important to not wash the car or get it wet or do anything that would remove the spots and make the damage appear less severe.
    Then wait for the insureers to pay out the cheque. Then you can pay his house painting bill out of this and you can put the rest in your arse pocket. You can then go and remove the paint spots with petrol and rag or soapy water or whatever, have a nice clean car and be a few grand the better off for it.

Even if it turns out he doesn't have insurance, you can still claim from him personally(or his business if applicable) but you would probably need a solicitor for that. If he claims inability to pay, you could have a court order that some business assets would be disposed of to pay.

Now, before some people start getting on their high horses (which i know they will) about this being illegal and me advocating illegal actions, to them I say this:
    This is NOT illegal. I have checked it out before and it is 100% legal to claim compensation but not have the work actually carried out. There is no obligation for the injured party to use the compensation to correct the damages This is still above board. for example, if someone totals your car and you are awarded copmensation, you are 100% in your rights to not buy another car. ex2. if your house burns down and your insurer pays out, you are entitled to rebuild it using the compo or not to rebuilt. Your choice, no obligation. Check it out, read up. FACT.
    And for those who say it's unethical or immoral, to them i say this. It is a simple fact of law that if you suffer a loss or damage, and it is someone elses fault, then you are entitled to be compensated for that loss injury or damage by the guilty party.

In addition to it being about having damages paid, it is also about standing up and not being walked on by people. If you show whos boss they will be a lot more careful next time and show you and your property the respect it deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Bloody Hell.
    fell sorry for your mother.
    Did they pay for the damage in the end?

@haulagebasher

It's incredibly unethical and highly immoral.

Just because you're entitled to it, doesn't make it right.

Karma has a weird way of coming back at you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Haulegebasher that's total overkill imo.

Poor advice here too, acetone, spatula and so on.

Op get down to halfords and buy a meguiars clay bar kit, a couple of hours will have the car better than before. You could always get the painter to pay for the clay bar kit.

It's incredibly unethical and highly immoral.

Just because you're entitled to it, doesn't make it right.

Karma has a weird way of coming back at you :)

So your saying, if someone writes off my car that I whould be obliged to use any pay out to buy a new car? What if I don't want or need another car? What if I want a smaller, cheaper car? Should I be not allowed buy a smaller cheaper car and be forced to buy the same type as before? There is no obligation, nor shoul there be, to spend that money on any particular ting. FACT
    Op get down to halfords and buy a meguiars clay bar kit, a couple of hours will have the car better than before. You could always get the painter to pay for the clay bar kit.
    No No no no. Terrible advice. So you think he should be let off light by just asking he pay for a clay bar? Ridiculous! He'll be going home laughing at you at what a pushover you are. At the very least you should be charging him the going rate for auto body shop labour in addition. If he does,'t like it then sue his ass as per last post. Anything else is being a pushover.
    I hope your mother took those eejits to the fcuking cleaners. Did she?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I know a painter, his ladder slipped one day and broke the house owners car front windscreen. He paid for a new windscreen without issue as it was his fault. No profit in that job he said! :pac:

So your saying, if someone writes off my car that I whould be obliged to use any pay out to buy a new car? What if I don't want or need another car? What if I want a smaller, cheaper car? Should I be not allowed buy a smaller cheaper car and be forced to buy the same type as before? There is no obligation, nor shoul there be, to spend that money on any particular ting. FACT

Where did I say that? Tell me. Quote me where I said that. I am intrigued.

I said it was immoral and unethical. That's because it is in my opinion and generally in the civilized community.

You are telling the OP to claim and then DIY the repairs. Why do that? How is that moral or ethical?

Pretty apt Sig by the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

T cut will take it off no bother.

wash car
    dry it
    t cut it
    rub it off
    polish

yes, it removes a layer of paint from your car but i have used it on a tonne of vehicles and they always come out in a showroom finish

No no no. Terrible advice. So you think he should be let off light by just asking he pay for a clay bar? Ridiculous! He'll be going home laughing at you at what a pushover you are. At the very least you should be charging him the going rate for auto body shop labour in addition. If he does,'t like it then sue his ass as per last post. Anything else is being a pushover.

It's not terrible advice it's what I would consider the right way to go about fixing the very minor inconvenience of paint splashing on a car. It's easily removed with a clay bar and I'm speaking from experience here.

If the op doesn't want to do it themselves there are a number of detailers around the country who could do it cheaply. The car does not need a respray, total overaction on your part.

Btw your signature seems perfectly apt here lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Katunga wrote: »
    Bloody Hell.
    fell sorry for your mother.
    Did they pay for the damage in the end?

At this stage I've no idea. It was a long, long time ago. But their stupidity was so great it was unforgettable.

If the op doesn't want to do it themselves there are a number of detailers around the country who could do it cheaply. The car does not need a respray, total overaction on your part.
    You abviously didn't read my post properly - I didn't say it needed a respray, I said to just get quotes for a respray. Then the OP could do the rag or clay bar method or whatever.The clay bar method or whatever, probaly is perfectly adequate to remedy the actual problem. The OP probably should do that in the end. But what I'm getting at is trying to advise the OP what to do to avail of the opportunity bring about maximum benefits for himself. He can also teach this cowboy painter some respect.
    try something like a plactic spatula.....try it on a part that is not seen first ....
    It's a car, not a woolly jumper with a gravy stain

The clay bar method or whatever, probaly is perfectly adequate to remedy the actual problem. The OP probably should do that in the end. But what I'm getting at is trying to advise the OP what to do to avail of the opportunity bring about maximum benefits for himself. He can also teach this cowboy painter some respect.

Not everybody is out to rip people off or teach them a lesson. How would you feel if a person with the same motives as yourself ripped you off? I doubt you would be very happy.

Neilw wrote: »
    Not everybody is out to rip people off or teach them a lesson. How would you feel if a person with the same motives as yourself ripped you off? I doubt you would be very happy.

I would probably fight tooth and nail to stop them claiming. But i would be equally aggressive with the case if I were the injured party. You won't get nowhere by being a shrinking violet. Nice guys finish last mate.
    But this sloppy painter does need to be taught a lesson, even if that means cleaning him out personally if it proves he has no insurance.

I would probably fight tooth and nail to stop them claiming. But i would be equally aggressive with the case if I were the injured party. You won't get nowhere by being a shrinking violet. Nice guys finish last mate.
    But this sloppy painter does need to be taught a lesson, even if that means cleaning him out personally if it proves he has no insurance.

There is a time and a place to fight tooth and nail, I've done it before but this is not that time imo. It's a minor inconvenience that can be easily fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭ValerieR

It happened us twice over the years ...

My Dad's car was parked near a bridge in Paris and when he came back his lovely tea-with-lots of milk coloured Renault 16 (that's to show how many years ago this was !! :eek: ) was covered in dark green polka dots. By complaining to the equivalent of the County Council, he had his car resprayed in the end.

My 1st car (a Renault 5 Mark 1 - another very old story ! :D) was parked beside a house which got repainted. The lovely dark green car's roof, side and boot were spotted with lots of magnolia colour dots. I managed to remove that with T-cut. Lots of hours of fun ... it wasn't easy but I got them in the end.

Best of luck with your endeavours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Can't see you getting much money unless its a professional business. If its a one man operation he's not going to have insurance more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Wow, you really hate people don't you? Accidents happen, through negligence, carelessness, whatever. This whole attitude of not get what's owed to you but get as much as possible regardless of the situation stinks. The OP should be compensated due to the tune of repairs on his car, if that's the price of a clay bar so be it.

Can't see you getting much money unless its a professional business. If its a one man operation he's not going to have insurance more than likely.
    WRONG
    Even if he a private one man show, with no insurance you can still claim off him. You may not get quite as much tough. Even if he claims inability to pay, you can have a court order that some or all of his assets be disposed of to repay the damages. If he is a sole trader, that includes his home.
    off topic
    I once saw a case where an accident occured, minor fender bender. Party at fault offerd to fix the car up out of his own pocket to which the injured party agreed to. Got fixed up, paid for, all happy........until a few months later. The injured party went and claimed personal injury and was awarded €182,000. The catch is that, becasue the guy never informed his insurace of the accident, they refused to cover it and he had to pay himself. Went absolustely broke, had to sell everthing and take out a huge loan to pay it. Will be paying back that one for the rest of his life.

So it can be done
    Wow, you really hate people don't you? Accidents happen, through negligence, carelessness, whatever. This whole attitude of not get what's owed to you but get as much as possible regardless of the situation stinks. The OP should be compensated due to the tune of repairs on his car, if that's the price of a clay bar so be it.
    Fair enough, thats what you would do. Have fun being walked on for the rest of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Even if he claims inability to pay, you can have a court order that some or all of his assets be disposed of to repay the damages. If he is a sole trader, that includes his home.
    Jesus, you do realise this is paint on car, not acid on child?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

What do you do when the 3 ghosts turn up at christmas?

BostonB wrote: »
    What do you do when the 3 ghosts turn up at christmas?

Sue them on grounds of intentionally inflicting emotional distress. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Then wait for the insureers to pay out the cheque. Then you can pay his house painting bill out of this and you can put the rest in your arse pocket. You can then go and remove the paint spots with petrol and rag or soapy water or whatever, have a nice clean car and be a few grand the better off for it.
    Quite frankly this is no different to deliberately exaggerating a personal injury against another motorist. I take it that in the event of a minor incident you wouldn't go down to A&E to be checked out then leave it at that as there wasn't a serious issue. Instead you'd be shopping around for the medical consultant who'd offer the worst prognosis and highest compensation level. Pretty disgusting IMHO.

No it's not the same. There is no exaggeration. The damage occured, and it could reasonably be argued (since cutting paste removes a layer of the cars paint) that the only way to fully restore it to the predamaged state is to do a total respray. That is perfectly legitimate and I am confident that it would hold up in court. Now of course, we and the OP know that a clay bar or t-cut would provide satisfactory results and they are free to choose how much and where to spend the damges money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,683 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No it's not the same. There is no exaggeration. The damage occured, and it could reasonably be argued (since cutting paste removes a layer of the cars paint) that the only way to fully restore it to the predamaged state is to do a total respray. That is perfectly legitimate and I am confident that it would hold up in court. Now of course, we and the OP know that a clay bar or t-cut would provide satisfactory results and they are free to choose how much and where to spend the damges money

While it is legitimate to claim damages and not actually spend it on the repair, it is not legitimate to claim for more than has actually been damaged. You are talking of claiming for a full respray. Surely, nobody is going to pay out for a full respray due to some paint specs. Im all for getting a professional to rectify the damage. A detailer would be best for this and will not under any circumstances require a respray. In fact, it could be strongly argued that a respray might further devalue the car (there is an additional claim for ya). If it was my car, I would be presenting quote for detailer for works required. That would be sufficient for me as I would be getting the car back with paintwork in stunning condition as a detail will correct all the minor defects normally present on a car thats out and about.
    I dont agree that people should be getting out themselves at it with a clay bar. It a fair bit of work to start at a normal car with tar and road grit attached to the surface never mind the paint specs and to get it to the stage where it is clear enough for polishing and waxing. Im sure there is a days work in this even if the paint is relatively easy to remove with clay or whatever. You have to consider the paint will be on glass, chrome, rubber, wheels and will be a bit of work to get it all off. I dont fancy spending a day at a task due to someone elses mistake.
    Id be shocked if his insurer would simply pay out for full respray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Make a legitimate claim for the legitimate damages. What you're talking about is knowingly and deliberately claiming more money for the work is required. It's far too close for comfort to ambulance chasing. Get a recommendation for a good detailer and get them to take a look. If they can remove the paint and restore the car to good condition then that's a legitimate claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Many years ago, my mother had a red fiesta that was only a few months old. The neighbour two doors down decided to hire a spraygun and spray the pepple-dash of their house themselves. Needless to say, one side of the new red car was speckled with white paint. The mother was furious and stormed up to them to inform them what had happened. They offered to come down and clean it off, but my mother declined, that she'd rather have it cleaned off by a valeter, rather than risk further damage.

This happened to my sister in law just this year except that it was a plastic scourer rather than a Brillo pad. Still hasn't been remedied!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Next door neighbours (semi-detached) were getting the exterior of the house and garden wall painted. I moved my car. However, there were white paint speckles all over my slate clad pond, which I got out cleaned before it became a hardened mess. While doing this, I noticed the living room window was also speckled with paint. I pointed this out to painter, who kindly said he would remove any speckles after he was done. He did and that was that. On a car....? hmmmm...I would use the soft wet sponge idea but would not wait til the morning. Get it done asap, but take your photos first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Not being smart but i would have moved my car in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

You must not entertain any offer from him to pay to have a professional carry out remedial work to your car.
    Then you go and get three or four quotes from auto body repair shops for having the car substantially or totally resprayed to return it to pre damage state. Make sure to point out to the assessor that the painters insurance wil be paying. Hint: pick your autoshops carefully, go upmarket.
    .Write a letter to detailing the damage, how it was caused and the quotes and send a copy to the insurance co and to the painter. If the painter kicks off just tell him that "you suffered loss and damage due to his negligence and that you are entitled to compensation". Keep a record of any travel, fuel or assessment expenses as these can be added to the claim
    It is important to not wash the car or get it wet or do anything that would remove the spots and make the damage appear less severe.
    Then wait for the insureers to pay out the cheque.
    You'll be left waiting. Insurances companies are experts at assessing damages. They're not going to pay out for a respray when what is needed is a valeting job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

I'd say the loss adjuster would determine what recompense the insurance company would offer, they would surely only sanction a respray for paint which can't be easily removed. We also don't know the age of the car and what condition the paintwork was in beforehand.