Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sending CVs, wasting my time?

• 22-08-2012 5:34am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭

From checking my sent email in hotmail I worked out I sent out 95 cv's over the past year for jobs, hardly any call backs and no interviews. They were mainly for Admin jobs with little or no experience. I have a few certs in Admin, some office experience. Should I forget about sending cv's? I feel im wasting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

No, the key is perciverence. Maybe think about why no call backs. Is your cv too long ot two short? Your cover letter/email is always the first thing they see so its your opening shot as it were.make sure it highlights your key skills, where they match what's asked for in the job spec and why you feel you'd be an assit to the company. Another tip is to find out the hiring managers name/details and address to them personally.

Finally 95 in a few years isn't a lot last time I was job hunting it was 95 in a few months or at least it felt like that, hell yesterday I think I looked at about 100 specs on irishjobs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Faolchu wrote: »
    No, the key is perciverence. Maybe think about why no call backs. Is your cv too long ot two short? Your cover letter/email is always the first thing they see so its your opening shot as it were.make sure it highlights your key skills, where they match what's asked for in the job spec and why you feel you'd be an assit to the company. Another tip is to find out the hiring managers name/details and address to them personally.

Finally 95 in a few years isn't a lot last time I was job hunting it was 95 in a few months or at least it felt like that, hell yesterday I think I looked at about 100 specs on irishjobs

thanks for the reply.
    regarding too long or too short, it has everything Ive done, if anything its too short but im not sure how I can add to it.
    cover letter, ive started doing a quick cover letter in recent months, usually I just put in the job title as email title and attached my cv. Im starting to use this as a cover letter recently though http://jobsearch.about.com/od/coverlettersamples/a/sampletarget.htm
    I would love to send out more cvs but I cant find more jobs, I look mainly on fas and jobs.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

NinjaK wrote: »
    From checking my sent email in hotmail I worked out I sent out 95 cv's over the past year for jobs, hardly any call backs and no interviews. They were mainly for Admin jobs with little or no experience. I have a few certs in Admin, some office experience. Should I forget about sending cv's? I feel im wasting my time.

I don't know what your situation is - whether you're employed at the moment or not - but I guess the way I'd see it is that, if your unemployed and received Job Seekers Allowance or Job Seekers Benefit, then applying for jobs should pretty much be a full-time occupation!

I mean, obviously if the jobs aren't there you can't apply for them, but when opportunities do come up, you need to spend a lot of time writing a cover letter and tailoring your CV.

I'm currently working full-time, but I've still managed to fire out 30-40 cover letters and CVs over the past month (in the evenings and at weekends.) So 95 CVs in a year doesn't seem like all that much, to be honest.

Obviously you also need to look at what you're doing to upskill while job-searching - whether that means more courses, unpaid experience, whatever you can use in your favour at interviews.

You say you feel like you're wasting your time - but what's the alternative? I know that, personally, from a moral standpoint, I wouldn't feel comfortable claiming JSA/JSB if I wasn't actively job-seeking.

Of course it's difficult to get a job at the moment - but, if you stop sending out your CV, your chances are reduced from low down to zero!

Are you registered with all of the major recruitment agencies? And are you getting in touch with them regularly to see if any jobs have come up? Have you asked them to review your cover letter and CV for you and to suggest improvements?

Best of luck with it. :)

thanks for the reply.
    regarding too long or too short, it has everything Ive done, if anything its too short but im not sure how I can add to it.
    cover letter, ive started doing a quick cover letter in recent months, usually I just put in the job title as email title and attached my cv. Im starting to use this as a cover letter recently though http://jobsearch.about.com/od/coverlettersamples/a/sampletarget.htm
    I would love to send out more cvs but I cant find more jobs, I look mainly on fas and jobs.ie

OK, if you weren't putting in any cover letter and just putting in the job title in the e-mail, your CV was probably binned immediately. So you can forget about those jobs you that applied for without a cover letter.

That doesn't look like a great template to me. Bullet points are great in CVs, but personally I think a cover letter should be more personalised to the job description. Instead of using one online template, I'd look at dozens of them (including many from Irish websites), and then create my own cover letter, tailored for the job in question.

I don't use FAS or jobs.ie myself - I've found that irishjobs.ie is the easiest site to use, and tends to include almost every job that might also be found elsewhere. I'd definitely recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

+1 for irishjobs.ie

Only job site I ever use

It's excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

irishjobs.ie for me too. also that cover letter is OK for a start but as chatterpiller said it needs to be more personal.

basically an intro along the lines of "im writing to you today with respect to teh position of XXXXX listed on YYYY with reference of ZZZZZ. please find my current CV attached for your consideration.

then you go into a brief intro of yourself. this needs to be shory, its your "elevator pitch" think of it like this. you've cornered this person in a moving elevator you have at most 60 seconds to make an impact on them and make them want to talk to you before that door opens an opertunity has walked right out teh door with them. So keep it brief and highlight your key skills and achievements.

next something like I note from teh job spec that you are looking for someone with experience in blah blah balh, whislt working for Acme inc i was responsible for .... and you can show how your skills match their needs.

then sign off with something like

Thank you for taking the time to review my CV and i look forwared to teh oppertunity to discuss it in detail with you further. then include youe email and phone number

finally try your damnest to get a name to address it to and a personal email address to make sure it lads on the right persons desk. ofteh CVs are reviewed by HR admins who are just looking for key words given by teh hiring manager if you dont have them you end in teh bin, but if it lands on the desk of the manager itself and your cover letter is up to scratch then you're in with a chance.

also take a chance, just because teh job spec isnt 100% you fire in an application anyway you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I agree with chatterpillar, if your job application was a blank e-mail with your CV attached, it was probably binned.

You need to write a unique cover letter for each job application, and if possible tailor your CV for each job application. The latter may not be necessary if you have written a good CV.

Don't give up hope. Invest the time in each job application and keep applying. You will eventually get a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Agree with the above. All your CVs with no cover letter will have been binned without being looked at, and I imagine those with a generic cover letter not tailored to the job will have been binned as well.

You need to tailor each CV and cover letter to each job. Go through the job spec, pick out the key words / skills / requirements, and work those in to your CV and cover letter. You will end up with a number of different versions of your CV. (so make sure you have a good filing system so that you know which CV has gone out to which firm)

A personalised letter also makes all the difference, and may well be what gets you a call back. If you can, find the name of the person who is doing the hiring, or else the head of HR. A dear Sir / Madam doesn't really cut it in this environment. Remember that you are up against people who probably are doing all of this....and a job can only be given out once

A numbers game does not work. If you've sent out 100 with no response, you won't get a response after 1000 if you do the same thing. They all need to be tailored. Altering a CV and writing a cover letter for a specific job would take a few hours to get it exactly right....I would suggest that if it doesn't take some considerable time to prepare, it is not going to result in a call-back. Like a previous poster said, it's a full time job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

?

I've never ever used a cover letter and have never binned a CV that didn't have one.

The issue could be a number of things. You didn't have relevant experience or isn't highlighted in the CV or the CV is too long or they just got hundreds of CV's and didn't have time.

The current market is tough and it is hard to get recognized. Maybe try things like calling the company first to see if you can talk to someone about the role and then send the CV to that person.

Look through your CV and really try and highlight things that will make you stand out from the average person. maybe a career highlights section after each job showing how you added value to the role.

If you're out of work a single day sitting down and writing up a great cover letter and CV should be easily done. Also if you're out of work you should be looking at doing maybe courses or anything that can bolster the CV

but 95 CV's in a year really isn't that many in today's market. I could do that in less than a month. As someone mentioned all ready you need to turn your search for the job into a full time job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

From checking my sent email in hotmail I worked out I sent out 95 cv's over the past year for jobs, hardly any call backs and no interviews.
    The one thing that I found helped me the most was getting my CV looked at (by a friend of the family). If you know anyone who works in HR, get them to look at it, and see if anything stands out as wrong. It may something simple that is killing your chances.

puffishoes wrote: »
    ?

I've never ever used a cover letter and have never binned a CV that didn't have one.

really? A cover letter doesn't have to be a seperate letter....can just be an email to accompany the CV. You'd look at a CV that is just sent from a hotmail address with no accompanying note, but just the job title in the subject line? I certainly wouldn't....it shows that the sender hasn't put in any effort

steve9859 wrote: »
    really? A cover letter doesn't have to be a seperate letter....can just be an email to accompany the CV. You'd look at a CV that is just sent from a hotmail address with no accompanying note, but just the job title in the subject line? I certainly wouldn't....it shows that the sender hasn't put in any effort

Yes I imagine everyone I've hired in the last 3/4 years didn't provide a cover letter and over all I would say it's less than 10% CV's I would get would come with cover letters.

But on the other side of the coin a lot of the CV's with cover letters tend to be weaker where really strong candidates don't tend to maybe they feel their skillet is enough to get them the job and with me they'd be right.

I have nothing against cover letters or candidates that use them I just never have and it's never been an issue.

I think you might have bigger problems outside of Ireland in places like Germany or the states. but in Ireland mostly "sure it's grand"

But for the OP to me there's more than a lack of cover letter there's something else involved.

Just on a side note, why mention hotmail? would you be more inclined to look at a CV that was mailed from a vanity address than a free one?

But on the other side of the coin a lot of the CV's with cover letters tend to be weaker where really strong candidates don't tend to maybe they feel their skillet is enough to get them the job and with me they'd be right.

In the current market, for most jobs, there is a large surplus of candidates with relevant skillsets and qualifications and experience.

A cover letter can be used to show that, as well as being able to do the job, the candidate has a genuine interest in the company and in the role.

In the current market, for most jobs, there is a large surplus of candidates with relevant skillsets and qualifications and experience.

A cover letter can be used to show that, as well as being able to do the job, the candidate has a genuine interest in the company and in the role.

Maybe but if I bin all non cover letters I could be losing the best candidate.

Anyway most use an online template and copy in a few words from the advert. been able to copy and paste is generally not a key skill i'm looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭farmerval

Taking this slightly off-topic, but a friend of mine who is in HR reckons that being registered with all the jobs agencies is a must when you're looking for work.
    She says that many companies will approach an agency and the agency will send cv's from suitable candidates they have on file, and if the company is happy with a few of these they will call them for interview.

On another side, even back in the boom, agencies often re-advertise jobs just to make it look like they are doing business. The job I'm in now, when I got it six years ago, it was back up three times in the following few months.

Maybe but if I bin all non cover letters I could be losing the best candidate.

Anyway most use an online template and copy in a few words from the advert. been able to copy and paste is generally not a key skill i'm looking for.

Many don't, though. Personally, when I'm applying for a job, I do a bit of research on the company, and then type out a normal business letter in my own words, explaining my position, explaining why I'm interested in the role and why I believe I'm a suitable candidate. I'm familiar with the templates out there, but I don't use them.

If I were recruiting, I wouldn't necessarily want the "best" candidate unless they had a genuine interest in the company and in the role. A generic CV with no cover letter would be a warning sign to me that they're just firing off CVs everywhere without any real interest in the job. I'd far rather a slightly less qualified/experienced applicant, who made it clear that they were really interested in the opportunity available.

Just on a side note, why mention hotmail? would you be more inclined to look at a CV that was mailed from a vanity address than a free one?

don't have an issue with hotmail per se. Only mentioned it as I was repeating the OPs words.

But, as an aside, and not related to the OP, I would have an issue with someone who is applying for a job using an email that they might have had at college or school....you know, something like [EMAIL="'fluffybunny6@hotmail.com'"]'fluffybunny6@hotmail.com'[/EMAIL]. That CV is immediately going in the bin....if someone doesn't have the cop-on to appear professional, I don't want to know, no matter their strengths

Many don't, though. Personally, when I'm applying for a job, I do a bit of research on the company, and then type out a normal business letter in my own words, explaining my position, explaining why I'm interested in the role and why I believe I'm a suitable candidate. I'm familiar with the templates out there, but I don't use them.

If I were recruiting, I wouldn't necessarily want the "best" candidate unless they had a genuine interest in the company and in the role. A generic CV with no cover letter would be a warning sign to me that they're just firing off CVs everywhere without any real interest in the job. I'd far rather a slightly less qualified/experienced applicant, who made it clear that they were really interested in the opportunity available.

The majority in my experience want a job and to get paid. I want to give them that and I want in the mean time to try and find the most skilled person to do it.

The fact they read the about section on the website or can quote our current position of the best companies to work for or our stock price is irrelevant to me. Anyway as I said for me these are for me usually the weaker candidates who are not confident enough in their skill set.

don't have an issue with hotmail per se. Only mentioned it as I was repeating the OPs words.

But, as an aside, and not related to the OP, I would have an issue with someone who is applying for a job using an email that they might have had at college or school....you know, something like [EMAIL="'fluffybunny6@hotmail.com'"]'fluffybunny6@hotmail.com'[/EMAIL]. That CV is immediately going in the bin....if someone doesn't have the cop-on to appear professional, I don't want to know, no matter their strengths

So their name at dcu.ie is binned?

Tough company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Makes no difference

hotmail, yahoo, gmail, they are all the same

Tough company

It's not that

mikemac@dcu is fine

mikemacmad4aparty@dcu gets you binned

It's not dcu that's the problem, it's putting in party or madwan or cute or craic, just something stupid

The majority in my experience want a job and to get paid. I want to give them that and I want in the mean time to try and find the most skilled person to do it.

The fact they read the about section on the website or can quote our current position of the best companies to work for or our stock price is irrelevant to me. Anyway as I said for me these are for me usually the weaker candidates who are not confident enough in their skill set.

If they spouted off that stuff, it would be a fairly crap cover letter, and not what the cover letter is supposed to be about!

In my own case, my CV is strong on its own, without a cover letter. However I wouldn't be comfortable sending a company my CV with absolutely no introduction - it's just bad etiquette, in my opinion! Which is why I include a cover letter too. (And I've had no shortage of interviews/offers.)

In cases where a CV mightn't be as strong - a good cover letter certainly couldn't hurt.

Tough company

No, of course that's fine....you know it is. My issue is specific to addresses such as that above which were clearly funny when one was 14 years old, but not so much when someone is applying for a job!

sorry i thought you meant a college email address and or the fluffypuffyparty one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ms Tootsie

Hi OP

Have you suggested sending a follow up email to some of the more recent companies to get feedback on why you were selected? Even if they havent reviewed everything yet it is another chance to emphasis why you think you would be good for the job. I would advise doing something similar after interviews to get feedback on your performance so you know what to improve upon.

With regards to cover letters, like other posters, I cannot emphasis enough the importance of a good cover letter. I previously worked in a company which would sit in on the hiring process for clients and I can tell you now, a cv, no matter how good it was, went in the bin if it didnt have a good cover letter. I would be happy to PM you a sample of one I used within the last year if you would like? I have just started my new job about 8 months ago.

Always end a cover letter with your name and telephone number. Basically think of an interviewer as the laziest person ever. While this isnt true it will help you know what to include, save them the hassle of having to go an look for anything - contact details, summary (short) of experience, little bit about your own motivation and personal skills.

Also a cv should never be more than two pages. Depending on the position some jobs will require a more 'conversational' cv and others will require a more bullet-point approach. Take each application as a fresh start and write the cv best suited for it. Once you have a detailed cv it is easy to pull the information out for each new application.

Also save your cv file and name it 'you name' such as: John Smith CV. Again, think of the prospective employer, being able to just save a cv into a folder without having to rename it saves them hassle and makes you stand out as effcient.

I would tend to agree with the email address thing as well. I have a gmail account I use for professional reasons, it is my full name @gmail.com. It reads much better when it lands in a prospective employers email address than something immature and jokey. Remember you want to be seriously taken into consideration for a job, so start on a serious foot. A jokey email address will only hamper your chances.

As other posters have mentioned 95 is not a whole lot in a year. When I was job hunting I would be sending out 2 - 3 VERY tailored job applications a night (on top of having a full time job). It could take me almost an hour per application. The key is to research the role and the company and tailor your cv to that position and that organisation. All of this is ridiculously time consuming and verging on soul destroying but trust me when I say, in the long run, it will be worth it. If you are willing to put in the effort and tailor each application rather than balnket issuing generic cvs it will pay off.

Best of luck with your search. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Just reading through this thread now, thanks everyone for the info, I will try and take it on board and up my game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

I don't no what your situation is - whether you're employed at the moment or not - but I guess the way I'd see it is that, if your unemployed and received Job Seekers Allowance or Job Seekers Benefit, then applying for jobs should pretty much be a full-time occupation!

I mean, obviously if the jobs aren't there you can't apply for them, but when opportunities do come up, you need to spend a lot of time writing a cover letter and tailoring your CV.

I'm currently working full-time, but I've still managed to fire out 30-40 cover letters and CVs over the past month (in the evenings and at weekends.) So 95 CVs in a year doesn't seem like all that much, to be honest.

Obviously you also need to look at what you're doing to upskill while job-searching - whether that means more courses, unpaid experience, whatever you can use in your favour at interviews.

You say you feel like you're wasting your time - but what's the alternative? I know that, personally, from a moral standpoint, I wouldn't feel comfortable claiming JSA/JSB if I wasn't actively job-seeking.

Of course it's difficult to get a job at the moment - but, if you stop sending out your CV, your chances are reduced from low down to zero!

Are you registered with all of the major recruitment agencies? And are you getting in touch with them regularly to see if any jobs have come up? Have you asked them to review your cover letter and CV for you and to suggest improvements?

Best of luck with it. :)

To be fair sending out 30-40 CV's a month isn't anything to brag about. It's not a metric I would use to measure job seeking effort or success. I've sent out 2 cv's in the last month and gotten 2 interviews from 2. Both jobs I kicked to the curb as I didn't see them as goers or significant improvements. But I genuinely do think my technique works.

It's a little harsh to expect people on the dole to be constantly looking for employment. I can't imagine what the dent to self motivation that being on the dole does to a job seeker. Rather than a person looking to progress in their respective careers they are trying to pry open an opening into the working world. That is really difficult. As they say it is easy to get a job when you have a job.

So here is my tuppence...
    • Sending in CV's to agencies is pretty much pointless and should be avoided if at all possible. Sometimes an agency will have exclusivity for a company. I found in the past a lot of them tend to fabricate job vacancies to build up a database of users that they can mailshot when a real job opening occurs. You need to be smart and a little skeptical when you see a job spec online. Look for cues in the specs that point to a concrete company behind the spec. The key measure of success is not the number of CV's sent out in the month. But the number of viable job leads that have led to an actual interview offer.

• The tendency in this country when a job becomes available that it is listed with a number of agencies simultaneously. If at all possible the trick is to find the company recruiting and go to them directly. It's not hard as most recruitment companies are lazy and just copy and paste the job spec. Most companies list the job spec on the website. Remember it won't be the recruitment agency that will paying you and going to the company saves them the agency fee.

• The best trick is to ring the company and look to talk to the person in charge of hiring. If they are a big enough company they will have a HR dept. Tell them you are thinking of applying for a job and you are looking for the internal reference number/email address to include with/send the cv to. This establishes you firstly as a person to them and also demonstrates that you have a good interest in applying for the job. Also it means they are expecting something from you. Also you have a point of contact for feedback on your CV. Don't expect them to critique your CV, but a small bit of advice from a number of different companies does work wonders and also gives you a solid basis for refining your CV. Look at your CV as something that will always change.

• In terms of job hunting sites I tend to avoid them. I use http://www.indeed.ie to aggregate them and get email alerts based on my search requirements. I find it a good jobs search tool and it easier to spot duplicate postings and find the company recruiting directly. Also its easy just to check my email for the latest jobs rather than visit sites where the same jobs are refreshed my agency.

• In terms of quality of CV's use a template of some sort to try to create something concise. The best approach is to put it all down on paper\word doc and then edit it down to the important parts. Remember the person that will be reviewing it will also have the job spec open in front of it. Their determination on whether to call you for interview will be based on how your CV and the job spec align. Get into this mindset and you will soon see the jobs that you will be more likely to called for.

• I would recommend a site like http://www.ceevee.com to create and store your CV. You can put all the information into the various sections and when it comes to getting a CV ready for a job you can literally tick the box on the sections that would like to include. Click another button and you instantly have a PDF of your CV that can be targeted for a particular role. It's quite handy and shouldn't be underestimated. There are lots of online services out there that can take the work out of some of the more tedious tasks.

• In terms of fine tuning your CV the best way to see what works is to look at other peoples CV's. Google is your friend here and it's good from an idea's point of view and also from the point of view of seeing what your own CV is being benchmarked against. A simple query would be along the lines of: filetype:pdf inurl:cv software engineer

• Lastly all my recent contacts in relation to recruitment have come from LinkedIn. So complete your LinkedIn profile. You don't have to be a highflyer but a neat profile picture and some concise information works well. Focus on keywords in your field and play to your strengths. If your not the most technically competent then let your recommendations portray you as an enthusiastic team player etc

• It's a pretty OK way to network with recruiters as well - if you want to go down that route. Most will add you as a you friend as long as they perceive you as being of value to them CV wise. If you do see a job from an agency try to find the agency person on linkedin and add them as a connection asking about the job. More than likely they will get you to email your CV in.

Just reading through this thread now, thanks everyone for the info, I will try and take it on board and up my game!

Good luck. It can be pretty soul destroying. The most important thing is to not let your head drop. Because as soon as you do, you won't get anywhere.

If you stay positive, something will come up. But you never know which one it will be, and if the job with your name on is the one that you approach in a halfhearted and downbeat mood, then you might not get it.

Remember, you only need one job, and you might have it next week for all you know.....

TonyStark wrote: »
    To be fair sending out 30-40 CV's a month isn't anything to brag about. It's not a metric I would use to measure job seeking effort or success. I've sent out 2 cv's in the last month and gotten 2 interviews from 2. Both jobs I kicked to the curb as I didn't see them as goers or significant improvements. But I genuinely do think my technique works.

Just to point out, I wasn't bragging - I was merely pointing out that 95 CVs in a year isn't a massive amount to be sending.

I haven't experienced any difficulty in getting callbacks/interviews/offers for the jobs I've applied for, so I think my technique is working quite well, too. :) I'm keeping an open mind, and considering all opportunities out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Just to point out, I wasn't bragging - I was merely pointing out that 95 CVs in a year isn't a massive amount to be sending.

I haven't experienced any difficulty in getting callbacks/interviews/offers for the jobs I've applied for, so I think my technique is working quite well, too. :) I'm keeping an open mind, and considering all opportunities out there.

Hopefully your technique bears you fruit and that you will have job offer soon enough. Different strokes for different folks.

TonyStark wrote: »
    Hopefully your technique bears you fruit and that you will have job offer soon enough. Different strokes for different folks.

Thanks - just got offered my ideal job today, actually! :D:o

Congrats maybe you can forward on a template of your cover letter to the OP ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,289 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

All this talk of emailing CV's makes me yawn.

Yes, it's gotta be done. And yes, I agree with having a cover email or letter which shows why you are good for the hob.

But jobs are more likely to come from networking. There's some good advice a couple of posts ago re LinkedIn.

Also work your contacts: who do you know how might have a lead to a job. Try to meet at least 2-3 such people for coffee / beer / a chat each week. Tell them that you're job hunting, and specifically ask them to let you know if they hear of anything suitable. (People can be a bit thick - you need to be very clear and specific about the asking.)

And since you have admin experience, register with the agencies for temping - and trying to find some sort of "in" to get them to remember you. Reception / filing / data entry may not be great - but they get you out of the house, meeting people in workplaces, earning a bit more than the dole, and getting exposure to lots of different companies.