Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another 'what are my chances' thread..

• 21-08-2012 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

How helpful would this course be to me when it comes time to apply?

http://www.nuigalway.ie/courses/undergraduate-courses/arts-public-and-social-policy.html

Its an arts degree in 'Public and Social Policy' and consists of three main subjects which are;

Law
    Sociology
    Economics

I would be graduating (all going well) summer 2015 which as we all hope will be when recruitment MAY be resuming or at least be close.

So do ye think this along with having done some volunteer work for a local charity would be much use?

Also I have appeared in court for drunk and disorderly last year and received a fine to the poor box and also received an adult caution the year before for the same offence (I was a bowsie and acted the bollocks a few times but no longer drink)

Realistically how much of a hinderence would this be if I keep my nose clean between now and then, which would make it 4 years since my offences.

So lads whats the verdict? Good or Bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

JustLen wrote: »

http://www.nuigalway.ie/courses/undergraduate-courses/arts-public-and-social-policy.html

Its an arts degree in 'Public and Social Policy' and consists of three main subjects which are;

Law
    Sociology
    Economics

I would be graduating (all going well) summer 2015 which as we all hope will be when recruitment MAY be resuming or at least be close.

So do ye think this along with having done some volunteer work for a local charity would be much use?

Also I have appeared in court for drunk and disorderly last year and received a fine to the poor box and also received an adult caution the year before for the same offence (I was a bowsie and acted the bollocks a few times but no longer drink)

Realistically how much of a hinderence would this be if I keep my nose clean between now and then, which would make it 4 years since my offences.

Any course is helpfull. Get yourself a degree and your flying...Im currently trying to get one myself. Why not join the reserves? Its volunteer work the and closest we can get to the job for the time being with no recruitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Law
    Sociology
    Economics

If any sort of record pops up in pulse it's unlikely you'll be recruited, especially these days with the sheer number of people waiting to apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭P.C.Plod

Tyron Jara wrote: »
    Any course is helpfull. Get yourself a degree and your flying...Im currently trying to get one myself. Why not join the reserves? Its volunteer work the and closest we can get to the job for the time being with no recruitment.

Dont want to burst your bubble but having a degree does not mean "your flying".
    It actually has no benefit what so ever.

Just keep your head down and go to college, Choose an alternative career (just in case) as its not as easy as just applying.

It will be tough for all to get in, whenever they start recruiting.

Alan Shatter is currently destroying the force and has no interest in giving them any support or funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

I know having a degree wouldn't mean I would be flying, that poster has hes own opinion.

my main concern really is the trouble ive had previously
    THFC wrote: »
    If any sort of record pops up in pulse it's unlikely you'll be recruited, especially these days with the sheer number of people waiting to apply.

Is this the reality of it so? I was told by my solicitor at the time (Who has been around a long time and is highly regarded in Clare/Limerick) that I shouldnt worry too much about it just stay out of trouble

However Im not saying he was right just want the opinion of a few more people in the know

THFC wrote: »
    If any sort of record pops up in pulse it's unlikely you'll be recruited

Where do you get this info by the way? not being rude its just im trying to get as much accurate info as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

P.C.Plod wrote: »

Just keep your head down and go to college, Choose an alternative career (just in case) as its not as easy as just applying.

It will be tough for all to get in, whenever they start recruiting.

Alan Shatter is currently destroying the force and has no interest in giving them any support or funding.

Actually I meant in overall life sorry if I was not specific. Yes having a degree will not mean youll get in but its much better to have any degree to show youve committed yourself to something. However there are other ways and means to build up a great CV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

Where do you get this info by the way? not being rude its just im trying to get as much accurate info as possible

If you apply for the Reserves, you will find out sooner rather than later whether your conviction will hinder your application for the full time.

Thanks Yogi I was actually just thinking that there. I have the application filled anyway so im guessing if I am called for interview I'll be able hear it straight from the horses mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

with the amount of people that will be applying the board will have the upper hand and will be very specific with who gets in or who doesn't. having any minor record is not an absolute bar from joining the guards, there will easily be enough applying with all the requirements, and more, going for them who will have a squeaky clean sheet so it will be very hard to make yourself a more appealing candidate than others when it comes to the crunch if you have any previous history.

if the board have 1000 people with all requirements and have to narrow down to 50, and lets say 125 have previously appeared in court for public order etc, who do you think will be chosen. put it this way people who would have made it into the guards 7 years ago no problem might not make it in next time round. the standard will be alot higher than before because of very little places plus thousands more than normal applying. the board are looking for ways to reduce this by introducing requirements etc. they will be looking for every and any excuse to knock people off the list next time round, to the extent that even good candidates wont make it. my honest opinion is that people with any history will be the first to get the x. unfortunately i think your chances are slim, this is what THFC was saying without going into it. there is no info on the web that will tell you this. i would look at an alternative career in case you don't get it, good luck.

Don't worry I'm by no means relying on getting in, I think you would want to be foolish to do so, anyone that has been waiting around all this time without doing anything are being silly.

I already know they will be looking to narrow down the hopefuls as much as possible that's just common sense really.

With a law and sociology related degree, Time spent in the reserves along with volunteer work for a local charity and a good word from a friend of the family that is a sergeant I MIGHT stand a chance, time will tell.

By the way I don't want to sound like i'm asking for advice and then not taking it just trying to be positive, As Yogi said I will soon find out if I get an interview for the reserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

well if you get the reserves thats pretty much saying that you'll be fairly ok record wise .

thekopend wrote: »
    well if you get the reserves thats pretty much saying that you'll be fairly ok record wise .

Thanks. Yeah that seems to be the most logical course of action so, Thanks for the help from yourself and Yogi! Fingers crossed (and toes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Would having a Garda JLO as a youth show up on pulse or hinder an application?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

having a degree will make you much more of an attractive employee than not having a degree

education is never of no benefit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Would having a Garda JLO as a youth show up on pulse or hinder an application?

It will be brought up at the interview with yourself about what happened. Depending on what happened it is up too you to prove, how you have changed. As in your JLO was your last contact with the Garda, you got a job after and kept the job and yourself out of trouble.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Everyone knows that it is not a basic requirement to have achieved third level education. However to say that it is of no benefit is stretching things a little far - especially when you examine the growing trend of police forces across the world looking for third level education as a basic entry requirement.

Ultimately, achieving higher level education makes you more attractive to an employer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 newposter12

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/blow-for-gardai-as-two-senior-fraud-officers-headhunted-3258552.html

That's true Sierra,the above link also highlights that having third level qualification does 'look good'.I know of someone who is studying a post grad in Law and plans to apply for AGS when it comes around along with most of his class he says.AGS will have there pick when recruitment comes around,thousands applying for maybe as little as 200 places someone who just passed their leaving cert wont look as good as someone with a 3rd level education.Any third level education will look good imo regardless of its field because its the skills you acquire from completing your degree,post grad-team work,meeting deadlines etc.
    As you say its not essential though,alot of Senior Gardai that are on interview panels may not have third level education.
    All of the above assuming its a case of what you know in the next campaign. :0)