Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf GT 08

• 20-08-2012 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Howiya lads..looking to buy a new car thinking about getting a 2008 VW Golf GT, just wondering what is the general consensus on them? I drive a golf a 01 1.4 at the moment and quite like it just want to get something up the years.

Few questions..

1. What would I be looking at paying? how much could I get off listed price?

2. How much should I expect to get for a gold 2001 1.4, all lecky windows, alloys, electric mirrors (trendline??)..88k miles (great car has served me well but I have been looking at getting something a little newer, nicer and some what sporty

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Im sure it's a grand car but the name makes me laugh :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,630 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Im sure it's a grand car but the name makes me laugh :p

I agree;no Golf could be regarded as a grand tourer and the fact that it has a fuel injected engine means it shoud be an "i" at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Nothing says GT like 80bhp. :D

Seriously, sell the 01 Golf privately as a garage will give you next to nothing for an 11 year old trade-in. Should be easy enough to sell as young lads get hard ons for those Golfs.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Nothing says GT like 80bhp. :D

Except that the one he's talking about (post 2006) should be 170bhp for a GT (not GTi).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Aren't there a good few mk5 GTs knocking around which are the 80hp! They replaced the sportline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Shurrre in Ireland 105bhp these days is means you are a lunatic for road and you deserve to be taxed into the ground until you grow up and get some cop on and buy a Hyundai Getz 1 litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The OP needs to be more specific, most GT Sports are just a trim level with the bog standard 80bhp 1.4 litre engine. 140bhp/170bhp are rare as hen's teeth.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Aren't there a good few mk5 GTs knocking around which are the 80hp! They replaced the sportline

Ah must be different from the UK; I looked at buying a 2008 GT in the UK and it wasn't just a trim/spec level. It was the designation given to the powerful version of the newly introduced 1.4 TSI (the version with turbo and s/c). Seems a bit of a swizz for it to be just a trim level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Marcusm wrote: »
    Ah must be different from the UK; I looked at buying a 2008 GT in the UK and it wasn't just a trim/spec level. It was the designation given to the powerful version of the newly introduced 1.4 TSI (the version with turbo and s/c). Seems a bit of a swizz for it to be just a trim level.
    I think the GT in the UK also came in the 140 and 122bhp versions, and the 140 and 170 diesels.
    GT here came with anything more or less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭markoire

KOR12 wrote: »
    Howiya lads..looking to buy a new car thinking about getting a 2008 VW Golf GT, just wondering what is the general consensus on them? I drive a golf a 01 1.4 at the moment and quite like it just want to get something up the years.

Few questions..

1. What would I be looking at paying? how much could I get off listed price?

2. How much should I expect to get for a gold 2001 1.4, all lecky windows, alloys, electric mirrors (trendline??)..88k miles (great car has served me well but I have been looking at getting something a little newer, nicer and some what sporty

Cheers

OP I drive an 08 gt sport golf. Its the 2.0tdi 140 version. Nice car, does what its supposed to do which is cover big miles at a relatively low cost. Had done just short of 50mpg for me over the last 15,000 miles and have had no trouble with it. You'll definitely find that version quite fast compared to your current 1.4 golf!
    Please dont buy the golf with a standard 1.4 engine in GT sport trim if you want something sporty though. It is not at all "sporty" apart from being slightly lower and having nicer headlights, grill etc.

As already said, you need to be more specific.

Is it something like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3563447

Or something like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3661334