Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Youll be back of prison in time for your dinner', Advice Please?

• 20-08-2012 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭

Hey everyone.
    So my brother who I am not in contact with informed me today that a garda has been pressuring him into contacting me over an outstanding fine for quite a while. I rang the garda to find out that at this stage I face a 750 euro fine or a stay in prison.
    The initial fine was over not displaying a tax disc whilst parked publicly for 3 days in a row around 2010 or so (I just happened to live in a housing estate where outside my door where I parked was technically public property and my tax went up). I lived in Cork, the car was registered at my home address. By the time the fines were sent out etc I was no longer in contact with home after family issues in which the gardai had been involved and are aware of the problems there.
    I know it was my responsibility to change my address but I stopped driving a long time ago and so it wasnt a matter of changing the log book address. The gardai never came out to my homeplace to deliver a summons for my court appearance. So naturally I had no idea I was meant to be in court and therefore I am now facing this fine I cannot afford.
    I asked the garda if I could pay it in installments and he dismissed the idea. He dismissed any questions I had about the legality of my obligation to appear in court (I have no idea if the law is on my side here anyway).
    He said there was no facility for me to do community service which I would only happily do.
    But then he said to me to do 'what everyone does' apparantly. The sentence I would recieve is five days. He claims that he would bring me to Limerick prison, I would be processed and spend only a few hours there and be sent home due to understaffing and overcrowding.
    I searched online and found this article with the same idea http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/youll-be-back-from-prison-in-time-for-your-dinner-what-really-happens-when-you-dont-pay-your-tv-licence-146185-May2011/
    I mean, I can't afford this fine, I will go to the bank tomorrow and try to get a loan. But if I can't, I guess this is what I face?
    I was wondering does anyone know more about this or could offer me advice?
    I also want to know is jail for a traffic offence something that goes on a criminal record, as in would this affect my chances of finding work with future employers?
    Seriously thanks for any input, its been kind of a mad day :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Get to your local FLAC centre. GIYF. << Advice

I presume your stint in prison goes on record somewhere and causes all manner of problems with travel etc? << Question, not advice OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

alltacht wrote: »
    The initial fine was over not displaying a tax disc whilst parked publicly for 3 days in a row around 2010 or so (I just happened to live in a housing estate where outside my door where I parked was technically public property and my tax went up).

If a car is technically off the road, it doesn't need a tax disc. If you had appeared in court under the original summons you could have said the car was off the road. Or you could say, you hadn't put the disc in (if you had the disc but it wasn't displayed.)
    I lived in Cork, the car was registered at my home address. By the time the fines were sent out etc I was no longer in contact with home after family issues in which the gardai had been involved and are aware of the problems there.

That kind of stuff is silly. I haven't been on speaking terms with my family in a very long time - to consider a summons served, on handing it to a family member of mine would be ludicrous. They are a shower of *******s, what more can I say.
    I asked the garda if I could pay it in installments and he dismissed the idea. He dismissed any questions I had about the legality of my obligation to appear in court (I have no idea if the law is on my side here anyway).

I was arrested by one gang of Gardai and told there was a number of outstanding summons on me, and to go to my local station to find out what they were. Which I did. And at the local, the said they could find nothing on me. And I asked them for that in writing. And they refused to give me anything. So, for all I know, I've been sentenced to ten years penal servitude.

But then he said to me to do 'what everyone does' apparantly. The sentence I would recieve is five days. He claims that he would bring me to Limerick prison, I would be processed and spend only a few hours there and be sent home due to understaffing and overcrowding.

That depends....depends greatly on your s....

That's for farmers - you read that in the farmers journal. They're the upper-class. Respectable men of inherited wealth. If you have a few hundred acres you'd get the tea and biscuits treatment and be out in a few minutes. However, if you're working class you could serve six months for the the same "crime". That's putting you through the delousing. That's where they strip you naked and throw insecticide powder at you - and laugh at your genitals. A warden with a marigold glove will insert a digit up your bottom and say something like "do yah like that do yah...you'll be having a lot of things shoved up your bottom over the next few months. Welcome to the Limerick Hilton."

If you're going to spend any time in Limerick jail, you'd better affiliate yourself with a gang before you go in. Don't find yourself in no man's land. Get a dictionary out and look up the word catamite.

On average, a prisoner dies once a week in Limerick. Natural causes of course.
    I also want to know is jail for a traffic offence something that goes on a criminal record, as in would this affect my chances of finding work with future employers?

Most employers never check criminal records. They never even verify CVs. They only call references if they don't want to hire you and are looking for some way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Don't listen to that rubbish above from krd

You won't spend more than a night if say depending on the costs to the state. Which are displayed on the top roght of the warrant. Even if they are something it doesn't necessarily mean they'll hold you for any length longer than a night. Best case scenario a few hours.
    The Garda can't and won't take installments. the less he deals with money the happier he is. Plus hes not allowed to handle.it this way. Where is he gonna store the money. He hasnt a personal safe. A reciept has to be issued for every fine paid and this cant be done in pieces. Just one receipt for payment per warrant. He's not a debt collector and he has a number of warrants to process at any one time. Hell probably give you more time if he thinks your being reasonable. The gardai have no love for these penal warrants.

Speak to the garda they'll be more than reasonable with you. (usually in most cases). If your reasonable with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

krd wrote: »
    If a car is technically off the road, it doesn't need a tax disc. If you had appeared in court under the original summons you could have said the car was off the road. Or you could say, you hadn't put the disc in (if you had the disc but it wasn't displayed.)

If a car is parked on a public road it needs a tax disc even if you don't drive it. Non-display is an offence in itself.
    That kind of stuff is silly. I haven't been on speaking terms with my family in a very long time - to consider a summons served, on handing it to a family member of mine would be ludicrous. They are a shower of *******s, what more can I say.

If you still have your car registered there it is reasonable to consider it your normal place of residence and a summons can be server on a family member there.
    I was arrested by one gang of Gardai and told there was a number of outstanding summons on me, and to go to my local station to find out what they were. Which I did. And at the local, the said they could find nothing on me. And I asked them for that in writing. And they refused to give me anything. So, for all I know, I've been sentenced to ten years penal servitude.

Outstanding summons or warrants?
    That's for farmers - you read that in the farmers journal. They're the upper-class. Respectable men of inherited wealth. If you have a few hundred acres you'd get the tea and biscuits treatment and be out in a few minutes. However, if you're working class you could serve six months for the the same "crime". That's putting you through the delousing. That's where they strip you naked and throw insecticide powder at you - and laugh at your genitals. A warden with a marigold glove will insert a digit up your bottom and say something like "do yah like that do yah...you'll be having a lot of things shoved up your bottom over the next few months. Welcome to the Limerick Hilton."

i think you just described the opening scene of Rambo
    If you're going to spend any time in Limerick jail, you'd better affiliate yourself with a gang before you go in. Don't find yourself in no man's land. Get a dictionary out and look up the word catamite.

You're obviously a fan of the show Oz too.

is there a link to support this claim?

Op you have a warrant for you that will no go away. You have to either do the time or pay the fine. There are no other options available to you other than to hire a solicitor and fight the original conviction. The Garda cannot offer you any other options than what he has. It's possible you might only spend a few hours there but you may also serve the full term. There are no guarantees so keep that in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭alltacht

Thanks guys. Youre saying that the summons is still valid if served to a family member. But no garda ever served a summons to my homeplace. All that was sent was a letter not even registered. Im gonna go to FLAC tomorrow. I think technically they dont even have to register it never mind show up serving a summons. Which is a little unfair. As much as I dont speak to my mother she'd let me know had a registered letter or a garda come out to the house and I could have showed up to court. The garda is very unterstanding yes I know it isn't his decision it was the courts and he is only doing what he has to. I am very anxious about the whole thing, to take a couple days off work to go to limerick and perhaps have to stay there for longer, I dont know how I could excuse myself. I'll have to get a charity fund going......

That depends....depends greatly on your s....

Most employers never check criminal records. They never even verify CVs. They only call references if they don't want to hire you and are looking for some way out.

At least I got a laugh out of this. But since I'm a woman, I imagine I'll be the one wearing the marigolds. Anyways...

Purely pulled out of my well what ever is appropriate for this thread :P

Womans prisons - overcrowded as mens? Chance of doing the time?

Purely pulled out of my well what ever is appropriate for this thread :P

Ahh! Don't even put new worries in my mind! Last thing I need now is some sort of Bad Girls situation. Sigh...

I'd get some proper advice (although MagicSean knows what he's talking about) from your local FLAC centre if I were you. A local solicitor will know what the story is and advise you regards a criminal record.

Yeah I forgot about flac til you mentioned it earlier thanks. I looked up one nearby and will ring tomorrow see can I meet them in the evening. This garda wanted me to have a decision by Wednesday. Seemingly he's been trying to track me down for a long time. He must not have google.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Just do your whack, You'll be signed in and out fairly quickly, The sentence was already handed out so you have a conviction now and wheter you pay the fine or do the time has no bearing on that.

I see your female, Its even less likely you will be held so..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

So it appears at the end of all this the only person that really is getting screwed is the taxpayer. With a system like this I'm surprised the country isn't broke.

Zambia wrote: »
    So it appears at the end of all this the only person that really is getting screwed is the taxpayer. With a system like this I'm surprised the country isn't broke.
    I suppose the country is fairly broke. I know I am. Did you read the story I linked? The taxi having to be paid for is a joke really.
    I looked up the Fines Act and apparantly you should be able to do community service or pay the fine in installments but the garda told me those provisions are not really implemented. I don't want it to seem like I would rather go to jail than pay the fine. I just cannot pay it in one go in the time I've been given. I do work and pay taxes and find my situation a real let down with the whole system.

I suppose the country is fairly broke. I know I am. Did you read the story I linked? The taxi having to be paid for is a joke really.
    I looked up the Fines Act and apparantly you should be able to do community service or pay the fine in installments but the garda told me those provisions are not really implemented. I don't want it to seem like I would rather go to jail than pay the fine. I just cannot pay it in one go in the time I've been given. I do work and pay taxes and find my situation a real let down with the whole system.

if you don't want to spend the time inside a prison. However short or long it may be. Save the money. Show the Garda you mean business and are taking it seriously. He'll give leeway. As I said before he's not a debt collector. But if you turn him into one by avoidance then he/she could take you to prison at their own convenience. That said the Garda has no say in the length you'll serve.

Zambia wrote: »

It is broke and the prisons are costing 5 billion a year.

Absolutely no reason why system of installments couldn't be set up tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Absolutely no reason why system of installments couldn't be set up tomorrow.
    I would concur.

In essence the collection of fines should not be a Garda task. The OP's issue is no doubt impacting the service this Garda provides to the rest of the Public.

The process appears very muddled and not streamlined at all.

Plus other options like the
    • Confiscation and forced sales of Goods
      [Imagine Gda Niall OCONNORS delight in arriving and saying "Dont worry about the fine I am here to take the 50' Flat Screen TV no more Judge Judy for you...."]
    • Suspension of Driving Licence
    • Clamping of Offenders vehicles

Should be considered.

Its been well known that you don't do Prison for fines in general for years and years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

charlemont wrote: »
    Just do your whack, You'll be signed in and out fairly quickly, The sentence was already handed out so you have a conviction now and wheter you pay the fine or do the time has no bearing on that.

I see your female, Its even less likely you will be held so..

Wouldn't be so sure of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

It all sounds a bit ridiculous tbh. You are actually wondering if having a criminal record will have an impact or your life; or go against you in interviews. And Yiu need to go on a chat forum to check if it matters?
    Ffs.
    Go down & get proper legal advise on your situation.

Breaking the law is something a judge decides the sentence for; not the criminal.

And many companies engage professional agencies to check CVs this includes criminal checks & convictions. Ever want to emigrate; visit Australia, America, work fir a bank; eBay; PayPal, in pensions or financial jbstituons etc... Not with a criminal record you won't. It will follow you all your life thou no doubt there will be a Q to tell you it won't matter. It does, and it will.
    Get a loan & pay what you owe & keep your character & record free.

There are 400,000 + people looking for a job.
    Do you think they will prioritise a convucted criminal ?

Get real & cop on.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Wouldn't be so sure of that.

True, I can't be sure about it, But I'm basing my opinion on that her fine is for something minor, If the jail is full or near capacity its highly unlikely she would be kept when the spaces are needed for females who have committed more serious offences.

I don't know what the numbers are. But jailing people for fines has been an issue for a while.

By prioritising who they jail, they do it more by allotting a quota. So, I don't know what it is now, but as recently as two years ago, a fifth of the population of Mountjoy, were serving time for the non-payment of fines. Would no aggravating circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,906 ✭✭✭✭28064212

I don't know what the numbers are. But jailing people for fines has been an issue for a while.

By prioritising who they jail, they do it more by allotting a quota. So, I don't know what it is now, but as recently as two years ago, a fifth of the population of Mountjoy, were serving time for the non-payment of fines. Would no aggravating circumstances.
    That's the second time you've made an outrageous claim with no source. From the 2011 Irish Prison Service Annual Report:
    There were 20 persons in prison for non-payment of fines which represents 0.5% of the total number of prisoners in custody.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    That's the second time you've made an outrageous claim with no source. From the 2011 Irish Prison Service Annual Report:

To be fair thats because they generally let them straight back out again and they're not there for the head count. It's still a waste of time processing them in. As far as I know the major issue was (is?) that 25% of the prison population was in there for petty offenses with sentences under a year.

Which is not what they claimed. The claim was that at a single time 20% of Mountjoy prison were in for non-payment of fines. That's clearly nonsense if the daily snapshot of an "average" day only has 20 people in the entire system in for that reason. The previous year, it was only 15

And in 2011, the same snapshot had ~16% of the prison population in for less than a year

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

I wouldn't think a fifth off all inmates were there on fines but maybe a fifth of all committals were for fines.

I'v been to Cork Prison for fines and I'v never been held for more than a few hours but there would be reasons too like I'm not known to the local Gardaí and my fines would be for Cannabis possession so its not like I'm a threat to society or liable to break the Temporary Release conditions.

I agree with the current Fine system as otherwise you only create a two-tier system in which people with money can pay their way and those without money only fall further into debt.
    More usage of community work as punishment should be encouraged.

Which is not what they claimed. The claim was that at a single time 20% of Mountjoy prison were in for non-payment of fines. That's clearly nonsense if the daily snapshot of an "average" day only has 20 people in the entire system in for that reason. The previous year, it was only 15

And in 2011, the same snapshot had ~16% of the prison population in for less than a year

You're right of course, I was thinking about what I'd anecdotally heard ref the entire population not just the joy. That said I think these snapshot are done at the regular head count times and that there is a large turnover of people going in and out the same day for fines. More than happy to be corrected.

I was right.

They have reduced the number of people imprisoned for non payment of fines.

They were imprisoning people. I knew someone who was in the Joy for more than three months for non payment of fines.

There was an outcry over the last few years as regards imprisoning people for fines, because so many just cannot pay them. But they very definitely were locking people up for non payment - and not just for a few hours.

I wouldn't think a fifth off all inmates were there on fines but maybe a fifth of all committals were for fines.

I'v been to Cork Prison for fines and I'v never been held for more than a few hours but there would be reasons too like I'm not known to the local Gardaí and my fines would be for Cannabis possession so its not like I'm a threat to society or liable to break the Temporary Release conditions.

Being released within a few hours is not something you should ever bank on happening. I know it happens a lot, but sometimes they do decide to lock people up for a few days. Or sometimes even months.

I was right.
    Restating it doesn't make it any more true
    They were imprisoning people. I knew someone who was in the Joy for more than three months for non payment of fines.

There was an outcry over the last few years as regards imprisoning people for fines, because so many just cannot pay them. But they very definitely were locking people up for non payment - and not just for a few hours.
    I never claimed they never imprisoned anyone. I quite explicitly said that some people were in jail for non-payment. But that is not what you said. You claimed that at a single time, 20% of Mountjoy prison were there for non-payment of fines. In the last 4 years, over the entire prison service the daily snapshot showed the numbers in prison for non-payment of fines were:
    • 2008: 32
    • 2009: 25
    • 2010: 15
    • 2011: 20
    Source

What's your source for your "a fifth of the population of Mountjoy, were serving time for the non-payment of fines" claim? And while you're at it, what's your source for "on average, a prisoner dies once a week in Limerick"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I agree with the current Fine system as otherwise you only create a two-tier system in which people with money can pay their way and those without money only fall further into debt.
    More usage of community work as punishment should be encouraged.

So you agree with a system that's allows people who don't pay fines, for whatever reason, get away without paying their fines and therefore aren't punished after being convicted of committing an offence. While someone who commits the same offence and pays is punished:eek:

I know that sending people to jail for non payment of fines is a waste of resources, but too many people know this and are abusing the system and getting away without any punishment after being convicted of breaking a law.

They need to start deducting the fines at source, if it leads to hardship then you should obey the law.

Being released within a few hours is not something you should ever bank on happening. I know it happens a lot, but sometimes they do decide to lock people up for a few days. Or sometimes even months.

Cool, Well any fine that requires a few month's sentence in lieu of payment would be a different matter. I'm really only talking about fines in which the default is only a few days or a week.

Del2005 wrote: »
    So you agree with a system that's allows people who don't pay fines, for whatever reason, get away without paying their fines and therefore aren't punished after being convicted of committing an offence. While someone who commits the same offence and pays is punished:eek:

I know that sending people to jail for non payment of fines is a waste of resources, but too many people know this and are abusing the system and getting away without any punishment after being convicted of breaking a law.

They need to start deducting the fines at source, if it leads to hardship then you should obey the law.

The problem is that of the twenty thousand or so solutions we pick the stupidest. I really would have though Shatter would have picked this up by now he's done everything else first year law students doing criminology think is a good idea! :D

Del2005 wrote: »

Any fine given in this jurisdiction has a prison term attached in lieu of payment, I didn't make the rules, If you don't like it then remember it when your casting your vote next time.

You can look at it in two ways, If someone pays the fine then they have avoided doing any prison time. Or just do the time and save a few hundred quid, Either way you get stung either by paying money or doing time.

They could deduct the fines as you say but that will only affect the relatively law abiding people up for driving offences etc as the hardened criminals themselves won't have any intention of paying them or filling out whatever forms will be needed to make the deduction.

Whole system needs change from top down but we won't get that of course..

Dochas - where the auld triangle goes jingle jangle - the Joy's women's prison is supposed to running at twice capacity at the moment.

It's a nicer looking prison than the mens'.

And they have more celebrities. The scissor sisters, Catherine Nevin, and Adam Clayton's house keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Any fine given in this jurisdiction has a prison term attached in lieu of payment, I didn't make the rules, If you don't like it then remember it when your casting your vote next time.

You can look at it in two ways, If someone pays the fine then they have avoided doing any prison time. Or just do the time and save a few hundred quid, Either way you get stung either by paying money or doing time.

But the issue is that very few people aren doing time for non payment of fines. If you don't pay a fine you technically aren't being punished, since the only option is prison and since that's a waste of money they aren't being imprisioned.
    They could deduct the fines as you say but that will only affect the relatively law abiding people up for driving offences etc as the hardened criminals themselves won't have any intention of paying them or filling out whatever forms will be needed to make the deduction.

The "harden criminals" still get the dole, cut it at source, or get the CAB to start seizing assests.

True, unfortunately

Realistically it needs some minor fixes such as being able to pay fines by installments.

If you look at prison as a concept then yes it does but that's unlikely to happen in our lifetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2012-07-17.2538.0
    Or in this country €336m per year. See table 1: http://budget.gov.ie/budgets/2012/Documents/CER%20-%20Estimates%20Final%20Part%204.pdf
    There were 20 persons in prison for non-payment of fines which represents 0.5% of the total number of prisoners in custody.
    But how many committals to prison were for fines? If the average sentence served for a fine is one week, each prison space could hold 50-52 people per year. So you could be dealing with 1,000 committals (out of 13,000) for non-payment of fines or 7.7%, not your 0.5%.

Victor wrote: »
    But how many admissions to prison were for fines?
    I didn't mention, nor did I respond to, any claims about prison admissions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭olcod

The system is a pure disgrace and its no wonder the country is in the state its in. I had a phone call from a local guard on Monday to say a warrant had arrived for me ( I was expecting it ). He was absolutely fantastic on the phone to me, starting with having to clarify that I was fined 500 euro for non payment of a speeding ticket and by the way he was talking to me I could tell that he found this a ridiculous amount for such a petty offence. He wen't on to ask if there was any way I could afford to pay, I explained that I really couldn't as i've been living on the bread line for the past 3 years and that im a single dad to two kids and am struggling to make ends meet as it is ( im currently working on a CE Scheme and after paying my rent am left with 140 pw to live off). He told me the only other option was prison for 3 days as stated on the warrant, unfortunately this is what i'll have to do but I explained to him that im concerned for my kids as we have no family ( their mum died ) and I didn't want them to know about it or see me hauled off in a guarda car. He explained to me not to worry that he'll be in touch next week and call me to give me a couple of days notice so I can arrange for someone to look after my girls, im to then meet him at the guarda station where he'll take me up to the prison ( not sure which one as im in Kerry ) where i'll be processed, he said that the worst case will be i'd spend 3 days inside but the best case scenario is i'll be back home that evening but obviously with a criminal record :(. Now, the reason why I find the system a disgrace is this, I work as a maintenance man at a mental health unit and every day I see people who NEED HELP, people who are unable to do simple things like tidy their gardens or clean their homes,windows...etc, people who just want someone to talk to even. Their are people all across the country who need help, the elderly, the disabled, the isolated. One day of help a week would make a huge difference to these peoples lives yet the system is throwing people in jail who can't afford to pay fines for petty offences rather than finding a more constructive solution. The system is totally crazy. I for one would much rather help someone in need and make a difference to our society at zero expense to the tax payer or government than be twiddling my thumbs in a prison cell at huge expense to the tax payer and government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

olcod wrote: »
    The system is a pure disgrace and its no wonder the country is in the state its in. I had a phone call from a local guard on Monday to say a warrant had arrived for me ( I was expecting it ). He was absolutely fantastic on the phone to me, starting with having to clarify that I was fined 500 euro for non payment of a speeding ticket and by the way he was talking to me I could tell that he found this a ridiculous amount for such a petty offence. He wen't on to ask if there was any way I could afford to pay, I explained that I really couldn't as i've been living on the bread line for the past 3 years and that im a single dad to two kids and am struggling to make ends meet as it is ( im currently working on a CE Scheme and after paying my rent am left with 140 pw to live off). He told me the only other option was prison for 3 days as stated on the warrant, unfortunately this is what i'll have to do but I explained to him that im concerned for my kids as we have no family ( their mum died ) and I didn't want them to know about it or see me hauled off in a guarda car. He explained to me not to worry that he'll be in touch next week and call me to give me a couple of days notice so I can arrange for someone to look after my girls, im to then meet him at the guarda station where he'll take me up to the prison ( not sure which one as im in Kerry ) where i'll be processed, he said that the worst case will be i'd spend 3 days inside but the best case scenario is i'll be back home that evening but obviously with a criminal record :(. Now, the reason why I find the system a disgrace is this, I work as a maintenance man at a mental health unit and every day I see people who NEED HELP, people who are unable to do simple things like tidy their gardens or clean their homes,windows...etc, people who just want someone to talk to even. Their are people all across the country who need help, the elderly, the disabled, the isolated. One day of help a week would make a huge difference to these peoples lives yet the system is throwing people in jail who can't afford to pay fines for petty offences rather than finding a more constructive solution. The system is totally crazy. I for one would much rather help someone in need and make a difference to our society at zero expense to the tax payer or government than be twiddling my thumbs in a prison cell at huge expense to the tax payer and government.

Did you tell the judge all that when he imposed the fine. Did you say Judge can you give a low or zero fine and sure ill do 2 days work in a local charity, because I really can't afford a fine or a donation. I think many judges would think that's a great idea.

I didn't as tbh I was a bag of nerves and barely said a word, the judge was really harsh to all who were before me so by the time I was called up I just froze and just wanted to get the hell out of there. Wished I had said something now but hey that's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

olcod wrote: »
    I didn't as tbh I was a bag of nerves and barely said a word, the judge was really harsh to all who were before me so by the time I was called up I just froze and just wanted to get the hell out of there. Wished I had said something now but hey that's life.

I know its too late now but you could have appealed, most Circuit Judges where there is a DJ who fines heavily usually give fairer fines.

I would say " well i'll know for next time " but I hope there'll never be a next time, thanks anyway. I've definitely learnt my lesson though, never bury you're head when it comes to paying a speeding ticket.