Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AH Beers - Saturday October 6th, MacTurcaills, Dublin, 8pm *Poll reset*

• 20-08-2012 3:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

MacTurcaills, October 6th at 8pm

Map

Area booked at the back for 'Boards.ie'

Will you be there? 38 votes

Yes
    0%
    Maybe
    100%
    dr strangeloveSparkyMisticles[Deleted User]ANXIOUSThe MastermrsdewinterFunglegunkemzolitaminidazzlerRun_to_da_hillsGaladrielBigginsmaameeoherissonLizTProfessey Chincharlietheminxx[Deleted User]McChubbin 38 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

.....which one has a "liberal" attitude to clothes and the like....I've fuck all except jeans, boots and slayer t-shirts, in the event I drag the carcass to the thing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Nodin wrote: »
    .....which one has a "liberal" attitude to clothes and the like....I've fuck all except jeans, boots and slayer t-shirts, in the event I drag the carcass to the thing.

That'd be sub lounge for you sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Is it going to be a guaranteed funtion room or what's the story?

And I have on clue about any of those places. Whatever place won't be blasting horrible chart music/club tunes and has 16 year old kids in it wanting to knife me would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

KeithM89 wrote: »
    October 6th won (just about) so time for a location.
    I wanted Coppers but no one else agreed :(

I AGREE!!! Its too late now I suppose :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

D2 is a great venue for a beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Be plenty of space in MacT's or Long Stone I'd say

Mac turkaills is the best bet I think. Super cheap booze. All pints 3.50, cocktails €4, pitchers €9. Certain bottles beer €3. Late bar. Later bars/dancing close by. Outside dart station. They'll keep a decent area reserved for us, it's lively but not too loud you can't chat.

Do it!

D2 is much more expensiver and stricter on dress codes etc, you also have to pay in after a certain hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Maybe
    Messrs or Long Stone I vote for, largely for convinience sake and the fact that the dress code is fairly blaise.
    *jeans, Rammstein shirt and converse girl*

If I fell out of MacT's I'd be half way home :p

kfallon wrote: »
    If I fell out of MacT's I'd be half way home :p

Back to yours for sandwiches and line dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

+1 for MacTurtail’s. Great spot. D2 very pricey for drinks – I was there recently and got a handful of coins as change of a €20, when buying two G&Ts! :eek:

Back to yours for sandwiches and line dancing?

€20 cover charge and if your name's not down you're not coming in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Don't worry about D2 ;)

I do worry about it, I worry I end up in there :pac:

Never been a fan of it

I do worry about it, I worry I end up in there :pac:

Never been a fan of it
    I was there two weeks ago and met some delightful wimmins. Sooo duuuurty. BrummyTom you should come to D2, you will have FULL guaranteed sex, I can promise you that...hmm
    ... that sounds well dodgy!

€20 cover charge and if your name's not down you're not coming in

Forget it. A taxi home would be the same price and I make awesome sandwiches ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

None of those places have a dress code. Jeans + runners + t-shirt/shirt would do you fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

No multiple choice? :(

alwaysadub wrote: »
    No multiple choice? :(

Well can you be in two places at the same time? can ya? huh?

Pace2008 wrote: »
    None of those places have a dress code. Jeans + runners + t-shirt/shirt would do you fine.

So PJs for the womenz and tracksuits tucked into socks for the boys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

What's with all these silly polls organising everything to the most minute detail?

I have a few more in mind,

Seating Arrangement Poll
    Choice of beverages Poll
    1st Slow Dance song Poll
    Grope on the dancefloor or back alley Poll
    Abrakedabra or McDonalds Poll
    Vomit in gutter or friends lap Poll

Mods, grow a pair and start dictating. Democracy doesn't work.:)

Maybe
    Mac turkaills ftw, nice spot

Jimoslimos wrote: »

I'd rather not "grow a pair" if it's all the same to you ;)

The last time a mod decided the venue, there was grumpiness, democracy ftw. It's not the mods' beers after all :)

Forget it. A taxi home would be the same price and I make awesome sandwiches ;)

You're just scared your name wouldn't be on the list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Well can you be in two places at the same time? can ya? huh?

No miss.

Chose Messrs.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    No miss.

Chose Messrs.

Good choice. I'm happy with anywhere that isn't D2 :D

Bit off topic but does anyone know what ID places take? Because I have none at all and while I do look in my early 20s, I'd rather not get turned down and have to live with the shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

What's with all these silly polls organising everything to the most minute detail?

I have a few more in mind,

Seating Arrangement Poll
    Choice of beverages Poll
    1st Slow Dance song Poll
    Grope on the dancefloor or back alley Poll
    Abrakedabra or McDonalds Poll
    Vomit in gutter or friends lap Poll

Minute detail like venue and date???
    Cop on ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Bit off topic but does anyone know what ID places take? Because I have none at all and while I do look in my early 20s, I'd rather not get turned down and have to live with the shame.
    Passport, driver's licence, Garda ID or maybe student ID if there's a date on it. If you don't look all that young you can usually talk your way in in any case once you're nice about it.

Actually, I remember when I was younger I lost my passport and was left without ID while I was waiting for a new one. If there was a night I out I didn't want to miss I'd take my birth cert out with me. The bouncers always got such a laugh out of it that it never failed, I **** you not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Maybe
    I voted for d2 because I actually like it! but Im game ball with anywhere

Passport, driver's licence, Garda ID or maybe student ID if there's a date on it. If you don't look all that young you can usually talk your way in in any case once you're nice about it.

Actually, I remember when I was younger I lost my passport and was left without ID while I was waiting for a new one. If there was a night I out I didn't want to miss I'd take my birth cert out with me. The bouncers always got such a laugh out of it that it never failed, I **** you not.

I'll give a go at trying to get a Garda ID in time, then.

I'd rather not go out with a birthcert, knowing AH, someone will steal it and my identity. :D

Are we going to wear the name tags so we don't all look stupid not having any idea who each other is?

I asked this in the first thread. You just need to login to a laptop there to prove you who you claim to be.

Any banned users won't be allowed.

TBH just go around saying "hi, I'm Joe, Joe Duffy" and you'll fit in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

The last time a mod decided the venue, there was grumpiness, democracy ftw. It's not the mods' beers after all :)
    A STV system would be a fairer way to decide between multiple venues.
    KeithM89 wrote: »
    Minute detail like venue and date???
    Cop on ffs
    Calm down, it was meant tongue-in-cheek!

If there was a night I out I didn't want to miss I'd take my birth cert out with me. The bouncers always got such a laugh out of it that it never failed, I **** you not.

I don't have a birth cert, all my folks got was an apology letter from Durex :(:o

A STV system would be a fairer way to decide between multiple venues.

Calm down, it was meant tongue-in-cheek!
    You're the first person ever to make Keith angry:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I was at a thirtieth in D2 a while back.
    It was €6 a pint.

I shall not be back in a hurry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

+1 Coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Mac turkaills is the best bet I think. Super cheap booze. All pints 3.50, cocktails €4, pitchers €9. Certain bottles beer €3. Late bar. Later bars/dancing close by. Outside dart station. They'll keep a decent area reserved for us, it's lively but not too loud you can't chat.

Do it!

D2 is much more expensiver and stricter on dress codes etc, you also have to pay in after a certain hour.
    If its good enough for you then its good enough for me.

It better be bloody good lol:D

+1 Coppers
    How can you be expected to meet a group of people in coppers.
    It gets way too packed of drunk folks desperate for the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

The only place I wouldn't be mad about is D2 but I'm easy enough and will go anyone for a beer :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

+1 bazillion for coppers. (Voted Messrs)

I thought that was why we were going to AH beers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

+1 Coppers

I dont like that place much prefer messiers plus they have home brew beer that **** fvcks you up :D

I thought that was why we were going to AH beers?
    We're going to discover which boardsies have lovely bottoms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

We're going to discover which boardsies have lovely bottoms...

Ah now Teddy..
    They ALL have lovely bottoms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Since I know none of these places, I presume they're all in towin and will require me to hang around the gaff waiting for a taxi/luas/bus to take my drunken self back out of towin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Maybe
    Looked at google maps there and would I be right in saying all these bars are really close to each other except D2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

D2 would be furthest out, probably most expensive one too (usually where the people rejected from Coppers, Krystle and Diceys go), closely followed in cost of a drink by Messrs.

The rest would be between a 5-15 min walk from Luas/Fightlink/taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Maybe
    D2 would be furthest out, probably most expensive one too (usually where the people rejected from Coppers, Krystle and Diceys go), closely followed in cost of a drink by Messrs.

The rest would be between a 5-15 min walk from Luas/Fightlink/taxi.

I'll probably just try and get accommodation close to the venue anyway, save myself transport costs.