Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[FPL] - GW 1 Transfers

• 20-08-2012 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

We doing weekly transfer threads this year? If not then feel free to delete. I always found it useful to confine transfer talk to a single weekly thread.

I'll hopefully be making zero transfer this week unless Ramires starts to drift dangerously close to a price drop.

I want to have 2 free for next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

had 5.0 in the bank to transfer in RVP or Rooney for Torres or Tevez but have decided to leave that until next week as I thought I needed to get Michu in before his price rose.

so Guthrie out - Michu in. Costing me 2.0 so 3.0 left in the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭miller82

sitting on 71 pints and still have Ivanovic, Torres (c) and Pog to come in, so i might sit on the fence this week. they are all tight enough games this week i think - we'll i'm struggling to spot many bankers anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Rooy

Transferred in Michu for Van der Varrt , not sure if he was on the bench sat because they were away or if Sigsursson and himself are competing for same position ,but took a chance. Spurs have a few handy fixtures coming up so could backfire !

• Bale coming in for Mata for me I think.

Mata rumoured not to be taking part in the midweek game has caused me severe annoyance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Happy enough with my team for the upcoming gameweek... might save the transfer for GW3...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Did Torres to Fatman yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Aguero -> Tevez just done.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Did Torres to Fatman yesterday

torres to who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭james123

Bale coming in for Mata for me I think.

Mata rumoured not to be taking part in the midweek game has caused me severe annoyance!

Where di you see that rumour. Any news on Ramiers , if he doesnt play wednesday I have Dyer to replace him with 13 odd points !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Hogey007 wrote: »
    torres to who??

Rooney im guessing

Shouldn't the title of the thread be GW2 transfers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Have 5 Chelsea/Reading players, may leave it for this week and make a double transfer next week. Cashley and Pearce out for Zabaletta and Demel I think. May take a 4 point hit to get Cazorla in as well, try to avoid point hits but knew it was likely when I picked the 5 for the double gameweek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,873 ✭✭✭✭dahat

No move this week,waiting to move Torres for gw3 so need 2 transfers for that as i want a high end forward possibly

Rooney im guessing

I thought Tevez first, then maybe Rooney. Then wondered if Jardel was back?

Not sure why it's so difficult to call people by their names? all this Jellyfish, Fatman would make you think you're talking to playschool children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Hogey007 wrote: »
    torres to who??
    Rooney im guessing

Yep rooney (as in Fatman & Robin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Graham and Walters out for Michu and Petric was completed on Saturday as I expected both to quickly rise in price. I didn't mind the 4 point hit.
    Then I was hit again yesterday when Aguero got injured and brought Tevez in.
    I'm hoping price rises for all three will help with the pain of the 8 point hit.

To be honest, I was wondering coming into the season if taking a points hit early to increase team value was worth it so I'll now probably end up finding out. I refuse to play my wildcard this early. Its too soon and there were bizarre results at the weekend.

I've also now got an extra 2.5 million in the bank so next week if I want to swap Torres out for Rooney (which I hadn't planned), I can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

No transfers for me. Happy with how my team is shaping up. 8 players have home games, all of which are to inferior teams.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Unless I see something I don't like tonight my transfer is Mata and Torres for RVP and Kagawa. If I can wait till Wednesday (no price changes) I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

VDV really scaulded me this week but when he came on for 20 mins he looked dangerous as hell. Spurs have nice fixtures coming up. Stop trying to sell myself the fact he might do business or get rid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

ShagNastii wrote: »
    VDV really scaulded me this week but when he came on for 20 mins he looked dangerous as hell. Spurs have nice fixtures coming up. Stop trying to sell myself the fact he might do business or get rid?

He could easily do the business. When he is on the field, he has one of the best mins played/points scored ratios over the last 2 seasons.

The question is whether he will get those mins. I think Spurs need to start him. I was baffled to see him not starting at the weekend, considering the situation with Modric (and less so that Parker was missing - but you need as many of your best players on the pitch at one time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Shouldn't the title of the thread be GW2 transfers ;)

Transfers within Gameweek 1/Transfers for Gameweek 2

Tomatoe/Tomatoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Who_8_Paul?

Kinda hoping RVP has a stormer tonight (if he actually plays), since I have enough in the bank to get him with 1 transfer, a lot won't I think, more aimed for Rooney gw2 I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Considering throwing away Suarez, I had figured with all the talk of Andy Carroll being offloaded he might do something, but the way he played Saturday was well poor.

Suarez for Tevez I'm thinking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Will wait and see if Mata plays tomorrow. If not, he'll be going for Bale/VDV. Spurs have some great fixtures coming up.

Then Torres will prob move for Defoe next week. This will leave me 4.5m in the bank to play around with. I can't see not having enough money being a real issue this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Did Torres to Rooney last night. Mulling over Yaya--->Kagawa, he looked decent last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

have been fighting with myself all week about playing my wildcard. twice i had the changes made and talked myself out of pressing confirm.

brought michu in for noble

keano_afc wrote: »
    Did Torres to Rooney last night. Mulling over Yaya--->Kagawa, he looked decent last night.

Did you do that just based on fixtures? if i wanted a utd player it would be kagawa, rooney was terrible last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Did you do that just based on fixtures? if i wanted a utd player it would be kagawa, rooney was terrible last night.

This weekends fixtures and I think he's a better option in the long run. Kagawa is one that I will definitely bring in at some stage.

keano_afc wrote: »

This weekends fixtures and I think he's a better option in the long run. Kagawa is one that I will definitely bring in at some stage.

RVP didn't start last night. How is Kagawa going to be accommodated when he inevitably does start?

Lemlin wrote: »
    RVP didn't start last night. How is Kagawa going to be accommodated when he inevitably does start?

Will be a straight swap, Welbeck for Van Persie. I think Kagawa will be vital in behind the 2 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Can't quite figure out why everyone is getting rid of Torres for Rooney. By all accounts Rooney was poor enough last night. I know Torres wasn't great on Sunday, but he has another game tomorrow to prove himself. If he bangs in a couple of goals will people be so quick to ship him out for Rooney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Can't quite figure out why everyone is getting rid of Torres for Rooney. By all accounts Rooney was poor enough last night. I know Torres wasn't great on Sunday, but he has another game tomorrow to prove himself. If he bangs in a couple of goals will people be so quick to ship him out for Rooney?

It's the way things go at the start of the season. People jump on bandwagons for fear that they'll miss out on goals. I can understand when people get a player in for a price rise, but only if the player is good as well. Diverting from your carefully laid out pre-season plans on the back of one game is ridiculous imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

hmm. tough one. i have maloney who's injured but was always a bench warmer so not a priority. wouldn't mind mata -> hazard but they have newcastle at the weekend and nothing the week after so tempted to do mata -> kag.

although my original plan was always torres -> RVP, think VP will have a big game at home to fulham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Where are you all using for price rises this year? I used to use Totalfpl but it doesn't seem to be showing increases and decreases yet....

Screw it I'll use fiso...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Shane732 wrote: »
    Where are you all using for price rises this year? I used to use Totalfpl but it doesn't seem to be showing increases and decreases yet....

Screw it I'll use fiso...

On the phone so don't have the exact link but its something like developmental.totalfpl.com. It's linked elsewhere around here anyway.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    On the phone so don't have the exact link but its something like developmental.totalfpl.com. It's linked elsewhere around here anyway.

Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

I missed the Hazard price rise, now looks like I'm stuck with Mata.

Although he could be worth a double transfer and early points hit - maybe get rid of Rafael then too.

Is it worth it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Even against all my better judgement im thinking of taking a 4 point hit to bring someone in for Torres before i get left any further behind, the question is for who though! I had planned on changing him for Cisse, but with Chelsea away next week i dont think its the right move and im still not convinced about either of Rooney or RVP at their prices! (cue goal scoring madness at the weekend:rolleyes:)

Ah maybe ill just bite my lip and hold off till next week and take a points hit then when i have a better idea!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Just brought in Michu and Hazard for Rameries and someone else I forget the name:)

Ashley Cole out, Reid of West Ham in for me. Will keep Pog, Torres and Hazard for week 3 so he had to go, may also make take a hit next week to get rid of one of the strikers. West Ham dont have the worst run of fixtures coming up assuming Fulham and Swansea aren't going to keep scoring 5 a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Ultimately I'm going to end up getting one of them, but I'm holding off for now on Rooney or RVP. I felt I needed a United attacking player though so I brought Kagawa in for Mata.

I do think Mata is going to score well this season, but I have Torres to cover Chelsea attacking players.

The Pog has passed his test and is going to be keeping that 3rd striker spot at least until I wild card.

I think it's going to be all about the attacking midfielders this year. point for price top scoring midfielders will crush the strikers like it was back in the Ronaldo, Fabregas, Gerrard and Lampard glory days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Just the one this week, Rameries out, Lennon in..... 75 week one, so happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Loco wrote: »
    I missed the Hazard price rise, now looks like I'm stuck with Mata.

Although he could be worth a double transfer and early points hit - maybe get rid of Rafael then too.

Is it worth it?!

Points hits are very rarely worth it. Can you field 11 players this week? Will you be able to afford the player you wantto buy next week? If you answer yes to both, the answer to "is it worth a points hit" is almost certainly no.

I have Mata too and want to switch for Kagawa. Would have preferred to wait until tomorrow after the Press Conferences but it looks likely that Mata will drop tonight. I wouldn't mind losing the 0.1m but the Torres -> RVP switch could be a possibilty based on how he performs against Fulham, and making the switch now will leave me with exactly 3m for the switch.

I still don't think RVP is worth 13m unless he gets back into the form of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

Brought Michu in for Pienaar before his price rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Can't see why so many are bringing Hazard in so soon. Ok he had a great GW1 but doesn't have an easy game in Newcastle this week and has no game GW3. Will be waiting til GW4 at earliest to bring him in, price rise or not. Think I'll bring in Bale for Mata this week. Was between that and Pog -> Graham but the former's goal against Chelsea (coupled with the fact that Mata looks set to drop .1m) means he gets an extra week's audition.

qwabercd wrote: »
    Can't see why so many are bringing Hazard in so soon. Ok he had a great GW1 but doesn't have an easy game in Newcastle this week and has no game GW3. Will be waiting til GW4 at earliest to bring him in, price rise or not. Think I'll bring in Bale for Mata this week. Was between that and Pog -> Graham but the former's goal against Chelsea (coupled with the fact that Mata looks set to drop .1m) means he gets an extra week's audition.

Hazard has the look of a player who could hurt any team and I think people realise that. Most people are planning on getting him in now because I'd imagine their tactic is to get him now, even if he hasn't a game next week, and avoid missing out on his price rises.

I know I have 15 players who all started last weekend so it doesn't bother me that the Chelsea lads will be missing next week. I have the subs there to cover their absence for the one week.

After all, Hazard scored more than any of the other top mids like Cazorla, Kagawa, Bale, Mata and Siggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Lemlin wrote: »
    Hazard has the look of a player who could hurt any team and I think people realise that. Most people are planning on getting him in now because I'd imagine their tactic is to get him now, even if he hasn't a game next week, and avoid missing out on his price rises.

I know I have 15 players who all started last weekend so it doesn't bother me that the Chelsea lads will be missing next week. I have the subs there to cover their absence for the one week.

After all, Hazard scored more than any of the other top mids like Cazorla, Kagawa, Bale, Mata and Siggy.

Yes he's scored more than them, but 1 gameweek is not the best indicator of who will be the best option (and a gameweek which was a DGW for Hazard). I've no doubts he will prove to be a good FF player, but it's worth waiting until after GW3 for the sake of .1 or .2m imo. His price won't rise after the newcastle game considering they've no game in GW3.

I'll be replacing mata and toure for bale and hazard, but I'll be bringing in Bale first as he is the better option for the next 2 weeks. Depending on how Kagawa performs I might even favour him ahead of Hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I need an opinion or two on my team just to maybe back up what im already thinking.

This is what i have at the moment.
    Ive already made one transfer should i stick with what ive got or make a change??

7845214524_02afc42a24_b.jpg

Does anyone have any more information on Kaboul? Fecking idiot picking up a knock!!