Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No PC Engine love?

• 20-08-2012 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

This is one console I do not own and I would really like to get one soon.

I know there are loads of different fancy pants models like the refurbed Duo by Doujindance, but I'm looking for a Core system as they're quite small and cheap.

What do you lads reckon the going rate is for a Core system?

I've been tempted by a couple of auctions which state they have the RGB mod already done, but they come in about 100 sterling which seems over priced.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Kerbdog AV modded my TG-16, don't imagine the mod to the PC Engine is more difficult, same hardware isn't it?
    So, get a cheap Core and mod it here!

Kinda surprised myself about the prices.
    Given how many were sold in Japan they should be cheap enough, and given their size it should be cheap to ship too!

I tell ya what though, preorder a Turbo Everdrive cart now, before you've no hope of getting one, that way you'll be ready when the PCE arrives in the door!

Mine is a beaut, they work on PC Engine or TG-16 at the flick of a switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I was thinking the exact thing! They were popular and small so it should work out cheap to import.

Apparantly not though!

I'd completely forgotten about that Everdrive cart, thanks for reminding me. Seems to be sold out. Hopefully he does another batch soon, I'd say there are millions of games for that I've never even heard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I would love a core system with the cd attachment, I just like the look of it, I went to get a doujindance duo a while ago but I spent the money on other things instead :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

What is the mod for the core syste, an rgb mod? What are the differences between all the models??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Best to just hit the wiki on the console, between base models, duo, express, lite, shuttle, super grafx, then the different arcade and cd cards, all quite confusing.
    Any reasonable duo machines seem to nearly always have bunched cd drives.
    I think my TG16 was cheap, not as attractive as the jap core console, that's a tiny wonder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Pc Engine is over rated

Just like the 3do

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Pc Engine is over rated

Just like the 3do

Sounds like another false claim, just like your sig. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

The Duo R or Duo RX seems to be the ones to get according to the internets. Personally I dont think the look as good as other models. But they do seem the most wanted versions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

I have a 'doujindance' Duo-R. Fully loaded with new CD lens, RGB and region mods plus an LED mod. Delighted with it, it's not let me down so far. I used to have a Core Grafx II as well but sold it on to upgrade to a Duo-R.

One thing to consider when buying a CoreGrafx is that you're limited to just Hu Card games. You'll need to source the separate CD drive and linker and neither of those are cheap. In fact they'll probably set you back more (once postage is taken in to account) than just buying a Duo-R or Duo-RX from Japan.

Anyone looking to buy a PC Engine would do well not to buy the normal Duo, those are notoriously unreliable. The only difference between an R and RX is that the RX came with a 6 button Avenue game pad. Aside from that the two consoles are exactly the same in every other way.

Oh and if you buy an R or RX the only card you need is the Arcade Duo and not the Arcade Pro. That'll set you back around €20-€30 for a boxed copy. Without an Arcade card you'll miss out on several titles including Sapphire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang wrote: »
    I have a 'doujindance' Duo-R. Fully loaded with new CD lens, RGB and region mods plus an LED mod. Delighted with it, it's not let me down so far. I used to have a Core Grafx II as well but sold it on to upgrade to a Duo-R.

One thing to consider when buying a CoreGrafx is that you're limited to just Hu Card games. You'll need to source the separate CD drive and linker and neither of those are cheap. In fact they'll probably set you back more (once postage is taken in to account) than just buying a Duo-R or Duo-RX from Japan.

Anyone looking to buy a PC Engine would do well not to buy the normal Duo, those are notoriously unreliable. The only difference between an R and RX is that the RX came with a 6 button Avenue game pad. Aside from that the two consoles are exactly the same in every other way.

Oh and if you buy an R or RX the only card you need is the Arcade Duo and not the Arcade Pro. That'll set you back around €20-€30 for a boxed copy. Without an Arcade card you'll miss out on several titles including Sapphire.

I think the R and RX have more ram?? Is that the reason you only need the Arcade Duo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

I'll be on the lookout for one of the coregrafx models in Tokyo, not overly fussed which one as to my knowledge they are effectively the same, and they both output composite as standard as opposed to the original's rf. Love the look of those models. The cd add-on looks really nice with it too but I can live without that for now, I think I'm hardwired to prefer carts/cards to disks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd go with a refurb duo model myself if I had the money and maybe pick up a core system later. Outside of the shmups there's only really a handful of TG-16 games are any good and all the real gems are in the CD library. If you want to get the CD attachment for the core system it will cost you a small fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

I'm happy enough without the cd drive and the core unit is extremely luggage friendly, could almost bring it home in my pocket!

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd go with a refurb duo model myself

The price difference is marginal and refurbs are still commonly known to fall over. For the few extra bob it's worth the peace of mind getting a Duo-R or an RX. The RX is less common though thus commands a steeper price. Again, there's no real reason behind paying more for an RX because the only difference between the R and RX is the game pad supplied with it.

@SteveSI: The Duo R and RX had a hardware revision to cut costs down and make them more reliable than the Duo. I don't think there were any significant improvements other than that. The improvements really only come with the Arcade card, which is mandatory for playing any Arcade titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

PC Engines intimidate me, just seems to be so many variations and add-ons.
    My only bit of knowledge on the subject, and I might be mis-informed here, is that the multi-tap for one of the systems can be quite expensive.

@pyongyang: That's a very useful post by the way. Looks like your going to be my go to guy on this area from now on.

After Bomberman and Bonk, what's worth getting?

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    After Bonk, what's worth getting?

A cigarette? :D

There is a massive catalogue of Shmups, likes of R-type, Gradius, Parodius, now lots of them found their way to either the Nes or MD as it happens, but it is a great machine to collect for.
    The Hucards are a lovely thing, feel sad mine are all gone now!

Master of the Universe

So are the vast majority of the best games on CD rather than hucards? Balls, one of the reasons I wanted to get one is because hucards look so damn lovely!

Don't really have any interest in collecting for another CD based system, have far too many as is!

No, there is good stuff on the carts too.
    Bomberman looks so cool in it's Japanese packaging.

Can't say anything around here.

o1s1n wrote: »
    So are the vast majority of the best games on CD rather than hucards?

Not true. It's an even balance. Example, Super Star Soldier is a juicy game available on the Hu card format. On CD you have Alzadick. On Arcade CD you have Sapphire. :)

So are the vast majority of the best games on CD rather than hucards? Balls, one of the reasons I wanted to get one is because hucards look so damn lovely!

Don't really have any interest in collecting for another CD based system, have far too many as is!

I'd say you're fine to stick with the cards, cool little yokes they are. It's probably a safe bet to say if the game is an arcade port, then the PCEngine probably has the best version. Splatterhouse is great example imo, cool game that.

The reason many like the Duo-R and it's siblings is it's really easy to burn off a bunch of CD-R's of.... stuff....
    No copy protection means you can keep your sealed collection of games on CD while enjoying the legitimately owned CD-R's instead... of the whole back catalogue....

Remember kids!
    Piracy is wrong!!

The podcast folks missed a beat not having you as guest speaker with the Piracy topic yesterday. :p

Of course, PC Engine love is banned in most countries, consoles don't take kindly to that sort of violation, plus you can cut yourself, and that's a but of suturing no Dr needs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Andrew76 wrote: »
    The podcast folks missed a beat not having you as guest speaker with the Piracy topic yesterday. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Steve SI wrote: »
    I think the R and RX have more ram?? Is that the reason you only need the Arcade Duo?

They do indeed have more RAM, an extra 2 megabits more than the Core systems which don't have any internal RAM for CD-ROMs.

You need 18 megabits to play Arcade and Super CD-ROM2 games. The Arcade Pro card has the full 18 and is needed for all Core systems. The Arcade Duo has 16 but adds to the internal 2 megabits of RAM on the Duo-R/RX which is why you only need that card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭safetyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

It'd be cheaper getting it from KRIKzz himself via his Retrogate store. $79 plus $5 shipping comes to about €67, compared to the €99 you'd be paying with that eBay link. The only difference would be waiting for it to be shipped as it can take a week before it leaves the Ukraine and then another week to arrive at your door.

Relikk wrote: »
    It'd be cheaper getting it from KRIKzz himself via his Retrogate store. $79 plus $5 shipping comes to about €67, compared to the €99 you'd be paying with that eBay link. The only difference would be waiting for it to be shipped as it can take a week before it leaves the Ukraine and then another week to arrive at your door.

Checked them places but they are out of stock http://shop.retrogate.com/Turbo-EverDrive-TURBO-ED.htm

Just put an order in anyhow.
    He seems to be ramped up to supply the world with the Turbo Everdrive, so the waiting isn't that bad, if you back order the device from him.
    He's great for support too, I chimed in on his forum with a sd card issue and there was a new OS for the card within 24 hours with the fix.
    He seems to be a nice guy.

I wonder how many he is shipping to the States and Japan, must be quite a few given how great the product is

Master of the Universe

Ah he's really a class act. His products are amazing, he keeps them updated and he sells them for a good price - what else would anyone want really?

I'll still not having much luck finding a Core system for cheap.

The best I can find is one for a system on its own with absolutely no perhiperals.

To anyone out there who owns one - do you know if it will run off the PSU from another console? Might save me a few quid if I can just share one between two.

And similarly, any idea if a Megadrive 1 or 2 cable will fit the AV composite jack? They look to be similar DIN connections.

He's back in stock now, strange. 10€ is a lot for a usb I could install myself. @Cidersman did you order USB installed too?

Ah he's really a class act. His products are amazing, he keeps them updated and he sells them for a good price - what else would anyone want really?

The best I can find is one for a system on its own with absolutely no perhiperals.

To anyone out there who owns one - do you know if it will run off the PSU from another console? Might save me a few quid if I can just share one between two.

And similarly, any idea if a Megadrive 1 or 2 cable will fit the AV composite jack? They look to be similar DIN connections.

Mine is running off a sega megadrive PSU as far as i remember, Thats what the .jp models were sold with in the UK.

Master of the Universe

safetyboy wrote: »
    Mine is running off a sega megadrive PSU as far as i remember, Thats what the .jp models were sold with in the UK.

Great, thanks a mil for that. Exactly what I was looking to hear :)

I'm using a Megadrive PSU with mine, no step down needed and saves on weight if the seller is willing to recalculate postage costs.
    Not sure about the Din socket now at all, Kerbdog did the AV mod on mine, don't think it was the hardest mod to do either.

Master of the Universe

Did a bit of googling and it uses the same AV type connection as the Megadrive 1 and Neo Geo. Brilliant! Should work out far cheaper to import one now.

Just ordered turbo everdrive now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I'm using a Megadrive PSU with mine, no step down needed and saves on weight if the seller is willing to recalculate postage costs.
    Not sure about the Din socket now at all, Kerbdog did the AV mod on mine, don't think it was the hardest mod to do either.

If I mod it, its always an easy mod :pac:

Getting very tempted to splash out and get one for myself. Have to say thanks to everyone here on the forum, ye all are a great help when looking to expand my gets to a system I have no real knowledge, so thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Did a bit of googling and it uses the same AV type connection as the Megadrive 1 and Neo Geo. Brilliant! Should work out far cheaper to import one now.
    If you're after a Core and don't want to 'butcher' it, try and get hold of the AV booster unit.

avbooster.jpg

I used to have an original white JP PC-E back in the day, and got hold of this for a straightforward AV out solution with composite.

The one console out of my whole collection I've regretted parting with the most, more so than the Vectrex. Spent hours on Galaga'88 and Bomberman.

Master of the Universe

So I made the plunge and picked up a Core unit. It's been modded to output scart. Something I really couldn't do without.

Comes with Galaga 88. No controller so will have to hunt one down.

pcengine.jpg

Really excited about this. Tempted to buy one of those Hucard lots.

First purchase has to be Soldier Blade. I love that game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

First purchase surely must be a controller swiftly followed by a turbo everdrive :)

Master of the Universe

I'm still debating on the Turbo Everdrive! Would be great to have...but I'd really love to build up a PC Engine game collection. And I know that won't happen if I buy a flash cart!

Definitely have to sort out a controller. I'd really love to get a HE X-1 Pro to go with my XE 1 ST2. Can't see that happening any time soon though!

I'm still debating on the Turbo Everdrive! Would be great to have...but I'd really love to build up a PC Engine game collection. And I know that won't happen if I buy a flash cart!

Definitely have to sort out a controller. I'd really love to get a HE X-1 Pro to go with my XE 1 ST2. Can't see that happening any time soon though!

There's one on ebay for mad money, been there for a while naturally.

I may buy a 6 button controller for my TG 16, they are jap so I will have to swap out the cables with my Turbo Stick, if I do this I will no longer be able to use the Turbo Stick on my US machine, I will happily trade this on to you if you like.

i-TG-TurboStick.jpg

Not the prettiest belle at the ball but it works just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Id agree re the flash card o1s1n, I've recently got rid of mine and am enjoying building up an actual collection far more than transferring roms onto flash memory.

They're dead handy for fan translations & games that only Steve could afford, but apart from that I think I'd prefer to amass a collection of Hu Cards

Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I may buy a 6 button controller for my TG 16, they are jap so I will have to swap out the cables with my Turbo Stick, if I do this I will no longer be able to use the Turbo Stick on my US machine, I will happily trade this on to you if you like.

Hey man! Thanks for the offer. I think for the moment I'm going to go the same way as yourself and pick up one of those NEC Avenue 6 pads. I've gotten to a point with joysticks now where only the best of the best with arcade type parts will do.
    EnterNow wrote: »
    Id agree re the flash card o1s1n, I've recently got rid of mine and am enjoying building up an actual collection far more than transferring roms onto flash memory.

They're dead handy for fan translations & games that only Steve could afford, but apart from that I think I'd prefer to amass a collection of Hu Cards

Pretty sure that's the way I'm gonna go alright :) Just eyeing up some hu cards now. Quite a lot of affordable shmups to my surprise.

Master of the Universe

Okay so at the moment I'm mainly looking to pick up hu card shmups. Want to grow this collection asap, so the cheaper the better! Soldier Blade would be the most expensive one I'm looking to pick up first.

So, so far I have -

Soldier Blade
    Final Soldier
    Super Star Soldier
    Gradius
    R TYPE I
    R Type II
    Darius Plus

Any more you can think of adding? (Pyongster!?)

Okay so at the moment I'm mainly looking to pick up hu card shmups. Want to grow this collection asap, so the cheaper the better! Soldier Blade would be the most expensive one I'm looking to pick up first.

So, so far I have -

Soldier Blade
    Final Soldier
    Super Star Soldier
    Gradius
    R TYPE I
    R Type II
    Darius Plus

Any more you can think of adding? (Pyongster!?)

Two that come to mind are Raiden and Imagefight.