Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it really worth the couple of cm's

• 19-08-2012 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭

Stealing half an inch when replacing your ball on the green....this is starting to get on my nerves juniors and seniors are all doing it...Christ even on short putts, even when it's obvious others are watching up close.
    I have pulled people up on it before but I'm sick to the teeth of it now it ruins my own game when I see it. Think I'll just look away from now on when on the green.

Is it the same everywhere else??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

simonp1 wrote: »
    Stealing half an inch when replacing your ball on the green....this is starting to get on my nerves juniors and seniors are all doing it...Christ even on short putts, even when it's obvious others are watching up close.
    I have pulled people up on it before but I'm sick to the teeth of it now it ruins my own game when I see it. Think I'll just look away from now on when on the green.

Is it the same everywhere else??
    Abit of common sense has to prevail, if it's a senior and they clearly struggle to bend down, I'd let it slide. Likewise with a junior I'd give them the benefit of the doubt once and thereafter make sure they implement the appropriate penalty. The last thing I'd do is let it affect my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

It is very annoying to see alright,ive often seen it happen but ive never pulled someone up on it,
    i remember playing with my father years ago and on one hole the other guy in the group marked his ball several times and moved it a little closer each time, i'll always remember my father telling him if he marked it any more we'd have to give him the putt:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I see people do it all the time. Marker goes down at the ball, fine. Come back to putt, ball is placed 2 or 3 inches ahead of marker. Not for me to say as I beat myself up enough on a golf course and if I start falling out with people I'll soon be on my own!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I see people do it all the time. Marker goes down at the ball, fine. Come back to putt, ball is placed 2 or 3 inches ahead of marker. Not for me to say as I beat myself up enough on a golf course and if I start falling out with people I'll soon be on my own!!

2 or 3 inches? as in a cup distance closer? :eek:
    I'd be calling that straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭simonp1

GreeBo wrote: »

2 or 3 inches? as in a cup distance closer? :eek:
    I'd be calling that straight away.

To be fair never seen them take that much.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Maybe not 3' but I've witnessed at least 2 on many occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

simonp1 wrote: »
    I have pulled people up on it before but I'm sick to the teeth of it now it ruins my own game when I see it. Think I'll just look away from now on when on the green. Is it the same everywhere else??

It might seem to be only a couple of cms, but it is worth it in the long run. While on most putts it probably would make no difference, and an individual putt would be missed or holed regardless, it is a fact that shorter putts have a greater chance of being holed. So while it might be a rare case where those few cms mean a holed rather than missed put, you can be sure that every now and again you will save a shot and hole a putt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Played with a lad,was a society outing & hr was one of the old boy members,whereas I was just a noob to the group.

Every other hole he was marking in front of his ball,then replacing in front of the marker.

On a long putt,say 40ft its not gonna make a big difference,but on the short ones every inch counts.

It amazes me really,you're cheating to take prizes away from friends, but I guess some are just more interested in winning than enjoying a social game if golf

Incidentally I mentioned it to the lads that invited me out & they said that every knows he cheats whenever possible but no one ever calls him on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

Let's face it, marking and replacing the ball is not an exact science, so we should all let a few MMs slide. However, a couple of CMs or a couple of inches is blatant cheating.

However, I'd still put is way down my list of bugbears. Guys 'minding their handicaps' or society golfers deciding to give themselves 25 or 28 handicaps and walking off with the prizes are more likely to get my goat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

Good article by Colin Byrne in Today's IT

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0821/1224322585369.html

He's having a swipe at the sandbaggers and the sleveens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Ildere

There was a fella once who used to pick up the coin with the hollow back of his ping putter,when he thought nobody was looking, and drop it back a foot or two or maybe more if his partners were in bunkers etc.
    His handicap rocketed down, until he was caught at it and f****d out.

Knew another fella who if he had to chip, which he struggled with, always insisted on identifying his ball by picking it up and replacing it, always on a tuft.

Golf does strange things to people.

Ildere wrote: »
    There was a fella once who used to pick up the coin with the hollow back of his ping putter,when he thought nobody was looking, and drop it back a foot or two or maybe more if his partners were in bunkers etc.
    His handicap rocketed down, until he was caught at it and f****d out.

Knew another fella who if he had to chip, which he struggled with, always insisted on identifying his ball by picking it up and replacing it, always on a tuft.

Golf does strange things to people.
    And yet you did nothing about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Ildere

GreeBo wrote: »
    And yet you did nothing about this?

I dont have to answer you 'GreenBo' and obviously you have been keenly reading other threads, but this time I will.

I have my opinions on Cheats in Golf and I dont believe in mercy or turning a blind eye or wringing my hands and saying there is nothing can be done.

The man with the hollow putter was thrown out of his club, not my club by the way, and the tee it up man doesnt do it anymore only because it was pointed out to him, and he still plays at my club.

So GreenBo, have you ever seen anybody cheating at golf or are you one of the blind eye men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I dont have to answer you 'GreenBo' and obviously you have been keenly reading other threads, but this time I will.

I have my opinions on Cheats in Golf and I dont believe in mercy or turning a blind eye or wringing my hands and saying there is nothing can be done.

The man with the hollow putter was thrown out of his club, not my club by the way, and the tee it up man doesnt do it anymore only because it was pointed out to him, and he still plays at my club.

So GreenBo, have you ever seen anybody cheating at golf or are you one of the blind eye men.

It's Greebo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    It's Greebo!
    Well said L.I.F.T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

In fairness, that quote reads as if you knew the guy and thus would have known he was doing this.

What you happen in the following scenario that relates to identifying a ball as above (I've had a look at the R&A but can't see anything to cover this specific scenario)

Player A goes through all the correct processes... (has good reason to have to identify ball, declares his is going to do so, marks, identifies etc.)
    He then places the ball back in what he thinks is the correct position.
    However, Player B disputes that he hasn't placed it in the exact same position.

I could see this arising even if both Players had best intentions. i.e No one was doing so to advantage themselves.

Who would get final say in this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    What you happen in the following scenario that relates to identifying a ball as above (I've had a look at the R&A but can't see anything to cover this specific scenario)

Player A goes through all the correct processes... (has good reason to have to identify ball, declares his is going to do so, marks, identifies etc.)
    He then places the ball back in what he thinks is the correct position.
    However, Player B disputes that he hasn't placed it in the exact same position.

I could see this arising even if both Players had best intentions. i.e No one was doing so to advantage themselves.

Who would get final say in this?
    In that scenario common sense should/would prevail and you replace the ball at a spot which you both agree is the correct spot. If an agreement cannot be reached then it has to go to the committee to decide afaik.

MP62 wrote: »
    In that scenario common sense should/would prevail and you replace the ball at a spot which you both agree is the correct spot. If an agreement cannot be reached then it has to go to the committee to decide afaik.

Thanks, I should have said that there was complete stalemate in the scenario.

That's leaving a though call for the committee isn't it.
    Having to decide who they believe more.

Funny that, a mod reading threads in his forum...who'd have thunk it!
    I don't have to answer you either....so I wont.
    -> Ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Re the OP, someone once came up with a good line for a guy who was doing that very same thing, having hit the green in regulation, they said after he replaced his ball - if you mark that a couple more times you'll have a birdie. A good line, and maybe not a bad way to get the point across without the outright accusation of cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭simonp1

Re the OP, someone once came up with a good line for a guy who was doing that very same thing, having hit the green in regulation, they said after he replaced his ball - if you mark that a couple more times you'll have a birdie. A good line, and maybe not a bad way to get the point across without the outright accusation of cheating.

Yea will use that next time cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

I played with an elderly gentleman in this years captains prize. He was 82.

Every time he placed his ball back on the green, he'd give himself an extra 3-5 INCHES closer to the hole.

After about 6 or 7 holes of witnessing it, my other playing partner told him to be careful when placing the ball as it was quite a bit away from the marker.

The elderly man shouted 'WELL I NEVER!', picked up his ball, put his putter back in his bag and marched back to the car park. As we appraoched the 18th green, we saw the elderly man standing there with another man. The closer we got to the hole, the more we thought it looked like a guard!

By god we were right. No sooner had we shook hands on a days fine golfing, he walked over started shouting 'THERE HE IS! THATS HIM!'. My playing partner politely asked what all this was about.

The other fella who indeed was a guard told him he'd accused his Father of cheating and that he'd ruined his day. My playing partner laughed and asked 'is that an arresting offence?' and told them to 'clear off, I'm hungry'.

Afterwards in the clubhouse we were told by a couple of other members that this old fella has form for this sort of thing. In fact it turns out that the fella who we thought was a guard was actually just a friend of his who plays with him in the foreballs. He keeps the gardai uniform handy for such occasions as they're being careful not to be labelled or get a reputation as bandits. They're obviously not quite the full schilling.

You have to be careful out there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭kevgaa

Hi Folks,

Cheating/mistakes in golf is riff but the question I have is how much of it do you feel is intentional and how much is blatant? I personally think a lot of the minor infractions are down to lack of knowledge of the rules.

E.g playing last week in club competition playing partner lands in a hazard a dry drain and proceeds to pick up a few things round the ball. He played his shot and I pointed it out to him and it was just a lack of knowledge and he thanked me and took his penalty, lesson learned. The fact he wasnt in contention meant it was easier but if he had a good score it may have been different.

Second incident is a lot more blatant. Played in an open 3 person team and we did well got the phone call to say we were in the prices and came 2nd happy days. Winners were two club men and a visitor. However following week got a call to say we won the competition. The winning teams visitor did not have a GUI so signed in under his mates details and played off his handicap. When the results were in the paper somebody rang the club to say x couldnt have won a prize on Sunday as he was hospital.
    We got our prizes upgraded but worse case was two members of the club who were on the original team pleaded ignorance and got away scot free...

kevgaa