Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mechanic used my car

• 19-08-2012 12:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭

I left my car at the garage for a service while in holiday for a week so the mechanic could work on it when he had some time available. Upon returning home, I checked my tollbridge credit and noticed a charge while I was away. Then I checked the mileage and to my horror I saw that the car was used for more than 550 miles (900 km).

I'm going there on Monday to confront him about that. Other than that, what are my options, where should I go and report this matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Dare I ask is your car an expensive / desirable car? (not condoning the carryon one bit).

BTW I would confront him and see what he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

He was just test driving it thoroughly to see if it was ok. That's the usual excuse anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭m4r10

stepbar wrote: »
    Dare I ask is your car an expensive / desirable car? (not condoning the carryon one bit).

BTW I would confront him and see what he says.

Just a 2001 Volvo, so not really expensive. It's the fact that he used it without consent and for almost 1000 km. It takes us around 3-4 weeks to drive that much (we use the car locally), and it took him less than a week to do that.

Pottler wrote: »
    He was just test driving it thoroughly to see if it was ok. That's the usual excuse anyway.

That would work if it was for 20-30 km, but not 1000. What's more, I left the car on Thursday, the charge on the toll was on Saturday and the car was fixed the next Thursday or Wednesday, so that excuse doesn't hold water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

That's a total disgrace! Ask if he managed to get it out for a quick test drive. Ask does a test drive usually last for 1000km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

m4r10 wrote: »
    I left my car at the garage for a service while in holiday for a week so the mechanic could work on it when he had some time available. Upon returning home, I checked my tollbridge credit and noticed a charge while I was away. Then I checked the mileage and to my horror I saw that the car was used for more than 550 miles (900 km).

I'm going there on Monday to confront him about that. Other than that, what are my options, where should I go and report this matter?

Was it a proper mechanic/garage with proper insurance to drive the car at all? Don't think so.
    Apart from that 550 miles is way beyond what you expect. Few miles to check on the car, and maybe, just maybe to get some parts from the shop...He went through the toll which suggests he used it as it's own.
    I would expect it to be free service this time - especially that your next service will be sooner because of the extra miles...
    Let us know what their excuse is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Tell the toll operator that you did not use the car at this time and are concerned that it was used without your permission and ask for a photo of the car going through the toll (they can do this for speed cameras).
    If you're sure that it was him then confront him.
    If he can't explain his actions tell him you want your money back since he used your car without permission.

It may be that he had to go to Cork to get parts to have the car ready the night before you got back... but err... extremely unlikely that he has any excuse.

Just a 2001 Volvo, so not really expensive. It's the fact that he used it without consent and for almost 1000 km. It takes us around 3-4 weeks to drive that much (we use the car locally), and it took him less than a week to do that.

Absolutely, the car was driven without consent and that's exactly what would piss me off. 1000 km is excessive.

I wouldn't say it was driven without consent. When you give a car to a mechanic you often expect him to take it for a 5 minute spin to check it over. It was (it seems) driven excessively which is different legally.

If I tell someone to help themselves to a cold drink from the fridge, I don't expect to return to find half my beer gone.

The OP (and pretty much everyone else who leaves their car in for work) is right to expect a few miles on his clock, but consent was not given for excessive and quite clearly, personal use from the mechanic, which is actually an abuse of the insurance terms the garage would have. Their insurance covers cars for maintenance and upkeep. It does not cover personal use. The mechanic might have found he was not covered 200km from his registered business if he was in an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

If I would leave my car with mechanic, I would consider 2km maybe max 3km testdrive as normal. 10km I would call excessive, while 50km I would call pure chickness of the mechanic.
    1000km is out of my imagination, and I would call it a theft, and probably report it as so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

This happened to me with a cavan based garage in Slane. 700 Kilometers was put up on my clock. When i asked why i was told the sales man brought it home to check it was running ok.

Ironically they never fixed it till the next time i was to leave it in. Then they gave me a car with no petrol for a lend.

Payback was sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Payback was sweet.

How sweet, if you don't mind me asking?

The OP did not consent for the car to be driven 1000km. 5km would be acceptable not 1000km.

I agree totally, what I'm saying is that from a legal point of view it is not true that it was driven without consent.
    Driving the car to that excess is totally wrong and should not go unpunished. A refund and withdrawal of future patronage is in order.

I agree totally, what I'm saying is that from a legal point of view it is not true that it was driven without consent.
    Driving the car to that excess is totally wrong and should not go unpunished. A refund and withdrawal of future patronage is in order.

I disagree. I would argue that leaving a car in for repair / service does not cover driving same at all.

I would prefer that a mechanic did test drive a car after installing parts but also to give a quick all-over check. But each to their own and you are well entitled to say that you do not want your car driven at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

wonski wrote: »

Ring-ring, ring-ring.
    "Hello, Garageists Anonymous here"
    "Howya head, Joey here. Is me jam-jar ready?"
    "She sure is Joey, all ready for road"
    "Thanks head, see yiz in 10"

10 minutes later ...

"Howya Joey. Just settle up with Ermintrude at reception. She has your bill and keys"
    "Thanks Joey that's spot on. Here's your keys and you've given me our keys. Where did you park her?"
    "I ran outta juice about 20 miles from here in a no-parking zone. As I didn't have any money or a can I couldn't put juice in her. I think I flattened the battery tryin' to start her so you'll need to tow her back. unless she's been taken to the car-pound already. She was blockin' the entrance to the council offices. Sorry about dat. See yiz, thanks."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

My guess is that the garage loaned out the op's car to a customer as they knew they'd have it for a week before the op returned.

Is there any legal action I can take as I'm really disgusted with them and don't want to let it go that easy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Is there any legal action I can take as I'm really disgusted with them and don't want to let it go that easy?

Can you prove that they put so many miles on the car? Have you some way of proving the mileage at the moment you handed them the keys?

I keep a log of the consumption where is clear what the average mileage is and I have the last two receipts when I filled the car up, plus I have a charge on my toll account while I was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

That's pretty awful, can you name them or failing that give an approx location of the garage so others can steer well clear of them? :eek:

pm1977x wrote: »
    That's pretty awful, can you name them or failing that give an approx location of the garage so others can steer well clear of them? :eek:

Don't know if I'm allowed to do that, so if a mod can confirm it's OK, I'll be more than happy to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Don't know if I'm allowed to do that, so if a mod can confirm it's OK, I'll be more than happy to do it.

You cant do that. Its slander/liable (cant remember which).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

djimi wrote: »
    You cant do that. Its slander/liable (cant remember which).

I'm pretty sure an approx location can't be considered slander/libel but then again it might tarnish legit mechanics in the area so just ignore me! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

how much diesel was in it before you left it compared to when you collected it. are you 100% sure you have your mileage correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

There is not legitimate reason to drive a car in your care that far IMO.

Most test drives would range from 2-15kms max depending on the repair work that was done and depending on where the garage is located(country/city etc).

The most I ever test drive a car is when I take one home after a major job(major engine work, intermittent electronic issue repaired etc etc) and that is a distance on approx 160kms and at that, the customer would always be informed that I was doing that to be sure the car was 100% before they got it back.

We live in Ireland, so almost 1000kms is more then one end of the country to the other or is from Dublin to anywhere and back again(and likely half way back to the destination again).

As for loaning the car out to another customer......that would be simply incomprehensible

kbell wrote: »
    My guess is that the garage loaned out the op's car to a customer as they knew they'd have it for a week before the op returned.

That would be even more inexcusable.

This thread reminds me of that film "Ferris Buellers Day Off" when the parking attendant takes the car for a ride.

http://www.google.ie/url?source=imglanding&ct=img&q=http://www.tallahasseegrapevine.com/file/sns_uploads/1095/images/Ferris%20Bueller%20tallahassee%202.jpg&sa=X&ei=sscwUP7CCcLKhAfo1oF4&ved=0CAkQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNEIybK1XWj-x5n4COaE8GNaeqg8Mg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

kbell wrote: »

And you're basing this on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

OP:

Here is what you do:

1. Get confirmation in writing that your car was driven thru the toll - your statement should suffice.

2. Ask for photo as previously outlined.

3. Your damages are calculated as follows: Km's driven multiplied by milegae rates accepted by the Revenue as below:

The Civil Service kilometric rates for cars, motorcycles and bicycles for individuals who are obliged to use their car, motorcycle or bicycle in the performance of the duties of their employment, are as follows:

Rates for Motor cars
    Motor cars effective from 5 March 2009
    Engine Capacity: Up to 1,200 cc 39.12 cent
    Engine Capacity: 1,201 cc to 1,500 cc 46.25 cent
    Engine Capacity: 1,501 cc and over 59.07 cent

Link here: http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/it/leaflets/it51.html

Write a demand letter to the garage involved for that amount (1000km x 59.07 cent - or €590 for example) plus the cost of the toll. Send it registered post, and keep a copy.

When they refuse this, which they will, file a claim with Small Claims Court. Bring a copy of the registered letter and it's signed for receipt with you as well as all your other evidence.

You may also wish to file a report with he Guards, but do not threaten this in the same letter demanding reimbursement (this might be viewed as extortion).

If you can prove the extra km;s driven on your car, this is a slam dunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭chimmy chonga

A dodgy Mechanic... I'm shocked....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

That's a lot of mileage, I had mine in for a service a good while ago and after a bit I found out it was a really dodgy garage, I was in the complimentary lift home and the lad driving was a friend of a friend and he told me the car we were in was an elderly customers, it was there a few days and was being used as the run around, for parts, drop offs and some of the others were even using it to get home at night. It had been fixed but the customer was told different.

I told him they're not to do more than 10km on mine and if his boss says take the st focus, the manager was told the lads seen me taking a photo of my mileage!

It was the manager who was bullying the lads into stuff, when I went to pick mine up the elderly woman was there with her son and I asked what car was she driving, knowing it was right outside the window, and said directly infront of the manager, that's the car I got a lift home in!! The mechanic was collecting parts in it when I was dropped off!!

Well the look on the managers face was priceless, when he said there's hundreds of grey fiestas, I asked the woman if she had a daffodil and a padre pio medal stuck to the dash beside her radio.. What do you know.. She did.

After about 6 months that place went out of business.

Don't let it go op, karma always bites people like that in the ass.

how much diesel was in it before you left it compared to when you collected it. are you 100% sure you have your mileage correct.

Well, I have the last two petrol receipts and between them, the car was driven over 1500 km, and that includes a week that we were on holiday, plus the charge on the toll was on M7/8 South which is over 120 km from the garage. On top of that, we're only averaging ~600 km every 2-3 weeks. So I'd say my calculations are pretty accurate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

If it was me, I'd be going for more than mileage, since they could have driven the utter ring out of it when they had it, and/or damaged the bodywork, clonked it off footpaths, broken off bits inside, etc. I'd do the calculation above, double it, and when I was presenting the invoice I'd tell 'em it's that or plod, up to them. Or go the whole hog, take it to a main stealer, get them to find everything that's wrong with it and present them with the estimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

On another scale, a friend of mine left a car in for a service to get brakes sorted, fella "sorted it and said he drove it 40 miles and there wasn't a bother.

Funny thing was, my mate took a picture of the mileage before he left, and when he came back it just happened to be the exact same mileage.

The excuse was the speedo cable had been left out while he was test driving it!

Even funnier, there was a 20 euro bill for petrol :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭homingbird

What i would be waiting for is the speeding ticket & penalty points on my licence arriving in the post as it is your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

mathepac wrote: »
    Ring-ring, ring-ring.
    "Hello, Garageists Anonymous here"
    "Howya head, Joey here. Is me jam-jar ready?"
    "She sure is Joey, all ready for road"
    "Thanks head, see yiz in 10"

10 minutes later ...

"Howya Joey. Just settle up with Ermintrude at reception. She has your bill and keys"
    "Thanks Joey that's spot on. Here's your keys and you've given me our keys. Where did you park her?"
    "I ran outta juice about 20 miles from here in a no-parking zone. As I didn't have any money or a can I couldn't put juice in her. I think I flattened the battery tryin' to start her so you'll need to tow her back. unless she's been taken to the car-pound already. She was blockin' the entrance to the council offices. Sorry about dat. See yiz, thanks."

Fecking legend! When I grow up, I want to be just like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

wonski wrote: »

They agreed that when they could not finish the work the first time they would lend me a car. I put 2k on it very quickly and got paid for the privaliage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Fecking legend! When I grow up, I want to be just like you.
    Thanks, but just be yourself. You don't want my stuff in your life. I wonder who I'll be like if I grow up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

mathepac wrote: »
    Thanks, but just be yourself. You don't want my stuff in your life. I wonder who I'll be like if I grow up?

Be ShadowHearth - a Lithuanian chap living in Cork, quotes Father Ted and uses Irish phrases like "feckin eejit" more than anyone else on boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

op just say this to the staff their: Lads... and or ladies, we're/you're not thick as two planks, someones been using my car as a daily or a commuter while i was away... now thats not the biggest issue but what is, is the simple fact i have a toll booth charge with a photo of the driver on the way to the gaff.. i posted about this on a popular irish forum and should ye not be nice enough to give me a refund... some money towards petrol or a nice token gesture i fear name and shame is in order not only their but with friends family... their friends and family etc... "

or atleast their the lines i'd lean towards because at the end of the day they could say feck off... but when push comes to shove i assume their a small garage ( less then 6 lads employed including the gaffer.. 2 ramps etc ) they Need all the business they can get, heck they don't even get contract work or such so one or two bad reports will have a knock on effect and maybe they'll cop the feck on ? its your and the other halfs daily so you see the milage every da you said its only a city car ( mostly i assume ) so they have no real qrgument against it.

btw that toll booth reccomendation is well worth following up, im sure its only a few quid out of your pocket but if you'd liek to scan the photo into your pc, black out the eyes i/we will all happily turn him into the new " scumbag mechanic " meme.

Be ShadowHearth - a Lithuanian chap living in Cork, quotes Father Ted and uses Irish phrases like "feckin eejit" more than anyone else on boards :D

Never knew that fella wasn't Irish... I'll have to watch what I say in future... :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

AltAccount wrote: »
    And you're basing this on....

The Amount of mileage clocked up,and i've experience of this happening before.

Was on the phone in the morning with the toll company and a photo of the car is on the way. Also, went to the garage (which is a two man show) and as the boss/owner wasn't there, I told the other chap why I'm there. It turns out he did use my car as his own was with a customer and had a hotel booking for the week-end in Cork. He told me he didn't had the chance to tell me about the car when I picked it up as the car was handed to my by his boss.

He was very apologetic to me and said that he'll own me some labour hours. I don't want to get him fired and both of them were decent enough with me in the past, but feel that my trust was broken and don't know if I'll use them again. I'll let the wife know tonight and let her take the decision of what to do next :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

let her take the decision of what to do next
    What has happened to you is an outrage. Please dont let them away with it.

This is most certainly an offence worthy of getting someone fired over IMHO. I'd go mental.
    Gardai, solicitors, local newspapers. That would be my move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭ValerieR

And if you hadn't noticed and highlighted it ... he probably wouldn't have even bothered mentioning it to you.
    I would take this further tbh ... as imo it's not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

Was on the phone in the morning with the toll company and a photo of the car is on the way. Also, went to the garage (which is a two man show) and as the boss/owner wasn't there, I told the other chap why I'm there. It turns out he did use my car as his own was with a customer and had a hotel booking for the week-end in Cork. He told me he didn't had the chance to tell me about the car when I picked it up as the car was handed to my by his boss.

He was very apologetic to me and said that he'll own me some labour hours. I don't want to get him fired and both of them were decent enough with me in the past, but feel that my trust was broken and don't know if I'll use them again. I'll let the wife know tonight and let her take the decision of what to do next :(

59 cent per km , so 500 euro is what you should demand from them, plus a nice gift for you to stop you with going on boards and papers with the garage name. weekend in Cork is not an excuse for me- is it for you? if it is please lend me your car for a week or two Ill drive to Kerry for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

So he was going to tell youabout it when he returned the car? Still after he'd done the deed, bizarrely doesn't excuse the offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I can guarantee you 110% only for you copped it he wouldn't have said anything to you. Whatever you do don't let it lie, I'd be looking at a big refund and let the boss know too, but I'd say the he already knows. Plus I doubt your the first person they have done it too. I'd be bucking furious if it was my car.