Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannonball 2012 Motors Meet

• 17-08-2012 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭

Right so, another year on and this being August the Cannonball run will be happening in about 4 weeks time roughly. I was at it last year (not taking part admittedly) and it was amazing being there at the start line in Merrion Square ( which is in Dublin for all you bogger heads :pac:). More info below

http://www.cannonball.ie/

Seeing as people were thinking of having a meet in September, could this be a good oppurtunity to have a meet and see some serious metal also? What think ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

A meet in Merion square?

No way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw this last year, it's funny how you become immune to red Ferraris after the first few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

I went to see this when they stopped at Mondello last year. Are they stopping there again? T'would be a good spot for a meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Saw this last year, it's funny how you become immune to red Ferraris after the first few.

That's true but there is usually some serious cars there other than the obvious Ferraris etc.

@Tallon- By meet I didn't say that everyone had to bring their cars. I will be cycling in as it's much easier for example, I dunno fella's just a suggestion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

166man wrote: »
    That's true but there is usually some serious cars there other than the obvious Ferraris etc.

@Tallon- By meet I didn't say that everyone had to bring their cars. I will be cycling in as it's much easier for example, I dunno fella's just a suggestion
    Oh right, just you linked to it from the meet thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

166man wrote: »
    I will be cycling in as it's much easier for example, I dunno fella's just a suggestion

Headline on the star the next day:

BOARDS.IE USERS IN BICYCLE SHOCKER :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Tallon wrote: »
    Oh right, just you linked to it from the meet thread...

Yeah I meant as in if people from here were going to go in anyway might as well chat to some of ye if you're there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

No cork this year:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I'll most likely be heading into this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

There was talk about hooking up with the C&C in Cherrywood Sunday September 2nd. We won't get numbers for both so what gig are people most interested in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

C&C for me

Got rained out of it last time, but usually it's a gas. Bit like the Leinster/Phoenix Park meet last week. Coffee's good too.

Just watch out for the camera-cops permanently stationed under the flyover the first Sunday of very month. Coincidentally of course. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

May tip up to Belfast for this actually. I'm in college at the weekends so c&c is out for me. I'll make mid weeks if there's any more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Marcinek_55

I'll be there friday morning to take some photos :) Is anyone else there :?: Last year i was talking for two seconds to some boards.ie user but i didn't know that he is here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

The Galway stop is in a scenic location should be an interesting stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Weather permitting...I will drop by on my bike before work.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Probably going to be there early in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Up the m1 around 11 am in drogheda ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

They are in Dundrum House Hotel, Co Tipp for a couple of hours on Sunday, may go along for a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

any idea what time they leave galway on sunday on leg to kilkenny.. have just seen the answer they leave the raddison at 11.00 am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

dharn wrote: »
    any idea what time they leave galway on sunday on leg to kilkenny

11 AM sunday

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

At the start, the police were checking everyone for tax insurance etc, and seizing any car that was out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Stheno wrote: »
    At the start, the police were checking everyone for tax insurance etc, and seizing any car that was out.
    They have 2 Ferrari's and a Porsche seized just off Merrion SQ now (All 3 on garage plates) No doubt plenty of members here will be delighted to hear this is happening...

Sitec wrote: »
    I was just there, shower of wasters picking an easy target. Fair enough they should have tax but it's a charity event.
    Cars with UK, Italy, Switzerland, Bahrain plates all going through with no hassle but they pull cars with trade plates :rolleyes:

Thought it was the weathers fault but the atmosphere at the start wasn't as good as previous years, Gaurds had a bad attitude, good few of them on a serious power trip, no police escort, no roads closed, just a checkpoint right at the starting line. Have a feeling a lot of this years participants will not be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The Gardai don't do their job - People complain
    The Gardai actually do their job - People complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Traffic corps jeep/pickup thingy leading a lambo,vantage,645 and xkr down the motorway past drogheda around the 90mph mark :D

draffodx wrote: »
    The Gardai don't do their job - People complain
    The Gardai actually do their job - People complain
    It was their attitude that bothered most of the people there this morning, very hostile towards the participants and the spectators, totally unhelpful and overly aggressive IMO, saw one tell a photographer who was on the edge of the curb, getting himself a good vantage point, to "get off the ****ing road now".

Charity event where more than half the cars (probably more) are registered in a foreign country then as it's about to start they set up a checkpoint with a recovery truck waiting...over the top for a children's charity event.

Yes, people here think its great to see the gaurds seizing cars and setting up more checkpoints but ask anyone that was there, it spoiled what was supposed to be a fun and enjoyable event.

Sitec wrote: »
    I wouldn't blame them to be honest, there was an american cop car there, he flashed the blue lights and sirens at the kids and the Gardai pulled him in over it. That's a joke.
    Just read on another forum that the driver of the American cop car was issued with a ticket and fine for impersonating a police officer.

Shower of miserable pricks, only way to describe the gaurds that were in attendance this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭scooters

I totally agree that all the cars should have been taxed,etc but they took it way too far. A fine and back tax would have been sufficient for this charity event.

I was at the start this morning and it was terrible. The revenue collectors(garda) had such a bad attitude. I seen them checking all the cars before the start and then they set up a coned off area to pull the cars in when they got the call from the Garda directing the traffic. They even had a couple of traffic core motorbike cops in case anybody did a run for it.

Tow truck was parked up around the corner waiting.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

I'd say this is very simple, Someone reported these offenses to Gardai and they were obliged to act.

All the cars were there well in advance of the start, they could have done their checks before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

high profile event, the word is out now that the gardai are very active and clamping down on road tax evasion etc, probably wont see them for the rest of the year, but if it makes people tax their cars maybe it is a good thing, but i dont know why they have to have such an attitude, you can be asked nicely to move as easily as been told to get the f...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    was issued with a ticket and fine for impersonating a police officer.

Shower of miserable pricks, only way to describe the gaurds that were in attendance this morning.

Impersonating a police officer, really ? It would obviously be for impersonating a member of An Garda Siochana. And I don't think there a fixed charge or penalty, I would imagine it's a court appearance before any fine could be given by a judge.