Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He will go broke!!

• 17-08-2012 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭

Its a saying I often hear people saying about a fellow trying to do good for himself. Was with a supplier during the week and I was told by a few that he must be broke by now. I had never met this guy before only done business over the phone. Five minutes with this guy it was easy to see this guy was on the ball and far from going broke. Employing a large work force and expanding with new facilities. Why the F*ck are people just so jealous, if they are outbid on ground/animas when it comes up for buy/lease they will start throwing around the chestnut again. I have a couple of examples myself with a few people. why do they bother wasting their time worrying what Jack next door is doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Its a saying I often hear people saying about a fellow trying to do good for himself. Was with a supplier during the week and I was told by a few that he must be broke by now. I had never met this guy before only done business over the phone. Five minutes with this guy it was easy to see this guy was on the ball and far from going broke. Employing a large work force and expanding with new facilities. Why the F*ck are people just so jealous, if they are outbid on ground/animas when it comes up for buy/lease they will start throwing around the chestnut again. I have a couple of examples myself with a few people. why do they bother wasting their time worrying what Jack next door is doing.

human nature, you wouldnt want to spend too much time worrying about those things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Because for every guy who is as sharp as your friend there are 10 who aren't as sharp and who DO go bust

Anyway nobody ever knows the full story behind anybody's finances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

You should be a bank manager Bob :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Are you talking about yerself there BOB ? :D
    It's Irish begrudgery, i wouldn't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

pakalasa wrote: »
    Should be in the west that is where anybody that makes an effort or tries anything new is definatly gone broke.
    Was in local one night sitting nice and quietly (unusual for me)when the chat at the counter changed to me and my financial worries.where it was said i had broke myself making big pits of silage buying meal and buying fresian cattle.that was replied that his father is turning in his grave with them bad cattle(fresian bulls) in field near village.then the village idiot said oh his party is over it will be all sold soon.i then laughed a loud and two of them left.was then informed my mate and me were the topic regular that we were broke and repo man was seen farms forsale and all that.
    Irronic thing about this is we are still expanding while all involved are cutting back and back.we also are only 2 of the few whos cheque is taken anywhere round and are asked to buy or haul majority of stock in area.
    My opinion is that those begruggers are themselves under a bit of pressure and try to swich attention to others.i for one am quiet happy to be subject to this attention cas there is obly 1 thing worse than people talking about you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Fair play Epfff.

We need people like you who are going to help us meet or 2020 targets!!!

PS: If I knew how to do a big smile on this while on the mobile I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

pakalasa wrote: »

no if it was myself it would be in the past tense they would be talking about, "owes half the country money":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 farmer x

you dont have to be in the west, lots of those begrudgin b*****s in the midlands .......ive lots of examples of these ****es thinkin they are better than the neighbour but yet wouldnt be shy about borrowing a bit of machinery......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

don't know how many times over the years I was told I'd go broke if I didn't stop spending

my reply was always the same

" I can't go broke .. I had feck all starting off "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

We begrudge people even more if they are prod or coi. It's in the majority of Catholics.
    Me, I take people as they are. It took me a long time to get here, but I really do. There was a time when I would begrudge people, but after a lot of self examination and a serious change in attitude, I am no longer upset with other people. As Auden said "we are put on this earth to do good for others. What the others are here or, I don't know!"

your man over in the other thread going renting 200ac's of land, guaranteed to go broke, busy fool, and his father before him was just as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

your man over in the other thread going renting 200ac's of land, guaranteed to go broke, busy fool, and his father before him was just as bad
    Ggg bob a bit strong

epfff wrote: »
    Ggg bob a bit strong

tongue in cheek my lad. i have never met or don't know the business of the OP in the other thread. I wish him all the best in whatever decision he makes

Ggg bob a bit strong

Bob taking the mick there I'd say

You are to full of yourself. You need to be brought down a peg or 2. You want to give the impression here that you are a little larry goodman going around the place. Shure for all we know, because of the time you spend on here, you may have sweet **** all. Earlier in the week you past a comment about a ship!!! Grow up

Ah lads can Reilig not have the weekend off without this turning into a kids playground

He already posted it was tongue in cheek - clearly he is taking the mick out of what that guys neighbours could say

No need to make it personal IMO

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ah lads can Reilig not have the weekend off without this turning into a kids playground

He already posted it was tongue in cheek - clearly he is taking the mick out of what that guys neighbours could say

its probably just people from different parts of the country just don't get satire. :D. you would last long around these parts if you aren't sarcastic.

Should be in the west that is where anybody that makes an effort or tries anything new is definatly gone broke.
    Was in local one night sitting nice and quietly (unusual for me)when the chat at the counter changed to me and my financial worries.where it was said i had broke myself making big pits of silage buying meal and buying fresian cattle.that was replied that his father is turning in his grave with them bad cattle(fresian bulls) in field near village.then the village idiot said oh his party is over it will be all sold soon.i then laughed a loud and two of them left.was then informed my mate and me were the topic regular that we were broke and repo man was seen farms forsale and all that.
    Irronic thing about this is we are still expanding while all involved are cutting back and back.we also are only 2 of the few whos cheque is taken anywhere round and are asked to buy or haul majority of stock in area.
    My opinion is that those begruggers are themselves under a bit of pressure and try to swich attention to others.i for one am quiet happy to be subject to this attention cas there is obly 1 thing worse than people talking about you
    High stool farmers is what I call them, they can give you any advice once they are on a high stool with a pint in their hands.

There you are now.

its probably just people from different parts of the country just don't get satire. :D. you would last long around these part:eek:s if you aren't sarcastic.
    Ok Bob, but there is no satire in manofeelings post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we all know people who are full of ****e , part and parcel of life, the tricky bit is ignoring the crap that some people come out with and not lowering yourself to their level... i am usually quite quick at putting people back in their place but i dont want to mess my head thinking about other peoples comments either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

crossing to your other thread a fella will usually do fine as long as he is putting in the work.but that said you would see situations that you know are not going to be a success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

" I can't go broke .. I had feck all starting off "[/QUOTE]
    That's the way with me too! I'm so used to looking twice at the money that people accept my cheques without any problem. they know the cheque book is so infrequently opened that I couldn't possibly write a bad one!! OH always said we never noticed when the downturn happened coz we didn't have anything to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

My cousin said to me one day he heard i had bidded on land a couple of miles away, anyways i heard a cousin had put in a bid afterwards. I didnt even know it was for sale!:confused::confused:. Gossip really does spread.

its gas i was saying about sending in more milk than my quota a month ago and i got lambasted over it from some of my fellow farming boardsies:D. Im chancing it this year but i know what i can or cant afford. People shouldnt judge unless they know all the facts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I had this issuse with another farmer telling me that my working income was subsdising my farming and a fellow worker telling me that I was well off because I was a farmer. Now I go for a few pints once a week and do not smoke both these lads drinks a gallon 4 nights a week and smokes 2 packs a day.

They were both a bit flabergasted when I told them there habbit was costing them 1500 euro/month. A lot of barstool wiseowls are not great accountants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

kevthegaff wrote: »
    its gas i was saying about sending in more milk than my quota a month ago and i got lambasted over it from some of my fellow farming boardsies:D. Im chancing it this year but i know what i can or cant afford. People shouldnt judge unless they know all the facts!

I'm fairly sure you got "lambasted" for crying about quota/super levy when all the rules were there before you started into the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

High stool farmers - I like that:)

There was a good line in the journal a while back, lads should only think about expansion when your farming efficiently. Only then will it turn a profit for you. There's one lad I'm thinking of in particular who hasn't a big enterprise, has a number of small parcels of marginal land, and is always on the go with the jeep and box. I just can't see how he's anything left after the diesel bill he must have!

Agree completely, play the ball and not the man;)

Its a pity a lot of the irish are begrudgers when it comes to a lad trying to expand and do well for themselves.:(

JohnBoy wrote: »

I'm fairly sure you got "lambasted" for crying about quota/super levy when all the rules were there before you started into the business.

Exactly

Exactly
    boohoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

just do it wrote: »

You didnt learn that in football traning anyway...from my experience of playing ball back your side :D

Funnily enough it was when a manager came in that hammered this into the seniors was when we started having our greatest success. The football is in the genes, but so is the fighting:rolleyes:.

You still playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

someone should have mentioned that to lar yesterday..

ellewood wrote: »
    someone should have mentioned that to lar yesterday..
    I think Lar was only doing, what he was told !!

Funnily enough it was when a manager came in that hammered this into the seniors was when we started having our greatest success. The football is in the genes, but so is the fighting:rolleyes:.

You still playing?

I retired when I went to ag college, saying to myself im going to make a comeback every year but its hard to find the time for it. There used to be a corner back playing for Miltown, Brendan was his first name, Many's the bust up we had and I often met him in Lahinch after and I would be itching to make for him, the joys of football :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

On the pesamistic side of this, there are loads of people out there trying to do good for themselves by cheating the system. A local mart got stung by a buyer a few weeks back when he paid with a bank draft, but when the mart went to the bank, the buyer had cancelled it and they are still in the process of getting the animals back - they haven't paid the farmers who's cattle they were yet, and say that they won't be able to play until they recoup them from the buyer :eek: I don't think that's fair, I have never heard of it happening in any other place.

I know another large farmer in this area who does a bit of hauling of cattle and agri produce, feed etc. He has to fill his trucks at the pumps these days and pay by cash as he owes 2 oil companies over €150k - this isn't heresay, I know people working in both companies. He owes a fencing company over €20k for work that was done in 2008 and they have recently secured an order against his SFP to have it paid direct to them to cover his debt. He still has a 2011 Landcruiser, a 3000sqft house, a new tractor, sun holidays etc.

I'm not jealous of the guy who conned the mart - I'm angry cause one of my animals is unpaid for. As for the large farmer in the area, I'm not jealous of him either. But if he doesn't pay his debts, then he is living on another person't money. I know that he has cost one person their job in the oil company already because the debt is so hard to sustain. He goes around and acts very proper and honest, telling people how hard he works and how many people he employs and to most people that don't know him too well, he is a hard grafter who is doing well for himself. I have had him knocking on my door looking to borrow a shotgun when the bailiff was at his yard gates to reclaim a track machine that he hadn't paid for!!

Fair play to the man who does good for himself. Those who invest time and energy are entitled to a return. However, sometimes it is difficult to distinguish between the genuine people and the cheats. lord knows, there are still a lot of con men out there who don't care who they walk all over or who they ruin in order to succeed.

I suppose what I am trying to say is that people aren't always as they appear. Paper never refuses ink. Some people can put on a great show for the viewers. etc. etc.

Reilig, the mart owes you the money, its not your problem that they were stupid and sold stock to a guy who hasn't paid them. thats the mart managers job to sus out his clients. These non payers usually cost the rest of buyers money aswell as they are usually pay the highest prices as if your not going to pay what difference does price make. thankfully most people around here pay as I hate no payers.

we all push credit lines to the last when expanding but everyone has to gets paid. It really annoys me aswell when someone outbids you on con acre and you know only too well that he won't pay for some proportion of the land and in turn this high transaction for renting is used as a base for increasing my current rents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You can only eat one dinner. Success needn't always be measured in monetary terms.

Success is running your farm or business as best you can, within your means, without doing harm to no one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Reilig, the mart owes you the money, its not your problem that they were stupid and sold stock to a guy who hasn't paid them. thats the mart managers job to sus out his clients. These non payers usually cost the rest of buyers money aswell as they are usually pay the highest prices as if your not going to pay what difference does price make. thankfully most people around here pay as I hate no payers.

we all push credit lines to the last when expanding but everyone has to gets paid. It really annoys me aswell when someone outbids you on con acre and you know only too well that he won't pay for some proportion of the land and in turn this high transaction for renting is used as a base for increasing my current rents.

The mart oweing me money is not my point. I know the manager, he has spoken to me. We have dealth with him for years and know that we will get paid.

You were making the point that people are begrudging others because they appear to be doing well for themselves. Well to the neighbours of the guy who bought these cattle, he is doing well for himself. He has bought a big bunch of cattle for the winter and to all of his neighbours, he has paid for them in full. My point is that things are not always as they seem. For every man that's "doing well" legitamately, there's another man who's breaking other men's backs to get where he is.

Its no wonder there are begrudgers out there!!
    As I said, its not jealousy, its knowing the whole truth. Not every man is crooked, but there are loads of them out there!

Like you, I don't like no payers. You might remember Last year, there was a court case which made the farming press about a farmer and his son who were in court over land that they bought 10 years ago and someone started a thread about it. It made local and national press - these guys were big dairy farmers. The IFA were on their side and there was outrage. The IFA weren't long walking away when they found out what every local within 20 miles of the farm knew - they never made 1 repayment on the land and it took the bank 10 years to get the land back from them. These guys were renouned for being non payers, the local co-ops wouldn't even give them credit.

reilig wrote: »
    The mart oweing me money is not my point. I know the manager, he has spoken to me. We have dealth with him for years and know that we will get paid.

You were making the point that people are begrudging others because they appear to be doing well for themselves. Well to the neighbours of the guy who bought these cattle, he is doing well for himself. He has bought a big bunch of cattle for the winter and to all of his neighbours, he has paid for them in full. My point is that things are not always as they seem. For every man that's "doing well" legitamately, there's another man who's breaking other men's backs to get where he is.

Its no wonder there are begrudgers out there!!
    As I said, its not jealousy, its knowing the whole truth. Not every man is crooked, but there are loads of them out there!

but why havnt you gotten paid as normal, the mart manager shouldn't be doing his dirty washing in public either. Its his bad business and no ones else's who owes the mart money. The mart should be well able to pay for animals week in week out, it reasons like this that the financial regulator has started to impose scansions regarding credit and rightly so.

I will take issue with you saying there are loads of crooks out there as either we have being very lucky or everyone in this part of the country is much more honest. of course there is the odd one but they are everywhere.

anyway point taken about people that are doing well for themselves and paying no one. For some reason I have never seen anyone that leaves debts around getting rich. Why is this. If i didn't bother paying a few creditors each year I would be rolling the cash

I retired when I went to ag college, saying to myself im going to make a comeback every year but its hard to find the time for it. There used to be a corner back playing for Miltown, Brendan was his first name, Many's the bust up we had and I often met him in Lahinch after and I would be itching to make for him, the joys of football :rolleyes:
    A yea poor auld Miltown, they've the fighting in the genes but not the football;).

I've training tomorrow night, I'll be enquiring as to who Brendan is.

reilig wrote: »
    Fair play to the man who does good for himself. Those who invest time and energy are entitled to a return. However, sometimes it is difficult to distinguish between the genuine people and the cheats. lord knows, there are still a lot of con men out there who don't care who they walk all over or who they ruin in order to succeed.

I suppose what I am trying to say is that people aren't always as they appear. Paper never refuses ink. Some people can put on a great show for the viewers. etc. etc.

Hmm... High profile Cavan business man seems to come to mind.

anyway point taken about people that are doing well for themselves and paying no one. For some reason I have never seen anyone that leaves debts around getting rich. Why is this. If i didn't bother paying a few creditors each year I would be rolling the cash
    I agree with you on this one. It only works for a while and eventually catchs up with you. Bernie Madoff's multi-billion ponzi scheme comes to mind. He was praised for his business prowess and then it all collapsed around him. In fact he was relieved when questioned by the police because after 15 years he could finally tell the truth.

Rather than not paying debts, I believe successful people are just well organised and astute. They seek out as much credit (60-90 days or more) they can get but do pay. They realise that the repeat business is where the real money is. Look at the likes of Tesco. They get paid on the day for their product but squeeze every last bit out their suppliers. Fair enough they're tough and I'm glad I'm not dealing with them, but I don't believe they renege on payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Saturday 2 weeks ago i went to 4 people to collect money, then wasted monday aswell going to two more. Got five promises from the six visits and a loss of fifteen hundred on the other just to get something in. Most of these people would be the sort who will tell you, "you'll have no bother here, i'm one of the few people round here that suppliers will take cheques off" and all that sh1te. two visits to one place today, manager told me there was no one there to write cheques, i said well you wrote the last one two weeks ago. no the owner has to sign it and hes gone away, was the reply. I said hes outside, i just met him. I'll give you a guess how much i went home with.
    There are a lot of people out there who are honest but currently i'm not seeing too many. Its days like these i would bend over to have a 8-5 with the wages in every friday.

A yea poor auld Miltown, they've the fighting in the genes but not the football;).

I've training tomorrow night, I'll be enquiring as to who Brendan is.

And sure if your playing for the lads a few miles down the road you will be able to play the ball and the man :D I was on the developement squad with a few of the miltown lads when I was younger.

There was an agricultural contractor near us, a few years back. He was starting out at the time, but he soon got a reputation for not paying people. He would have new drivers every few weeks. Well he arrived in at a neighbours one day to do work. The farmer got talking to the young lad driving and said to him "well, I hope he's paying ya".
    For a finish the young fella and the contractor were arguing at the bottom of the field, with the contractor pulling some notes out of his pocket and throwing them down on the ground.....:D

I have the land set to a guy for the winter, just dry cows grazing it tight. Anyway, got talking about a neighbour who bounds me and the first thing he says is "paddy says you will be selling this soon!". Be Jaysus says I. The ink isn't dry on the paperwork and it's for sale! And the thing about it is, he is a great neighbour!!!