Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why you cant have nice things in ireland!

• 16-08-2012 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭

fecking scumbags and pieces of aborted ****.

I got new alloys up on my car, and the first time misses goes to town in it and parks in public underground carpark some scumbag to the part of centre cap off the alloy.

60F5C1BA-7C8A-4CF0-8C3F-136A82453744-2121-000006CD977538CE.jpg

what a ****ing scumbag low life assholes!

sorry for language, but i am so pissed off, that i could punch a kitten! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just.... Speechless :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

cute-kittenweee.jpg

Seriously though, that's **** behaviour. It's like having a cabrio here, you leave the roof down for 30 mins, some bastard spits in it or throws rubbish into it. Hope karma gets them back.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

Maybe it just fell off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

I hope they choke on the badges. Who was it that was saying there's no place for superglue on a car ? Think you just proved them wrong !

funny-pictures-cat-is-innocent-and-hurt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Maybe a stray pot hole caused it to jump off?
    bijapos wrote: »
    It's like having a cabrio here, you leave the roof down for 30 mins, some bastard spits in it or throws rubbish into it. Hope karma gets them back.

I must be lucky, often leave the car parked with the roof down (though not in Dublin yet) and have never had an issue, besides bird crap on the drivers seat :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Thats bad form. What can you do only keep going. Would a replacement be hard to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

kikel wrote: »
    Maybe it just fell off.

it didnt. i was checking those even before it went on the car. i dont know if you can see in picture but it has places where it was just ripped off. the only way it could fall of, if you would go at 120km/h over speed bump.

that was clearly broken off by some sad little ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Sure it wasn't the missus?....

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Shower of little scrots, karma will call around to them I'm sure of that. Maybe you could pick up a cap on ebay? Is it just the one?

Tallon wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't the missus?....

:P

yeah, i know. as much as i would like to pin that on her, i cant. :o she is more carefull driver then i am by a long shot.

i emailed the crowed i got wheels off, maybe they will be able to help me out. surely centre caps should not be too expensive?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rota-alloys-Centre-Cap-Silver-Medium-Top-caps-/230512734219?pt=UK_CarParts_Acc_Wheels_tyres_Trims_Car_Rims_ET&hash=item35aba1300b#ht_1133wt_1397

15eu for one... :rolleyes: i wonder if i need to order 10 of these, incase those scumbags got lust for these and using those caps in their sex life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rota-alloys-Centre-Cap-Silver-Medium-Top-caps-/230512734219?pt=UK_CarParts_Acc_Wheels_tyres_Trims_Car_Rims_ET&hash=item35aba1300b#ht_1133wt_1397

15eu for one... :rolleyes: i wonder if i need to order 10 of these, incase those scumbags got lust for these and using those caps in their sex life.

Ur lucky it won't cost u more! And no u can't have nice things in Ireland!!! Some s**t keyed my car 2 years ago in Dublin all the way from the front wing mirror to the rear bumper!! Cost me €1700 to get it resprayed!

Yesterday some other s**t smashed my brothers rear window in an underground carpark!

...... It just makes me so angry.... But sure what can u do...... :-(

Sligo1 wrote: »
    Ur lucky it won't cost u more! And no u can't have nice things in Ireland!!! Some s**t keyed my car 2 years ago in Dublin all the way from the front wing mirror to the rear bumper!! Cost me €1700 to get it resprayed!

Yesterday some other s**t smashed my brothers rear window in an underground carpark!

you right, i might over react, i know it could be a lot worse, but when i sow it i could flipping kill the fecker who did it. first day car goes in to public and it comes back with some damage done by some little ****.

i placed order on rota ebay website for 2 caps and blue locknuts, but they did not specified delivery charges so now i need to wait on email... oh boy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

You'd be only tempting fate. :mad: :(
    I bought two aerials to replace a missing one, assuming that one would be stolen.

Was it stolen? No! the inbred scum cracked it off, base and all, raked it along the quarter panel and threw it on my bonnet. So now I have two aerials, but nothing to screw them into.

All you can do is believe in and rely on Karma...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

you right, i might over react, i know it could be a lot worse, but when i sow it i could flipping kill the fecker who did it. first day car goes in to public and it comes back with some damage done by some little ****.

i placed order on rota ebay website for 2 caps and blue locknuts, but they did not specified delivery charges so now i need to wait on email... oh boy..

Gosh I don't think you're overreacting at all! Just angry that there are so many jealous bitter b******'s out there! Hope it doesn't cost you too much for the delivery. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭PattheMetaller

Sickend so I am. Silly question maybe, but had the car park CCTV? Would it not be in the interests of the Car Park owners that it doesn't get a reputation for this sort of thing?

its a free underground carpark, i doubt they got CCTV there at all. they just dont give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

I would be regarded by most people who know me, as a very easy going, calm, rational type. But this type of wanton, inexcusable, pointless vandalism really makes my blood boil. I would do time for a scumbag such as those discussed here.

But, I take consolation from the fact, that given the mentality of someone who does this to your car, they will NEVER amount to anything. They will NEVER know the satisfaction of working, saving, buying and being proud of their car. They will NEVER understand the concept of fair play, they will NEVER be more than the mindless thugs that they are. And maybe, just maybe, they have some inkling of this fact and rather than try to improve their lot in life, the best that they can do is to try and drag everyone else down to their level. This way they dont feel isolated or marginalised, despite the fact that it is they, by their very actions, who put themselves outside of decent mainstream society.

Take heart, your pride an joy has been damaged, true, but you still have it and the sense of value and worth that goes with it. The scumbag will NEVER know this feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

langdang wrote: »
    I bought two aerials to replace a missing one,

Cars still have aerials??

To be fair though, that's a disgrace. I stopped using nice dust caps years back. Generally swiped in a matter of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Everybody is being so hard on the young lads who do these things. They are victims of the circumstances in which they are born. Mostly they are misunderstood. Mammy usually isn't such a good Mammy.....she's good at claimin' but not very good at rearin', if ya know what I mean. An Pops doesn't want to know.....the young lad never had a chance. And skewl ?.....well that was a bit of a disaster area too but maybe he'll win it big on the horses or maybe even the Lorro.....janorramean ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Well, in the last 5 years or so I've had my new car keyed, the wing mirror stolen of another, the spare wheel stolen, and another car stolen altogether. You could have done worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭boz13

Do you mind me asking where it happened?

boz13 wrote: »
    Do you mind me asking where it happened?

mallow.

some people may think i over reacted, maybe. though keep in mind i just put up new alloys and on the first trip in to public it got vandalised. it did not happen in a week, in a month, in a year. it fecking happened the first time it got out of my driveway!

cheers for support lads, i already placed order for 2 centre caps and awaiting on confirmation on delivery charge. i will get it sorted.

i just hope who ever did it will choke on sausage roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

MugMugs wrote: »
    I bought two aerials to replace a missing one,

Cars still have aerials??

To be fair though, that's a disgrace. I stopped using nice dust caps years back. Generally swiped in a matter of days.
    In bangernomics they do, at least. Aerial, antenna, blah blah. What are you receiving on, some kinda optical transmission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭boz13

mallow.

some people may think i over reacted, maybe. though keep in mind i just put up new alloys and on the first trip in to public it got vandalised. it did not happen in a week, in a month, in a year. it fecking happened the first time it got out of my driveway!

cheers for support lads, i already placed order for 2 centre caps and awaiting on confirmation on delivery charge. i will get it sorted.

i just hope who ever did it will choke on sausage roll.

i dont think you over reacted at all, hopefully whoever did it will get what they deserve some day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Someone stole 2 metal valve caps from my car, not all four but just 2!! Left the rear ones alone. Must have been some scut looking for new caps for his stolen Raleigh Activator push bike.

It angered the sh!te of me even it being such a trivial theft.

some people may think i over reacted, maybe. ...............

Not at all, dirty scumbag pr1cks would boil your p1ss.
    In bangernomics they do, at least. Aerial, antenna, blah blah. What are you receiving on, some kinda optical transmission?

Lots of yokes had the "aerial" in built in the rear screen etc in the 90s :)

I'm fairly sure my 1993 e34 did.

The 2005 Mondeo I had did have a screw off sh1tty aerial on it though iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

title is misleading

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

There is no Citizenship in Ireland just a Tavern Patriotism so Law & Order are not treated seriously enough .We also have a morbid appetite for bad news .

NinjaK wrote: »
    title is misleading

Not overly so in fairness.
    Unless your one of these pompous w@nkers that reckon nice equates to costing a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Dionysius2 wrote: »
    Everybody is being so hard on the young lads who do these things. They are victims of the circumstances in which they are born. Mostly they are misunderstood. Mammy usually isn't such a good Mammy.....she's good at claimin' but not very good at rearin', if ya know what I mean. An Pops doesn't want to know.....the young lad never had a chance. And skewl ?.....well that was a bit of a disaster area too but maybe he'll win it big on the horses or maybe even the Lorro.....janorramean ?

Interesting. I know of a guy who used to go around when he was 16, 17, 18 ripping stars off the bonnets of Mercs, damaged a fair few Beemers trying to pry the badges off them too. Came from a decent middle class family, I mean decent in that his parents are decent people.

His job today? Solicitor. Car today? Was an Alfa, then a C-Class, now has one of the last built Saab 9-5's. So no he didn't come from a "scumbag family", he just became one himself or through people he hung around with then. Scum are scum no matter what their upbringing.

I used to live near Temple Road in Dublin 6, very nice cars there but nobody leaves them on the street at night. Why? because they get permanently vandalised, mostly by people in their late teens-early 20's. No coincidence that Trinity Halls a student accomodation for Trinity students is at one end of Temple Road and the Luas is at the other. Scum are scum no matter where they come from or what their education is.

The other problem here is the justice system, even if you do catch one on video in the act, you make a citizens arrest, you could be done for any amount of crap from assault to wrongful detention. The rare times that it goes to court the scum tend to get a slap on the wrists, nothing more, the system tends to be on the side of petty crimminals here, and while it doesn't necessarily let them off it's not enough to dissuade them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Sickener

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭PassMoz

And the sick thing about this country is that this little **** probably does the same thing to other cars every night of the week.

And if he is ever caught, nothing will happen to him, just a slap on the wrist....because this Country is messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I would say begrudgery originated in Ireland

btw, i just to make it clear, i did not wanted to do that as an attack at ireland. that could happen in any country any place. unfortunately not a single country are safe from dip**** scumbags.

thing is i never had my car vandalised even once over period of 8 years. It was quite shocking for this to happen. i Just hoe those centre caps will come over soon. every single time i see that missing cap it just pisses me off and i imagine in my head how i would kick the fecker in a head if i would have cough him in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭evanSpiddal

Got home from work this evening to see some little fecker is after breaking the mirror off my car :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Reading this thread makes me think that if I ever move back to a more urban area I'll be bloody sure to have a garage I can put my car into at night.

SD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Even out here in the arse end of nowhere, cars get vandalised/tampered with. Happened to us and a fair few cars. Woke up to find the bonnet of the E34 popped up and the Merc bonnet twisted, we were foaming at the mouth that someone did that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Friend of mine got her Alpha 157 resprayed, it looked beautiful.

She parks it in a public car park, comes back and some CNUT keyed it.

WTF is wrong with people, why begrudge someone like that?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We swapped our old values for new ones .No surprises really .We espoused the Telly and all it's seductive values .......plenty more on the way....apathy will make sure of that ........we're Grand ...we're in demand..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

There is one message that wrongdoers here in Hibernia are not getting and it is this: if you do wrong.....and you are caught.....there will be consequences that will impact you for many a day. Plus the judiciary in too many instances are proving themselves to be clueless. We, the people are watching and we are not fools. We can plainly see that we are not getting the kind of direction and leadership we are entitled to expect from those who were entrusted and empowered to lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Sorry to hear that OP. Absolute scum, but at least your car was not damaged, like so many others every day of the week. My mitsubishi dust caps were stolen from my car a few days ago. I don't know if it was in my garden, or outside my office, but i'm inclined to think it was a midnight job by some low life saddo. New caps arrived today. I'm also waiting on new centre caps. One was missing, but may have fallen off after being glued on recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I've had dust caps taken, well a lot of people I know has so I no longer have the silver metal ones, just keep a stash of them black plastic ones in the car. The fcukers even rob them!

My uncle has an E39 523i and came out of a function to find both his front foglights gone along the the wiring about inches back. What he would have done to catch them.

I've had BMW badges stolen off the bonnet and boot of my E28. Hopefully Karma teaches them.

Oh and my father found two wheel nuts taken off his car not too long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Emigrate. You don't get this carry on in most developed countries around the world (except the UK maybe..)

There'll be nothing left except the scum left to key each other's cars then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Emigrate. You don't get this carry on in most developed countries around the world (except the UK maybe..)

Are you being serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

I used to have my metal valve caps stolen routinely every few days, eventually I threw in the towel and went back to plastic. I felt more pity than rage that someone would be reduced to that.

where i came from i would be lucky if they would leave my car on bricks after they stole all wheels. ireland is not as bad as people think, but yes, there are a few young dip**** scums, who have nothing to do. I bet the little **** who did that just threw that cap away on the way home.

anyway, just placed order and payed on 2 centre caps 15eu each and blue bolt nuts. Ill fix car up and make it even nicer.

on the other hand misses just drove of to blarney on mx5, i wonder if she will come back with even more damage. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

renofan wrote: »
    I've had dust caps taken, well a lot of people I know has so I no longer have the silver metal ones, just keep a stash of them black plastic ones in the car. The fcukers even rob them!
    This was one of the reasons I moved from (the part of) Dublin to the sticks, they used to steal my cheap ebay Valve caps constantly. I used to buy metals and spray them white like the wheels, but it became pointless. Every kids bike in the neighborhood must of had fancy valve caps in the end!

I also came out one day to find the two rear steel wheels stolen from a Micra. I assume they wanted tyres or something as the wheels were worthless. Also some of the Irish kids (not the foreign ones) used to walk up and spit on your car if they saw you cleaning it. One look at the "parents" and their behavior was no surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Matt Simis wrote: »
    renofan wrote: »
    This was one of the reasons I moved from (the part of) Dublin to the sticks, they used to steal my cheap ebay Valve caps constantly. I used to buy metals and spray them white like the wheels, but it became pointless. Every kids bike in the neighborhood must of had fancy valve caps in the end!

I also came out one day to find the two rear steel wheels stolen from a Micra. I assume they wanted tyres or something as the wheels were worthless. Also some of the Irish kids (not the foreign ones) used to walk up and spit on your car if they saw you cleaning it. One look at the "parents" and their behavior was no surprise.

I picked up a set of Alfa hex-shaped valve caps on eBay for 5 quid and they all have a little anti-theft grub screw which is tightened by a little Allen key.