Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dual co axiale cable

• 14-08-2012 8:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

Hi

I noticed after my satellite guy moved things around a bit ...the reception had deteriorated somewhat. I thought it might have been the old sky box , I told him about it and he suggested getting a scart sockey from box direct to TV.I did that and noticed no difference. I changed the box yesterday with another box (old sky plus box ) not being used anymore ...and while the reception has improved a small bit ..its still not like what it was before he came to the house. I did notice that he has used a dual cable (two cables but much smaller than the standard coaxiale single cable) in this set up , i just wondered although the run is short could it deplete the signal , which would account for the decrease in signal quality

thks a lot
    M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

What exactly has deteriorated that using a scart cable was supposed to offer an improvement?

Where has he used this "dual" cable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Extinction

Pure guess but I reckon the picture on screen has deteriorated and it's not a signal issue, the box was probably connected by rf and the installer suggested switching to scart. Probaly best to try a different scart input on the tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭minder2009

thks extinction

you were bang on on your wise oponions!!
    correct on both counts

change input grand now..

Fair play!

So nothing to do with the installed coax. cable then?

I suppose you're disappointed you didn't get to have another go at the installer?

Whatever, Claire. :confused:

Yes, the thinner "shotgun" type cable will have higher signal losses than RG6 or "100" type coax.

Maybe you could have told us where exactly this cable was used: it's certainly no worse than most pre-terminated flyleads you can get for connecting between wallplate & tv or tv & VCR etc.

Edit: Should have quoted his/her post before he/she deleted it ...

Claire, I could have made the same assumption/guess as Extinction, but I thought I'd make you clarify just exactly what you were talking about first, as I really thought you were just looking for an excuse to rant about "cowboys" & such.

Even if he were to rant about cowboys he would be justified to do so. The first installer to attempt what sounded like a simple enough job messed it up completely and refused in the end to put it right or refund the money paid. The second installer installed a sat4free box even though he was specifically asked to install a freesat box. A quick look around the internet shows those of us who know the business that there are no end of cowboy retailers and installers ripping customers off by misusing brand names, Minder is another one of these customers who found out too late that he had been ripped off.

Even now, months after the original post from minder he is still trying to complete the job himself and from what I've read of his posts he must have ended up paying a small fortune for the pleasure of being ripped off by cowboys.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

From what I can remember the poster Minder asked the 1st so called Installer for a Saorview Combi to be installed and this installer put in the wrong box. And this Installer is with 1 of the trade bodies. I wonder has the trade body acted on it.
    Its the genuine unsuspecting people like minder I feel sorry for. Paying massive amounts of money for what he believes is Saorview and Freesat and been left with a total mess that he is trying to tidy up himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭Cesium Clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,547 ✭✭✭✭muffler

I see you forgot (again) which account you were using

Edit: that was directed at navanclaire who signed off as minder....post removed apparently

Yap someone here is putting me off getting involved!! co=incidence /smart phone error

Quote: Navarre
    From what I can remember the poster Minder asked the 1st so called Installer for a Saorview Combi to be installed and this installer put in the wrong box. And this Installer is with 1 of the trade bodies. I wonder has the trade body acted on it.
    Its the genuine unsuspecting people like minder I feel sorry for. Paying massive amounts of money for what he believes is Saorview and Freesat and been left with a total mess that he is trying to tidy up himself.

Hi yeah that was it , he agreed to put in triax 114 but slipped in a cheaper walker box .. He refused to give me a receipt. He caused me terrible grief and considerable financial outlay but really what was very disappointing was basically that I had to keep on and on to try get him to return .. Eventually the trade body that he was in interceded ... I lost over 100 euro over him ... He was dishonest in his dealings with me. Funnily enough I was in the post office in a nearby town yesterday and I was glancing through a local free paper I see his add in big writing ... I couldn't but feel sorry for prospective customers that contact him , should things go wrong , and they need him back ... !!! I don't envy their chances ... The second guy in fairness has the thing going grand ( small issue with slightly less clear reception on one tv , but changed the box myself ) and it's much improved ... This 2nd man put in a " sat 4 free" box in kitchen where I had a new expensive tv installed and that box is free to air , basic and grand but cannot cope with HD ... The Olympics was in slow motion HD for me... When I discovered this HD problem and told him he said and I quote ... You are the very first one to complain about it !!! I told him this sat4 free were in the country for a while and left over copyright or some sort of issue .. He was aware of that , but he then wondered was he being duped by his supplier!! This guy is in the business and I believe him to be honest ... So i don't know ....but I do know I have to pay him excess 400 euro later today to put an octo on the dish to allow another cable which is required for this sat4 free box replacement .... , I asked him for a humax as I want a reliable and hopefully problem freesat box , similar to the sky plus without the subscription ..... Please god that's it!!! It has been a sore and expensive experience I was unlucky with who I chose , but sure that is life .... There are bad apples in every barrell!!! Having said that , I have got brilliant advice and guidance from one or two genuine honest decent , installers here ... For which I am grateful
    Minder

It is unfortunate that your thread has the title that it does but its very understandable that a member of the public who is not in the business would suspect a cable/signal issue is these kind of situations. Although with all of the experience you have re installing your own system over the past few months you should have known better :D

The good news is firstly you are getting to the end of your problems and hopefully all will be resolved soon and secondly you have now reached the level of Grade A cowboy installer and you are as entitled as anyone to kit out a van with a ladder etc and join the posse, actually you probably are more experienced than most so you should look to join that trade body that shall not be mentioned. The Bob the Builder one!

And the original installer has been removed from the saorview retailers list,

I was told last year by RTE that an Installer cannot be a Approved Retailer.
    So how can a Door to Door sales company can get approval to sell saorview.

Claire, I could have made the same assumption/guess as Extinction, but I thought I'd make you clarify just exactly what you were talking about first, as I really thought you were just looking for an excuse to rant about "cowboys" & such.

Mix up here. My post. New smart phone. Missus used it ... Unsure how to log out on new phone. Sorted now . Just to add I never rant. Certainly not about installers. I only relate my experience factually. Majority of people here are fair minded and helpful.
    Regards. Minder.

Navarre wrote: »

I was told last year by RTE that an Installer cannot be a Approved Retailer.
    So how can a Door to Door sales company can get approval to sell saorview.

This guy said he was an approved installer too. I went with him because of that as I felt that was a gaurntee of sorts that he would have certain standards. He changed that to a registered installer/retailer now. Saorview dislike the term approved installer , no problem with "registered" - word play - it's really the luck if the draw. Regulation is urgently required here .
    Elderly people who see adds on tv etc ... Re "digital " and are unsure what it means .... are very vunerable in the run up to the switch over
    Minder

muffler wrote: »
    I see you forgot (again) which account you were using

Edit: that was directed at navanclaire who signed off as minder....post removed apparently

Error .. New phone .... Log out issues ... Sorted now

NO

minder2009 wrote: »
    This guy said he was an approved installer too. I went with him because of that as I felt that was a gaurntee of sorts that he would have certain standards. He changed that to a registered installer/retailer now. Saorview dislike the term approved installer , no problem with "registered" - word play - it's really the luck if the draw. Regulation is urgently required here .
    Elderly people who see adds on tv etc ... Re "digital " and are unsure what it means .... are very vunerable in the run up to the switch over
    Minder

Its a free for all.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78494075&postcount=296
    And its the Insured tax paying installers and the unsuspecting public that are been hard done by. Anyhow it has been brought to the attention of the Minister of communications a few times and all he done was to pass it back to Saorview http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/05/02/00040.asp why??..
    The people of saorview will be gone back to their own jobs after oct24th when Saorview switch over is completed and either way saorview has nothing to do with a installer putting up a 1 metre dish for Arab/Turkish TV, Installing a head-end system, Putting in distribution system for a Sky install or hanging a LCD screen on a wall.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

20 replies to a thread because an installer forgot to reconnect a scart cable from a Sky box? :confused:

Peter Rhea wrote: »
    20 replies to a thread because an installer forgot to reconnect a scart cable from a Sky box? :confused:

And you read them all, :)

Yep, and if the first or second installer had done a proper job there would have been no threads or replys.

Yep, ol' minder got what he wanted. I would think his judgement regarding the tradesmen he employed was being questioned & now he has more "evidence" (via knee-jerk reactions from the usual suspects) that there are "cowboys" everywhere & he doesn't personally bear any of the responsibility.

and a 'knee jerk' reaction from his solicitor, and the usual tripe from the 'armchair pundits'

Yes Minder got what he wanted, a decent picture on his tv, is there a problem with that? By the usual suspects you might as well include me if you haven't already, l do think it is incompetence by cowboys that has led minder here seeking help, ln all fairness it takes a special kind of idiot to connect by rf and not scart lead in that situation. Minder came on the threads for help and the usual suspects managed to help him with courtesy and respect and for good measure showed the man a bit of understanding about the situation he was left with. If thats a knee jerk reaction then so be it.

Extinction wrote: »
    Minder came on the threads for help and the usual suspects managed to help him with courtesy and respect ...

His installer had already advised him to reconnect the scart cable. Minder came on here hoping to find fault with the type of coax. cable used (& still hasn't specified where it was actually used: the Skybox rf connections or what?).

Minder came on the threads for help and the usual suspects managed to help him with courtesy and respect ...

His installer had already advised him to reconnect the scart cable. Minder came on here hoping to find fault with the type of coax. cable used (& still hasn't specified where it was actually used: the Skybox rf connections or what?).

Minder came on here hoping to find fault with the type of coax. cable used....

Do you do readings ? Tarot cards ? Read tea leaves? Have you a website ? This is an amazing insight you have. I am sure people who come here seeking advice or what peoples experiences are ... Must find your continual negative attitude off putting.

Thats quite a change in attitude since you were the one who made a smart comment to minder about being disapointed at not being able to rant about installers. I don't see anywhere that minder said he was hoping to find fault with the cable or the installer before you made that comment, he came on describing the problem and asked if the cable could be causing the problem because he was trying to troubleshoot it himself. As for the installer telling minder to connect the scart lead, why didn't the installer do that himself? Why did the installer leave an inferior quality picture? Why didn't the installer go back when minder said the pucture quality wasn't right? Telling the customer to basically go fix it themselves is very poor service and the usual suspects that you decided to have a pop at for no reason would be in agreement on that.

Anyway this conversation should be in the private installers forum because the mods don't want these type of discussions in the main threads. If you want to continue we can discuss it there.

. . . As for the installer telling minder to connect the scart lead, why didn't the installer do that himself?

Maybe the installer left things the way he found them, the scart connections might have already been in use for other devices, or maybe the Sky box scart was looped through something, since the installer later suggested a 'direct' connection to the tv.

OP never mentioned noticing that he was selecting the Sky box output using a different method than before i.e. an analogue UHF channel rather than an AV input.

Well if he did leave it the way he found it then that was a bit unacceptable realy because he was only there because the customer wasn't happy with it being the way he found it. As for the scarts being in use for other devices, well thats a non runner seeing as it was a box with a vcr input, the installer simply had to remove a scart from the tv and connect it to the vcr input and connect the sky box via scart to the tv.

Minder's whole setup was in the attic up until a couple of months ago anyway.

He could have provided a bit of a description of how things are now or when it was changed. For all we know, he was just so used to watching on a UHF channel, he kept on using this method.

Can't Sky remotes be programmed to automatically select an analogue tv channel on switching on the box (or maybe the scart should override this)?

Yes a sky remote will usually change the inputs on a tv. The remote firstly needs to be set to the tv and when in tv mode the help button allows you to toggle between inputs. You can also programe the green button to a particular tv channel or input, so lets say you have a dvd on a HDMI2, you can set the sky remote to change to HDMI2 when you press the tv button followed by the green button.

Why did the installer leave an inferior quality picture? Why didn't the installer go back when minder said the pucture quality wasn't right? Telling the customer to basically go fix it themselves is very poor service ...

Maybe he did offer to go back? Maybe minder couldn't wait?

And then the mysterious "dual coaxiale cable" caught his eye ...

Maybe we should continue in the installers thread, minder got his problem sorted at the 4th post in this thread and we should maybe just leave it and discuss the others issues that have been raised amongst ourselves in private?

See you there,

All done and dusted at long last!!
    Job complete ... Everything working as it should! Thanks for all the help

Regards.
    M

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Minder2009 and navanclaire both permanently banned for being blatantly the same user. I've never permanently banned anyone before but Boards.ie does not allow the same person to have two users accounts.

If I find that there are other people doing the same thing (and I have my suspicions) there will be more bans handed out.

If I see any more threads like this I will start investigating whether the restrictions on installers posting in Terrestrial should also be extended to Satellite.

No back seat moderation please.

Thread closed.