Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fairview Bike Thieves

• 13-08-2012 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭

Stopped two scumbags stealing two bikes outside Tesco in Fairview tonight.
    Asked them what they were doing and they calmly responded, "stealing bikes". Asked Tesco staff to call the Gardai but they refused. I filmed it on my phone and they ran off when I got closer to them.
    Most annoying part was people walking by and not botherd by it.
    Both bike owners were inside doing their shopping.
    Bad video quality but at least it scared them off.

<Snip> - no videos of alleged bike thieves allowed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Fair play to you buddy ,jeez nothing is safe these days .:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Dipsomaniac

Nicely done. Good work

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Note

Video removed

See here for Boards policy on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Why did you not call the Guards on your own phone? Shocking that Tesco refused mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Id ring the tesco tomorrow pretending I'm one of the people who was inside shopping while their bike was being stolen, demand to speak to the manager

Rip the face off him/her down the phone over their stores complete lack of concern towards a blatant theft of a customers possessions while they are in the store.

I know its a lie, but it might get them to change their attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

MadsL wrote: »
    Why did you not call the Guards on your own phone? Shocking that Tesco refused mind.
    Because I knew they wouldn't really be bothered and by the time the would have arrived the bikes would have been gone. I'd rather have videoed them to scare them off and if that hadn't worked I was going to kick the guy in the face. After they ran off I called the Gardai and reported the incident. I've also made a complaint to Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Pity you can't post videos of people trying to steal bikes. Bullshít policy to be honest.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Effects wrote: »
    Pity you can't post videos of people trying to steal bikes. Bullshít policy to be honest.
    If you have a problem with this PM the Mods or take it to feedback. The link I posted explains why this policy is in place - no further discussion of this policy here

Beasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The bikes were outside Tesco?

If so, how are they in any way responsible for them or for calling the Guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭bigpoppa

Sometimes it is not about who is responsible but just doing the right thing. For example if you ran into my house and said can you call the Gardai as someone is breaking into my car down the street I would do it. It is the right thing to do.

Also whilst not technically their responsibility (perhaps) it would be good for customers in that when they come out with their shopping they might be pleased to return to their bike and not a cut lock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Well done op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Again, well done you, simple acts of citizenship shouldn't be exceptional, but sadly you are an exceptional human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

bigpoppa wrote: »
    Also whilst not technically their responsibility (perhaps) it would be good for customers in that when they come out with their shopping they might be pleased to return to their bike and not a cut lock?

Tesco in not-giving-a-shít-about-customers shocker. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

I managed to see that video before it was snipped, couldn't believe how young the lads were, 12? 13?

So openly cutting the locks of the bikes in front of everyone.

Well done OP, I certainly wouldn't have just walked past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

oflahero wrote: »

How come broadsheet has no problem showing it but Boards does?

The only legal reason I can think of would be for defamation reason but the ultimate and best defence to that tort is truth. It is 100% clear here that those guys were trying to steal the bikes, therefore there is no falsity and thus no defamation.

Surinam wrote: »
    How come broadsheet has no problem showing it but Boards does?

Did you read the policy?
    Beasty wrote: »
    See here for Boards policy on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

Lumen wrote: »
    Did you read the policy?

Yes but as I stated above - it is 100% crystal clear from the video what they were doing, therefore no defamation. No one is saying "here is mr x, he is a criminal", they are saying "this unidentified person is doing something to those bikes - here is a video". The video is not doctored in any way.

How can all those millions of videos on youtubes of crimes etc never be taken down but Boards does? I think certain legal advisors are being far too cautious and it is one of the reasons this country is in the state it is - people have no backbone and therefore the worst in society go on being unaccountable. The London riots prove that video recording makes a huge difference in making people think twice about what they're doing and assists in convictions. Who's to say that someone on here will be able to identify the two lads and inform the Gards? THe more people that see the video the better.

EDIT: I do however see the point that a low-funded site like Boards would be wary of even remotely risking ending up in court for hosting a video. But I suppose I just am having a general rant on the state of this country's legal system :-(

Yes but as I stated above - it is 100% crystal clear from the video what they were doing, therefore no defamation. No one is saying "here is mr x, he is a criminal", they are saying "this unidentified person is doing something to those bikes - here is a video". The video is not doctored in any way.

How can all those millions of videos on youtubes of crimes etc never be taken down but Boards does? I think certain legal advisors are being far too cautious and it is one of the reasons this country is in the state it is - people have no backbone and therefore the worst in society go on being unaccountable. The London riots prove that video recording makes a huge difference in making people think twice about what they're doing and assists in convictions. Who's to say that someone on here will be able to identify the two lads and inform the Gards? THe more people that see the video the better.

For the reasons stated Boards don't want to take the risk.

Fortunately Tim Berners-Lee saw fit to give us the hyperlink, so it's moot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Jawgap wrote: »

Because "Every little Helps" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Hammertime wrote: »
    Id ring the tesco tomorrow pretending I'm one of the people who was inside shopping while their bike was being stolen, demand to speak to the manager

Rip the face off him/her down the phone over their stores complete lack of concern towards a blatant theft of a customers possessions while they are in the store.

I know its a lie, but it might get them to change their attitude.

There's no need to lie. All you need to do is say you reqd online that the store refused to call the cops on someone stealing a customer's bicycle. And call Tesco HQ in Ireland, and if you have the time also their world HQ in Britain with the same complaint.

So the complaint is that the staff in Tesco are not civic minded enough :rolleyes:

EDIT: I do however see the point that a low-funded site like Boards would be wary of even remotely risking ending up in court for hosting a video. But I suppose I just am having a general rant on the state of this country's legal system :-(
    Mods are here to implement the policy. It's not our job to defend, or even explain it. If anyone wishes to discuss it further, take it to Feedback. There is to be no more discussion of the policy in this thread - final warning

Beasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Originally Posted by bigpoppa

Well there is a concept in Law called "Duty of Care", in the same way that you would go to the aid of a drowning person. As far as I remember you could be liable for NOT carrying out your duty of care to the victim. Mack in Cavan

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I managed to see that video before it was snipped, couldn't believe how young the lads were, 12? 13?

That's in the age bracket of most bike thieves in Dublin I've come across. The range would be 10-16.

Followed on from them there's also very the obvious older junkies, and the lesser seen pros / more stealthy thieves.

monument wrote: »
    That's in the age bracket of most bike thieves in Dublin I've come across. The range would be 10-16.

Followed on from them there's also very the obvious older junkies, and the lesser seen pros / more stealthy thieves.

It's the traditional training route to burglary: learn that you can profit from stealing bicycles and graduate to breaking into houses and cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

It's the traditional training route to burglary: learn that you can profit from stealing bicycles and graduate to breaking into houses and cars.

Really ? Curious to know where you learned that

Gavin wrote: »
    Really ? Curious to know where you learned that

Used to teach in prisons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Jawgap wrote: »

In the same way that the rest of society is, i.e. we're not, but generally anyone will report a crime happening rather than leaving it to the victim of the crime. It's called decency and Tesco should have a word with themselves about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Effects wrote: »
    Because I knew they wouldn't really be bothered and by the time the would have arrived the bikes would have been gone. I'd rather have videoed them to scare them off and if that hadn't worked I was going to kick the guy in the face. After they ran off I called the Gardai and reported the incident. I've also made a complaint to Tesco.

the guy said they didn't have a phone (tesco).

if you were that bothered you could have rang them from your own phone & told the kids it was your bike, f off away from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

batistuta9 wrote: »
    the guy said they didn't have a phone (tesco).

if you were that bothered you could have rang them from your own phone & told the kids it was your bike, f off away from it

Ah come off it. The shop doesn't have a phone? :rolleyes:
    You mean he couldn't give a rats ass. Fair play to the OP, at least the scumbags left off so the bike owners came out and their bikes were still there.

I'm sure people here have had nasty thoughts of what they'd do if the came back to their bike and found some little scummer hanging out of the lock like that trying to rob it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 61 ✭✭Lexplosii

So did they get away with the bikes or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

He says it scared them off.

Fair play to him, dude if I was there it would have been a fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

Have these degenerate knack bags been identified yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭gibraltar

Does anyone else wonder if a phone would have been found if the two scrotes had been attempting to steal from inside the shop?

Like I said, dude if I was there I would have sorted them both out. Digs would have been frlying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

The system is failing these children.

Education is the key.

Particularly metalwork.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Lexplosii wrote: »
    Like I said, dude if I was there I would have sorted them both out. Digs would have been frlying.

Was a crime committed?
    You'd be arrested for assault.

Planet X wrote: »
    Was a crime committed?

Dude. There would be no arresting going on. I'm just saying I would have tuned the two of them up a bit and sent them on their way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

OK dude.

Dude. There would be no arresting going on. I'm just saying I would have tuned the two of them up a bit and sent them on their way.

I completely disagree with and disapprove of this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

Well done OP, i used to live near there, that Tesco was a haven for crime, young lads stealing stuff in Tesco and outside of it, one time a gang of scum physically attacked the security man while others ran in to steal drink, I was terrified. Good for you for standing up to them, I wish more people were like that.

In such situations, I generally ask myself "what would Katie Taylor do"? Then I knock the ****e out of them and say a prayer afterwards.

I completely disagree with and disapprove of this.

Well somebody has to be a man bro. It ain't gonna be you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CH3OH

A bit amusing that the reply from Tesco over on the http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/08/14/meanwhile-in-fairview-dublin/
    thread
    was from the aptly named.... Ms. Fiona Lockett

On a more serious point there are a couple of decent locks on Amazon.co.uk at the moment

£58
    51e-y0bwgTL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kryptonite-York-Chain-Security-100cm/dp/B001KQ5ZRG/

or better for £75 ( more buying choices on the right of page)
    51nmxk5c2eL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kryptonite-York-Fahgettaboutit-Chain-100cm/dp/B001JPS200

Well somebody has to be a man bro. It ain't gonna be you.

:Whisper: He actually agrees with and approves of your imaginary heroism. I believe he's quite a righteous dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭karl_m

CH3OH wrote: »
    A bit amusing that the reply from Tesco over on the http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/08/14/meanwhile-in-fairview-dublin/
    thread
    was from the aptly named.... Ms. Fiona Lockett

On a more serious point there are a couple of decent locks on Amazon.co.uk at the moment

£58
    51e-y0bwgTL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kryptonite-York-Chain-Security-100cm/dp/B001KQ5ZRG/

or better for £75 ( more buying choices on the right of page)
    51nmxk5c2eL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kryptonite-York-Fahgettaboutit-Chain-100cm/dp/B001JPS200

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AdugFzCi24

Watch all that, or check 6 minutes on, no lock is safe, just some are more of a hindrance than others.

Planet X wrote: »
    Was a crime committed?

Criminal damage and attempted theft, are two crimes that spring to mind that may have been committed - [I think] attempted theft is punishable, in theory, by more than 5 years in prison, therefore a citizen's arrest could have been performed - but would you want to over a bike?

You're second point is spot on.

:Whisper: He actually agrees with and approves of your imaginary heroism. I believe he's quite a righteous dude.

Are you a man or a mouse. Dude, you tune a guy up at the drop of a hat if you're anything like a man.