Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sam for the hills?

• 13-08-2012 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭

A lot of people are saying donegal will go the distance and polish off Dub this year this is great news!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

I don't get it? Is there something I am missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

God forbid a Mayo Cork final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Stuck Cone wrote: »
    A lot of people are saying donegal will go the distance and polish off Dub this year this is great news!! :D

A lot of people are saying the world is ending in december to, This is bad news ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

But there's no las vegas in them hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Great news indeed. Thanks for sharing that with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Joekers wrote: »

I hope he does forbid it!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Joekers wrote: »

I'd happily settle for that;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

And I'd happily settle for a repeat of Cork V Mayo 2011 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Stinicker wrote: »
    And I'd happily settle for a repeat of Cork V Mayo 2011 :D

I wouldn't mind a repeat of the 2010 or 2012 league finals. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭The Assistinator

listermint wrote: »
    But there's no las vegas in them hills
    we have better we have bundoran:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

A lot of people around Dublin are saying the exact opposite.

Hard to believe I know, but you'll just have to trust me on this one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Qwerty Dub

Cork v Dublin OR Mayo in the final.

Cork to win Sam regardless of the opposition.

Not taking for granted that Dublin will beat Mayo, BUT if they did could anyone really think that Donegal are good enough to beat Kerry, Cork & Dublin to lift Sam? Doubtful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Qwerty Dub wrote: »
    ..............BUT if they did could anyone really think that Donegal are good enough to beat Kerry, Cork & Dublin to lift Sam? Doubtful...

Donegal beat those 3, grudgingly and all as it would be for me - I'd have to say it would be the most deserved AI in recent times :o

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Donegal beat those 3, grudgingly and all as it would be for me - I'd have to say it would be the most deserved AI in recent times :o

Absolutely. But can you really say that they are that far ahead in their development to do it this year and that they have both the balance between defense and attack and the players to do it? I have my doubts.

Lets be honest, they were always going to beat Kerry so that was no great shock, but to beat the other 2 on the back of that would be impressive.

Bridge too far me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

............Bridge too far me thinks.
    Hate bursting bubbles .. but yeah agree completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Absolutely. But can you really say that they are that far ahead in their development to do it this year and that they have both the balance between defense and attack and the players to do it? I have my doubts.

Lets be honest, they were always going to beat Kerry so that was no great shock, but to beat the other 2 on the back of that would be impressive.

It's a huge ask when you put it like that, tbh anything after Kerry is bonus territory, beating them and Tyrone is one thing, Cork are another level again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

DoctaDee wrote: »

If they beat Cork, who are the best team left imo, then they're definitely good enough to win the All Ireland. Mayo without Moran have lost the focal point of their attack and Dublin have limped through to this stage with no guarantee they'll come good.

I can't see past Cork this year though.

An Citeog wrote: »
    If they beat Cork, who are the best team left imo, then they're definitely good enough to win the All Ireland. Mayo without Moran have lost the focal point of their attack and Dublin have limped through to this stage with no guarantee they'll come good.

I can't see past Cork this year though.

Yeah, as much as it pains me to say it I think its Corks to lose this year. Just think they have too much strength throughout their team and classy forwards, any one of which can score.

If Moran was fit i would defo fancy Mayo to turn Dublin over but hes a massive loss. If Alan Brogan is back fit its a huge boost for Dublin. I agree Dublin have not fired at all this year bar maybe 30mins v Louth & Meath. The rest has been very average. But they are still there. We are long enough playing well and being beaten in semi's and quarters, so I'll take playing bad and winning any day.

Last year we didnt click until the quarters v Tyrone. This year I'm hoping it comes one game later. Sure remember in 2009 Kerry were poor and stumbled through the qualifiers to hammer Dublin and win the All-Ireland. A lot can happen in a few weeks.

At a push i think Dublin will beat Mayo & Cork will beat Donegal.

Cork to beat Dublin in a Final.

Hope I am wrong though.

Yeah, as much as it pains me to say it I think its Corks to lose this year. Just think they have too much strength throughout their team and classy forwards, any one of which can score.

If Moran was fit i would defo fancy Mayo to turn Dublin over but hes a massive loss. If Alan Brogan is back fit its a huge boost for Dublin. I agree Dublin have not fired at all this year bar maybe 30mins v Louth & Meath. The rest has been very average. But they are still there. We are long enough playing well and being beaten in semi's and quarters, so I'll take playing bad and winning any day.

Last year we didnt click until the quarters v Tyrone. This year I'm hoping it comes one game later. Sure remember in 2009 Kerry were poor and stumbled through the qualifiers to hammer Dublin and win the All-Ireland. A lot can happen in a few weeks.

At a push i think Dublin will beat Mayo & Cork will beat Donegal.

Cork to beat Dublin in a Final.

Hope I am wrong though.

As a Dub I hate to say it but I think you're right. I'd love it if Donegal could get past Cork but you get the feeling that their style of play will only take them so far. Kerry are still a top team in my opinion and while Donegal's win was impressive, I can't see their system outsmarting the top teams consistently. I think Cork will beat them and if not, then Dublin (if they can get past Mayo, which I think they will) will win the final.

Cork are favourites, followed by Dublin, Donegal and Mayo. However, it's pretty bloody close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭stdidit

I also think Cork will beat Donegal and I reckon they will do it with a bit to spare.

I think Mayo Dublin is 50/50. When Mayo play like they can, they are more than a match for anyone in the country but their major flaw is consistency(and Kerry!) so nobody knows what Mayo will turn up. Dublin have been stumbling through games this year and I just cant see them retaining the All-Ireland but IF they perform like they can then they should come beat Mayo based on the fact they have better players than Mayo.
    Wonder if the Dubs will be looking for revenge for 2006 or is that all forgotten about up there???? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

stdidit wrote: »
    I also think Cork will beat Donegal and I reckon they will do it with a bit to spare.

I think Mayo Dublin is 50/50. When Mayo play like they can, they are more than a match for anyone in the country but their major flaw is consistency(and Kerry!) so nobody knows what Mayo will turn up. Dublin have been stumbling through games this year and I just cant see them retaining the All-Ireland but IF they perform like they can then they should come beat Mayo based on the fact they have better players than Mayo.
    Wonder if the Dubs will be looking for revenge for 2006 or is that all forgotten about up there???? :)

Certainly not forgotten by alot of the fans anyway, it still hurts to think about coming back from Croke Park that day with a knot of dissapointment churning in my stomach.

I reckon the 2010 semi-final defeat to Cork is more of a sting with the current crop of players as most of that 2006 squad are now retired. Although Stephen Cluxton, Alan Brogan, Bryan Cullen, Barry Cahill, Mossy Quinn etc might like a degree of giving one back.

We were also badly turned over in Castlebar in the league this year aswell, so we're all aware if anything complacent or lackluster or whatever has been happening so far this year in our performances is present, we'll be sent packing once again by the Yew men.

I certainly haven't forgotten about it; I was at the game that day (actually working as a steward at the Canal end) and was just sickened after the game. I think there is a sense among a lot of Dublin fans that we owe Mayo for that one especially. I hope the players feel like that too. I know that settling the scores is always frowned on by managers / players in the media but it's always a motivator behind closed doors.

I personally dont think 2006 will have any bearing on the game. I was absolutely sick that day. Mayo pissed me right off going to the Hill before the game just to wind us up. It worked with me anyway.

Then the result. But with all due respect to Mayo, we lost that game rather than them winning it. Pillar made some crazy changes at HT and killed our momentum. We just blew it.

But you will be able to count on 1 hand the amount of players from that game that will start on September 2nd, so while the fans might remember it and have a bit of banter about it, i dont think it will be in the players mindset coming into the game at all.

The Dublin players will have 2 things on their mind. The first being to get the resuslt, regardless of the opposition and get one step closer to retaining the All-Ireland. 5th (of 6) Steps to Sam. After the result the important thing is to try get a performance. That wont matter though unless the result is right.

Hard to call it though. Alan Brogans fitness will have a massive bearing on the outcome.

But with all due respect to Mayo, we lost that game rather than them winning it. Pillar made some crazy changes at HT and killed our momentum. We just blew it.

Mayo were a point up at half time, and Dublin came out and blitzed them for 15 minutes to go 7 points up so not sure what game you were at ;)

I dont think ye blew it either, I think you just have to credit Mayo, and the winning point from McDonald was worthy of winning any game.

Anyhow, thats neither here nor there, all i'll say is that if the game in a few weeks is half as good as that one, then were in for a treat.

Mayo were a point up at half time, and Dublin came out and blitzed them for 15 minutes to go 7 points up so not sure what game you were at ;)

In fairness we were coming good before half time and Pillar made some unecessary changes i.e to full back etc. We built up a good lead due to some good play from the forwards, but Alan Brogan gave a ball away in the middle of field when Jayo was wide open and Mayo got a score. The wheels just came off the wagon and with the changes made we just didnt cope.

In saying that, Ciaran McDonald was immense in that game (one of my all time favorites when on form), and his winner was unreal. But I still think that Pillar was to blame and we threw it away.

At that level I always think its more a case of a team throwing away a game if they have a 7pt lead and lose. At 7pts up a team should be able to close out a game unless the wheels come off the wagon.

I would say the exact same thing re the All-Ireland Final last year. Dublin never gave up, got a good goal, Brogan kicked a great equaliser before Cluxton sealed the deal. But lets be fair, Kerry threw it away with their poor use of the ball and even poorer ball retention. A game they defo should have closed out when Gooch put them 4pts up. Yes the record books will say Dublin won the All-Ireland in 2011, but in truth Kerry lost it.

Anyway like you say, if the game is half as exciting as 2006 we are in for a treat. I just hope the result is different. And with such a broad range of substitutions by Gilroy in the last few games I'll be hoping he doesnt do a 'Pillar' on it and blow it.

Roll on Sept. 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

I would say the exact same thing re the All-Ireland Final last year. Dublin never gave up, got a good goal, Brogan kicked a great equaliser before Cluxton sealed the deal.

It was Kevin Nolan who scored the equalising point that followed McManamon's goal and then Brogan put us in front before Donaghy leveled once more before Cluxton produced a golden moment!

Not nit picking just I find Nolan often gets overlooked for that massive equalising point within seconds of the goal, really solidified our comeback and he's made a nice habit of a couple of important scores from the melting pot this year too.

He'll be vital in many aspects against Mayo aswell I reckon, both defensively and offensively, almost does an Alan Brogan role in the backs if that makes any sense with regard link up play.

It was Kevin Nolan who scored the equalising point that followed McManamon's goal and then Brogan put us in front before Donaghy leveled once more before Cluxton produced a golden moment!

Not nit picking just I find Nolan often gets overlooked for that massive equalising point within seconds of the goal, really solidified our comeback and he's made a nice habit of a couple of important scores from the melting pot this year too.

He'll be vital in many aspects against Mayo aswell I reckon, both defensively and offensively, almost does an Alan Brogan role in the backs if that makes any sense with regard link up play.

Sorry, sorry you are 100% correct. How could I forget such a cracking score. He deffinitely doesnt get the recognition that he deserves. He has really grown into a fantastic player. Thankfully his early withdrawal by Pillar due to a yellow card when he started the Leinster Final a few years back didnt effect his confidence.

Hes a vital cog in the Dublin wheel these days. Always good for a score.

Anyway, I still think that Kerry should have held out. Some sloppy passing in the middle let them down big style. They were never going to win it this year. Could be a few years before they contend again if they lose a few lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I dont think ye blew it either, I think you just have to credit Mayo, and the winning point from McDonald was worthy of winning any game.

Anyhow, thats neither here nor there, all i'll say is that if the game in a few weeks is half as good as that one, then were in for a treat.

Mayo played very well that day and Dublin were not prepared properly for the task and could not handle McDonnald on form. There was a physiological problem with that particular Dublin side, it relied too much on individuals and not on a team approach, I think that Dublin could beat Mayo with or without A Brogan, I think too much is being made of the fact that the attack did not function without him against Laois.

The only negative thing I have to say about Mayo in 2006 is that they let themselves down against Kerry and did not bring the same atticude to the Kerry game that they did to to Dublin game. Apart from that they were fantastic and 100% credit to them.

Mayo/Dublin this year will be tough and hard to call regardless of Brogan or Moran playing. Mayo were impressive when they brought their intense boots with them to the second game against Dublin in the League this year, however they were not great in the first game at all. So who has the "best" intense game plan? I think Dublin are at it a little longer than Mayo, 2006 will not matter as this Dublin team will not fold like the 06 team did, and IMHO Mayo are a better unit now too and will get good games from an array of decent players.

WRT the OP I can't see Donegal beating Cork, and if they do it will be because Cork are not motivated enough (and therefore not good enough so well done Donegal if it happens),
    IMHO If Cork get past Donegal I think they will win it. However If Donegal get past Cork I think that the final with either Mayo or Dublin would be a close call.

Looking forward to it either way, I think the only potential baggage these squads bring into any combination of games could be Donegal wanting to revisit the game vs the Dubs last year, other than that Corks 1 point vistory over Dublin in 2010 is viewed as fair, and Mayo and Dublin from 2006 is long in the past for two vastly changed sides.

I agree with pretty much everything you've said Stoner and while too much is probably being made out of the attack not functioning without Alan Brogan against Laois, it is still a valid and somewhat worrying point for the Dubs. He does have a very important 'playmaking' role, if you like, and his vision and ability to spread the play is crucial to the way the team plays.

It is a very hard game to call and, pardon the cliche, but it will all come down to who shows up on the day. Dublin have been huffing and puffing this year while Mayo are so consistently inconsistent, its actually frightening so jury is out for me with regards who will come out on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Stuck Cone

Hmm a lot of people will be eating their words :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Hmm a lot of people will be eating their words :D

they will. those who expected Dublin to get to the final perhaps, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Should be a good game with mayos attacking flare and the donegal defending fighting it out, all the donegals I know think the game is on the bag but I'm not so sure. Im no fan of the mayos but they play a much better style of football to the donegal puked football so I am afraid ill be shouting for them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

Should be a good game with mayos attacking flare and the donegal defending fighting it out, all the donegals I know think the game is on the bag but I'm not so sure. Im no fan of the mayos but they play a much better style of football to the donegal puked football so I am afraid ill be shouting for them,

First of all it was called "puke" football not "puked" football and that referred to Donegal of last year not this, all not all Donegal fans think it's in the bag by a long shot, it's going to be a 50/50 call, Mayo looked seriously impressive against Dublin, so people who had hoped from them in the final could be really regretting it in 3 weeks time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

When was the last time you saw Donegal play I would like to know? Its going to be a hell of a match. Donegal wont make the same mistakes as Dublin. Mayo wont get as many chances to score and Donegal will be on the counter attack hard. If Mayo can beat the system the well done to them but Donegal will not lay down defensively or attackingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

How many Donegals do you know :eek: - surely there should only be one :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Lads don't rise to the Roscommon eejit he's been peddling this puked football nonsense for a while now. From his high horse in Roscommon of course. Gaelic Football dynasty that it is.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Lads don't rise to the Roscommon eejit he's been peddling this puked football nonsense for a while now. From his high horse in Roscommon of course. Gaelic Football dynasty that it is.

Are you one of the fellas what was comparing donegal to fc barcalona?

Tom Joad wrote: »
    How many Donegals do you know :eek: - surely there should only be one :confused:

3 of them working in the same place as me,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Stuck Cone

Are you one of the fellas what was comparing donegal to fc barcalona?

The way Donegal is playing is similar to Barcelona's dominance though?