Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Checks.

• 11-08-2012 12:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Hey, so today I bumped into first garda check in my life, I am just wondering few things:

1) What exactly are they looking for? People without insurance/tax/nct discs or expired?

2)What if I see check and decide to 180 degree turn and drive away, will they go after you? (I know it's easy to check but I don't want to)

3) There was me, 2 girls and 1 my friend completely drunk but quiet in back seat, if garda saw him on front seat drunk, would they make me go through alcohol test? (I could easily go through it obviously as I don't drink) or do they only care about those discs?

4)In which cases can they ask for license? (I am 'L' I know I know, I am an idiot who disobeys the law, but I don't have anyone to practice with nor I have any relatives with cars and no I don't cause accidents)

I was also lucky enough to run into two of these checks in 1 hour, 1 on N7 and other one near black horse luas stop.

5) How come I saw there was like 2 police cars, 1 on each side of road. 1 garda member was checking cars with flashlight and 1 had like 2 or 3 cars pulled over and doing search by like 3 garda members, what makes them search guys for something? btw 3 cars were drivers like one of those fast, law breaking, golf racers, weed smoker guys, you know all in track suits (not sure what people call them).

oh and another thing:
    can undercover garda members stop you for speeding or say not indicating your turn (not my case, I just saw 1 undercover garda car and undercover garda member (wearing casual clothes and armor over) on checks. Can they stop me on roads?

Thanks.

It was at around 11PM - 12 AM(midnight)

I also saw a garda car (traffic corps) driving without headlights on, I heard they do cheeky stuff like this to catch people out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Unmarked Garda cars can do anything a marked Garda car can do, and a plain-clothed Garda can do anything a Garda in uniform can do.

Although, I remember watching Brit Cops one time and a guy failed to stop for an unmarked car, he couldn't be charged for failing to stop because it was an unmarked car, can't really remember much else or why though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

arleitiss wrote: »
    Hey, so today I bumped into first garda check in my life, I am just wondering few things:

1) What exactly are they looking for? People without insurance/tax/nct discs or expired?

Checking for valid insurance, tax and NCT and checking thing's like seatbelts and alchohol limits I'd imagine.

2)What if I see check and decide to 180 degree turn and drive away, will they go after you? (I know it's easy to check but I don't want to)

That might depend on how busy it is and how far you are away from the checkpoint. I doubt a 180 degree turn would be a good idea on the N7 though.

3) There was me, 2 girls and 1 my friend completely drunk but quiet in back seat, if garda saw him on front seat drunk, would they make me go through alcohol test? (I could easily go through it obviously as I don't drink) or do they only care about those discs?

If they were drunk I'm sure they'd be suspicious alright.

4)In which cases can they ask for license? (I am 'L' I know I know, I am an idiot who disobeys the law, but I don't have anyone to practice with nor I have any relatives with cars and no I don't cause accidents)

Of course they can ask for your licence. Also not many people would go out with the intent of causing accidents so saying ''No I don't cause accidents'' is a bit silly really.

I was also lucky enough to run into two of these checks in 1 hour, 1 on N7 and other one near black horse luas stop.

5) How come I saw there was like 2 police cars, 1 on each side of road. 1 garda member was checking cars with flashlight and 1 had like 2 or 3 cars pulled over and doing search by like 3 garda members, what makes them search guys for something? btw 3 cars were drivers like one of those fast, law breaking, golf racers, weed smoker guys, you know all in track suits (not sure what people call them).

You answered your own question here.

oh and another thing:
    can undercover garda members stop you for speeding or say not indicating your turn (not my case, I just saw 1 undercover garda car and undercover garda member (wearing casual clothes and armor over) on checks. Can they stop me on roads?

You can bet your last dollar they can stop you.

Thanks.

1)Checking for valid insurance, tax and NCT and checking thing's like seatbelts and alchohol limits I'd imagine.

2)That might depend on how busy it is and how far you are away from the checkpoint. I doubt a 180 degree turn would be a good idea on the N7 though.

3)If they were drunk I'm sure they'd be suspicious alright. I'm not 100% sure on this myself.

4)Of course they can ask for your licence. Also not many people would go out with the intent of causing accidents so saying ''No I don't cause accidents'' is a bit silly really.

5)You answered your own question here.

6)You can bet your last dollar they can stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

You do have someone to practice with.
    Those people are called "driving instructors" !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

CiniO wrote: »
    You do have someone to practice with.
    Those people are called "driving instructors" !!!

I have test in like september, I am not ritch guy to pay instructors for 1 month of practice straight. I am just a student at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Its was a lovely fine night after the warmest day of the year so far, so they just decided to operate a checkpoint to pass away an hour or two. Probably sick of watching the Olympics back at the station. Oh wait, coverage ends at 11pm.!! what time did you say you were stopped?? :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

If you see a checkpoint just go through. If you only have a provisional dont turn around, it will only make it worse! Most guards will just wave you on.

Cino, that law has been in long before you were her and has not been inforced since long before you were here and it will be a long time before that changes

. From some of your dash cam footage you could do with a driving instructor yourself. Just saying....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

1) checkpoints can be set up for various things. usually at night they are MAT checkpoints (Mandetory Alcohol Testing). the aim of these is to catch/deter drink drivers. in the daytime its normally tax, insurance etc.

2) if you were seen then we would go after you. consequences of this would normally be that anything wrong with the car would be penalised whereas you may get away with it if you continue on through. depending on how you do the u-turn, theres also a potential for careless driving aswell.

3) if its a MAT checkpoint, then they will randomnly select drivers. if they get a smell of alcohol from the car, you could probably expect to be tested.

4) yes we can demand a licence from any driver. its an offence not to have it on you. if you dont we can make a legal demand for you to produce it at a garda station of your choice within ten days. if this is then not produced you could possibly expect to receive a summons for failing to produce a drivers licence aswell as having no drivers licence. in your case you would also be done for driving unacccompanied. (i also think some insurers may not cover unaccompanied learner drivers - you may get done for no insurance then)

5) diffent areas have different vehicle strengths so may have different amounts of vehicles at a checkpoint. afraid the reason why we search certain people is an operational thing so im not going into it.

finally yes unmarked cars can stop you, they can prosecute you also. an off duty guard could technically prosecute you if they so wished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

If your discs are all up to date and nothing seems out of order you'd normally be waved on..they'll also normally have a check point on the opposing roads/escape routes if they mean business on the particular night, so if you turn around you'll probably get the works if you did, hypothetically speaking. Generally I'd say your age would be a factor with asking for the licence, so if you suit a certain demographic when they're looking for L drivers eg. under 21 maybe.
    I believe not as many people are asked for them though after the initial launch of the no unaccompanied drivers on provisional in 2008..my sister managed to crash into a county council sign, and was later questioned for having weed in the car (and many other incidences with mates etc.) and still no-one pulled her up on the provisional :eek: so it could be hit & miss. Hold it together and work on passing your test and all these worries can be a thing of the past-relief and help on the insurance. Good luck! Ps. Try and put in for a cancellation, seems to have worked for some on here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

oh and another thing:

Thanks.

I also saw a garda car (traffic corps) driving without headlights on, I heard they do cheeky stuff like this to catch people out?

You really can't figure out these answers on your own??!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

btw 3 cars were drivers like one of those fast, law breaking, golf racers, weed smoker guys, you know all in track suits (not sure what people call them).

I love this line. How many stereotypes can you fit into one line?

Golfs are mostly slow pieces of ****, 'law breaking' is down to the individual, not the car, and 'weed smokers'...well, now you just sound like a moron.

Also, don't be driving with a car full of drunk people on a provisional. It's 'law breaking'.

ottostreet wrote: »

Golfs are mostly slow pieces of ****, 'law breaking' is down to the individual, not the car, and 'weed smokers'...well, now you just sound like a moron.

Also, don't be driving with a car full of drunk people on a provisional. It's 'law breaking'.

it wasnt full, it was only 1 friend who was asleep in back seat, everyone had seatbels though, not sure about law on back passengers seats, so I just tell everyone on back seat that if we are stopped and fined, they are paying fine, so everyone is always wearing seat belt.

Well by saying weed smokers I mean those who smoke a pot and drive, I see them quite a lot, for example I was on a beach once, two guys on a golf came, stopped, they were really looking out for garda I think, then they rolled a joint I think, at least it looked like such process (they di-assembled a smoke and joined it with something) both driver and passenger, then drove off no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

it wasnt full, it was only 1 friend who was asleep in back seat, everyone had seatbels though, not sure about law on back passengers seats, so I just tell everyone on back seat that if we are stopped and fined, they are paying fine, so everyone is always wearing seat belt.

Well by saying weed smokers I mean those who smoke a pot and drive, I see them quite a lot, for example I was on a beach once, two guys on a golf came, stopped, they were really looking out for garda I think, then they rolled a joint I think, at least it looked like such process (they di-assembled a smoke and joined it with something) both driver and passenger, then drove off no problem

I'll know in future to avoid golf drivers!

The drunk person in the passenger seat was in no fit state to take over driving and clearly wasn't giving you a driving lesson!

*back seat, not front, I keep sober drivers usually, it's this one time occurrence when I ended up having drunk body in back.

I am not speaking golf drivers in general all people, it just seems like all learner/young drivers are getting golfs these days more and more, no idea why, cheap tax/insurance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

So your telling us if he/she got stopped by the cops they would do him/her for having a drunk person in the car aswell.......haha i dont think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

S28382 wrote: »

So your telling us if he/she got stopped by the cops they would do him/her for having a drunk person in the car aswell.......haha i dont think so.

If he is driving on a provisional, having a car full of drunk people is going to attract more attention to himself at a checkpoint which will lead to the gardai checking his licence. A drunk person with a full licence isn't seen as being your responsible fully licenced driver as they are drunk.

Basically, if you are a learner and are stopped at a checkpoint, you will draw more attention to yourself and be in more chance of getting in trouble for driving on your own if you have a car full of drunk people as opposed to being on your own

BDJW wrote: »
    If he is driving on a provisional, having a car full of drunk people is going to attract more attention to himself at a checkpoint which will lead to the gardai checking his licence. A drunk person with a full licence isn't seen as being your responsible fully licenced driver as they are drunk.

Basically, if you are a learner and are stopped at a checkpoint, you will draw more attention to yourself and be in more chance of getting in trouble for driving on your own if you have a car full of drunk people as opposed to being on your own

But they dont need to be drunk in order to draw attention, my brother got done for being a learner and he had one person in the car so its got nothing to do with how many is in the car its all to do with if your unlucky enough to get caught driving without a fully licensed driver which is a stupid law itself as who is to say the fully licensed driver is any good at driving themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

BDJW wrote: »

But they dont need to be drunk in order to draw attention, my brother got done for being a learner and he had one person in the car so its got nothing to do with how many is in the car its all to do with if your unlucky enough to get caught driving without a fully licensed driver which is a stupid law itself as who is to say the fully licensed driver is any good at driving themselves.

You have completely missed the point that ottostreet made and that I tried to explain in my post too.

Pull up to a checkpoint with drunk people in your car and you will draw more attention to yourself. It's as simple as that.
    As ottostreet said, it's law breaking as you're car is full of drunk people, you won't have a sober fully liceneced driver with you

I havent missed the point i do understand what you are saying i just dont think its necessarily true that if the car is full of people you are more likely to get pulled over. Now if they are all wearing hoodies and there is a cloud of smoke in the car then im sure it will get some attention off the authorities .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭geneyuss

4)In which cases can they ask for license? (I am 'L' I know I know,o practice with nor I have any relatives with cars and no I don't I am an idiot who disobeys the law, but I don't have anyone tcause accidents)

oh and another thing:

Thanks.

you shouldn't be behind they wheel of a car then, without a qualified, sober driver with you . ( see news reports from Tullamore)
    I have test in like september, I am not ritch guy to pay instructors for 1 month of practice straight. I am just a student at the moment.
    If you can afford a car (obviously a nice one as you seem in a position to slag off others ) , insurance , tax fuel etc, you can afford to get proper qualifications to drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I havent missed the point i do understand what you are saying i just dont think its necessarily true that if the car is full of people you are more likely to get pulled over. Now if they are all wearing hoodies and there is a cloud of smoke in the car then im sure it will get some attention off the authorities .

You have missed the point, repeatedly. They were talking about in this instance of arriving at a checkpoint, not being pulled over for being noticeable/suspicious.

If you pull up to a checkpoint as a learner driver on your own and all discs check out, chances are you get waived through. If you pull up with a car full of people, some drunk, then you will naturally arouse more interest from the Gards about where you've been, how safe you're likely to be and even if you're drunk yourself. So they naturally have a higher chance of asking to see your license!

Its far from a stupid law, plus a full licensed driver has passed the national standard test, a pro licensed driver has filled out a form!!!

there are way to many hooded punks on the roads with no experience and thinking they're Kimi Raikkonen driving around in cars that should be scrapped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

Also, if you pull a 180 any where near a checkpoint then you will get chased, happened to me a few years back, was a check point bout 50 yds ahead of where I was. Reversed into a parking space and a guard came running after me demanding to know why i was trying to get away. I wasn't instead I had reversed into a parking space outside the church where I was going to do my usual weekend youth work, wasnt until some of the kids that i worked with appeared and verified it with the guards before they would let me go.

geneyuss wrote: »
    you shouldn't be behind they wheel of a car then, without a qualified, sober driver with you . ( see news reports from Tullamore)

If you can afford a car (obviously a nice one as you seem in a position to slag off others ) , insurance , tax fuel etc, you can afford to get proper qualifications to drive

First of all I know I shouldn't drive, but there is nothing I can do, not that I am driving 2 years with L without even thinking to do driving test.

Secondly, if you are driving golf and got offended - sorry, it wasn't intended, I was just saying what cars most I see being young drivers at.

First of all I know I shouldn't drive, but there is nothing I can do, not that I am driving 2 years with L without even thinking to do driving test.

Secondly, if you are driving golf and got offended - sorry, it wasn't intended, I was just saying what cars most I see being young drivers at.

no you shouldn't be driving, i maybe wrong,( i welcome being corrected) but you are basically driving with no insurance ,

and no, im neither young or do i own a golf

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... which is a stupid law itself as who is to say the fully licensed driver is any good at driving themselves.

Cue Lois Griffin's insane cackle, "Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Honestly Stewie, you break me up! Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!"

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

First of all I know I shouldn't drive, but there is nothing I can do, not that I am driving 2 years with L without even thinking to do driving test....

You could try complying with the law.

p.s. The length of time taken to sit and pass the test is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Being a student is hard life - we all know it, but I assume you were able to afford to buy your car, to pay insurance, tax, and you are able to afford to run the car (service, petrol, etc). But you are not able to afford to learn to drive with instructor.
    In fact, learning to drive should be the first thing, and thinking about buying a car should come next.
    Ireland is funny place, where driving without qualifications is common and seems to be socially acceptable thing, but that's pretty much just happenening here.
    Nearly everywhere else in Europe before you will be let on the road without instructor on double control car, you have to go through proper driver training, which unfortunately in most cases is very costly. I'm hoping this will come soon enough in Ireland, and current regulations seem to be a good step towards that way. All we need now is to start enforcing them.

CiniO wrote: »
    Being a student is hard life - we all know it, but I assume you were able to afford to buy your car, to pay insurance, tax, and you are able to afford to run the car (service, petrol, etc). But you are not able to afford to learn to drive with instructor.
    In fact, learning to drive should be the first thing, and thinking about buying a car should come next.
    Ireland is funny place, where driving without qualifications is common and seems to be socially acceptable thing, but that's pretty much just happenening here.
    Nearly everywhere else in Europe before you will be let on the road without instructor on double control car, you have to go through proper driver training, which unfortunately in most cases is very costly. I'm hoping this will come soon enough in Ireland, and current regulations seem to be a good step towards that way. All we need now is to start enforcing them.

Not that I bought a car and drove straight away,
    first I didn't have buying car in mind, took like 30 lessons with instructor. 12 lessons were official and registered others were practices, maneuvers etc.. Also car was a gift, insurance was my whole year grant, tax and servicing (500 euro) was my own.

so after 30 lessons you still dont have a license, that's worrying in itself
    nice to see student grant money going to good use to. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

That's great, but it still doesn't entitle you do what you are doing now.

so after 30 lessons you still dont have a license, that's worrying in itself
    nice to see student grant money going to good use to. :rolleyes:

Sir, there is a thing called 6 month rule perhaps?

Funny how it always goes, you ask 1 question on boards and it goes completely differently with people doing rants how I am breaking law. I bet there is not a single driver in the world that never broke a single rule.

...Funny how it always goes, you ask 1 question on boards and it goes completely differently with people doing rants how I am breaking law. I bet there is not a single driver in the world that never broke a single rule.

But you ask dozens of questions, many of which are pretty inane or the answer blatantly obvious.

Sure folk break rules from time to time, but just not deliberately and every time we drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Clip clop clip clop

But you ask dozens of questions, many of which are pretty inane or the answer blatantly obvious.

Sure folk break rules from time to time, but just not deliberately and every time we drive.

In fairness I would say only a very small number of people actually heed the "accompanied driver rule". Off the top of my head I actually don't know anybody who didn't drive alone on their provisional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

In fairness I would say only a very small number of people actually heed the "accompanied driver rule". Off the top of my head I actually don't know anybody who didn't drive alone on their provisional.

maybe not, but a change of mindset is required so that this practise stops. It will take time, after all how long ago was it that you could smoke in a pub?

The rules are the rules regardless of compliance. The only real issue is lack of even enforcement, which is down to lack of resources presumably?

The op came to ask a few questions not be lectured on driving unaccompanied
    Back on your horses

mathepac wrote: »
    Cue Lois Griffin's insane cackle, "Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Honestly Stewie, you break me up! Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!"

How did you know my name was Stewie? :confused:

Funny how it always goes, you ask 1 question on boards and it goes completely differently with people doing rants how I am breaking law. I bet there is not a single driver in the world that never broke a single rule.

Arleitiss i wouldnt rise to some of the replies on this as some folks are goody two shoes who never done nothing wrong in their lives. If you drive your car on your own as a learner permit then so be it the law that is in place is a stupid law there is plenty of learner drivers out there who can drive way better than some folks who have their full license.

Some people on their learner permits are lazy that they dont apply for their full licence and the fact they were getting away with it for years was crazy, but dont worry about what some people say to you on this site over being a learner driver, if you get caught by the cops then its bad luck for you, there is people out there doing worse it is your own risk.

I would go and get your full license as soon as you can as it is a nice thing to have but ignore the perfect folks on this site they just need to live a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Mo60

I thought it was the law in this country that a learner has to be accompanied by a qualified driver and display L plates. Whether someone agrees or otherwise it is still the law, as it is in many other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

If you drive your car on your own as a learner permit then so be it the law that is in place is a stupid law there is plenty of learner drivers out there who can drive way better than some folks who have their full license.

How is it a stupid law?It should be more enforced if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Arleitiss i wouldnt rise to some of the replies on this as some folks are goody two shoes who never done nothing wrong in their lives. If you drive your car on your own as a learner permit then so be it the law that is in place is a stupid law there is plenty of learner drivers out there who can drive way better than some folks who have their full license.

Some people on their learner permits are lazy that they dont apply for their full licence and the fact they were getting away with it for years was crazy, but dont worry about what some people say to you on this site over being a learner driver, if you get caught by the cops then its bad luck for you, there is people out there doing worse it is your own risk.

I would go and get your full license as soon as you can as it is a nice thing to have but ignore the perfect folks on this site they just need to live a little.
    ^^ there are so many idiotic statements in that post I'm not even gonna start tearing it apart, but the bolded bit takes the biscuit.:eek:

So to answer the OP
    Yes, all of the above, and anything else that they might notice. I went through one yesterday afternoon and all they looked at were the discs on the windscreen.

Sometimes they have a car or bike tucked away for that purpose.

They probably would. You'd find they may also ask you a few questions to get a feel if you're intoxicated (slurred speech, etc).

Your licence can be demanded any time you are found in control of a motor vehicle in a public place.

Dunno, suspicion of being in possession of controlled substances is a likely start.

oh and another thing:

They can stop you anywhere including your private driveway if the offence occurred in a public place.

Thanks.
    You're welcome :)

Haven't heard nor seen that, would be quite a silly thing to do imo, not that I doubt it could happen!

you asked numerous questions, which tbh if you didn't already know the answers to is more proof that you shouldn't be allowed to put other peoples lives in danger, that is my opinion, not a rant, there is also a level of maturity one must have before being in charge of a vehicle.I also dont think you know the consequences of getting caught, this law is enforced , just not rigorously, but very expensive if you do come a cropper

oh well if everyone else is doing it :rolleyes:
    The op came to ask a few questions not be lectured on driving unaccompanied
    Back on your horses

this is a place where people can chat and express opinions, nobody is lecturing the op, im sure he's not the only provisional driver reading or commenting on this,,,,,down off your soap box :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Mo60

My 1st car was bought by myself after saving my salary so that I could afford to run it - tax, insurance, lessons etc.

Because I was living in the UK at the time, very often my car would be sitting outside the house with me unable to use it because I would have no one to accompany me. There is no way I would have risked driving on my own, because if caught the law would be applied and I would possibly loose my licence.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    ^^ there are so many idiotic statements in that post I'm not even gonna start tearing it apart, but the bolded bit takes the biscuit.:eek:

God damnt i was looking for you to dissect my post an all, i dont see how that was idiotic but im sure you know best.

this is a place where people can chat and express opinions, nobody is lecturing the op, im sure he's not the only provisional driver reading or commenting on this,,,,,down off your soap box :D
    do you have a full license for that horse sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

How is it a stupid law?It should be more enforced if you ask me.

I think it is a stupid law as there is people out there that cant have some one sitting in the car with them everytime they want to go for a drive or when they need to go somewhere ie; work...... there is plenty of folks with full licenses that cant drive for sh*t whilst some learners are pretty good at driving.

I think its unfair that a learner who has just got their license has to wait 6 months before they can apply for their test, in my eyes driving should be taught in school from 5th yr on and whilst in school they be tested in the theory test for their leaving cert and if they pass it then they get to do their full driving test quicker than some who dont get their learner permit through school. The system in this country is flawed and it needs fixing asap and going after the learners is not the way. There is more people dodging tax/nct then there is people driving on L plates. I do agree if learners dont display plates then they should be acted on but definitely not for not having some one with them.

Everyone has to start somewhere and trying to force a learner permit to have some one constantly in the car with them is silly, i drive the M9 80km everyday and the amount of stupid driving i see from fully licensed drivers is unreal its shocking how they are driving and these are the people who supposedly have more of a right to drive than a holder of a learner permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭number66

audidiesel, I'm wondering what the law is that requires a person to have their driving licence on them when driving a car?