Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rabbit/phesant pen

• 05-08-2012 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

lads have a young cocker who is very promising and want to take him to a rabbit/phesant pen. want to know does anyone have suggestions on where to go or who to talk too.i would pay to get a half hour in one. or even if anyone here has something similar leave me know via pm thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

charlie10 wrote: »
    lads have a young cocker who is very promising and want to take him to a rabbit/phesant pen. want to know does anyone have suggestions on where to go or who to talk too.i would pay to get a half hour in one. or even if anyone here has something similar leave me know via pm thanks

Next spring Im hoping to build one.
    Would be curious to know if anyone is using one & if pics available etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

any other alternative to a rabbit pen or phesant pen,was thinking about dizzying a few purchased birds for him or what do ye lads think or recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

any other alternative to a rabbit pen or phesant pen,was thinking about dizzying a few purchased birds for him or what do ye lads think or recommend

Dizzying partrige or make a spring box and use pigeons,

If ya had land an acre of game crop , would do ya world of gud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Didnt think people had rabbits pens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Maxus

Next spring Im hoping to build one.
    Would be curious to know if anyone is using one & if pics available etc

Get a few quail they are east to keep in a small box and great for a young pup they will only fly a few yards and thensit in again. Then once they have a few flights they are too riverdaletml and can be picked and back into box.

would ye shoot the quail for them or just let them hunt them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Maxus

would ye shoot the quail for them or just let them hunt them

Just hunt them and keep them to use a few eves a week.

have u used them before maxus and to what effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Do you want the pen to steady the pup Charlie or to get him hunting?

For steadying I reckon an ordinary poultry pen or pheasant pen does the job grand. I would not go down the route of using one to get a pup hunting or using quail or the like. I just do not see the point. Why would you do that when you can get your pup out in the real thing from a young age. Surely that has to be better than an artificial set up.

hunting ,well i wont be taking him to it every day!! i just want to give him a good start .i take him on rabbits but would llike for him to get an overdose every once n awhile!!

I personally would use partrige , if ya want to give him a gud bit in a session but I would shoot them as they get up kinda complete the process , partrige are around 4 euro and easy kept and ya have a nice dinner afterwards

TriggerPL wrote: »

I personally would use partrige , if ya want to give him a gud bit in a session but I would shoot them as they get up kinda complete the process , partrige are around 4 euro and easy kept and ya have a nice dinner afterwards

Partrige can be caught up to and if ya want to focus on the dog , get a buddy to shoot them so you can drop the dog and then send him for the retrieve with out trying to shoot as well

partridge dont seem that readily avaliable though are they?they do make better sense though

Man down in bottom of tipp keeps them il get a number tomorrow for them

i would Appreciate that trigger,this is why the likes of boards is very handy for amatuers like myself that have questions or queries

Martin Moloney , Clonmel Co.Tipperary Tel;052-35322

The one thing about partrige don't do your training on a rainy day if partrige get wet they will not / can not fly I've expeirance this first hand it was a disaster !

But if it dry and you dizzy them and leave them for about hour you will have great shooting , they get up like a bomb went off

Hope it helps if ya want info on catching them up give me a shout .

what u mean catching them up !! will they sit tight for an hour dizzyed ya:confused:

well hunting them would do me not too bothered about shooting them

what u mean catching them up !! will they sit tight for an hour dizzyed ya:confused:

to ans you question charlie yes you can catch them up using a calling pen u put about 5 birds in the call up box and just before it get dark you can catch them with a net , or i normally use a walk in larsen trap full of feed . we let out forty birds , and we were only missing about 4 at the end if the day ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Jaysus where's my measuring tape!!

Charlie you have a dog with potential & want to get it started.
    The purpose of a rabbit pen is to steady a springer to flush & eventually shot in a controlled environment. A useful tool in any springer mans armory.
    You could just bring the dog somewhere with a heap of rabbits. The beauty of the pen is the control & convenience. Once the dog is stopping to flush & shot if that's what's desired you can drop a bird or rabbit in the field. Bingo bongo morality arguements gone & the benefits of "planting" Explored.

i know the primary use for a rabbit pen is to steady a dog and that lesson will come too ,but to me thats the" leaving cert "stage when everything else is done . i just want to get him in a pen or somewhere where readily avaliable game is. i didnt think this thread would spark so much disagreement .yes i could go out and get him on rabbits {which i do),but just wanted to give him a head start.and shooting dizzyed birds or whatever wouldnt be done until the relevant seasonis open.this dog is 6 months old and retreiveing a puppy dummy and not heard a shotgun only starter pistol let alone droppping anything over him at this stage.

You should focus on dropping to the whistle and starter pistol along with left and right quartering etc plenty of time for game Charlie ,

TriggerPL wrote: »
    You should focus on dropping to the whistle and starter pistol along with left and right quartering etc plenty of time for game Charlie ,

i just want to make sure he is hunting freely before i go further

got the cocker to a quality rabbit pen today for two 15 min intervals with an hour rest between and im glad to say i have the making of a cocker .talk about stepping it up another two gears!!! head down and serious tail action and no noise as of yet. i know he is only 6 months but both i and the lad that owns the pen saw serious potential which i am chuffed about. his nose pulled him into cover which i liked watching !all i need to do now is keep up the training and if he steps back a gear i will give him another trip to the pen .also i would like to take this opportunity to thank lb1981 for meeting me today and selling me his dog box which was exactly as described . and a sound bloke to talk to ,who also gave me advice about a particular person which turned out to be bang on the money cheers lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

got the cocker to a quality rabbit pen today for two 15 min intervals with an hour rest between and im glad to say i have the making of a cocker .talk about stepping it up another two gears!!! head down and serious tail action and no noise as of yet. i know he is only 6 months but both i and the lad that owns the pen saw serious potential which i am chuffed about. his nose pulled him into cover which i liked watching !all i need to do now is keep up the training and if he steps back a gear i will give him another trip to the pen .also i would like to take this opportunity to thank lb1981 for meeting me today and selling me his dog box which was exactly as described . and a sound bloke to talk to ,who also gave me advice about a particular person which turned out to be bang on the money cheers lad
    Yeah ,had a feeling he would waste your time....
    http://www.dogwoodpetresort.com/?page_id=134
    Ring this place ....this is were i bought my cocker,it is his wifes business, he trails cockers and trains gundogs all super breeding no ****e..unreal set up ,his rabbit pen is top quality and he a really nice bloke..you will pay a good price but i promise you will get a top dog for it.

http://www.rytexgundogs.com/our_dogs.htm

F.T.CH Chyknell Goldstar (Teddy) is the sire of my bitch which paul bred.