Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give us a 'Cork Day' says Deputy Lord Mayor

• 01-08-2012 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭

As a Corkman I approve!
    Cork may be getting its own day of celebration, if a local politician has his way.

The Deputy Lord Mayor of the city Emmet O’Halloran is calling for a world-wide holiday to celebrate all things about the region.

He says it would be akin to other holidays around the world such as Catalunya Day or the Annual Holiday of Quebec.

Councillor O’Halloran believes people of the area should have a special day that allows them to celebrate their unique culture and heritage.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/give-us-a-cork-day-says-deputy-lord-mayor-561396.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Lord of the Bongs

U already have a day thats Cork day, its the one were every culchie gets the fcuk out of there and comes to Dublin for their xmas shoppin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

world wide celebration????

why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

If you're a wino, every day is a cork day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Corkonians getting excited

About time the ESB gave you another flooding, cool you off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Can the rest of us have a "go f*ck yourself cork" day

Isn't there already some dodgy bonfire day in June when half of Cork burns?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Langer Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I'm from Cork and thats is a dumbest idea i have ever heard aimed a stupid people. Mayor O'Halloran should concentrate on improving the city's commerce and tourism rather than these pointless idiotic press releases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Wannabe TD in cheap publicity stunt shocker!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

People from the countryside have the 8th of December, so why shouldn't people from Cork get their own day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Owen_S wrote: »
    People from the countryside have the 8th of December, so why shouldn't people from Cork get their own day?

A corkonian circle jerk isnt everyones idea of fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Ah now, not before we have a Neil Prendeville Appreciation Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I read this as "Give us a cork dry". Im partial to a GnT myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Special passports last year and now this.

Many of us are proud of our localaties but not to this degree of deserving of special things. Cocky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Will we all have to talk through our noses with a stupid accent on Cork day?
    Corkedy Corkedy Corkedy Corkedy is all I hear whejn they speak...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Those county councillors need to go on a fact finding mission to Rio de Janeiro or Las Vegas, a delegation of 25 or 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

what would Cork day involve?

besides moaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

davet82 wrote: »

besides moaning

They could get elocution lessons so that the rest of us know what it is they are moaning about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

*hangs head in shame*

Sorry again this time for this one! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The Deputy Lord Mayor of the city Emmet O’Halloran is calling for a world-wide holiday to celebrate all things about the region.

Cork is the county.

Munster is the region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It's time the people of Cork gave this little joke up. Its run its course. Cork is not the real Capitol. Cork is not a Republic entity all on its own. There is nothing special about Cork, there never was and more than likely never will be.

ONLY JOKING I REALLY LIKE CORK! I :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Only reason we tolerate the Corkonians is we need your oil and gas ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Zebra3 wrote: »

Cork is the county.

Munster is the region.

Monster day, now that would be cool :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Cork (city or county) forum --->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I'm from Cork and thats is a dumbest idea i have ever heard aimed a stupid people. Mayor O'Halloran should concentrate on improving the city's commerce and tourism rather than these pointless idiotic press releases.

Have to agree..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

All the mayor is doing is make everyone dislike cork that little bit more. Isn't it time the whole "peoples republic" shite is dropped?
    foxyboxer wrote: »
    Ah now, not before we have a Neil Prendeville Appreciation Day.

Sales of nurofen and trousers with elastic waistbands would shoot up on that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Have one down there if you want,just don't foist you're chip on shoulder holier than thou Cork-ness on the rest of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

**** the day, when are we getting our wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

token101 wrote: »

Tbf, there'd be country-wide support for that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's **** like this that makes me assume people from Cork are arrogant gob****es until they prove otherwise...

I've known lots of people from Cork that I've liked but such unrivalled, unjustifiable arrogance is just odious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Owen_S wrote: »

You do have your own day. The 8th of December ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Sleepy wrote: »
    It's **** like this that makes me assume people from Cork are arrogant gob****es until they prove otherwise...

I've known lots of people from Cork that I've liked but such unrivalled, unjustifiable arrogance is just odious.

I'm from Cork and I can say that things such as this embarrass me. I'm sure I'm not alone. "Cork Day" :rolleyes:, era would ye flog off ow that ye gowls ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

foxyboxer wrote: »
    I'm from Cork and I can say that things such as this embarrass me. I'm sure I'm not alone. "Cork Day" :rolleyes:, era would ye flog off ow that ye gowls ffs.

All this story shows is that Cork politicians spout as much nonsense as the those in the rest of the country. I can only hope your man had his his tounge in his cheek when he came out with this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

This clown is probably earning more than Obama. Some Cork people embarrass the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

davet82 wrote: »

besides moaning

Misplaced smugness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

token101 wrote: »

forget the wall, just get out the drills and detach you from the mainland.

maybe take the Healy-Raes from Kerry with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

He says it would be akin to other holidays around the world such as Catalunya Day or the Annual Holiday of Quebec.
    Never heard of those days and I'd be surprised if they where celebrated any other than those cities or by ex pats of those cities.

It sounds like a ridiculous expense.

Obnoxious pr1cks that deserve a tsunami sent to their shores to be quite honest. Lisbon in Portugal quaked a long time ago and sent a tsunami to the shores of cork. Lets hope it happens again very soon.

All this story shows is that Cork politicians spout as much nonsense as the those in the rest of the country. I can only hope your man had his his tounge in his cheek when he came out with this stuff

Feb 2011 cork voted in 4 FF politicians in the general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

As soon as we get 'Louth Day', you get 'Cork Day'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Funglegunk wrote: »
    As soon as we get 'Louth Day', you get 'Cork Day'.
    Louth day is usually every two weeks on a Thursday around here. They really collect on Friday but they make you put the bins out the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How about Home Rule for Cork with a view to eventually making it a sovereign state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Feck off. Bad enough hearing the Cork accent in Dublin, sandpapering my eardrums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

I'm from Cork and I disagree with the Deputy Lord Mayor. One day to celebrate Cork isn't enough, sure we already have Cork Week: http://www.corkweek.ie/. We need to have Cork Month. We could rename one of the months of the year "Cork", like today could be the 1st of Cork, 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Ew... embarrassing. And the PROC stuff is a joke, but some people are silly enough to take it seriously. Although...
    It's **** like this that makes me assume people from Cork are arrogant gob****es until they prove otherwise
    As bad an attitude, if not worse. Assuming something that extreme about someone just because of where they're from? Did it ever occur to you that most Cork people wouldn't pay heed to that stuff and it's just a vocal minority? Nah, that involves too much thought I guess. Easy option: just condemn 'em all!
    ilovesleep wrote: »
    Obnoxious pr1cks that deserve a tsunami sent to their shores to be quite honest.
    Yeah, all of those thousands of people you don't know. I believe such comments are known as "retarded".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Only reason we tolerate the Corkonians is we need your oil and gas ;)

The oil and gas belongs to Ireland, not Caaark.

Orange pilled.

Pure_Cork wrote: »
    I'm from Cork and I disagree with the Deputy Lord Mayor. One day to celebrate Cork isn't enough, sure we already have Cork Week: http://www.corkweek.ie/. We need to have Cork Month. We could rename one of the months of the year "Cork", like today could be the 1st of Cork, 2012.

I believe you have a river down in Cork. Useful, I'm sure, for jumping into and getting lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

el diablo wrote: »
    The oil and gas belongs to Ireland, not Caaark.
    If we declared our independence in the morning do you honestly think we wouldn't claim the oil and gas off our coast? What would ye do to stop us, sure most of the Navy is in Cork and would support the new state. Those reserves, our established industry and quality education system would ensure a prosperous future for us while the 31 counties left would go down the swanny. Ireland is like a bottle, it'd sink without a Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

If we declared our independence in the morning do you honestly think we wouldn't claim the oil and gas off our coast? What would ye do to stop us, sure most of the Navy is in Cork and would support the new state. Those reserves, our established industry and quality education system would ensure a prosperous future for us while the 31 counties left would go down the swanny. Ireland is like a bottle, it'd sink without a Cork.

Independence? Is there going to be a Cork version of ETA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

I assume (and hope) that this is a wind-up. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.