Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies day, Galway races

• 30-07-2012 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

Hi just wondering how much tickets are for ladies day on Thursday and if you can just pay at the entrance? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Pay at the entrance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

A ladies day you say?
    Anyone know if there's anything in the Equality Acts about the Galway Races Committe failing to name a day for gentlemen, girls, boys, transgenders etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,290 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

They could just rename it to the more appropriate and gender-neutral "Sluts day".

Might not have the same marketing pull though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

JustMary wrote: »
    They could just rename it to the more appropriate and gender-neutral "Sluts day".

I'd go :cool:

couldn't help my self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Might have a different kind of pull though! A Way Heyyyyy! Ah no, they are all lovely girls :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

They'll be lovely wet girls this year :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    They'll be lovely wet girls this year :p
    Aren't they every year, zing ;)

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Might have a different kind of pull though! A Way Heyyyyy! Ah no, they are all lovely girls :P

My choice of words was not accidental ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭conaire1

Might have a Geldings' Day for some of you colts.

Thats a bit nasty.

But not untrue. Ladylike behaviour will be in extremely short supply on the day in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭kinetic

If a guy posted that comment just Mary he would be banned. Outrageous comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

But not untrue. Ladylike behaviour will be in extremely short supply on the day in question.

that's a horrible generalisation justmary. Okay there are young ones and young lads very excited on the day and don't even make it to the Races, but I would definitely not call everyone that dresses up on Ladies Day, a slut. Way off the mark with that one.

My comments are made based on observed behaviour, both at the racecourse and in the streets afterwards, by people of all ages, in previous years. They have nothing to do with dress. And you will notice that I suggested that the s-word applied to both genders.

I don't believe that a man would have been banned for what I posted:- among other things, the mods have no reliable way of knowing people's gender. But if you want to test this, the report-post button is in the left hand panel ... be my guest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Let me say my bit as a remove my monocle and top hat accordingly.

Sluts Day isn't a good grasp of the actual day IMO. The majority of people I see at the Races dress fine and act fine too. You'll get some people who are embarrass themselves sure but that's what happens when such a big crowd turns up to an event that isn't exactly dry as the Sahara if you get my drift. You'll always have the teens between the stands ****faced but I was like that at that age too.

If the weather is awful you'll have a lot more covered up females so let's pray for sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭R0UF

My comments are made based on observed behaviour, both at the racecourse and in the streets afterwards, by people of all ages, in previous years. They have nothing to do with dress. And you will notice that I suggested that the s-word applied to both genders.

I don't believe that a man would have been banned for what I posted:- among other things, the mods have no reliable way of knowing people's gender. But if you want to test this, the report-post button is in the left hand panel ... be my guest.

Reported. Hopefully you get a lifetime ban.

R0UF wrote: »
    Reported. Hopefully you get a lifetime ban.
    You need to get out more!!!

Let me say my bit as a remove my monocle and top hat accordingly.

Sluts Day isn't a good grasp of the actual day IMO. The majority of people I see at the Races dress fine and act fine too. You'll get some people who are embarrass themselves sure but that's what happens when such a big crowd turns up to an event that isn't exactly dry as the Sahara if you get my drift. You'll always have the teens between the stands ****faced but I was like that at that age too.

If the weather is awful you'll have a lot more covered up females so let's pray for sun.

My favorite race time memory was seeing a young lad dressed in a nice suit outside Charcoal Grill by Middle Street eating a food scraps he found on the ground.

People do dress fine....but you can put a tie on a pig...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

And your post is so lady like :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Im pretty sure if there was an issue with JustMarys comments then Sgt. Biko would have dealt with it. Swiftly. Thread closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

All I can give on this is a little personal perspective...

I've a little nearly two year old girl, as you can imagine, the apple of my eye. My wife suggested the last day that we might bring her to the Races some evening (we wouldn't even consider going on "Ladies'" Day). The thought filled me with horror. I don't want my little one going to an event where public drunkenness and poor behaviour is celebrated. Whether you like it or not, Ladies' Day and the Races in general are pretty appalling in that the atrocious behaviour of a minority is accepted. The usual, ah shure it's not everyone excuse is trotted out.

I don't buy the whole there's drink everywhere excuse. There was loads of drink at the Ocean Racing event, yet any age could attend that comfortably.

Sluts' day? Maybe a bit strongly worded. Maybe a little bit OTT. Ladies' Day? Definitely not, unless fake bake and too much to drink constitutes a lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ok, let's leave this sluts debacle behind us now and focus on the good things about Ladies Day.
    kinetic wrote: »
    If a guy posted that comment just Mary he would be banned. Outrageous comment.
    Report post instead of backseat modding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

This year a 15 year old on their own or with other 15 year olds will pay adult prices in while a 15 year old en famille gets in free. That will quiten things down up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

churchview wrote: »

I've a little nearly two year old girl, as you can imagine, the apple of my eye. My wife suggested the last day that we might bring her to the Races some evening (we wouldn't even consider going on "Ladies'" Day). The thought filled me with horror. I don't want my little one going to an event where public drunkenness and poor behaviour is celebrated. Whether you like it or not, Ladies' Day and the Races in general are pretty appalling in that the atrocious behaviour of a minority is accepted. The usual, ah shure it's not everyone excuse is trotted out.

I don't buy the whole there's drink everywhere excuse. There was loads of drink at the Ocean Racing event, yet any age could attend that comfortably.

Sluts' day? Maybe a bit strongly worded. Maybe a little bit OTT. Ladies' Day? Definitely not, unless fake bake and too much to drink constitutes a lady.

Ah here, look it might get a bit rowdy in town after the races, but I've been going to the races the last 8 years and have yet to be in any way shocked by any behaviour at the races itself. The vast vast majority of people at the racecourse are there to have a good time, have a few drinks yes, place a few bets, and cheer on the horses they've backed. If I had a 2-year-old I would certainly not bring her into Quay St after the races, but I'd have no bother bringing her to the racecourse, and I'd be pretty sure she wouldn't be shocked by anything she saw.
    If you think behaviour at the racecourse is "atrocious", then you've clearly led a very sheltered life. You're conflating Race Week in general with the Galway Races, they are 2 separate things, and I'm sure many of the drunken idiots don't even go anywhere near Ballybrit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

why would you bring a 2 year old to the Races? Even if you didn't go into the Racecourse side, she would be too young for the kids rides on the kids side of the racecourse (where there are vasts amounts of kids during the day).

There is nothing wrong with Ladies Day - its a bit of fun, and a chance to get dressed up - for somebody to call it "Sluts Day" is completely irrational.

I hope Ladies Day is a great experience for those who have made the effort to do something different and I hope the rain keeps away for ye.

don't forget to bring your flip flops - walking in high heels is a killer.

Have fun and never mind the begrudgers. :D

Zzippy wrote: »
    If you think behaviour at the racecourse is "atrocious", then you've clearly led a very sheltered life.

Not sure what qualifies you to comment on my life but anyway...
    Zzippy wrote: »
    You're conflating Race Week in general with the Galway Races, they are 2 separate things, and I'm sure many of the drunken idiots don't even go anywhere near Ballybrit.

Fair point to an extent

why would you bring a 2 year old to the Races?

I don't know...maybe to see horses? But granted, they do seem to be pretty much an irrelevance...

You have obviously never been to the race course if the above is your opinion. I been at everyday of the summer festival bar a handfull of days every year for the last 14 or so years and I never see any of the crap you posted above. It is just as suitable for a child as the ocean race, Im sick of people saying the ocean race crowd is "so much better" its bull.

Obviously in town at night is not the place for a child but it is no more suitable during the ocean race, there is literally no difference on the streets of galway between the two events but people who dislike the races just pretend there is. I have been on the streets for both ocean races and every year for the races and overall I see absolutely no difference in behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

biko wrote: »
    and focus on the good things about Ladies Day.
    ... the dolled-up and oft-drunken lasses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭RINO87

You have obviously never been to the race course if the above is your opinion. I been at everyday of the summer festival bar a handfull of days every year for the last 14 or so years and I never see any of the crap you posted above. It is just as suitable for a child as the ocean race, Im sick of people saying the ocean race crowd is "so much better" its bull.

Obviously in town at night is not the place for a child but it is no more suitable during the ocean race, there is literally no difference on the streets of galway between the two events but people who dislike the races just pretend there is. I have been on the streets for both ocean races and every year for the races and overall I see absolutely no difference in behavior.

I work in the hospitality trade and I can tell you there is a BIG difference between Ocean race and Race week crowds. The majority of (but not all) latter have no concept of the words "please" and "thank you".

Obviously in town at night is not the place for a child but it is no more suitable during the ocean race, there is literally no difference on the streets of galway between the two events

I actually like the races (though not when it's mad busy).

But I live in town and can absolutely say that there's a huge difference between the crowds. Not as big a difference this year as there was in 2009, but still a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

how much is it in for students tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

According to some stats read out on the tv coverage earlier, they admitted 3 women for every one man on ladies day last year.
    That might be worth considering for some male boards users before they rule it out.
    For female boards users you may continue giving out, that is a LOT of competition in fairness. I won't be going. :)

3 days down, 4 to go. Sick as a pig from drink but roll on hurdle day, can't wait to get back up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

I avoid town during race week,day time you are subjected to the worst of it but enter a pub and it's full of numpties without manners.
    The usual places tomorrow will have the true idiots in massive attendanc,g hotel,skeff,quays etc.
    Go into these places at your pearl,feel sorry for the staff as they are the ones who have to accept the rudeness and bad behaviour.

Sappa wrote: »
    I avoid town during race week,day time you are subjected to the worst of it but enter a pub and it's full of numpties without manners.
    The usual places tomorrow will have the true idiots in massive attendanc,g hotel,skeff,quays etc.
    Go into these places at your pearl,feel sorry for the staff as they are the ones who have to accept the rudeness and bad behaviour.

Bla bla bla...... Best week of the year bar none!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Bla bla bla...... Best week of the year bar none!!
    Nope it's certainly not the best week for many,were not all into rude crowds in bars,debauchery on the streets,litter everywhere,increased prices,traffic chaos and a smell of self importance from many of the race goers.
    The Arts festival beats it hands down.

Nope it's certainly not the best week for many,were not all into rude crowds in bars,debauchery on the streets,litter everywhere,increased prices,traffic chaos and a smell of self importance from many of the race goers.
    The Arts festival beats it hands down.

Arts festival better than the races.. I've heard it all now!!

You could give me a free holiday anywhere in the world during race week and I wouldnt take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

There'll be a river of fake tan running out of Ballybritt if it rains out there, judging by the crowd in Eyre Square at the moment. :D

I was in early at work the day after Ladies Day last year, and the Square was literally covered in puke, Supermacs wrappers and young lads going around in a dazed state at six in the morning.

It was fairly horrific. I'm in again at six tomorrow morning and i'm slightly apprehensive about going through Eyre Square.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Jayzus there was a fair bit of mutton dressed as lamb around the town today. Then you have the young lads trying to look classy with the aul tie thrown on and some of them were even wearing suits - Id say some of them never wore a suit before in their lives but they were all heading up to the races after the young wans. Saw a few of them staggering around the place at 11am with bottles of beer and the tie at half mast (real class) heading up to the square for the buses out to Ballybrit.

To be honest I'd say all this ladies day crack has done is turn off the genuine racegoers who don't want to be surrounded by tarted up burds and pisséd young fellas who are only there after the burds. Then when you stay at home to watch the nags on the telly, all RTE does is bore you with pictures of young wans with skirts up to their árses and then you have to listen to awful ****é about where some wan got her hat. Why don't they just dispense with the actual horse racing on this particular day in future and just have the bars open (€5 pint in a plastic glass)? - Sure they should even turn off the lights in the bars and turn on the blaring "thump thump" "music" and the clientelle on so called "Ladies day" would feel right at home.

At the end of the evening then, Supermac could park one of his mobile chippers outside the racecourse complete with picnic chairs. Seriously, between so called celebrities (i think trigger was up their today and yer wan who used to present that gawd awful program from a different country every week in just a bikini) and all the drivel, it would just turn you off completely. God be with the days when the breweries used to have the aul tents out in the middle of the course and you could get a pint in a glass (at normal prices).

I'd wager most of the people who go racing on this particular day wouldn't know one end of a horse from the other!

scholar007 wrote: »
    Jayzus there was a fair bit of mutton dressed as lamb around the town today. Then you have the young lads trying to look classy with the aul tie thrown on and some of them were even wearing suits - Id say some of them never wore a suit before in their lives but they were all heading up to the races after the young wans. Saw a few of them staggering around the place at 11am with bottles of beer and the tie at half mast (real class) heading up to the square for the buses out to Ballybrit.

To be honest I'd say all this ladies day crack has done is turn off the genuine racegoers who don't want to be surrounded by tarted up burds and pisséd young fellas who are only there after the burds. Then when you stay at home to watch the nags on the telly, all RTE does is bore you with pictures of young wans with skirts up to their árses and then you have to listen to awful ****é about where some wan got her hat. Why don't they just dispense with the actual horse racing on this particular day in future and just have the bars open (€5 pint in a plastic glass)? - Sure they should even turn off the lights in the bars and turn on the blaring "thump thump" "music" and the clientelle on so called "Ladies day" would feel right at home.

At the end of the evening then, Supermac could park one of his mobile chippers outside the racecourse complete with picnic chairs. Seriously, between so called celebrities (i think trigger was up their today and yer wan who used to present that gawd awful program from a different country every week in just a bikini) and all the drivel, it would just turn you off completely. God be with the days when the breweries used to have the aul tents out in the middle of the course and you could get a pint in a glass (at normal prices).

I'd wager most of the people who go racing on this particular day wouldn't know one end of a horse from the other!
    Great post, really sums up the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,860 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

I work in a hotel in town and have been dealing with ignorant arseholes all week. Those who think there isn't a difference between the ocean race crowd and race week crowd haven't a clue what they're talking about. I'd take 52 ocean race weeks over 1 race week any day! Roll on Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

I work in a hotel in town and have been dealing with ignorant arseholes all week. Those who think there isn't a difference between the ocean race crowd and race week crowd haven't a clue what they're talking about. I'd take 52 ocean race weeks over 1 race week any day! Roll on Monday!

I work in hospitality and I feel the same way. Ocean race was definitely a much better atmosphere. Walked through town to work at nine and saw so many bare bums hanging out of dresses and those in them hunched over puking in the street. Role on Monday!!!

That reminds me of another good Race Week memory. A housemate of mine when I was in college rarely worked in his life. He went home during the summers but came up to go out in Galway on the Saturday of race week. When he was at the bar he was talking to a friend and must have been fairly loud joking about how he was sat on his arse all summer playing video games etc. The girl working behind the bar flipped out and refused to serve him because she'd been worked off her feet for the last week. As someone who did work during college I found it funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I think the zombie apocalypse has begun. Passed through Eyre Square this morning and the amount of young lads staggering around the place is unreal.

The place is a total kip atm as well. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭RINO87

ArtyC wrote: »
    I work in hospitality and I feel the same way. Ocean race was definitely a much better atmosphere. Walked through town to work at nine and saw so many bare bums hanging out of dresses and those in them hunched over puking in the street. Role on Monday!!!

Feeling is mutual guys, what a bunch of arseholes this week. I feel sorry for those who love the sport and have to deal with these bellends dragging their reputation through the mud. I can't tar all the race crowd with the same brush as I have had mighty craic serving some real racing enthusists this week, guys who have been here for years and plan their holidays around it, but unfortunatley they are thin on the ground this year, now its mostly ignorant, arrogant, and well just pretty much brain dead messes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

The amount of sh1te and exaggeration being sprouted here is laughable, it's like reading something out of The Sun newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,231 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I hate to say it but thank god for plastic glasses. I walked home through a sea of plastic around three this morning but couldn't help being reminded of a few years ago when I used to have to negotiate my way through a layer of broken glass all the way through town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,860 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

padi89 wrote: »
    The amount of sh1te and exaggeration being sprouted here is laughable, it's like reading something out of The Sun newspaper.

What "sh1ite and exaggeration" are you referring to exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

The awkward moment when padi89 realises its HIM people are actually talking about.