Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lamping with 4gun and poulo6.5

• 30-07-2012 6:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Since none of the useless shower of cünts in my local gun club will get up off their holes to do a bit of fox control, I asked poulo6.5 and 4gun to come up for a nights lamping. We were out for about 5 hours in total, and we shot 10 foxes. We couldn't retrieve 1 of them because the field I shot him in is so wet that I sank up to my knees before I got within 50 yards of where he was lying, so that's why he's not in the photo. I'm not going to get into detail about how shots were taken or how foxes behaved. Basically, the light went on, the gun went bang and the foxes died. Here's the end of night photo.
    54e7872b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

By the looks of those numbers declan they could do with getting off their arses, all the more for you all the same:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Better off with just a couple of lads that know what they are doing then a whole load of lads goin out not knowing what they are doing or youll just end up with a load of lamp shy foxes. The gun clubs seem to be full of bar stool shooters up this way-Theres nothin they dont know and back in the day they shot everything and anything:D:D:D
    Great shootin there by the way lads-Did yous use the new toy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

moby30 wrote: »
    Better off with just a couple of lads that know what they are doing then a whole load of lads goin out not knowing what they are doing or youll just end up with a load of lamp shy foxes. The gun clubs seem to be full of bar stool shooters up this way-Theres nothin they dont know and back in the day they shot everything and anything:D:D:D
    Great shootin there by the way lads-Did yous use the new toy?

We did alright, and it worked a charm:D

Ill be gettin the hammers, saws and sellotape out myself this weekend to make my own:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Great nighs work lads fair play. Defo better imo that its just you shootin foxes, more sport for you and as was already said not a load of lamp shy foxes from lads just havin a pop!

I know what ye're saying, and I'm not complaining about shooting foxes, but I think it's a disgrace that no-one in my club will bother their arse. They all complain about the amount of vermin in the parish, but there's only 3 people in the club that enter the vermin comp every year out of a club of about 30 members and even at that one of the lads only catches about 30 magpies and gets 3rd place.
    Lads go on about not having time and that we do be out too late when they're working the next day. I'm workin too. We were out until 4:30 this morning and i still got up at 6:30 this morning to milk cows, and I'm not going to be finished until 7 this evening. All they give a fück about is shooting pheasants and if they don't get enough birds then they're shíteing on we're not doing enough vermin control.
    Sorry for the rant, but it really gets me worked up, and they know it

I'm very sorry about this, but I forgot to thank poulo6.5 and 4gun for coming up and helping me out. We had a good night with some great laughs along the way

Its very frustrating alright. Sounds almost identical to our club. Myself and LB1981 thought we would make a difference when we took over the club three years ago. We handed in more than ten times more vermin that was ever handed in the fist year and doubled that again the next and they were still complaining(I wouldnt mind but I had to travel nearly 80 miles every trip and most of the lads doin the moaning live right beside our area) We had the two most successful years with pheasants aswell losing only a couple of birds and the Ba***rds still complained so I just had to step down this year-They all run like F**k when they are proposed for place on the committee though:rolleyes:

declan1980 wrote: »
    I'm very sorry about this, but I forgot to thank poulo6.5 and 4gun for coming up and helping me out. We had a good night with some great laughs along the way

I suppose you could have done worse than these two:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Thats a great nights shooting ,have itchy fingers myself havnt fired a gun in a month... ***** looking at me with 2 heads when i asked them is there anywere i can go shooting Kangaroos... in singapore now so not much longer till i can get out and do some damage :cool: ....then give the arseholes in the club abuse for letting nearly half of our birds die this year ...pack of ****ing thicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

it capped off a great night...
    Declan is too modest to mention that he won the Irish deer society ( i think) shoot at the midlands with a great score of 158/180
    It was his first time... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

4gun wrote: »
    Declan is too modest to mention that he won the Irish deer society ( i think) shoot at the midlands with a great score of 158/180
    Fair play declan!

4gun wrote: »
    Good man Declan. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Excellent nights shooting, and the write up was priceless.

As for the whole gun club thing its a pain in the hole. The amount of moaning and finding fault with every suggestion thats made is a pain the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Excellent nights shooting, and the write up was priceless.

As for the whole gun club thing its a pain in the hole. The amount of moaning and finding fault with every suggestion thats made is a pain the hole.

There in every club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

There's no better lads to shoot the crap out of vermin for ya than them two !

Spunk84 wrote: »
    There's no better lads to shoot the crap out of vermin for ya than them two !

Ya can say that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

cheers declan. it was a great night of shooting. some slagging and messing done all day. nothing better than a couple of lads out doing what they enjoy.

the best thing about it was seeing declan getting his first place prize for winning the shoot in the Midlands yesterday.

congrats declan well done. ;)

Ah sure it was only beginners luck.

I know, but ya don't have to fückin tell me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Since none of the useless shower of cünts in my local gun club will get up off their holes to do a bit of fox control, I asked poulo6.5 and 4gun to come up for a nights lamping. We were out for about 5 hours in total, and we shot 10 foxes. We couldn't retrieve 1 of them because the field I shot him in is so wet that I sank up to my knees before I got within 50 yards of where he was lying, so that's why he's not in the photo. I'm not going to get into detail about how shots were taken or how foxes behaved. Basically, the light went on, the gun went bang and the foxes died. Here's the end of night photo.
    54e7872b.jpg
    If I was you I'd bring that picture to your gun club hang it up on the wall and say 'right lads I'm not doing it all my own get up off ya arses and get shooting'
    That's good shooting lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

nice one lads ,and fair play keep to hammer on charlie:D:D that was a good nites work:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

At least Poulo6.5 can now finish his Davey Crockett fox hat.
    173x216_Red_Fox_Fur_Davy_Crockett_Hat_with_Face_legs_875.jpg

54e7872b.jpg
    If I was you I'd bring that picture to your gun club hang it up on the wall and say 'right lads I'm not doing it all my own get up off ya arses and get shooting'
    That's good shooting lads
    And they will just tell you how they shot 15 a night in their day with a lamp and shot gun,every club seems to have a loads pub talkers and wasters,I have given up on my club now, only staying in it for my licenses,its not worth the hassle any more,would love to start a new club up with only the decent lads and take all the clubs land for ourselves,we would get the land owners permission no problem,just the nargc would not allow it

lb1981 wrote: »
    And they will just tell you how they shot 15 a night in their day with a lamp and shot gun,every club seems to have a loads pub talkers and wasters,I have given up on my club now, only staying in it for my licenses,its not worth the hassle any more,would love to start a new club up with only the decent lads and take all the clubs land for ourselves,we would get the land owners permission no problem,just the nargc would not allow it

Why don't you set up club with countryside alliance, then the nargc wouldn't be able to do anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

great shooting lads, I think most gun clubs are the same we have money lying idle in the bank and they wont use it for anything:(
    Well done on the midlands comp as well:)

FISMA wrote: »
    At least Poulo6.5 can now finish his Davey Crockett fox hat.
    173x216_Red_Fox_Fur_Davy_Crockett_Hat_with_Face_legs_875.jpg

it would keep me warm when the winter roles in. you should see the matching underwear :p

Why don't you set up club with countryside alliance, then the nargc wouldn't be able to do anything
    Not that easy Dec, all of the clubs in north county Dublin are in the Nargc plus all the surrounding Meath clubs that boarder us , so not being in the nargc would make it harder to deal with these clubs if we have a problem ... which we have in the past , plus we compete against the dublin clubs for vermin and pigeons and that brings in a few bob from the nargc aswell.

Sorry for de railing your thread by the way , that is a super nights shooting

Not that easy Dec, all of the clubs in north county Dublin are in the Nargc plus all the surrounding Meath clubs that boarder us , so not being in the nargc would make it harder to deal with these clubs if we have a problem ... which we have in the past , plus we compete against the dublin clubs for vermin and pigeons and that brings in a few bob from the nargc aswell.

Sorry for de railing your thread by the way , that is a super nights shooting

We ran into this problem so we set up a juniors club with in the club with a second bank account any money raised by us went into that , while still fund raising for the club as well work well and keep both sides happy , on the other had get enough lads to vote them out of power . There a rule some where I think that say your only allowed 3 terms in any one position before stepping down .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭raymonjdevine

TriggerPL wrote: »
    .................There a rule some where I think that say your only allowed 3 terms in any one position before stepping down .

You'll find that in any club the majority make the rules and often change them as they need to................same as Governments !

.................There a rule some where I think that say your only allowed 3 terms in any one position before stepping down .

You'll find that in any club the majority make the rules and often change them as they need to................same as Governments !

Like you said majority makes the rules get the lads that want to do something , together and make your selves the majority.

Hastle the old timers enough and they will move aside because they don't want , the **** .

Like you said majority makes the rules get the lads that want to do something , together and make your selves the majority.

Hastle the old timers enough and they will move aside because they don't want , the **** .

We did ,i became the secretary and moby30 was the chairman...but every new rule we wanted to make it would just become an hour of shouting and roaring at a meeting ...we even had one old **** throw a stool :D .

The rules hadnt been changed for 10 years ,one example was no rifles could be used on club land :confused: joke or what we had one bloke argue what if he was out walking his dog on the land and we shot it with a stray bullet ... now you would be doing this **** a favour if you did as his dogs are use less ..but we got that changed and scored the clubs highest score ever in the vermin and the year after trebbled that, but that is the ****e we are constantly up against.. so from now on im just going to go shoot my vermin and pigeons and pheasants and take a back seat and wait for the coffin dodgers to **** off and then try and build the club up again.
    It is a pity they ruined the club we had the most permissions in north county dublin/ meath and they just neglected it.

We did ,i became the secretary and moby30 was the chairman...but every new rule we wanted to make it would just become an hour of shouting and roaring at a meeting ...we even had one old **** throw a stool :D .

The rules hadnt been changed for 10 years ,one example was no rifles could be used on club land :confused: joke or what we had one bloke argue what if he was out walking his dog on the land and we shot it with a stray bullet ... now you would be doing this **** a favour if you did as his dogs are use less ..but we got that changed and scored the clubs highest score ever in the vermin and the year after trebbled that, but that is the ****e we are constantly up against.. so from now on im just going to go shoot my vermin and pigeons and pheasants and take a back seat and wait for the coffin dodgers to **** off and then try and build the club up again.
    It is a pity they ruined the club we had the most permissions in north county dublin/ meath and they just neglected it.

that the joys of it people think they own the birds , but when you have your own kitty you can spend it as you see fit.

i would sit back f them , like i said cause enough noise and they will fold old timers dont want the hastle of it .

and gud luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

There was a policy introduced in our club a few years ago that anyone who didnt shoot a certain amount of vermin would have to pay a fine when the next years club fees were due. Made a lot of the wasters get off there asses. Still only a few of us willing to stay up late to control the foxes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

foxer that sounds like a great idea:) for any club, it would soon sort out the genuine lads from the assh"les and the badgewearers;)