Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lanzarote-Puerto Del Carmen

• 29-07-2012 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hey. Heading to Puerto Del Carmen next week for a week with her good self. Was wondering if anyone here could recommend things to do,places to see,restaurants to eat in and not eat in etc? Never been before but hear its a real nice spot. Any advice would be welcome. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

I'm there right now :)
    Have eaten out somewhere different every day and it's all been top notch.
    If Chinese food is your thing then Oriental World is unbelievably good,a million miles from the stuff you get at home.Going back there tomorrow for more.Probably best going early though as there does be a queue in the evening.

There's also plenty of seafood places down by the marina,been in 2 there and they were both excellent,can't remember the names of them now but theres one across from a big steakhouse place that's particularly good.
    I've not heard of any bad restaurants,I can't get enough of the grub here,lovely stuff.

There's plenty of offices that sell excursions and that all over the place,you can't miss them.
    We're going on a day trip Tuesday that brings you up to the volcanoes and a camel ride :D and then a BBQ.
    There's other stuff like a submarine trip,go-karting or a day trip to Fuerteventura etc. to choose from
    You won't be stuck for something to do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 allofthelights

Sounds good! Heard about that Chinese alright,looking forward to it all now! Haven't really heard/read anything negative about it at all. Staying in Bitacora app's,seem to be nice. Let me know how the day trip goes! Camel ride sounds interesting to say the least!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

I stayed at the Bitacora last month and I must say it was a fantastic place to stay. Pool bar was very cheap 2euro a pint and there is a mini supermarket on site too.

What time is your flight? If you arrive after the reception closes you must make your way to the supermarket, the girl behind the till will let you know which apt. number you should make your way to.

1 bit of advice I will give you is always lock your door with the key, a few people decide to go out/go to bed and close the door and just pull the handle but this does not lock it, while we where there a couple of lads done this only to wake up with there passports left and nothing else, money and watches taken. Its nothing to be worried about, we found them to be great apartments but like at home you wouldn't go out and leave your door open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

The "Yellow Submarine" trip passes an afternoon, suitable for both adults and kids.
    It's a few years since I was there but I generally found all the restaurants excellent, especially the old town by the harbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭chuckster

You cant leave without goin to Bodega restaurant in the old town, most amazing steak I've ever tasted bar none, and there were a couple years in between visits!

The Catamaran trip is great,,, (not the family one, make sure it's the adult one), you pay one price & get fairly decent drinks & food included in it... and a jet ski ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭CiaranMcDCFC

chuckster wrote: »
    You cant leave without goin to Bodega restaurant in the old town, most amazing steak I've ever tasted bar none, and there were a couple years in between visits!

The Catamaran trip is great,,, (not the family one, make sure it's the adult one), you pay one price & get fairly decent drinks & food included in it... and a jet ski ride.

I will second La Bodega, great restaurant. Also Cafe Ola at the other side of the strip is brilliant for food, scenery and atmoshere. Would recommend a trip there. It is a restaurant upstaits that is on the water's edge and glorious. Then downstairs is a huge bar, it even has a swimming pool in it. If you are looking for really good food, very reasonably priced to to La Martinique abouf half way along the strip. Does not look like much from the outside but it is never empty and the food is excellent, try the lamp chops!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

For food I would highly recommend Lanie's Cantina, it's a little more pricey than some of the other restaurants but the food is lovely, there's always a queue outside the door.. up near the Old Town. It's a very kitsch little place, lots of statues of Mary and candles and stuff around the place..

Activites, The Catlanza Catamaran trip www.catlanza.com is great, they do a family trip or an Adult only one where alcohol is served.. I think we paid around €70 each at the time for the Adult one and we got lunch and drinks (beer or wine) on board included. They bring you to a lovely secluded little beach on the far side of the Island where you can either jet ski or just jump in for a swim.. it's a lovely way to spend an afternoon.

Also there's the 'South Tour' where they take you up to Timanfaya National Park for a camel ride and then for a wine tasting.. I really enjoyed that :D and the bus takes you right around the volcano.. it's an experience.

Then there's Rancho Texas Wildlife Park www.ranchotexaslanzarote.net this is a bit of a bus ride away so it's you'd really be taking up a full day with this..

It gets quite chilly in the evening times in Lanzarote, it's quite a windy place so bring a few cardies with you :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

You should try this place along the sea front... When myself and the missus were there last year we ate in it twice... gorgeous food!! The 2nd time we ate, it was her birthday and she got a lovely small chocolate birthday cake without asking for it!! Brilliant service, if we ever go back to Puerto Del Carmen, we shall eat there again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

conor_ie wrote: »
    You should try this place along the sea front... When myself and the missus were there last year we ate in it twice... gorgeous food!! The 2nd time we ate, it was her birthday and she got a lovely small chocolate birthday cake without asking for it!! Brilliant service, if we ever go back to Puerto Del Carmen, we shall eat there again!!

Discovered this place on our last night. Excellent food. Book in advance as it is always busy.

Let me know how the day trip goes! Camel ride sounds interesting to say the least!!!!
    Was good craic,it was only a short go on the camels.Word of advice,don't wear aftershave/perfume they just want to slobber all over you if they smell it.

Trip around the volcanoes is a bit mad,narrow roads and sheer drops,not for the faint hearted but good experience.
    We were dropped off at the marina in Puerto Calero for an hour,nice spot.
    Got a nice bbq meal and sangria thrown in too,decent day out.

Another restaurant recommendation,Hi Life.
    The most amazing burger and chips I've ever had.
    Got feck all chips but they're huge and ridiculously good,I don't usually eat chips but these are something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 allofthelights

Sounds great! Although I don't think the missus will enjoy the Volcano much so might give it a miss. Thanks for all the replies,sounds like I'm gonna put on about 2 stone checking out all these fine eateries! And thanks Dubdude for the advice on where to get my key in Bitacora and for security advice. Read about some incidents there but I guess you just gotta be careful. Couple of questions : What are the beaches themselves like over there? And what bars would people recommend to go to after a meal,somewhere a bit lively maybe?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Emma's cantina Mexicana in Calle Teide in the old town...best mexican food on the island and they're turning people away from about 9pm at weekends it's so busy.

To find it stand at the harbour with your back to El Ancla Restaurant(also very good especially for pizzas and omelletes)..look straight up the street and you will see a flight of steps,follow them up and you will be there.

The owner's name is Mike,a lovely geezer..tell him i said hello :)

And what bars would people recommend to go to after a meal,somewhere a bit lively maybe?

The Heiniken bar in the old town is very good...its just on the harbour facing out to sea.

Its mostly locals and has a very relaxed vibe as well as really good music.

The cocktails are amazing value as well,a jug is 15 euros and when i ordered Long Island Ice tea i got nearly a full bottle of spirits.

Open till 3am or so and a really good spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭pedro7

If you want to chill out, you can do a catamaran cruise around the Island. You get a nice lunch and cocktails all day. They take you out on a jet-ski and give you snorkels to do some diving and swimming with all the fish. I loved it!

The boat leaves Puerto Calero marina. If you fancy a really nice (if slightly more expensive) dinner the best restaurants I found were here.

Theres an off-road driving tour of the Island you can do too. That is great fun but you need to bring your driving licence with you. If your after some cheap fun, some bread and a snorkel set from the shops along the main strip in Peurto del Carmen, throw the bread out into the sea just off the strip and dive in 100s of fish come in after it! Its so cool!! :pac:

Do NOT in Lani's...they're all over the place and cater to the single-visit tourist market..the food is appalling and teh service is dire.

You may see a few tourists sitting front of house,thats a trick to make you think its a popular place..anybody eating there will not be back.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

Sounds great! Although I don't think the missus will enjoy the Volcano much so might give it a miss. Thanks for all the replies,sounds like I'm gonna put on about 2 stone checking out all these fine eateries! And thanks Dubdude for the advice on where to get my key in Bitacora and for security advice. Read about some incidents there but I guess you just gotta be careful. Couple of questions : What are the beaches themselves like over there? And what bars would people recommend to go to after a meal,somewhere a bit lively maybe?
    Go straight down the hill from the apts cross the road there is the beach.The big Chinese place will be on your right at the junction.Turn right at the bottom of the hill for Irish bars (they are upstairs shops on the ground floor)

Degsy wrote: »
    Do NOT in Lani's...they're all over the place and cater to the single-visit tourist market..the food is appalling and teh service is dire.

You may see a few tourists sitting front of house,thats a trick to make you think its a popular place..anybody eating there will not be back.

Are you referring to Lani's Cantina? We've eaten in there loads of times and would go back again.. and as I said earlier, it's always jammed!! the other Lani's restaurants however leave a lot to be desired.

xzanti wrote: »
    Are you referring to Lani's Cantina? We've eaten in there loads of times and would go back again.. and as I said earlier, it's always jammed!! the other Lani's restaurants however leave a lot to be desired.

I know Lani's cantina,its up the old town end of the strip? Never ate there but it has a good name.

I'm referring to the string of lani's diners around the place,the food is dreadfull.

I know Lani's cantina,its up the old town end of the strip? Never ate there but it has a good name.

I'm referring to the string of lani's diners around the place,the food is dreadfull.

Yeah, they're muck.

There's an irish bar called The Irish Times or the Rare Old Times(not sure which) in the old town..the bloke who owns it thinks nothing of charging 5 euro a pint and 3 euro for a bottle of water...be warned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

There's an irish bar called The Irish Times or the Rare Old Times(not sure which) in the old town..the bloke who owns it thinks nothing of charging 5 euro a pint and 3 euro for a bottle of water...be warned!

The Rare aul times used to be the original Mulligans and was taken over by the Dublin City Ramblers .It was expensive allright. There are 2 more Irish bars across the road. The last time i was there it was packed. I think they have left it know so could be under new managment.
    Just up from it is the Harbour bar or the Fisherman's ( not sure which). Great home cooked food in there.

I loved Rancho Texas and its in PDC as well so its not far. First time i went to Lanzarote we done the tours like the market and the grand tour. Now i hire a car when i go there as we get to see more and spend longer than what you would on the trips. Found the caves which the bus trip doesnt go to which was good, the animal park ( not the best but worth a walk around) ,the aquarium in costa tequize.
    The Last Minute tours are good, they are the ones where the flyers get handed to you on the street and are slightly cheaper than with the reps, maybe because lunch may not be included.
    There is a free bus from the main shopping centre in the old town to playa blanca ( think thats right ) to get the ferry to Fuerteventura . Its handy to use even if you arnt getting the ferry.

The old town is more like a ghost town,it's been empty the few times I was in it over the last 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭curiousb

pedro7 wrote: »
    The boat leaves Puerto Calero marina. If you fancy a really nice (if slightly more expensive) dinner the best restaurants I found were here.

We were in Puerto del Carmen last Summer and found Puerto Calero and it's amazing restaurants. I would drive there and not drink the restaurants were so good.

At one end of the marina is the one with the very large terrace. Amazing food and service and very reasonable. At the other end is the Argentinean restaurant, run by a husband and wife and the steaks are amazing. Flown in from Argentina and cooked over a wood fire.

These 2 restaurants were better than any we found in Puerto del Carmen, imo.

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    The Rare aul times used to be the original Mulligans and was taken over by the Dublin City Ramblers .It was expensive allright. There are 2 more Irish bars across the road. .

Ah..it must be the Irish Times i'm thinking of..avoaid at all costs,yer man is so scabby he wouldnt let somebody drink a bottle of water(which they'd paid for) in the pub,he told them they had to take it away with them.

I dont know why anybody would pay those kind of prices and be subjected to that level of rudeness when there's a hundred better bars in the area.

Worth mentioning is the chinese restaurant on the same road,its sort of on a corner just before you head down the hill at el bodegon.

It doesnt look like much from the outside but the food is amazing..they also do three courses for 7.99 so its great value too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

chuckster wrote: »

àcross the road from it is the magnolia, great food, it is hard to find bad food, in puerta del carmen, we go down for a week each january, we never tire of it, off to majorca on saturday, our first visit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭pedro7

curiousb wrote: »
    We were in Puerto del Carmen last Summer and found Puerto Calero and it's amazing restaurants. I would drive there and not drink the restaurants were so good.

At one end of the marina is the one with the very large terrace. Amazing food and service and very reasonable. At the other end is the Argentinean restaurant, run by a husband and wife and the steaks are amazing. Flown in from Argentina and cooked over a wood fire.

These 2 restaurants were better than any we found in Puerto del Carmen, imo.

We got a taxi from PDC up to Celero and it was only €12 I think it was very reasonable anyway. If your into food and wine its hard to beat those restaurants in Puerto Calero. Some if the best food i've ever had anywhere!! I had a fish called Gaio? I think... Some kind of flat fish cooked in garlic..was amazeballs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Naid23

donglen wrote: »
    The "Yellow Submarine" trip passes an afternoon, suitable for both adults and kids.
    It's a few years since I was there but I generally found all the restaurants excellent, especially the old town by the harbour.

The sub trip isnt really worth the money IMO, 50e each for what is basically an hour underwater. you would be better doing an intro course in diving.

for restaurants, You should take a wander down to Matagorda centre, there is an AMAZING Japanese restaurant there called 'Sapporo'. Gorgeous fresh fish/food/ sushi and very reasonable prices compared to similar restaurants in Del Carmen. Plus you can also walk to the airport runway from there (If you into that sorta stuff).

I've been to Lanzarote several times in the last 4 years and I adore it, just a great atmosphere all round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

there are two pubs across from the hotel san antonio, the nick dundee and the dubliner, they are not bad, do not be suprised is a sing song breaks out unexpectly, most of the electrical shop sell chineese fakes, however there is one which has a samsung dealership, prices there are not great.