Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can anyone recommend a single seater commuter car for me?

• 27-07-2012 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

I'm looking for an electric single seater car for my daily commute. With the imminent 6% increase in public transport prices, I have decided to buy an electric car. It will just be me in the car so there is only the need for one seat, any more seats will only add unnecessary weight to the car and increase drag resistance due to the car having to be wider.

I want it to be as aerodynamic as possible and have a low centre of gravity in order to make it as efficient as possible, so would like a design similar to the Ferrari Modulo or the GM XP 511. I certainly don't want a box like car such as the Tango. I'd like it to have a range of about 400 miles so that I only need to charge it once a fortnight. Considering the Tesla Model S has a range of 300 miles, I presume there are many single seater EV's which are easily capable of 400 miles or more, unfortunately I am having some trouble finding them. Can someone recommend one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Gee whizz ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Gee whizz ?

its twice as wide as it needs to be and has a poor range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Renault Twizy. Available in IRL from Jan '13

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szN3bLF1oP4

It looks like a good bit of kit, note 85km/h top speed - not motorways.

You're notgonna get 400km range from a small EV - not enough battery space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Sinclair C5? They have a range of at least, err, a range.., they look like a ferrari (if you squint a bit, ................ok, they don't), one seat, cheap to run and most people only ever had to charge them the once. C5 for the, err, win? They are also incredibly nippy and comfortable, practical and stylish. Ok, they're not, but they are electric, crap, and have one seat, that's most of your requirements met right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Pottler wrote: »
    Sinclair C5? They have a range of at least, err, a range.., they look like a ferrari (if you squint a bit, ................ok, they don't), one seat, cheap to run and most people only ever had to charge them the once. C5 for the, err, win? They are also incredibly nippy and comfortable, practical and stylish. Ok, they're not, but they are electric, crap, and have one seat, that's most of your requirements met right there.
    Is the main objective to save money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/2011-smart-fortwo-electric-drive-first-drive-review

Extra seat, but electric Smart?

http://uk.smart.com/products-electric-drive/bf408e3f-8998-5bf8-b237-7f58fbb574f4;sid=n4NwXxM-r4h0X0Msfl9FG3wLKUAEf_fFxATsmzuye3gr2BhlpialTFIkpTBTZ2Ba1S3smzuyKUAEf0pdiYE=
    It looks like a good bit of kit, note 85km/h top speed

Pointless - the electric Smart does 120kph.

edit: And 50 quid a month to rent the battery on the Twizy, plus no fecking doors, and it is estimated at 7k sterling. Joke.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is the main objective to save money?
    He wants an electric car. I should feckin hope so^. What other earthly, possible reason could any man want one for otherwise?? To impress the chicks? Save the planet? For the buzz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

OP, I think you're being a bit over restrictive with your criteria.

Pottler wrote: »
    He wants an electric car. I should feckin hope so^. What other earthly, possible reason could any man want one for otherwise?? To impress the chicks? Save the planet? For the buzz?

What's the second hand market like for one seater electric cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Electric scooter or real bike tbh

I must ease up on my downer on electric cars, I had one once, briefly. I filled my mondeo diesel with petrol while half asleep after a long day at work and when it conked out I had to drive it on the starter to get off the toll plaza. Top speed was not great, range was also a bit limited, so OP, I can't reccomend an electric mondeo diesel - avoid.
    I thought they had invented a cheap, practical one seater with long range and ideal for a, err cost concious commute?. I believe they are called scooters.

AltAccount wrote: »
    What's the second hand market like for one seater electric cars?
    Savage. There's people queing up for them. At the last Funderland my kids had to wait 10 minutes for a go. Now they want their own bumpercar. OP, you'll struggle with that range requirement, no way are you getting enough chicken wire overhead to stretch for 400 miles.

deandean wrote: »
    Renault Twizy. Available in IRL from Jan '13

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szN3bLF1oP4

It looks like a good bit of kit, note 85km/h top speed - not motorways.

You're notgonna get 400km range from a small EV - not enough battery space.

The Twizy is ballpark what I'm looking for. I saw on youtube that it does have doors but no windows which is a dealbreaker. Also having to rent the battery for £50 per month- get da fcuk!

I wonder can you drive the twizy in bus lanes and cycle lanes? If so it may be worth the 50 per month, since it would dramatically cut down commute times for me.

Also could you drive through lanes of stopped traffic like motorbikes do?

I still think the twizy is way too box shaped, they should be making electric vehicles as aerodynamic as possible.

I would buy this tomorrow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6Q9nF3YmH4&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Patser

On a phone so can't give you links yet but have you looked at a Carver One, if you can find one and afford it. Meant to be great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

delad wrote: »
    The Twizy is ballpark what I'm looking for. I saw on youtube that it does have doors but no windows which is a dealbreaker. Also having to rent the battery for £50 per month- get da fcuk!

I wonder can you drive the twizy in bus lanes and cycle lanes? If so it may be worth the 50 per month, since it would dramatically cut down commute times for me.

I still think the twizy is way too box shaped, they should be making electric vehicles as aerodynamic as possible.

I would buy this tomorrow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6Q9nF3YmH4&feature=related

Registered in some countries as a motorcycle, but I would anticipate some arguments. I wonder could it meet requirements as a mobility scooter? :D

I still think an electric Smart makes much more sense.

So OP, how's the market research for Opel going?:D I actually thought you were messing with your question, now I think you are testing the waters.:)

Patser wrote: »
    On a phone so can't give you links yet but have you looked at a Carver One, if you can find one and afford it. Meant to be great fun.

You know they're about 35 grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

All this due to 6% increase in public transport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

I wonder can you drive the twizy in bus lanes and cycle lanes?

You are off your rocker if you are serious with these questions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Buy a bike, that way you won't look like a twat.

chris85 wrote: »
    All this due to 6% increase in public transport?

yes for my commute, its now become uneconomic to travel on public transport

subway wrote: »
    You are off your rocker if you are serious with these questions

but its not classed as a car as far as I can see, therefore is not subject to the normal rules

Buy a bike, that way you won't look like a twat.

I prefer the extra safety of having a cage around me

yes for my commute, its now become uneconomic to travel on public transport

How much do you spend a week on public transport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

is it me or is it troll thread?

I prefer the extra safety of having a cage around me
    If safety is a concern, then buy an actual car. Otherwise, a bicycle is the best bet economically.

How much do you spend a week on public transport?

I think its 120 per month, and thats to stand in a badly overcrowded train for my 30 minute journey every morning and evening

If safety is a concern, then buy an actual car. Otherwise, a bicycle is the best bet economically.

safety isn't my main concern, but having a motorbike or bicycle would be too dangerous for me, at least with an electric car I will be more visible to other drivers and if I do crash I have more chance of coming away uninjured than if I was on a bike

I think its 120 per month, and thats to stand in a badly overcrowded train for my 30 minute journey every morning and evening
    So because of an extra €7.20 per month you're going to spend thousands on an electric car? All for a total commuting time of 60 minutes per day?

I wish my commute was so short.

So €30 a week? That's nothing, I'd spend that in 2 days, even parking in town would cost you that.

So because of an extra €7.20 per month you're going to spend thousands on an electric car? All for a total commuting time of 60 minutes per day?

I wish my commute was so short.

Well I spend well over a thousand on public transport a year, the electric car wouldn't be long saving me money, plus I would have a much more comfortable journey in the morning, have more freedom, be able to drive from my doorstep to my work without having to walk 20 minutes from the train station, plus I would be doing my bit for the environment, plus if my single seater ev is allowed to drive in bus lanes then I would probably reduce my journey time, plus no more time spent wasted waiting for trains

So €30 a week? That's nothing, I'd spend that in 2 days, even parking in town would cost you that.

I can park at work for free.

In saying that though, I think the government should provide free parking spaces in city centres to EV's, if they are serious about saving the environment.

How much are you looking to spend? Will you borrow or do you have it in cash?

Not sure yet, wanna see whats available and then decide if I'm willing to pay its cost. If something like the Twizy comes out but doesn't have the 50 quid a month battery rental charge, then I would seriously consider that.

You don't have a budget, not even to the nearest €10k?

Well it probably wouldn't be over 15k, but I would have to weigh up how much savings I would make and how long I would keep the car etc.

He plucked the cost of his commute out of thin air, what makes you think he has a budget? Personally, I reckon this is what I first thought it was, a wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Jesus H, and I thought the Olympics opening ceremony was mad! Little did I know what was going on here!

Well I spend well over a thousand on public transport a year, the electric car wouldn't be long saving me money, plus I would have a much more comfortable journey in the morning, have more freedom, be able to drive from my doorstep to my work without having to walk 20 minutes from the train station, plus I would be doing my bit for the environment, plus if my single seater ev is allowed to drive in bus lanes then I would probably reduce my journey time, plus no more time spent wasted waiting for trains

Well, taking as an example the Twizy that has been mentioned already. You'd be looking at 7k or 8k (according to google) plus €600 per year for the battery lease (be sure to check the small print on that). And for this you get a car that doesn't have a heater or even the ability to keep you dry if it rains, which is often enough in Ireland. I wouldn't fancy spending 8k on something that contributes to frost bite during winter.

I think you have to assume you'll have insurance costs on top of all this as well as unknown maintenance costs. Plus I wouldn't count on being able to use a bus lane so your commute probably won't be any shorter, in fact it could be considerably longer.

That's a lot of money for something that's fairly untested and you'd need to have it for a number of years to see any real savings.

edit: I see you'd pay up to 15k, if I paid this I would have to have the car for over 13 years to see a saving, and that's not taking into account any other costs. Madness.

I want it to be as aerodynamic as possible and have a low centre of gravity in order to make it as efficient as possible, so would like a design similar to the Ferrari Modulo or the GM XP 511. I certainly don't want a box like car such as the Tango. I'd like it to have a range of about 400 miles so that I only need to charge it once a fortnight. Considering the Tesla Model S has a range of 300 miles, I presume there are many single seater EV's which are easily capable of 400 miles or more, unfortunately I am having some trouble finding them. Can someone recommend one?

How I lol'd reading that :D

How is you not being on the train but being in an EV doing anything for the environment?

RoverJames wrote: »

How is you not being on the train but being in an EV doing anything for the environment?

I meant buying an EV as opposed to a petrol car is good for the environment. In saying that, travelling into work in a lightweight single seater EV is probably more efficient that travelling in a big heavy train, so would also work out better for the environment.

But the train will be travelling regardless, you not getting it won't make a difference.

You do know where electricity comes from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

is it me or is it troll thread?

I'm with ShadowHearth on this one.

I call shenanigans on the o/p.

I meant buying an EV as opposed to a petrol car is good for the environment. ............

Not if you buy a 2nd hand car that's fuel efficient :)
    Making EVs is not overly environmentally friendly. Reuse would be the main philosophy of genuine, knowledgeable folks concerned about the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Ah lads. This eejit been trolling for three pages now. Leave him alone. Da lympics is much more entertaining.

Well, taking as an example the Twizy that has been mentioned already. You'd be looking at 7k or 8k (according to google) plus €600 per year for the battery lease (be sure to check the small print on that). And for this you get a car that doesn't have a heater or even the ability to keep you dry if it rains, which is often enough in Ireland. I wouldn't fancy spending 8k on something that contributes to frost bite during winter.

I think you have to assume you'll have insurance costs on top of all this as well as unknown maintenance costs. Plus I wouldn't count on being able to use a bus lane so your commute probably won't be any shorter, in fact it could be considerably longer.

That's a lot of money for something that's fairly untested and you'd need to have it for a number of years to see any real savings.

edit: I see you'd pay up to 15k, if I paid this I would have to have the car for over 13 years to see a saving, and that's not taking into account any other costs. Madness.

I get what you are saying and I agree to a certain extent. I've already said I wouldn't buy the twizzy because of the battery lease cost and the window issue, but if a similiar car came out that did have windows and no battery lease cost I would consider it, if the price was right.

I doubt the maintenance cost would be significant, EV's are pretty simple vehicles with a lot less that can go wrong compared to a normal car.

If I did buy an EV, I would have no problem keeping it for many years, since all I would be using it for is commuting and I can rest easy in the knowledge than the cost of public transport certainly isn't going to come down any in that time.

Also its not purely about economics, there are many advantages to having the freedom of owning a car compared to relying on public transport.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Not if you buy a 2nd hand car that's fuel efficient :)
    Making EVs is not overly environmentally friendly. Reuse would be the main philosophy of genuine, knowledgeable folks concerned about the environment.

Not true, EVs blow normal cars out of the water in terms of fuel efficiency, especially cars such as the twizzy, which costs £1 of electricity for a full charge which is about 60 miles. So buying a 2nd hand petrol car would not be more environmentally friendly. Thats the sort of thing Jeremy Clarkson would come out with.

But the train will be travelling regardless, you not getting it won't make a difference.

not when passengers go down and they put on less carriages as a result or stop certain services altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Bicycle. Health benefits of pedalling massively outweigh any risks.