Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kenny Egan Media Whore

• 26-07-2012 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭

anyone else hate this man
    ever since Beijing the lad thinks he is a celebrity
    i see how now he is a reformed character & is calling himself Kenneth again:rolleyes:
    he is also on RTE as an anaylst too plus he has been on the Late Late or other shows about 20 times since 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

O'k 1st off hating someone for been attention seeking is a bit lame!

Probably just you using to strong a word for your dislike of his way's, he is a z list celebrity either way, and as seen as he is also on panels etc then he is right to believe he is 1.

He's not harming anyone and seems to have less of that attitude going on of late anyway..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭LowOdour

MD1990 wrote: »
    anyone else hate this man
    ever since Beijing the lad thinks he is a celebrity
    i see how now he is a reformed character & is calling himself Kenneth again:rolleyes:
    he is also on RTE as an anaylst too plus he has been on the Late Late or other shows about 20 times since 2008

I'd be no great fan of his but hate??
    He has a good background in amateur boxing so probably the reason for been given an analyst role....probably has more in-depth knowledge of the current circuit than micheal curruth for example. As for the late late, there have been plenty of lot less successful people than him on it so I think its a nothing argument.

His name thing is abit odd. He is calling himself Kenneth because of the hassel Kenny has had since the Bejing Olympics....but at the same time, he won & acheived everything as Kenny! its odd, but who really cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I like the guy....but he should not be allowed anywhere near our olympic team, or speak on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Always called himself Kenneth Egan in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

he should not be allowed anywhere near our olympic team, or speak on their behalf.

Why? he captained the team for many years to great success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

he has been on the Late Late

makes a change from the usual RTE staff members that appear then I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

cowzerp wrote: »
    O'k 1st off hating someone for been attention seeking is a bit lame!

Probably just you using to strong a word for your dislike of his way's, he is a z list celebrity either way, and as seen as he is also on panels etc then he is right to believe he is 1.

He's not harming anyone and seems to have less of that attitude going on of late anyway..
    of course because he didn't even qualify for the london olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Some really sad people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Welcome to 2010.

Kenny said it himself that the attention went to his head just after the games..give the guy a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Kenny went off the rails for a while admitted it, and now is on the straight and narrow again giving the irish boxing team good advice on what comes after whatever success comes their way and how to handle it,and who better than himself to do it as he had to come through it himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Why would you waste energy hating a man you dont know?
    I dont like watching him fight, that's as far as my feelings for him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We are in a world of media whores, why pick on poor Kenny, sorry Kenneth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

He loves himself and I think the drinking thing was an exaggeration and looking for attention... but he was training full time and obviously fully dedicated to his dream. Not the "normal" 20 odd year old Irish lad out every week having the craic then he was thrown into the spotlight and his goal was over most would act similar if they could reach that scenario.

He is an Olympic silver medalist and that was only at the last Olympics so of course he deserves be a pundit for the boxing at this Olympics anyone that thinks otherwise is stupid. Simple as.

As for the comment on he didn't even qualify for this Olympics your obviously just ignorant to the world of amatuer boxing so I ain't even arsed getting into it go educate yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Hate is way too strong a word. U don't even know the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 cmf22

He's always called himself Kenneth and has always represented the Irish boxing team superbly.
    The sudden fame in '08 would have sent most lads in their 20's off the rails a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Thread hasnt quite worked out the way the OP intended.

16692-010846-6745f7fa9ec1ef99a87d18e6416407ef.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

WTF, sad tread ......

OP do you have any clue what kind of work he has put into his career ...

I'm fecking worst for even replying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

cant believe this thread.

the guy won a silver medal for ireland at the olympics - our best performance since 1992.....

but that doesnt matter because some anonymous punter on a chat forum doesnt like the look of him, or in their words "hate him", despite never having met the guy and based on the odd tv show here and there.

un-fuppin-believable.

hate is too strong yes
    but i dislike the man for the way he handled himself after Beijing
    did Michael Carruth act this way after winning Gold no
    either did Darren Sutherland R.I.P
    Egan could have become Pro but he threw all away coz his ego got too big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

hate is too strong yes
    but i dislike the man for the way he handled himself after Beijing
    did Michael Carruth act this way after winning Gold no
    either did Darren Sutherland R.I.P
    Egan could have become Pro but he threw all away coz his ego got too big

First of all, the only reason I've left this thread open is the overwhelmingly reasonable and positive response from posters on the forum. The thread title itself breaks rule 10) of the charter.

It's fair enough if you dislike him for that reason, did Michael Carruth act that way ?, well I'm not old enough to remember how Carruth acted, he always seemed like a well grounded character so I presume not, but then again Michael did not live in the age of Twitter, Facebook etc, and I'm assuming that despite achieving more than Kenny he would of found it easier to avoid the press/attention when he wanted to back in 1992.

Darren god rest his sole, certainly didn't behave like Kenny, but he didn't deal with the pressures that come with boxing very well either, and they could have very well lead to the unfortunate circumstances that came about to end his life. I'd certainly prefer someone acting like an absolute arsehole for a couple of years, then have what happened to poor Darren.

Egan didn't want to turn pro due to his advanced age and the good money he was receiving as an amateur. That money would of only got better when he joined a WSB team. I'd have like to see Egan give the pro game a bash, but I don't believe for one minute it was his ego that stopped him from that. Professional boxing is the mainstay of big ego's, surely if Kenny wanted to feed that he'd have turned over with a promoter in America ?

Big Ears wrote: »
    First of all, the only reason I've left this thread open is the overwhelmingly reasonable and positive response from posters on the forum. The thread title itself breaks rule 10) of the charter.

It's fair enough if you dislike him for that reason, did Michael Carruth act that way ?, well I'm not old enough to remember how Carruth acted, he always seemed like a well grounded character so I presume not, but then again Michael did not live in the age of Twitter, Facebook etc, and I'm assuming that despite achieving more than Kenny he would of found it easier to avoid the press/attention when he wanted to back in 1992.

Darren god rest his sole, certainly didn't behave like Kenny, but he didn't deal with the pressures that come with boxing very well either, and they could have very well lead to the unfortunate circumstances that came about to end his life. I'd certainly prefer someone acting like an absolute arsehole for a couple of years, then have what happened to poor Darren.

Egan didn't want to turn pro due to his advanced age and the good money he was receiving as an amateur. That money would of only got better when he joined a WSB team. I'd have like to see Egan give the pro game a bash, but I don't believe for one minute it was his ego that stopped him from that. Professional boxing is the mainstay of big ego's, surely if Kenny wanted to feed that he'd have turned over with a promoter in America ?
    the reason why he didn't go Pro is because he couldn't live the lifestyle because Pro Boxing would require even more training & better eating habits
    he threw away his career because his ego got too big & was too busy being a wannabe celebrity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Keep up the negativity and you won't be around here for long.

Closed.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.