Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's at least one GT86 out there!

• 25-07-2012 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

I spotted this beauty in Portlaoise on Monday evening on the way back from Cork. I must say, it looked amazing in the flesh. The lines really suit the car, it's quite small and aggressive looking!

I didn't take any interior photos as I wouldn't like someone taking those kinda photos of my car, but you get the picture. not bad for 40k?

20120723191702.jpg
    20120723191720.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's "knifey spooney" from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Its a Toyota demo, a member here drives it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Nice car owner must be loaded.....:)

corglass wrote: »
    ............. not bad for 40k?...........

Dunno, looks a bit cheap to me, I reckon they made a mess of the rear light clusters and spoiler, the wheels look strikingly similar to Halfords tat.

A clean mid/late 90s Celica or MR2 don't have an air of cheapness about them so it's not me being a badge snob or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Here's an interior and engine shot from the Cars and Coffee meet in Athlone this month so.

376525_10150981949443682_1454208708_n.jpg
    306736_10150981950938682_1047706615_n.jpg

Even the boot is spacious enough.
    283619_10150981949858682_1791608903_n.jpg

And approval by the common public :)
    205303_10150993786603682_2133725526_n.jpg
    Photo taken at Mondello last friday.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I think they look great in the flesh, the pictures didn't do it justice I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Dunno if i would pay €40k for one tbh even if i had it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

RoverJames wrote: »
    ............. not bad for 40k?...........

Dunno, looks a bit cheap to me, I reckon they made a mess of the rear light clusters and spoiler, the wheels look strikingly similar to Halfords tat.

A clean mid/late 90s Celica or MR2 don't have an air of cheapness about them so it's not me being a badge snob or anything.

How's your GT86 RJ? Well? Well?? :D

She's a cracker personally. I'd love a wee spin tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

coolisin wrote: »
    I think they look great in the flesh, the pictures didn't do it justice I thought.

you're right coolisin, it's a tidy package up close. I wonder how many will be bought over here? Are they even on general sale yet?

Antares wrote: »
    How's your GT86 RJ? Well? Well?? :D........

That's gone over my head totally, not a clue what you mean tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If I was buying a new car for €40K I'd have it but to be honest, If I had that much money to spend on a car I'd probably keep saving and buy a 370Z.

Still, GT86 is still one to own in, say... 5 -10 years? :o

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    The 370z replacement is going to be a 4pot coupe. I saw my first one today too it certainly looks much better in the flesh. Wouldnt pay 40k for one though.

I heard about that.
    Anything othen than 6 cylinders in a Z car is just wrong.
    If they want to bring out a powerfull 4 pot coupe they should bring back the S cars, but that's another thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

CianRyan wrote: »
    I heard about that.
    Anything othen than 6 cylinders in a Z car is just wrong.
    If they want to bring out a powerfull 4 pot coupe they should bring back the S cars, but that's another thread...

Don't know all about that now :P

Jaguar C-X75:
    4 Cylinder 1.6L Super + Turbo charged
    Electric Motor
    500 BHP W/ 10,000 RPM
    Carbon Fiber Monocoque
    11 Radiators
    Sub 3 Sec 0-60 + 200 MPH Top Speed

Oh,
    And it would only cost you about a million or so :pac:

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/jaguar-c-x75-gets-500bhp-16-turbo

Back on topic.
    I was expecting something a bit nicer looking than that
    Not saying it is ugly or anything. But just something looks wrong.

vectra wrote: »
    Don't know all about that now :P

Jaguar C-X75:
    4 Cylinder 1.6L Super + Turbo charged
    Electric Motor
    500 BHP W/ 10,000 RPM
    Carbon Fiber Monocoque
    11 Radiators
    Sub 3 Sec 0-60 + 200 MPH Top Speed

Oh,
    And it would only cost you about a million or so :pac:

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/jaguar-c-x75-gets-500bhp-16-turbo

Back on topic.
    I was expecting something a bit nicer looking than that
    Not saying it is ugly or anything. But just something looks wrong.

I find that Jag utterly unappealing, the same story with the XJ220. I'd say I'm in the minority though. :p
    The figures are there but they just do nothing for me... And the new one sounds like a leaf blower.

I don't see what people don't like about the look of the GT86, I think it's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Very few of the boardsies around here want to buy a rover end of story so stop putting down toyota.

and perhaps WE think that in all honesty YOU can't afford a new gt 86 at the moment , ?

Or I'm very wrong. .?

so perhahaps your nitpicking at the gt 86 is a bit ott

Considering (with all due respect)you won't be able To afford one for at least 16 years from now or so , but perhaps i see your profile wrong, correct me if I'm I'll advised.!

Please don'tt comment on something, until you're actually in the market ...".".for buying something north of two grand thats not a rover/saab/defunct bucket of ****e
    We're talkin about. A 40 k car here

perhaps you might consider biting your tounge.

Roverjames you might consider the thoughts of the odd few Irish people with real money to spend, on a non rover , 40 k car that is still RELATIVELY Small money to them particularly compared to the equivalent Porsche, BMW or other German ****e

so keep you're comments on a 40 k car that some of us around here could actually afford to order and buy today to yourself ,until you drive one, or god forbid can own one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

Bigus wrote: »
    Very few of the boardsies around here want to buy a rover end of story so stop putting down toyota.

and perhaps WE think that in all honesty YOU can't afford a new gt 86 at the moment , ?

Or I'm very wrong. .?

Considering (with all due respect)you won't be able To afford one for at least 16 years from now or so , but perhaps i see your profile wrong, correct me if I'm I'll advised.!

Please don'tt comment on something, until you're actually in the market ...".".for buying something north of two grand thats not a rover/saab/defunct bucket of ****e

Roverjames you might consider the thoughts of the odd few Irish people with real money to spend, on a non rover , 40 k car that is still RELATIVELY Small money to them particularly compared to the equivalent Porsche, BMW or other German ****e

so keep you're comments on a 40 k car that some of us around here could actually afford to order and buy today to yourself ,until you drive one, or god forbid can own one.

How is he the one whos going OTT?

Also, since when are people no entitled to their own opinions around here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

you're right coolisin, it's a tidy package up close. I wonder how many will be bought over here? Are they even on general sale yet?

They are on general sale. There's supposed to be around 10 in the country, but there will only be 35 in this year, so it'll be limited, what we see of them.

Cracker of a car though.

And honestly, it's competing on the market against the likes of the Audi TT, which costs 41k+ or thereabouts for the 1.8T base model.

So while you pay more for a felt spec Audi TT, you get a fully loaded GT86 for less, that has RWD, LSD, etc.

I think the only options you can select on a GT86 are metallic paint, leather and sat-nav. Everything else is standard.

I had a spin in knifey_spooney's and honestly, I'd buy one, if I was buying a new car. There's very little on the market today, that I would buy. This ticks most of the boxes. From a driving perspective, it's a very tight suspension, but not too hard and very precise. It really is a drivers car.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Or I'm very wrong. .?

You should be ashamed of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Anan1 wrote: »

x2,

Disgraceful post.

Saying "(with all due respect)" doesn't give you a free pass to blatantly insult and lambaste somebody, particularly about their financial position or prospects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

x2,

blatantly insult and lambaste somebody, particularly about their financial position or prospects.

Take no notice of insults here.
    Happens to a lot of people apparently.
    I agree with him.

Just slightly bewildered you don't find her attractive.

Personally and without personal inspection, I have to say I like it and thought Toyota had done well. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Oh, stick it in your ear, if no-one can criticise a car unless they can afford one and drive something at least as expensive, we can close the whole feckin forum.

Just slightly bewildered you don't find her attractive.
    It came across as an insinuation of sour grapes to me.

Personally and without personal inspection, I have to say I like it and thought Toyota had done well. :)
    Me too.

It came across as an insinuation of sour grapes to me.

Fair dues, That wasn't the intention.

Apologies if the above came across as offensive RJ. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Great looking car no doubt about that.

There are just as many crap areas in South Dublin as there is in North Dublin.

There are more crap areas South of the river, since North of the river is just one (big) crap area :D

Sorry but I have to pick up on that .It annoys me that people think all of south Dublin is some sort of utopia where we all have huge sums of money and have no issues. There are just as many crap areas in South Dublin as there is in North Dublin.
    I was going to say something myself, but I felt we'd already gone far enough OT. People are people, you get all sorts everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Sorry but I have to pick up on that .It annoys me that people think all of south Dublin is some sort of utopia where we all have huge sums of money and have no issues. There are just as many crap areas in South Dublin as there is in North Dublin.

Whoa whoa whoa... don't you be bringing North Dublin into this! No one else did!!! :mad:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Back on topic, a GT86 pulled up beside me at the lights on the long mile road a few weeks ago and I'm as far from a toyota fanboy as you'll get on this forum, but I thought it was a sweet looking machine.

I was going to say something myself, but I felt we'd already gone far enough OT. People are people, you get all sorts everywhere.

I know well it isn't, wasnt what I really meant sorry lads :o

I will edit my post, apologies.

On topic: I love the gt86 though, been following the saga with gusto since the concept came through,

I will own one, not for a few years, but I will

I don't want one, but fair dues to Toyota and Subaru for making it. It's far better looking than a GTI or other hot-hatch you could spend your 40K on, and it's rear wheel drive, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Saw one in Grandons yesterday.

It is nice but I don't like the red. Also, I'm not sure about the design, the rear quarters looks a little too much like the Hyundai Coupe.

I parked my Gen 7 beside it, and I think it looks better. The Gen 7 isn't half the car admittedly, and maybe in a different metallic the GT would look more eye catching.

I particularly like the way that all of the ae series & the gt has kept a certain likeness about them, maybe its just my undying love for the toyota sports coupe completely blinding me but I see a certain resemblance in them all, maybe theyre not the comtemporary view of what is a beautiful car but they all had their good points, always were a raw, bare basics, small engined, light, nimble sports car.

ae86-010.jpg

Corolla_Trueno_Kouki_coup%C3%A9.jpg

AE101Club_W38.jpg

046.jpg

gt86
    toyota-gt-86-modelis_600x0w.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Or I'm very wrong. .?

Firstly, take a day off for that post.

Secondly, just because you can't afford something (I'm not saying RJ can't, but I'm saying this as a general comment) doesn't mean that you can not pass a valid opinion on it.

Please don't post in Motors again with the above attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Saw one of these on the road just outside of Blanch a couple of weeks ago

I was right behind it at the lights, it was bigger than I thought it would be anyway and looks and sounds a cracking car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I want to see one in the metal before I make my mind up about it. For now, the photos just do nothing for me. It looks like the designers got carried away with themselves and I think it will age badly like the Hyundai Coupe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I don't find that car too bad lookin but would prefer to see it in the reality first before I make my mind up.

Says probably the biggest anti toyota head on this site :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Like the front but not so mad on the rear from those pics but want to see it in the flesh first....Great to see there are some appearing on Irish roads....

Wonder if any will join the celica owners club...:p

GT86 spotting thread....lol

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I've not seen the GT86 on the roads yet but I saw a nice white Subaru BRZ, it's only $25,500 over here :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

I think it's a great looking car, the most intersting car Toyota has made in a long time, would have trouble getting over that price tag when you can get this for the same money (I know it's second hand and all but yum...)

Viper_JB wrote: »
    I think it's a great looking car, the most intersting car Toyota has made in a long time, would have trouble getting over that price tag when you can get this for the same money (I know it's second hand and all but yum...)

While I see what you mean re: the pricing, steep surely, but,

Comparing melons and strawberries there though, :pac:

One on hand you've a (relatively) lightweight, small engined coupe,

On the other hand you've a v10 200mph saloon that weighs the guts of 2 tonnes.

Not saying I wouldn't have an m5, theyre one of my dream cars but, a completely different breed of animal.

Viper_JB wrote: »
    you can get this for the same money

In new terms, the GT86 falls between the 36K 120i coupé and the 44K 125i coupé. It's close price and power wise to the 123d (although not in the character of the engine, obviously).

Ya I know....lol just day dreaming :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

......RELATIVELY Small money to them particularly compared to the equivalent Porsche, BMW or other German ****e..

....well you can buy a Boxster for 5k now, a 996 for 12k, and I just got a lovely TT for 4k... and a plethora of other models all for less than that GT, so you are talking through your hat when it comes to value.

That said, I'm all for the GT, I like it, and I hope they sell bucket loads of them - if no-one buys them new, we can't buy them used, down the road.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....well you can buy a Boxster for 5k now, a 996 for 12k, and I just got a lovely TT for 4k... and a plethora of other models all for less than that GT, so you are talking through your hat when it comes to value.

That said, I'm all for the GT, I like it, and I hope they sell bucket loads of them - if no-one buys them new, we can't buy them used, down the road.........

Would love to see it take off sales wise, don't see it happening though...it's no Dacia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Picked up my new GT86 last Thursday and i have to say I'm very happy with it.

IMO The Photo's don't do it Justice.

If your looking for a practical/economical car, look somewhere else.

If your looking for a fun car to drive that will put a smile on your face every time you drive it...you won't go wrong

Signed

One Happy GT86 Owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

While I see what you mean re: the pricing, steep surely, but,

Comparing melons and strawberries there though, :pac:

One on hand you've a (relatively) lightweight, small engined coupe,

On the other hand you've a v10 200mph saloon that weighs the guts of 2 tonnes.

Not saying I wouldn't have an m5, theyre one of my dream cars but, a completely different breed of animal.

The Gt86 won't cost much more than a Mondeo to run and has very little to go wrong. The TCO of the GT86 will be far less than an aging M5, and almost any other car of similar credentials.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Picked up my new GT86 last Thursday and i have to say I'm very happy with it.

IMO The Photo's don't do it Justice.

If your looking for a practical/economical car, look somewhere else.

If your looking for a fun car to drive that will put a smile on your face every time you drive it...you won't go wrong

Signed

One Happy GT86 Owner

Fair play and well wear!! :)

Would you treat us to some pics? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Fair play and well wear!! :)

Would you treat us to some pics? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

galwaytt wrote: »
    Yup, have a feeling they could fit into the MX5 kinda bracket down the line if they sell enough.