Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying a 98 audi 1.6 petrol sport

• 25-07-2012 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭

Hi guys looking at Audi with 117k.its well kitted out bodykit nice paintwork and nctd.got new cat converter and serviced with 80 percent tires.real head turner.what do u think should I go for it for 700 cash now Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭alanhiggyno1

Ready to buy just looking for advice first

Anyone plz...bump up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

A4 or A3? Link to advert?

here u go.let me kno what ye think http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3669931

looks good shape to me for a 98

well is it worth the 700 guys.im on my way to see it now.

looks good shape to me for a 98

It looks absolutely ridiculous to me. Wouldn't be seen dead in it.

why u think that

The ****iest bodykit I have seen in a long time, crappy replica wheels, illegal number plates and a general air of skanger from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Awful looking but worth the money if there's enough nct on it.

Nct till Jan 13

Yeah, sure even if it calves after a few months some eejit will buy the wheels off you

New cat coverter pads and serviced.has receipts to prove it too.also wheels are nice.so shud I go after it

Yes go and buy it.

Really is it a gd deal so

If you're into that sort of yoke.

Beware of it being ragged though, don't let the heart rule the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If you took off that hideous body kit it might be worth a punt. Selling the RS6 replica wheels would probably recoup a fair share of that asking price too.

BTW can you actually run a 1.6 litre A4 ragged? :D

Is the kit really that bad lads..

No....it's worse.

Ok think ill pass on this motor so.thanks for advice

If you like it does it matter what anyone else thinks? :)
    If the car is mechanically sound it's not bad for €700, the bodykit wouldn't appeal to many people admittedly.

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you like it does it matter what anyone else thinks? :)
    If the car is mechanically sound it's not bad for €700, the bodykit wouldn't appeal to many people admittedly.

Wud u buy roverjames .ur honest opinion wud help

If it test drove ok, was straight and had nothing wrong with it than if I didn't mind the bodykit and was after an A4 I think I would. It looks clean inside and the outside it straight enough in the pics, the wheels are a bit scuffed but that's to be expected. As mentioned by someone above you'd get a couple of hundred for the wheels easy.

Now without looking at the car and having a poke around I can't tell if it's a sh1t car or not but if it checks out I'd defo see it as €700 not badly spent of you like it :)

Cheers havnt decided yet to buy.wud there be good poke from 1.6 do u reckon or wud it be under powered

Wud there b gud poke from engine or underpowered for a 1.6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

The bodykit adds about 15bhp to the engine so it shouldn't be too bad.

*Plainly I'm not being serious, if you are looking for poke I would advise something else other than a basic engine A4.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Please, please do not use text speak, it is the work of the devil.

To answer your question after I've spent time and effort understanding it, I'd imagine any A4 would be underpowered with a 1.6 engine, they are not and never were the lightest of cars.

What is it you are looking for in a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

That body kit is horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

If you like it and it checks out ok buy it. You cant go wrong for 700. If it conks out next week you will sell the wheels and tyres for 250-300 plus a few other bits will make up the price of the car. The body kit is not the worst the wheels just dont suit it imo. Then again I hate them wheels on anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Audis are generally classy, that body kit negates that. Bodykits suggest sporty, the 1.6 negates that. Some people will point and laugh at you, another class of person would delight in keying it.

If none of that bothers you and it is mechanically sound then why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

If you are between the age of 17-22 this is the car for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

its a head turner alrite, for all the wrong reasons. In fairness if i seen that on the road me and my mates would laugh at it. Sorry!