Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bullock, scour and seems to be not thriving like others, photos incl

• 22-07-2012 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭

3 or so months in to farming with me few cattle 1yr olds +. (bullocks)

and i notice that one is not as full as the others, like as if hes on the thin side, and scouring lately.

Now, ill admit that they have been on fresh green grass for the last week or 2, but its a bit much now, + the rest seems to be holding up fine.

and ive noticed how much the last 3 months has changed most of them from what id call now weanling's to full bullocks. . . but while this animal has got big, hes not at all like me other Charlie (who is similar shade/bread) not fattening at all. . or going back. .

what could be the reason? and is there anything out there i could get for him?

oh, i had ring worm on one bullock but with reading on here about letting it be and that it will go away by itself, which it did, and 4 weeks later has spread to 70% of the herd.. . no major hassle, but keeping a close on it. ..
    i hope it goes away now on them to, slow though. comes up in little spots on the body and head area. . kinda red like. .. hoping the sun will clear it up.

would appreciate some help, thanks

NBF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

What have you been dosing them with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

for what? ringworm? or in general?

nothing for ringworm,
    in general, they got bayticol and closamectin. .. . . both pour on, bayticol middle/end of may, closamectin beginning middle of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Maybe chance him with an oral drench. Something along the lines of Albex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

You cant really tell much from a photo, but he does look a bit watery. If hes been dosed, in general he should be thriving. It may just be the move over on grass that is scouring him, but then again it could be a multitude of things. i know its a costly exercise but a call to the vet would probably be the safest bet seen as you are just starting out. is there a local farmer who can help with keeping an eye on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

how old is he, from the first picture I would be thinking of maybe BVD. What has he being treated with so far regards worming etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

how old is he, from the first picture I would be thinking of maybe BVD. What has he being treated with so far regards worming etc

Quote:
    closamectin beginning middle of June

1yr 4 mths old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Is his nose cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

looks like an animal that got a dose of pheunomia, earlier in life, and survived it.
    lungs probably shot,
    dose he breath shallow?

only a vet can confirm it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I'd treat the ringworm... its a curse and you should be eradicating it as soon as it appears as it will spread to all your stock and then hang round on timber fencing and in sheds for years... Imravol wash is cheap from the vet and very effective..

I'd be thinking of an oral drench.. Personally I didn't find closamectin pour-on very effective and then with the current weather using any pour-on is risky as it may get washed off before being absorbed..

When he's in again.... trim his tail. It really tidy's up an animal and if they have a bit of scour it limits the mess they make of themselves... pet peeve of mine :o

He's a nice animal, if your worried then get the vet to have a quick look..

bbam wrote: »

When he's in again.... trim his tail. It really tidy's up an animal and if they have a bit of scour it limits the mess they make of themselves... pet peeve of mine :o

He's a nice animal, if your worried then get the vet to have a quick look..

is there a min length i can trim it to? or just trim as long as its hair only :D

yes, Im thinking of having the annual test this week so ill be having the vet out, otherwise i think ill get him anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

teeth no?? losing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

He does look a bit off alright. Was he done for fluke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Slight possibility of coccidiosis. Especially if the scour was very watery - as distinct from just loose.

is there a min length i can trim it to? or just trim as long as its hair only :D

yes, Im thinking of having the annual test this week so ill be having the vet out, otherwise i think ill get him anyway

Trim away, tighter the better ( resists urge to drag thread into the gutter )
    Good idea to bring up the annual test and get the vets opinion.

Good loser wrote: »
    Slight possibility of coccidiosis. Especially if the scour was very watery - as distinct from just loose.

whats this? and what does vet give for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

whats this? and what does vet give for it?

If the scour is watery you will have to put him in a house or crush you can get bimedine powders you have to give them twice the first day and once a day for another two days. You only give him hay or straw with it nograss, silage or meal.

The scour will be pure water nearly. You mix the powders with water and dose him with them there is an antiboitic in the powder. Estimate his weight and vet will give the right amonut of sachets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

NewBeefFarmer,

Its advisable to talk to your vet. Its not advisable to take diagnosis or treatment instructions from any poster here who has not got a veterinary qualification.

If you are buying treatment from your local vet, his/her advice will usually be free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Is it actually scour or just watery ****e??

If its just watery ****e then it's probably because of there being so much water in the grass at the moment - there is feck all feeding value in it - some of our cows are deadly in the parlour at the moment - no eascaping them

But to me it looks like he has a chill - which is very possible as there is a bit of a swing in temperatures from day to day and a lot of very wet days. He looks a bit dopey and his head and eyes don't seem right - symtoms of a chill i would say

He could also have eaten something poisionous but your fields look clean in the photos

Simple answer is get the vet as eveybody here is only guessing

There is a difference between cattle being loose and water scour if he is a way looser that the rest ( ie pure watery scour ) he will need the bimedine powders. If you have a neighbour that has cattle get him to have a look. There may be other thing wrong with him as well.
    Check his temperature vet will tell you what his temperature should be, usually if it is worms the **** only holds around the anus where it comes out. Have the rest of the cattle watery **** at bottom of tails. Get out when they are lying down a good while, get them up and watch him doing his job early morning is usually the best.

There is loose and loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭fatoftheland

good chance its rumen fluke dose with zanil or levafas diamond

I was wondering when this was going to appear.

Go on, tell us how you figured this out! Has to be the No 1 diagnosis on Boards.ie.

My Psychic told me that there's a good chance if it being Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia. However, without a milk sample, he just isn't able to confirm it. But he recommends treating it with something. Whatever you can get your hands on. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

reilig wrote: »
    My Psychic told me that there's a good chance if it being Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia. However, without a milk sample, he just isn't able to confirm it. But he recommends treating it with something. Whatever you can get your hands on. :confused:
    was going to reply something similar if you are that worried about the animal that you posts pics of it on the internet... get the vet who can diagnose what exactly the animal has

reilig wrote: »
    However, without a milk sample, he just isn't able to confirm it.
    I suppose it being a bull this means a trip to an AI station, definitely easier to get the vet out.

bbam wrote: »
    I suppose it being a bull this means a trip to an AI station, definitely easier to get the vet out.

It would want to be an extreme AI technician to extract it from a bullock :D:D

Any update on the Bullock ?
    would be interested in what the vet thought.. :o

right, vet out.

checked him over, lungs werent bad, but not 100%,

could be coming out of something, he's not as loose as he was for starters.

vet mentioned how you could see fresh hair growth around mouth and nose, and and described a neck symptom, and mentioned Fluke.

he said it could be fluke, so he dossed him for it, injection.
    said he looked a bit dopey

said it looks like hes coming out the otherside and keep an eye on him.

also said i should think about injecting for respiratory infections when i buy them in. . . . anyone know about this and whats the best to use?. ..
    ill be talking to him again on saturday, gave him a clear yellow injection.

does any of this help jog your memories. ..
    going reading about fluke now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

right, vet out.

checked him over, lungs werent bad, but not 100%,

could be coming out of something, he's not as loose as he was for starters.

vet mentioned how you could see fresh hair growth around mouth and nose, and and described a neck symptom, and mentioned Fluke.

he said it could be fluke, so he dossed him for it, injection.
    said he looked a bit dopey

said it looks like hes coming out the otherside and keep an eye on him.

also said i should think about injecting for respiratory infections when i buy them in. . . . anyone know about this and whats the best to use?. ..
    ill be talking to him again on saturday, gave him a clear yellow injection.

does any of this help jog your memories. ..
    going reading about fluke now.

Surely you asked the vet what to use for the respitory infection, seeing as it was he told to do them for it!!!!
    Why pay a vet for professional advice and then ask second opinion off of quack doctors on here??

So tell us, what did the vet say to use ? -:)

well to be honest, i was away today, and bro in law was manager for the day. . .
    needless to say, , , info was bitty. .

but hes calling on Saturday and ill have all questions.

Vet was also told when he landed that ringworm was in herd, he said "not bothered one bit" its everywhere, the sun will take care of that. . .

it has actually cleaned up nicely, few patches of balled spots here and there, but nothing angry. . .

ps. . . just in case anyone thinks i get advice on how to maintain a healthy animal from boards, well, im sorry to say, i paid too much for them. . . . vet is who i can trust for best opinion, as ye lads here can tell for sure.

I like to ask about opinions/experience, as no 2 cases of the same illness are the same, ive learnt a lot on here. . and it has paid. . thanks to u lads. ;)

nbf

ps. . . just in case anyone thinks i get advice on how to maintain a healthy animal from boards, well, im sorry to say, i paid too much for them. . . . vet is who i can trust for best opinion, as ye lads here can tell for sure.

I like to ask about opinions/experience, as no 2 cases of the same illness are the same, ive learnt a lot on here. . and it has paid. . thanks to u lads. ;)

nbf
    thats why you waited a week to get the vet:cool:

again, learning now whelan. .

my first bullock with pneumonia was about 4 days before i called vet. ..

second bullock, more like 4 hrs. . . shoot, temperature check and ring for vet.

with this, even the vet was stumped.. . he was eating . .. running . . acting normal., but wasnt right. . ..

while i'm cautious and taking tiny steps. . . . i also feel i cant be ringing the vet 24/7 when the bullock has a bad few days. ... . . . .

maybe i can employ you whelan.

I know lads and your probably like them, who know a lot about a herd of animals, and would probably have come across illnesses and know the medicines, and would self inject.
    me, not so much. .. but at the same time Im getting good at spotting when some-things up. when to call the vet is the tricky bit, esp with call out fee etc. . but im happy so far in my under taking of farming.. ..

krist the land is so wet after yesterday. . . . i mean, hills with muck and ur lucky if u dont slip.. .

cattle under hedges, lying, dirty arses/bodys . . . its a total mess. . . . i remember when i was 7 at this time of year, id be in shorts and cutting thistles.. . .. ahh dem were the days. . . . . when cattle could eat grass, not drink it.. .

with this, even the vet was stumped.. . he was eating . .. running . . acting normal., but wasnt right. . ..

while i'm cautious and taking tiny steps. . . . i also feel i cant be ringing the vet 24/7 when the bullock has a bad few days. ... . . . .

I know lads and your probably like them, who know a lot about a herd of animals, and would probably have come across illnesses and know the medicines, and would self inject.
    me, not so much. .. but at the same time Im getting good at spotting when some-things up. when to call the vet is the tricky bit, esp with call out fee etc. . but im happy so far in my under taking of farming.. ..

krist the land is so wet after yesterday. . . . i mean, hills with muck and ur lucky if u dont slip.. .

cattle under hedges, lying, dirty arses/bodys . . . its a total mess. . . . i remember when i was 7 at this time of year, id be in shorts and cutting thistles.. . .. ahh dem were the days. . . . . when cattle could eat grass, not drink it.. .
    the longer you leave an animal without treatment the more lasting damage will be done, why come on here and ask advice and then do nothing for a week.... totally baffles me ........ not going to bother replying to your threads anymore as on one hand you ask advice and on the other you do nothing abouit it...

whelan1 wrote: »
    the longer you leave an animal without treatment the more lasting damage will be done, why come on here and ask advice and then do nothing for a week.... totally baffles me ........ not going to bother replying to your threads anymore as on one hand you ask advice and on the other you do nothing abouit it...

ooo kkk. ..
    thank whelan, much appreciate it.

ooo kkk. ..

But she does have a point.

ooo kkk. ..

She definitely has a point, and you appear to have some issue with accepting it, or any of her well-intended advice, which you are covering up with sarky responses like the one above.

Man up.

LostCovey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

unlike humans the animal can't help the vet with his diagnosis, this is where a good stock personal comes into play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Ah lads take it a bit easy on the guy - he's stated many times that he is new to the game and is learning as he is going. Also the fact that he wasn't there when the vet called suggests to me that NewBeefFarmer might be busy outside of his few bullocks

Anyway it looks like the vet wasn't even sure what was wrong with him - bullock is alive and getting better - so no need to panic i reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Exactly, you feel foolish if you get the vet and there is nothing much wrong with the animal. Equally as foolish when the vet says you should have called him sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Miley2

NBF, don't take it to heart. I've been around stock all my life and I'm still learning. I'm lucky I have my dad and uncle beside me and between them they have nearly seen it all. At least then if I do have to call the vet out I can bounce ideas off him cause lets face it the vet doesn't always get it right either.
    You came on here looking for ideas the same as many of us do with fathers, uncles neighbors and friends.

BTW I always enjoyed reading your posts. Fair play to you for giving it a lash

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ah lads take it a bit easy on the guy - he's stated many times that he is new to the game and is learning as he is going. Also the fact that he wasn't there when the vet called suggests to me that NewBeefFarmer might be busy outside of his few bullocks

Anyway it looks like the vet wasn't even sure what was wrong with him - bullock is alive and getting better - so no need to panic i reckon

Lads
    I gave a bit of advise earlier in the post i nearly got my head eaten off, you have to take a chance now and again. I was away fron farming 22 years befoe I got back into it. You can get very afraid of vets 50e a pop+med can get you scared. If you call a vet try to be there, ask him what is wrong and what is the perscription you will learn fast if the vet is any good.

But at times you have to take a chance and get the thermometre out or watch what way he is acting. A few years ago the vets wanted to get control of fluke and worm medicines. alot are now are more intrestned in the small animal practice than you or my animals.

It often is alright if you are in milk but in the drystock game two vets visits are the profit gone on that animal

I can understand where NBF is coming from money is tight and time is scarce, BOL is busy as well whalan has one opinion I see it from another I might be wrong but I can understand where NBF comes from.

may i be so bold as to suggest nbf purchases a thermometer, that way he will know if an animal has a high temp and needs veternary advice. It may well be that this animal had a high temperature 10 days ago and fought it itself, also if you are paying for the vet to come out try to be there yourself rather than getting the info second hand. You said the vet game him a brown injection, what are you going to write in your medicines record?

awh lads. where do ye find the time to come on here :rolleyes:. . I'm lucky to have energy to lift my tin can when I finish up some eves. .

well, bullocks retest was at 10am, all clear, . . power-hosed out shed and yard, finished for lunch, then strimmed electric fence. .well, where ill be putting one, (heavy growth on boundary), got it all finished for 4.50, to watch Mayo beat Down.

Think some of us may have got our wires bare on this thread. Although on the farming seen since probably 2010/11, I'm a complete novice, and basically going on the knowledge I have received from dad. And I even think if he was alive today he would be equally stumped, but would say watch him 2-4 times a day. . .

my reply to Whelan1 was not (is Whelan1 a girl? fair fecks is all I can say, if I hadn't done so much now in 2 yrs getting land in order I wouldn't have started at all:D, although my mrs is great on the land, fair play, not many woman would do it, thats what my dad used to say to my wife). . anyway, my ooookkk reply to whelan was more to do with my novice element and that i was only setting foot in the farming industry, rather than at her advice. . . my lord, in every element of life quick reaction is of most importance.. . but I was trusting my instincts and was thinking about dad. .. dont panic but keep close eye on him. I remember my first case of pneumonia on here I was told trust ur gut, if u think something s up bring him in.. . I was merely acting on what I could see.

few things I want to say to you lads. . or maybe most are lady farmers. . jaysus. . maybe we need a night out to sort this gender issue out. . . .:P

Manoffeeling absolutely, . . i wasn't disagreeing with her. . . just thought it was as she said herself further down a bit of a knee jerk reaction. the bullock was doing everything a normal one would do except not looking full and loose at the rear. . ... . i new the test was coming up so i said ill watch him, and mention to the vet if i feel the need to.

LostCovey. . I cant see your point at all. . really cant, i said ok,,, you probably miss read my tone/point. . .

snowman707 will i ever be that person some day:rolleyes:

Tipp Man work 40hrs a week. . outside of farming.. . . land has been in family for generations, same story id say with all of us, it was either take it on as a 31yr old or rent/sell.. . and while i have just moved home and built on the land in the last few yrs, . . the thought of all the work dad had done in clearing the land and getting it to what it is today was the main driving factor, i think where he started, and where i have to start.. makes me think i landed on my feet. .. . . . . ok, i have 3-4 yrs of none maintenance to catch up with, but im nearly there .. . .

pakalasa .. i remember my sister with her baby. . 2 yrs ago, . . almost thinking about going to a&e one night when the baby was not feeling great. . . i said "and do you bring her to a&e", and she said, , , "you cant go to a&e or a doc with every little thing. . . "shes just off or has a bug/teething/. . . etc. . . ..
    and your right, it works the other way to. . . . . again. . its learning. .
    i have all animals well and eating now as i type this. . . . even that loose bullock has dried up. . and looking full on the belly. .

Miley2 miley, if this is you beyond the grave. . many thanks for replying. :D. nope, i do not want to make enemies on here. . jaysus. . i think farming seems to be dying around my farm . .im early 30s, and everyone in the mart and the farmers around me are 60+. I lost dad last year and his last 4-5 yrs previous to that was more or less house bound and communication was difficult for him. while he watched through the window . .. at least he got to see that i pulled the sleeves up and was giving it a lash. . . .
    i do try and post, i even try my best to get a post i can contribute to , but bad advice in farming is nearly. nope strike that, is actually worse than no advice. . lol. .:pac:

Farmer Pudsey well. . ill tell ya below something that im learning. . but your right . . . i got a thermometer after my first case of pneumonia and have used it twice since. . its a god send. . its my first port of call . .
    just reading back on what u said ther. . . well, listen. . my aim for 2012 is to finish the year with the same No i started with.. . next is get some weight gain. .. then fence/top/boundaries. . . . . then tiny small .. tiny profit. .:)

whelan1 I have one, actually, i have 2, the vet left his on a post, and only thought of it typing this. . he was here today, should have gave it back. . . . .

@ all

I had a chat with him after he looked through the lads. . i asked him, this bullock, fluke you say, "yes", the symptoms would lead me to first treating for fluke, . . i told him that since Wednesday hes dried up a good bit, and looking full. . "vet said hes looking more lively today". . keep an eye on him. he gave him a vitamin injection today also.

i asked him about the injection he recommended against pneumonia and he said ya. . it will be IBR ur vaccinating against. i said what u use? he said we use Rispoval. . it stops viral pneumonia
    I told him i used closemectin this year and last, and thought it was working fine for me, and also done them with bayticol. he said, he wasnt a fan of pour-ons. and prefers injection. (I guess for me pour-on was more about not using a needle than spending less time at the shoot) i have injected antibiotics now,so i guess ill probably look and injections next year.
    he said, closemectin is dear as the have the patent for the fluke/worms does. . but again its dear .. . .and iffy. . . i told him i always housed for 24 hrs/ less if its not going to rain. . and he said "good idea".

all passed though today, so im happy out, im tired now. . .

and i see the move up and down bar to my right has got very small, so that means ive typed an aawwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhful lot of crap. . .

listen. . . I appreciate every tiny piece of advice i get on here. whether its good or bad. . . . i have to. . . while i have dad in my head. . . i am concious that things change, methods change, the 1 day job of 20 yrs ago is a 3 hr job today, . . . tools change, machinery . . . you know what i mean . .

Thanks people.

you are allowed check your herd half way through this post .:D

NBF

oh jaysus

awh lads. where do ye find the time to come on here :rolleyes:. . I'm lucky to have energy to lift my tin can when I finish up some eves. .

well, bullocks retest was at 10am, all clear, . . power-hosed out shed and yard, finished for lunch, then strimmed electric fence. .well, where ill be putting one, (heavy growth on boundary), got it all finished for 4.50, to watch Mayo beat Down.

Think some of us may have got our wires bare on this thread. Although on the farming seen since probably 2010/11, I'm a complete novice, and basically going on the knowledge I have received from dad. And I even think if he was alive today he would be equally stumped, but would say watch him 2-4 times a day. . .

my reply to Whelan1 was not (is Whelan1 a girl? fair fecks is all I can say, if I hadn't done so much now in 2 yrs getting land in order I wouldn't have started at all:D, although my mrs is great on the land, fair play, not many woman would do it, thats what my dad used to say to my wife). . anyway, my ooookkk reply to whelan was more to do with my novice element and that i was only setting foot in the farming industry, rather than at her advice. . . my lord, in every element of life quick reaction is of most importance.. . but I was trusting my instincts and was thinking about dad. .. dont panic but keep close eye on him. I remember my first case of pneumonia on here I was told trust ur gut, if u think something s up bring him in.. . I was merely acting on what I could see.

few things I want to say to you lads. . or maybe most are lady farmers. . jaysus. . maybe we need a night out to sort this gender issue out. . . .:P

Manoffeeling absolutely, . . i wasn't disagreeing with her. . . just thought it was as she said herself further down a bit of a knee jerk reaction. the bullock was doing everything a normal one would do except not looking full and loose at the rear. . ... . i new the test was coming up so i said ill watch him, and mention to the vet if i feel the need to.

LostCovey. . I cant see your point at all. . really cant, i said ok,,, you probably miss read my tone/point. . .

Tipp Man work 40hrs a week. . outside of farming.. . . land has been in family for generations, same story id say with all of us, it was either take it on as a 31yr old or rent/sell.. . and while i have just moved home and built on the land in the last few yrs, . . the thought of all the work dad had done in clearing the land and getting it to what it is today was the main driving factor, i think where he started, and where i have to start.. makes me think i landed on my feet. .. . . . . ok, i have 3-4 yrs of none maintenance to catch up with, but im nearly there .. . .

pakalasa .. i remember my sister with her baby. . 2 yrs ago, . . almost thinking about going to a&e one night when the baby was not feeling great. . . i said "and do you bring her to a&e", and she said, , , "you cant go to a&e or a doc with every little thing. . . "shes just off or has a bug/teething/. . . etc. . . ..
    and your right, it works the other way to. . . . . again. . its learning. .
    i have all animals well and eating now as i type this. . . . even that loose bullock has dried up. . and looking full on the belly. .

Miley2 miley, if this is you beyond the grave. . many thanks for replying. :D. nope, i do not want to make enemies on here. . jaysus. . i think farming seems to be dying around my farm . .im early 30s, and everyone in the mart and the farmers around me are 60+. I lost dad last year and his last 4-5 yrs previous to that was more or less house bound and communication was difficult for him. while he watched through the window . .. at least he got to see that i pulled the sleeves up and was giving it a lash. . . .
    i do try and post, i even try my best to get a post i can contribute to , but bad advice in farming is nearly. nope strike that, is actually worse than no advice. . lol. .:pac:

Farmer Pudsey well. . ill tell ya below something that im learning. . but your right . . . i got a thermometer after my first case of pneumonia and have used it twice since. . its a god send. . its my first port of call . .
    just reading back on what u said ther. . . well, listen. . my aim for 2012 is to finish the year with the same No i started with.. . next is get some weight gain. .. then fence/top/boundaries. . . . . then tiny small .. tiny profit. .:)

whelan1 I have one, actually, i have 2, the vet left his on a post, and only thought of it typing this. . he was here today, should have gave it back. . . . .

@ all

I had a chat with him after he looked through the lads. . i asked him, this bullock, fluke you say, "yes", the symptoms would lead me to first treating for fluke, . . i told him that since Wednesday hes dried up a good bit, and looking full. . "vet said hes looking more lively today". . keep an eye on him. he gave him a vitamin injection today also.

i asked him about the injection he recommended against pneumonia and he said ya. . it will be IBR ur vaccinating against. i said what u use? he said we use Rispoval. . it stops viral pneumonia
    I told him i used closemectin this year and last, and thought it was working fine for me, and also done them with bayticol. he said, he wasnt a fan of pour-ons. and prefers injection. (I guess for me pour-on was more about not using a needle than spending less time at the shoot) i have injected antibiotics now,so i guess ill probably look and injections next year.
    he said, closemectin is dear as the have the patent for the fluke/worms does. . but again its dear .. . .and iffy. . . i told him i always housed for 24 hrs/ less if its not going to rain. . and he said "good idea".

all passed though today, so im happy out, im tired now. . .

and i see the move up and down bar to my right has got very small, so that means ive typed an aawwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhful lot of crap. . .

listen. . . I appreciate every tiny piece of advice i get on here. whether its good or bad. . . . i have to. . . while i have dad in my head. . . i am concious that things change, methods change, the 1 day job of 20 yrs ago is a 3 hr job today, . . . tools change, machinery . . . you know what i mean . .

Thanks people.

you are allowed check your herd half way through this post .:D

NBF

Like a good man, will you go out for a few pints and let it all go ****. I buried a brother a couple of years ago, so I kinda know where you are coming from with the father.

On a different note, try and get in with a cute farmer who has plenty of time on his/her hands. Twill make all the difference.

Don't get too upset about comments on an internet forum. Most of us are self important pricks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

I .:D

NBF

yes you will. keep the thermometer to hand.

I'm nearly 50 years farming and still learning :o

while I have been often critical on this forum about the advise given re antibiotics and doses. I do not condone leaving a sick animal go untreated.

Good luck and happy farming. ;)