Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question on clocking

• 20-07-2012 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭

I'm a little unsure on something and I reckon you chaps might give me a steer.

I recently traded my 05 car - I'll leave the detail vague for the time being.

Now, I was curious to see if it was for sale and and for how much. It is - I saw it on Carzone last night and on the dealer's site. Tho only thing is the mileage reported is about 20k less than what it was when I traded it two weeks ago.

it was clocked to get the milage figure down below 100k - or so it seems to me anyway.

I traded it with a main dealer who passed it on to the 'trade'. It's now sitting with a used car dealer in Dublin.

Obviously it's not my car anymore or my beef really. It just bothers me that a: some a$$hole clocked it and b: the potential buyer is being defrauded.

What would you do? Where would you go to with this information?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Have you verified that the mileage is actually altered, ie went and viewed the car and seen the mileage is different? Information on adverts can be incorrect and this informaiton alone is not proof in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭VictorRomeo

bazz26 wrote: »
    Have you verified that the mileage is actually altered, ie went and viewed the car and seen the mileage is different? Information on adverts can be incorrect and this informaiton alone is not proof in itself.

Nope. I called and it was verified over the phone.

Then maybe report it to the National Consumer Agency:

http://www.nca.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Definitely report it. This is likely common at the garage in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Report it. Problem is if you report it to the Guards, you'll have to be a witness and give a statement.

Don't let these chancers get away with it though... that brings on the question of your new car, are you sure that that isn't clocked..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I think the best bet would be to see if you can get someone to actually see the car and verify its current mileage. There's a remote possibility that a clerical error in typing out the mileage has been spread into the office paperwork, and from there to carzone, which could explain why the phone call gave the same mileage as the website.

If someone sets eyes on it, then it's clearly not a mistake, and you can nail the feckers. I'll be in the vicinity of the Red Cow tomorrow afternoon if it's anywhere close to there, I don't mind making a small detour. Feel free to PM if that's any use to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Report it. Problem is if you report it to the Guards, you'll have to be a witness and give a statement.

Don't let these chancers get away with it though... that brings on the question of your new car, are you sure that that isn't clocked..?

No point in reporting it to the Gardaí, they can't do anything as it's not an offence to wind back the clock. It's only when the garage intentionally attempts to deceive you that you might have grounds for fraud/deception. I doubt an advertisement or phone call will be proof enough, you probably need witnesses/evidence of the garage saying the mileage is genuine together with proof they knew the mileage is wrong. There are at least 2 parties involved : the main dealer, the current seller, and God knows how many others in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Clocking is such a pain, found pretty much the perfect ST and im not sure if it's clocked but what looks like a clerical error has totally put me off as i don't want to have trouble selling on in the future :(

Hate the feeling im settling for second best car because of uncertainty and my mech said he won't be able to 100% verify milage even with diagnostic equipment, such a bummer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Motorcheck

I'd be happy to check our mileage register for you too. We might have a record from one or more traders who handled the car. Pm me the reg and I'll check it out for you.

Motorcheck wrote: »
    I'd be happy to check our mileage register for you too. We might have a record from one or more traders who handled the car. Pm me the reg and I'll check it out for you.

Could you check 2 cars for me also i did 2x €35 checks and im still unsure as i am buying one or the other on sunday, thanks pm sent

Sure Jimbob - no worries. I'll be in touch tomorrow.

Motorcheck wrote: »
    Sure Jimbob - no worries. I'll be in touch tomorrow.

Thanks and btw great service, im not used to reading the reports though and i don't want to assume my dream ST is clocked and settle for something not as well specced.

My new car is a brand new one bought from a main dealer. The dealer 'passed my old car off to the trade'.... I'd doubt that they had anythign to do with it but then the motor trade can be such a grubby business.

PM sent JimBob

Thanks for all the advice chaps. I'll be in the area of the dealer today so I feel it best to check it for myself. I'll fill you in later.

The gas thing is they never really needed to do anything with it. I kept that car perfect - inc paintwork. It was mine since new, fully loaded spec and serviced by main dealer done like clockwork. Timing best was replaced on schedule and it even had a 3 month old full set of ContiSports (I kick myself on that). Leather was perfect, and ran great. I keep a good clean car. The term "first to see will buy" really would apply to it.

Yes but your average Irish motorist thinks anything with 100,000 km or miles on the clock is waiting to implode so no matter how good the car is they just discard it.