Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catholics too timid

• 19-07-2012 11:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭totus tuus

I agree with the Archbishop, religion is not a private matter, we should not be afraid proclaim our belief in public.

http://protectthepope.com/?p=5521

No doubt buoyed up by the success and grace of Dublin’s International Eucharist Congress Archbishop Diarmuid Martin has given a powerful homily in which he said ‘The Church in Ireland has become “too timid in bringing its liberating voice to the ‘demons’ of Irish society”‘.
    The Archbishop continued:

‘ Scandals within the Church and perhaps a lack of real faith have made us all too timid in bringing the voice of Jesus and his Church to the basic issues of Irish society. We are tempted to succumb to the widespread opinion that Christianity is really something private and personal for our own devotion and inspiration and not something that has its relevance in the public square.’
    Thought this pic was cool! :D

55252347265101274503113.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

Perhaps its fear of accusations of "the log in their own eye" first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

''A Catholic who does not strive to spread his faith is a parasite on the life of the Church'' - ven.Archbishop Fulton Sheen

I think what Ireland needs is a sort of.....CAF forum or site that primarily answers questions that people have about their faith.

But other than the internet, ( which can be a cause for isolation ) it's hard to come up with ideas on how to evangelize or spread ones faith on the streets. It might be nice to have some days on O'Connell street where as many Catholics from all different rites such as Roman, Byzantine and so on come out and have a stall and a day of handing out leaflets about the faith and the different rites within the Church.

Probably a dumb idea but I suppose something has to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭totus tuus

I find CAF an excellent place for information and discussion on Catholic Doctrine, I like the apologetics and Liturgy and Sacraments section! :)

I think parishes should start a mission workshop, like they did in years gone by!

totus tuus wrote: »
    I find CAF an excellent place for information and discussion on Catholic Doctrine, I like the apologetics and Liturgy and Sacraments section! :)

I think parishes should start a mission workshop, like they did in years gone by!

What would a mission workshop be comprised of?

Onesimus wrote: »
    What would a mission workshop be comprised of?

Retreats and religious programmes etc.

The Redemptorists have some excellent retreats going, it would be great if parishes around the country could do something similar!

http://www.redemptoristsesker.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

explain what you mean by proclaim in public?

Preach the Gospel, use words if necessary!

Live the Gospel in our daily lives, in other words practice what we preach! ;)

so be charitable and stuff?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 348 ✭✭Actor

I like Catholicism for men. I find a lot of the liturgies in Ireland are aimed at the "old women pensioners" target market. It's just I prefer beautiful music and not "Here I am lord", etc. I should say there's nothing wrong with such Masses (they are perfectly valid and the Church is a broad one that must cater for all appropriate liturgical tastes).

We need to inspire young men to attend Mass - a bit of preaching from the pulpit and calling a spade a spade wouldn't go astray. Let them appreciate the beauty of high quality liturgies and top quality music. There are pockets of it all around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Maybe you could spread your message more visibly by constructing some large buildings in which to spread the good word. These buildings could be pointy and imposing. To make them even more intrusive, you could have them make loads of noise. Install a siren. Wait, no, a bell. Then you could ring this bell every day. Nothing says "I'm here and proud of it" like a good loud bell.

Put them everywhere. Every town you can think of - preferably near a pub or a school so that everyone knows that it's there.

You could hire a guy or two to read some bible and preach there. Hire a woman to make tea and replace the candles under a statue of Baby Jesus, Mary or Joseph. Hire some kids to ring smaller bells and look cute. Everyone likes kids.

Invite people in there for free - offer bread and wine if you want to attract more people in to hear the message. You could impress them with cool candles and some painted gold wherever you can fit it. Get a nice expensive alter and colour your windows and people will be well impressed - especially if you remembered the gold paint.

I'm actually surprised that no one thought of this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'm an atheist, just browsing this forum out of curiosity. I have no problem with anyone having religious beliefs, it's just when they try to implement laws which reflect those beliefs, that's when I will have a problem.

i have religious beliefs and that pisses me of aswel

Yeah as a religious person, I have respect for peoples lack of religion or non-belief and secular lifestyle, it's just that when they try to implement laws which reflect their lack of belief, thats when I as a religious person will have a problem.

Welcome to the Christianity forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Ted Mosby

Yes, welcome to the Christianity forum. It's not the exclusive property of hardline Catholics but you would be forgiven if you thought it was.

Ted Mosby wrote: »
    Yes, welcome to the Christianity forum. It's not the exclusive property of hardline Catholics but you would be forgiven if you thought it was.

It's most certainly not. Given our national demographics, this place is pretty well split between Catholics, Protestants and atheists.

I've little time for Catholicism but to think that this place is dominated by Catholics is just plain wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Yeah as a religious person, I have respect for peoples lack of religion or non-belief and secular lifestyle, it's just that when they try to implement laws which reflect their lack of belief, thats when I as a religious person will have a problem.

Welcome to the Christianity forum.

I'm slightly confused as to the point of your post - what real world law would reflect a lack of belief that would impinge on you?
    I can think of several laws that are based on/opposition against reform of these laws come mostly from religion/religious people/for religious reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Gary Busey

''A Catholic who does not strive to spread his faith is a parasite on the life of the Church'' - ven.Archbishop Fulton Sheen

I think what Ireland needs is a sort of.....CAF forum or site that primarily answers questions that people have about their faith.

But other than the internet, ( which can be a cause for isolation ) it's hard to come up with ideas on how to evangelize or spread ones faith on the streets. It might be nice to have some days on O'Connell street where as many Catholics from all different rites such as Roman, Byzantine and so on come out and have a stall and a day of handing out leaflets about the faith and the different rites within the Church.

Probably a dumb idea but I suppose something has to be done.

Or maybe you should keep your faith to yourself, Im catholic and I dont preace or go to church.

The parasite is the church leeching off its followers and hiding its corruption.

I suppose you invite the harry christianers in for tea and listen for hours about how they love theyre god.

NO! religion is a personal thing and the public are entitled to make their own choice without your views being pushed in their face.

Join a club or something and leave us alone:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭The Sky

Gary Busey wrote: »
    Or maybe you should keep your faith to yourself, Im catholic and I dont preace or go to church.
    The parasite is the church leeching off its followers and hiding its corruption.
    I suppose you invite the harry christianers in for tea and listen for hours about how they love theyre god.
    NO! religion is a personal thing and the public are entitled to make their own choice without your views being pushed in their face.

Why wouldn't you preach the love of God? It is not a bad thing, you should learn more about the love of God so you can share it with people and also what do you mean by ''leave us alone''? You say you're catholic so why would you be offended? I find it hard to believe that a person who believes in God wouldn't want to listen and talk about God! How would you know that the church is leeching off its followers if you don't go to church? Give what you can and if you can't, it is no problem like God doesn't love you any less. Anyway back on topic I don't think that problem is that catholic's are too timid rather there isn't much people out there who really are catholic, I go to school and I like to talk about God and I get seen as weird and laughed at even though they are apparently catholic also but I think it is more of a cultural thing rather than actual believe in God from talking to them. I like to show my love for God and always pray to Him even when people are around as it doesn't matter for I pray for everyone and that God protects us and has mercy on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Keylem

If a person is not practicing/living their faith, then how can they call themself a Catholic?

As for corruption in the Church, you are confusing the Church (which is the faithful, both clergy and laity) with the hierarchy (which is a structural authority within the Church), and not all are/were corrupt. There was corruption within our own Government by certain polititians , should we call all the Government corrupt?

You're right, religion is a personal choice, but it's not meant to be private. (go out and preach the good news - Jesus)

A catholic who doesn't go to church, there's a surprise
    you realise it's a mortal sin right? and that you're kind of supposed to go out and preach it?
    why don't you find a denomination that suits you better

The Sky wrote: »
    rather there isn't much people out there who really are catholic
    This is what I mean, I went to church all through my childhood for the guts of 17 years and you beleive you are a better catholic because ye want to preech your views to people who more than likely dont want to listen.

Your entitled to your opinion and thats fair enough. But all the things the church stands against is usually wrong. Trust me, the pope doesnt talk to god, nore do his bishops etc. When the vategen want to change a rule and say something is right in the eyes of god then a 'man' makes the decision. Not god. You would think differently if you were walking down o connel street and protestants and muslims were trying to convert you. Or if they claimed to be a better religion than you etc.

You have your faith and your way of being a good catholic IYO, why do you think your a better catholic than a man who believes in god but doesnt practice faith. You do realise that isreal kills or maims the native palistines on a daily basis dont you, and that every religion in the world thinks theirs is the right one. If you open your eyes you will see that war is usually started when religios people misinterpret their learnings and believe they are told by god that they must preach and show eveeryone how to be a good person. If you were born in a different part of the world you would be a different religion. So basically god obviously wanted all catholics in XYZ and every other religion in abc. Good thing I was born in ireland so, otherwise id be going to hell. The bible has been used by many different religions and different understandings taken from it. In fact most religions in the world are based on the same thing but each one defends its stance on the interpretation on it. Yet people who basically believe roughly the same thing have spent centurys killing each other over it. The bible gives us a way to live our lives as good people, it sets basic rules that are relly common sense. Thats why its lasted so long. Do yourself a favour and learn about other religions around the word and see the similarities and then tell me what you learned. Maybe start with the word god and translate that into different languages and go from there.
    Keylem wrote: »
    If a person is not practicing/living their faith, then how can they call themself a Catholic?

Easy, I was baptised and made my communion and confirmation. And Im a better christion than you. (he who cast the first stone and judges and all that milarky)
    As for corruption in the Church, you are confusing the Church (which is the faithful, both clergy and laity)

Preists who used their positions of trust to beat and sexually abuse kids. Granted only a percentage, but the ones who didnt basically coverered up for those who did. I guess if that was one of the 10 commandments then they might not have done it:rolleyes: Either way, the church will never cover this up.
    with the hierarchy (which is a structural authority within the Church), and not all are/were corrupt.

You mean the ones who deny this ever happened and cover it up, also who dont enforce the law of the land where they reside as they think they are above it. I think maybe they should start with coming clean and maybe an apology is in order.
    There was corruption within our own Government by certain polititians , should we call all the Government corrupt?

All politics are corrupt. Yes they are all liars, they will say anything to get a vote.
    You're right, religion is a personal choice, but it's not meant to be private. (go out and preach the good news - Jesus)

The problem is when people from different religions are intolerent of each other. Also Imagine if everyone was your type of catholic........ The day would consist of no work and you preaching to me and me preaching to you. Give it a rest, churches are there for preaching. If you want to preach then become a priest and do it where people want to listen. Not outside where people basically see you as religious extremists, that maybe are a bit touched tbh.

bluewolf wrote: »
    A catholic who doesn't go to church, there's a surprise
    you realise it's a mortal sin right? and that you're kind of supposed to go out and preach it?
    why don't you find a denomination that suits you better

ah ye but god loves and forgives everyone so il be grand. The bible is a contradiction in itself. I just interpret it better than you

That sounds very protestant - what i mean by that is that as a catholic, you're not really meant to interpret it yourself. The church is to do that for you. Protestants place more emphasis on personal interpration of the bible.

Unfortunately, 'protestant' is a dirty word in this country and despite most people's beliefs being closer to protestantism, they'll never admit to it.

That sounds very protestant - what i mean by that is that as a catholic, you're not really meant to interpret it yourself. The church is to do that for you. Protestants place more emphasis on personal interpration of the bible.

Unfortunately, 'protestant' is a dirty word in this country and despite most people's beliefs being closer to protestantism, they'll never admit to it.

Not at all sir, My father was a Prod and my Mother and the rest of us are catholic.
    I have been to both churches as a kid very frequently. The difference is the prods have a bit of craic in their church and the catholic church is like a zombie convention.

Nothing wrong with prods, in fact....they are sound for the most part. Wheather mary was a virgin or not (being the main difference) doesent matter.

I mean if I was sterile and my missus came home pregnant then no amount of oh god gave me this child would begin to cover it.

As for interpretation, I have my own mind and a high IQ. With these at my disposal I will make my own mind up! Some people take the bible far to seriously and should exercise their own beliefs and opinions and not that of anchient people who wrote the book. Isnt it amazing how the pope can just change the rules when hes sees fit and all you guys swallow it no questions asked. For gods sake, would you exercise your brain and think for yourself. You do realise the pope now was a nazi and probly killed people, but that doesnt matter because thats what religion does. He fits in just fine dont you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Ted Mosby

It's most certainly not. Given our national demographics, this place is pretty well split between Catholics, Protestants and atheists.

I've little time for Catholicism but to think that this place is dominated by Catholics is just plain wrong.

Well that's me slapped then. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Baggio1

yes way too timid

but not me,,, am a pretty aggressive type,, so anyone gets in my face outside a church well theres my weakness i might just bitchslap em.... the views about the sermons are correct too - all flowery airy fairy talk,, not a word about hell, damnation and sin that we're all guilty of......... and dont get me started on womans role in the church ughhh - every church i go to theres nothing BUT woman running the place,,, no wonder so many men walk away it HAS been feminised already,,,

but anyway will stick with it till the thing in Rome happens then we'll know whos loyal and whos a foney chicken neck,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

homer911 wrote: »
    Perhaps its fear of accusations of "the log in their own eye" first?

I was until very recently on this site where they did nothing but berate Christianity/Bible or Christians for being "inconsistent" with their preaching.

It was either they were homophobic for their beliefs or down right nasty, yet the atheists were just as A) homophobic B) nasty themselves.

Did any Christians start a thread up on that forum? Not one.

Not at all sir, My father was a Prod and my Mother and the rest of us are catholic.
    I have been to both churches as a kid very frequently. The difference is the prods have a bit of craic in their church and the catholic church is like a zombie convention.

Nothing wrong with prods, in fact....they are sound for the most part. Wheather mary was a virgin or not (being the main difference) doesent matter.

I mean if I was sterile and my missus came home pregnant then no amount of oh god gave me this child would begin to cover it.

As for interpretation, I have my own mind and a high IQ. With these at my disposal I will make my own mind up! Some people take the bible far to seriously and should exercise their own beliefs and opinions and not that of anchient people who wrote the book. Isnt it amazing how the pope can just change the rules when hes sees fit and all you guys swallow it no questions asked. For gods sake, would you exercise your brain and think for yourself. You do realise the pope now was a nazi and probly killed people, but that doesnt matter because thats what religion does. He fits in just fine dont you think.

I wouldn't criticise someone for interpreting the bible for personal guidance. Normally there's nothing wrong with that.

The point that I was trying to get across is that there's more to being a Catholic than just believing in God and being nice to people. The church as an entity has formed its prescribed beliefs over the centuries and it's perfectly entitled to create the rules and beliefs for its members. These rules clearly laid out and to be a Catholic, you must adhere to them.

I know lots of people who consider themselves to be Catholic but they use contraception, don't go to mass and generally don't believe in much of Catholicism. While they call label themselves as Catholic, they clearly aren't. It would be the same if I called myself a Catholic despite not believing in God. Posters like Baggio, Onesimus and Gimmebroadband/totus tuus are Catholic. Most self-labelled Catholics are not. They may be Christians but they're certainly not Catholics.

To reiterate, the Catholic Church is clear about what's required of a member to be a Catholic. It's very clear about these things. If a person disagrees or thinks that the church should be more moderate or only agrees with some stuff, they aren't Catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭NotForResale

Baggio1 wrote: »
    so anyone gets in my face outside a church well theres my weakness i might just bitchslap em

No you wont , you'll shut your mouth and walk away. You'll get home and post on the internet about how tough you are. You are all powerless now and society is laughing at you. Im laughing at you.If you bitch slapped someone you'd get your ass handed to you.

what do you have to be aggressive about? just because the rest of us don't think there's magic gnomes at the bottom of the garden.

edit: and who is standing outside your church?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Pwpane

yes way too timid

but not me,,, am a pretty aggressive type,, so anyone gets in my face outside a church well theres my weakness i might just bitchslap em.... the views about the sermons are correct too - all flowery airy fairy talk,, not a word about hell, damnation and sin that we're all guilty of......... and dont get me started on womans role in the church ughhh - every church i go to theres nothing BUT woman running the place,,, no wonder so many men walk away it HAS been feminised already,,,

but anyway will stick with it till the thing in Rome happens then we'll know whos loyal and whos a foney chicken neck,,,,,

So, at least 5 of you identified as hating women and proud of it.

What sort of peculiar people are you?

I wouldn't criticise someone for interpreting the bible for personal guidance. Normally there's nothing wrong with that.

The point that I was trying to get across is that there's more to being a Catholic than just believing in God and being nice to people. The church as an entity has formed its prescribed beliefs over the centuries and it's perfectly entitled to create the rules and beliefs for its members. These rules clearly laid out and to be a Catholic, you must adhere to them.

I know lots of people who consider themselves to be Catholic but they use contraception, don't go to mass and generally don't believe in much of Catholicism. While they call label themselves as Catholic, they clearly aren't. It would be the same if I called myself a Catholic despite not believing in God. Posters like Baggio, Onesimus and Gimmebroadband/totus tuus are Catholic. Most self-labelled Catholics are not. They may be Christians but they're certainly not Catholics.

To reiterate, the Catholic Church is clear about what's required of a member to be a Catholic. It's very clear about these things. If a person disagrees or thinks that the church should be more moderate or only agrees with some stuff, they aren't Catholic.

so if i go to mass and enrich the biggest corporationin the world.....

Understand this, I dont require a bigot priest and his extreme followers to tell me what I am and amnt. These rules were made by people for people. If the bible was discovered for the first time today by me then could i set out the rules for who burns and who gets to listen to bad music for eternity.

One word..............DINOSOURS!!

edit: and who is standing outside your church?

probably kids being kids, but he can go to confession after asaulting them and be forgiven coz he is a good catholic and does not discriminate or stereotype at all

The CC is NOT a democracy, you cannot lobby the Church to change it's doctrine to suit the masses, those calling for women clergy etc.
    If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. (John 15:19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

The CC is NOT a democracy, you cannot lobby the Church to change it's doctrine to suit the masses, those calling for women clergy etc.

But the church changed it's mind on priests being allowed to marry so it may well change it's mind on women priests.

Splendour wrote: »
    But the church changed it's mind on priests being allowed to marry so it may well change it's mind on women priests.

No it didn't, it was the other way around, Rome allowed married men to become priests. Usually former Anglicans who wanted to become priests for various reasons.(Catholic Anglican Ordinate) One of the reasons that Anglicans leave for Rome stems from the increasing animosity of conservative Episcopalians who disagree primarily with the Anglican Communion’s ordination and promotion to the episcopacy of women. Rome also allows the ordination of married men as Byzantine Catholic priests in the United States.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 348 ✭✭Actor

Women clergy is off the agenda. There are far more important things to be worrying about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Pwpane

Don't be daft.

Who mentioned women clergy?

The man said " ughhh - every church i go to theres nothing BUT woman running the place "

A problem with Mummy was there? Did she tell you to clean your room? Bad Mummy!!

Freud! Where are you when we need you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Well, he certainly sounds like the life and soul of the party

It's not a democracy and has never pretended to be. While I may disagree with the teachings of the RCC, they are very clear and open about their beliefs so I find it odd that so many people have no idea what Catholicism is. The RCC don't hide their beliefs and they are very clear about them.

Somehow, a lot of people in Ireland have no idea about Catholicism - despite the clarity and openness of the RCC. Thinking back to the OP, I think proper Catholics should be more vocal about what Catholicism is. Most of the country seems to have no idea about what it means to be a Catholic and only proper Catholics can inform them. Perhaps by being more vocal, Catholics could help others understand what Catholicism actually is.

I'm not a Catholic myself but it frustrates me when people call themselves Catholic despite not being Catholic - eg using contraception. A lot of self-labelled Catholics are clearly confused/misinformed/ignorant but if knowledgeable Catholics make their voices heard more, it would educate and inform people about what Catholicism is and isn't.

That can only be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

No it didn't, it was the other way around, Rome allowed married men to become priests. Usually former Anglicans who wanted to become priests for various reasons.(Catholic Anglican Ordinate) One of the reasons that Anglicans leave for Rome stems from the increasing animosity of conservative Episcopalians who disagree primarily with the Anglican Communion’s ordination and promotion to the episcopacy of women. Rome also allows the ordination of married men as Byzantine Catholic priests in the United States.

Well if the church allowed married men to become priests and then decided to change this (unless they come over from t'other side) who's to say they won't change their thinking on women priests?
    Personally I'm not too bothered about whether there are female priests or not-my point being that the church has changed it's mind in the past so it may well do so with regards to women priests or other matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

yes way too timid

Thought the central tenets of Christianity were love, understanding, tolerance, compassion, rather than blind hatred like the above. Therefore, you identify as a Christian... why? Because you're not.

Although your post is so maniacal, you could be trolling - in which case those who thanked you have just outer themselves also as unchristian, and types whom Jesus would despise.

Splendour wrote: »
    Well if the church allowed married men to become priests and then decided to change this (unless they come over from t'other side) who's to say they won't change their thinking on women priests?
    Personally I'm not too bothered about whether there are female priests or not-my point being that the church has changed it's mind in the past so it may well do so with regards to women priests or other matters.

The difference is that the male priesthood is part of DOGMA and therefore absolute and stands for all time!

Onixx wrote: »
    Thought the central tenets of Christianity were love, understanding, tolerance, compassion, rather than blind hatred like the above. Therefore, you identify as a Christian... why? Because you're not.

Although your post is so maniacal, you could be trolling - in which case those who thanked you have just outer themselves also as unchristian, and types whom Jesus would despise.

Bizarre that the above bile didn't get a yellow card but the logical riposte to it did.

Don't be so quick to jump the gun. I thanked his post for his honesty and not for his potential actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭NotForResale

It's not a democracy and has never pretended to be. While I may disagree with the teachings of the RCC, they are very clear and open about their beliefs so I find it odd that so many people have no idea what Catholicism is. The RCC don't hide their beliefs and they are very clear about them.

Somehow, a lot of people in Ireland have no idea about Catholicism - despite the clarity and openness of the RCC. Thinking back to the OP, I think proper Catholics should be more vocal about what Catholicism is. Most of the country seems to have no idea about what it means to be a Catholic and only proper Catholics can inform them. Perhaps by being more vocal, Catholics could help others understand what Catholicism actually is.

I'm not a Catholic myself but it frustrates me when people call themselves Catholic despite not being Catholic - eg using contraception. A lot of self-labelled Catholics are clearly confused/misinformed/ignorant but if knowledgeable Catholics make their voices heard more, it would educate and inform people about what Catholicism is and isn't.

That can only be good.

The Church might not like that, it would only lead to a more secular Ireland.:D