Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Difficult girlfriend

• 19-07-2012 5:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,
    I'm probably answering my own question and maybe it's a bit more of a rant but just need to get it off my chest.

Have been seeing my GF for about 5 months. Alls going well when we're together but the problem is that, it's not very often. She is constantly busy.

She'll come over to my place on a weeknight which is fine but it's driving me nuts that we can't ever go out at the weekend or anything. The last time we had a night out together was the beginning of May. Every week she has something on, meeting friends, going away for the weekend, has to see her family, had a wedding to go to a few weeks ago, it just never ends.

So I brought it up a couple of weeks ago now that while I liked the time we spent together I kinda wanted to be able to actually go out with her more often. The reaction wasn't good. She just completely closed up shop. Admitted she had been busy a lot and has a lot going on but after a lot of drawn out conversations she sort of half broke up with me saying it probably wouldn't get any better. I say half broke up because she sort of did but then kinda went back on it too and it just wasn't clear at all where I stood but surprise surprise, she had to go away for the weekend. We text a bit but it was not getting any clearer where I stood and I was frustrated to hell because it was dragging out over a week or so and I really just wanted to know where I stood.

So she came back after the weekend and she wants to continue and make things work. I agreed.

So I asked her when she'd be free this week, we could do something. She's busy every night this week and has plans with her friends this weekend.

No worries I thought, we had planned to be at a game on Wednesday. Today she text me to tell me I could sell her ticket if I wanted to. The reason was that her brother had bought a bunch of tickets for her and their friends and he was "expecting to be paid" for the tickets... so it's not ok to leave him with a ticket which, I don't know why he bought when I already bought tickets for myself and my GF but it's perfectly ok to leave me to pick up the cost of a seat which will now not be used.... so she'll basically he going to the game but not with me and sitting at the other end of the stadium.

I already know she'll be away the following weekend also so I have no idea when we'll even meet up.

I probably know where this is going.... It's not really that she's not that into me, she is always in contact and we're having a good time when we hang out at my place but when it comes to any time we could be doing something there's always a better plan. Seems like she likes having me as a boyfriend but won't give me any priority whatsoever over anyone/anything else.

I probably just answered my own question as to what to do. I live abroad and don't know a lot of people so I was loving having a girlfriend and all but I feel like I spend all my time waiting around for her to have a free moment. It's so frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

Yes you know the answer to this :( She sounds like she is keeping you on the back burner until someone she likes better comes along. The most ominous thing here is what she told you after you got back together. That it probably wasn't going to get any better. And true to form, she has returned to her old ways. She's doing just about enough to keep you reeled in but has no interest in changing things. I know that you like her but you're going to have to bite the bullet and finish this. There are plenty of other girls out there who will make time for you and not use you in this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

cymbaline wrote: »
    Yes you know the answer to this :( She sounds like she is keeping you on the back burner until someone she likes better comes along. The most ominous thing here is what she told you after you got back together. That it probably wasn't going to get any better. And true to form, she has returned to her old ways. She's doing just about enough to keep you reeled in but has no interest in changing things. I know that you like her but you're going to have to bite the bullet and finish this. There are plenty of other girls out there who will make time for you and not use you in this way.
    Next time she comes round to your place, don't let her in the door and say you're busy.

You also said she had a wedding to go to; weren't you invited?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Lorna123

This is unbelievably unkind of her to go to that game with her friends and leave you high and dry with a ticket to spare. I would be absolutely disgusted with anyone who did that to me and I would let them know what I think of them. I would have nothing more to do with this woman, the cheek of her to treat you like that. Making excuses for weekends time and time again is just ridiculous. I wouldn't stand for this treatment and I hope you don't either. Get rid and fast.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

She is treating you like a pet. There for few cuddles and a bit of attention when it suits her, otherwise she does her own thing. Youre just 'handy' for the days when she hasnt had a better offer.

You sound like a nice guy and you really deserve better than the leftovers this girl is giving you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

“Never make someone a priority when all you are to them is an option.”
    ― Maya Angelou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Hi OP. This looks to me very much like a part time relationship until she finds someone better, and not just that but a hidden part time relationship - away from her friends, her social group, her main engagements of the week.
    Normally I would always say that you have to talk to your partner about it, but in this case I really feel that talking will only result in some excuse, some story to 'cover' her behaviour.
    You deserve a hell of a lot better. Get out and find a real girl, who wants to be with you and show you off to her friends and makes you feel wanted all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

I am not sure if you girlfriend is 'using you' until someone better comes along. Her idea of a relationship just may be totally different to yours. Some people are more independent than others and you two may just be incompatible.

In any event, you are not happy with it, so just because you are lonely and living abroad don't 'settle' for a relationship you are not happy in. I would say for your own sake try to get more independent and make new friends instead of waiting around for her. It could be the best thing for you. Once you find your own circle of friends things will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

The being busy & one-meet-a-week could be explained by different relationship expectations. However, the match behaviour is inexcusable. What a horrible person she sounds. So are you expecting to go on your own & foot the expense of her ticket?

I know you're in a foreign country but you would honestly be better alone than tolerating this. Its disgraceful behaviour. Get rid of her. I wouldn't even bother letting her know. She doesn't deserve an explanation.

You'll make new friends & find a new girlfriend who will respect you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 833 ✭✭✭snafuk35

Hi folks,
    I'm probably answering my own question and maybe it's a bit more of a rant but just need to get it off my chest.

Have been seeing my GF for about 5 months. Alls going well when we're together but the problem is that, it's not very often. She is constantly busy.

She'll come over to my place on a weeknight which is fine but it's driving me nuts that we can't ever go out at the weekend or anything. The last time we had a night out together was the beginning of May. Every week she has something on, meeting friends, going away for the weekend, has to see her family, had a wedding to go to a few weeks ago, it just never ends.

So I brought it up a couple of weeks ago now that while I liked the time we spent together I kinda wanted to be able to actually go out with her more often. The reaction wasn't good. She just completely closed up shop. Admitted she had been busy a lot and has a lot going on but after a lot of drawn out conversations she sort of half broke up with me saying it probably wouldn't get any better. I say half broke up because she sort of did but then kinda went back on it too and it just wasn't clear at all where I stood but surprise surprise, she had to go away for the weekend. We text a bit but it was not getting any clearer where I stood and I was frustrated to hell because it was dragging out over a week or so and I really just wanted to know where I stood.

So she came back after the weekend and she wants to continue and make things work. I agreed.

So I asked her when she'd be free this week, we could do something. She's busy every night this week and has plans with her friends this weekend.

No worries I thought, we had planned to be at a game on Wednesday. Today she text me to tell me I could sell her ticket if I wanted to. The reason was that her brother had bought a bunch of tickets for her and their friends and he was "expecting to be paid" for the tickets... so it's not ok to leave him with a ticket which, I don't know why he bought when I already bought tickets for myself and my GF but it's perfectly ok to leave me to pick up the cost of a seat which will now not be used.... so she'll basically he going to the game but not with me and sitting at the other end of the stadium.

I already know she'll be away the following weekend also so I have no idea when we'll even meet up.

I probably know where this is going.... It's not really that she's not that into me, she is always in contact and we're having a good time when we hang out at my place but when it comes to any time we could be doing something there's always a better plan. Seems like she likes having me as a boyfriend but won't give me any priority whatsoever over anyone/anything else.

I probably just answered my own question as to what to do. I live abroad and don't know a lot of people so I was loving having a girlfriend and all but I feel like I spend all my time waiting around for her to have a free moment. It's so frustrating.

She's clearly an inconsiderable fool.
    Next time you meet her give her both barrells and tell her where to go and what to do with herself.
    Make her cry and walk off with your head held high.
    By making a scene you might make her snap out of it and you might retreive the relationship.
    If not at least you have your pride intact.
    Don't walk off without letting her know how you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi folks,
    Thanks for the opinions, I probably knew what was coming before even posting.

I feel like I'd have walked before now if my situation was abit different but was hoping to stick it out and it might work.

I'm pretty pissed about the game. Her explaination was that she booked the ticket the day we "broke up". But given it wasn't a flat out breakup, it was just a complete confusion and she probably knew ion advance if there was other plans I'm totally pissed. I'm not overly bothered with money but I'm still $100 out to sit next to an empty seat now... and she will be there anyway! Seems fine that I can drop that money but not anyone else.

All in all, she seems like having me as a BF but I'm just not getting into stuff shes doing otherwise going on in her life and doesn't look like I'll ever get any sort of priority as long as friends and family have plans for her which seems like constantly. (Which I know is acceptable but ALL the time is just not a relationship.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Definitely get rid of this girl but always take the high moral ground. Tell her it's not working out , she has no respect for you and show her the door. Dont give her a chance for a rebuttal, just turf her out. Dont wait for "I can change....", people are the way they are and she wont change. You shouldnt have to change for anybody and if its not natural then its uncomfortable.

Dont shout at her, that is not going to achieve anything. Its not nice just keep it cold and clean.
    The sooner you do this the more respect you will retain.

I think her attitude towards the "extra" ticket tells you everything you need to know about where you stand. I bet she hasn't introduced you to many of her family or friends, let alone included you in any of her activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

It makes me kinda sad reading a post like that you seem to be a genuine guy doing the right things without asking for too much with regards to a relationship but its not being reciprocated.I was in a relationship like that before where i was doing all the spade work to try and keep the thing going but it was obvious the other person just wasnt as into me and I to them. Dont know if theres much you can do, you've had the chat and she more or less told you this is how its gonna be. Just walk away id say.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

She may be a girlfriend to you, but I think that all you are to her is a friend with benefits - and not much of a friend to be honest. Its more like a f**k buddy situation for her it seems.

If that suits you, then thats fine, but it seems it doesnt, so dont waste your time with someone for whom you are way down their list of priorities if you want something more.

I wouldnt treat a friend like she is treating you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Ham Sambo

Hi ya.
    Well they do say love is blind, I am sorry for being so flippant but this girl appears to be taking you for a ride, by any chance could she possibly be seeing somebody else? it’s like she is hiding you away from her family and friends, you seem to be a sound guy, please don’t be wasting anymore of your time with this girl, find another girl who will treat you with a bit of respect, show this currant GF the door. Best of luck.

Hey, OP here again.
    We spoke on the phone just now. We spoke some more about whether us giving it another go meant spending any more time together.

Her answer was that we could spend all the time I wanted with her except she will be away every weekend between now and the end of August, she listed out the things she would be doing.... so go figure that one.

I made it clear I was more than willing to give it a go but that all I can do is wait, she needs to tell me when I'd even get to see her for an hour next. Her answer to that was that if *I* didn't want to give it a go then fair enough, she also then had a problem that I didn't stop by her place this week. Despite her telling me she was busy every night this week she thought I'd know I should have stopped by anyway and take the initiative, which just sounds like so much game playing and head wrecking that I can't even deal with.

End of story, I've ended it.
    I feel devastated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

OP - think you have dodged a bullet on this one.
    As bad as you feel now - and having been there know you feel pretty damn crap you would feel so much worse if you wasted more time and got more attached to her.

Irrespective if this is her view of a relationship then you are better off out. Don't get me wrong it is vital to have interests outside of a relationship - only healthy, but not to this extent where your "interests" start negatively impacting both the relationship and your partner. Either she was blind to her choices or she knew full well and was betting on you being too weak to call her on it.

If nothing else be proud that you have the backbone to call time on being treated like dirt and stay strong. Chances are she will be back in touch with promises etc that will fade away after a week or two. If she hasn't changed now with you she is not going to...

See if you can meet up with some friends or just talk it through with someone - don't let these feelings fester inside or cause you to doubt yourself. Congrats on making a tough but right decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Sorry you're feeling low OP, but rest assured you've done the right thing. Just give yourself time, you'll see that soon enough.

Ultimately in the long run your confidence would've taken a serious nose dive if you stuck it out with this girl. Who wants to be with someone who puts you on the bottom of their list of priorities and 'squeezes' you into their schedule like some sort of chore, rather than spending some enjoyable quality time with your OH?

The way she treated you was WRONG and completely disrespectful. We all live busy lives, so what? Does that mean none of us have time to be decent partners? I've a busy life, work long days and like to spend the rare free time I get hanging out with friends and catching up with family back home - my boyfriend comes along to the house parties, dinners and nights out, he's more of a hit with my friends than I am at this stage! He gets involved in the skype conversations, chats away to the mammy when it's time to give a call home. And likewise his friends have become my friends, his family are my home away from home. And we're together less than five months. The fact that your (ex) gf kept you separate from all that says it all.

You deserve and will find better. Never settle for this sort of half-assed treatment again :)

Congratulations on pulling the plug. You don't feel great at the moment but it was the right thing to do. In time you will look back on this and wonder why you stuck it out for as long as you did.

At least you know where you stand now. She knows you want to spend more time with her but she has made sure this is not possible. If she had any interest whatsoever in spending more time with you, she'd have done something about it.

The way she treated you regarding that ticket shows how little she thinks of you. I notice too that all through these stories, she has never been the one in the wrong.

I hope you have friends you can talk to, either where you are now or back here. It's a rotten time for you but you are so much better off not waiting around for crumbs from the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

cymbaline wrote: »
    I think her attitude towards the "extra" ticket tells you everything you need to know about where you stand. I bet she hasn't introduced you to many of her family or friends, let alone included you in any of her activities.

that is the one that is confusing me. I am not suggesting you 'inherit' her life/friends. But what is the problem if some days/weekends you can't do stuff with her friends/family....

EDIT: just seen your post OP - well done on ending it. Not a pleasant thing to do, but the relationship didn't seem to be going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Matteroffact

She is terribly selfish OP. The relationship must revolve around her or you can fly a kite. She is giving you no encouragement at all, in fact, quite the opposite. You don't deserve that treatment, nobody does. She can't even be honest with you and tell you she is not interested. She prefers to keep you dangling on a string. Glad you ended it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Matteroffact

Why would you be devastated? You should be out there celebrating that you had the cop on to see right through this one. Don't give her another thought OP. You are worth more than that and you need to realize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

no disrespect but fair play for growing a pair and kicking her aside. Nobody deserves to be treated like they are getting in the way... aren't you lucky that she can spare an odd day for you... f**k that OP!!

Just think of the 5 months you wasted with her and you will soon get over the devastation, a woman like that will just make you soft. Don't take **** like that in future, the whole ticket situation is so immature and absolutely inconsiderate!!! I was fuming when I read that!

Thanks for the words folks, I don't know how to feel about it this morning. I know in my heart you are all right about things. However, its just as was said, I'm really only saying it here because I don't have any other friends or family around here that I could be talking to about it.

I just don't really understand her points though, and she doesn't see why I'd be mad at things which is worrying if it continued that way.

- On the tickets, she just said that I had the tickets anyway so why did it make a difference if she wasn't using it now and "knew" she would be making other plans. She doesn't see one bit why I'd be disappointed she'd be going and not with me and also why I'd be mad at sitting next to an empty seat I paid $100 for her.

- On not meeting up she said that since we got back together I've only given her 3 days, which were hectic for her, to let her prove things. But in those 3 days she filled up the entire next two weeks and as we talked, she told me she was booked out until late August and was planning another get away with her sister as we speak.

- She seems mad I am acting like I won't allow her do things, which isn't true at all. Everyone should be doing their own things too but if it never ends, how exactly am I her BF? I don't have a problem with someone being busy at times. I'm not mad at one incident, but if I'm busy one day, I'll have time another day, with her, it's never.
    I last went out with her at start of May and if I'm lucky might go out by early September it seems.

- She's also never invited me to her house. I drop her home sometimes but she tells me she's fine at the end of the road. When I mentioned this was a bit odd, she says she thought so too, that it was my job to take the initiative to ask to come over. Which I just find weird. I'll take the initiative on anything else but her home is her home. If someone has NEVER asked me to their place and seem off about it, why would I be the one asking to come over but apparently she was waiting for me to just show up because "I'm the man, I should be doing that"... I mean, am I wrong or is this a total head wreck?

I think I am supposed to be reading her mind. I'm supposed to know when she's busy and not. Know that she had other plans made for the game, know that I'm supposed to take initiative to do things when she doesn't even mention them or infact tells me the opposite (like, she's busy all this week but I should have known to come over to her place, which I've never been asked to before now?!?!?).

She seemed a nice girl and fairly mature but the more it goes on the more it feels like a bunch of game playing. I'm chasing her constantly and she seems to want that. Am I wrong or should at some point *I* feel like I'm wanted a bit or be asked to do things or whatever. I just don't get her, she's a good girl so I don't get why she's so weird about relationships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

OP, you dodged a bullet. And she is not a nice girl. She told you, her supposed boyfriend, that she would not have time to spend any time with you until the end of August - like WTF? Do you have to make an appointment to be with her? She sounds like the biggest self-centered idiot going and you are WAY better off without her. She was only using you. And to answer your question, yes she is a total headwreck.

So I'm glad you dumped her and don't look back. Onwards and upwards from here. You can do a billion times better than her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Hey, OP here again.
    We spoke on the phone just now. We spoke some more about whether us giving it another go meant spending any more time together.

Her answer was that we could spend all the time I wanted with her except she will be away every weekend between now and the end of August, she listed out the things she would be doing.... so go figure that one.

I made it clear I was more than willing to give it a go but that all I can do is wait, she needs to tell me when I'd even get to see her for an hour next. Her answer to that was that if *I* didn't want to give it a go then fair enough, she also then had a problem that I didn't stop by her place this week. Despite her telling me she was busy every night this week she thought I'd know I should have stopped by anyway and take the initiative, which just sounds like so much game playing and head wrecking that I can't even deal with.

End of story, I've ended it.
    I feel devastated.

OP I can't see why she can't include you in her plans. If she is going out with friends for example why can't she invite you as well? Have you meet any of her friends or family?

I just noticed you ended it. You are better off OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thanks for the words folks, I don't know how to feel about it this morning. I know in my heart you are all right about things. However, its just as was said, I'm really only saying it here because I don't have any other friends or family around here that I could be talking to about it.

I just don't really understand her points though, and she doesn't see why I'd be mad at things which is worrying if it continued that way.

- On the tickets, she just said that I had the tickets anyway so why did it make a difference if she wasn't using it now and "knew" she would be making other plans. She doesn't see one bit why I'd be disappointed she'd be going and not with me and also why I'd be mad at sitting next to an empty seat I paid $100 for her.

- On not meeting up she said that since we got back together I've only given her 3 days, which were hectic for her, to let her prove things. But in those 3 days she filled up the entire next two weeks and as we talked, she told me she was booked out until late August and was planning another get away with her sister as we speak.

- She seems mad I am acting like I won't allow her do things, which isn't true at all. Everyone should be doing their own things too but if it never ends, how exactly am I her BF? I don't have a problem with someone being busy at times. I'm not mad at one incident, but if I'm busy one day, I'll have time another day, with her, it's never.
    I last went out with her at start of May and if I'm lucky might go out by early September it seems.

- She's also never invited me to her house. I drop her home sometimes but she tells me she's fine at the end of the road. When I mentioned this was a bit odd, she says she thought so too, that it was my job to take the initiative to ask to come over. Which I just find weird. I'll take the initiative on anything else but her home is her home. If someone has NEVER asked me to their place and seem off about it, why would I be the one asking to come over but apparently she was waiting for me to just show up because "I'm the man, I should be doing that"... I mean, am I wrong or is this a total head wreck?

I think I am supposed to be reading her mind. I'm supposed to know when she's busy and not. Know that she had other plans made for the game, know that I'm supposed to take initiative to do things when she doesn't even mention them or infact tells me the opposite (like, she's busy all this week but I should have known to come over to her place, which I've never been asked to before now?!?!?).

She seemed a nice girl and fairly mature but the more it goes on the more it feels like a bunch of game playing. I'm chasing her constantly and she seems to want that. Am I wrong or should at some point *I* feel like I'm wanted a bit or be asked to do things or whatever. I just don't get her, she's a good girl so I don't get why she's so weird about relationships.

Stop wrecking your head and move on. You've done the right - the only - thing and while it seems to get to you it would only get worse if you continued to hang on. Seriously, move on and forget about her.

The more you write about her the weirder it all seems. This girl seemed to be at pains to keep you hermetically sealed away from the rest of her everyday life. Was she hiding the relationship for some reason?

If you think about it, most couples when they get together like to spend time with each other. She did the exact opposite, ensuring that your opportunities to be together were limited. You might not like to hear this but it sounds like you were nothing more than a diversion to her. A bit of fun every now and then but one that could then be put back into its box and stored away.

Please don't be tempted to go back to her if she resurfaces. You sound like a lovely genuine guy. There are plenty of other girls out there who would be only too delighted to go out with you and would make sure you spent lots of time together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

She knows exactly what she's doing. She's been using you as a friend with benefits as and when it suited her. She would have dumped you at some point in the future when she found someone else she wanted to be with, but you were grand when it suited her. She's just pissed off that you got in there first and dumped her. She was in control of the 'relationship' and dictated when you could see her and how often. She lost that control when you ended it. She knew exactly what she was doing and is trying to twist the situation and make you feel guilty when she's the one in the wrong.

This is just an example of that. Who turns around to their boyfriend and says 'it's your fault you bought the ticket, you should have known I wouldn't be going with you' She knew exactly what she was doing and is still twisting it to make it sound like your fault.

Nobody is that busy. Seriously, she's booked up everyday for the next 6-8 weeks???? If you were that much of a priority she would have turned down some of those offers and said 'no, i haven't seen much of my boyfriend lately, i'd like to make plans with him'. She may well be busy, but she was only using you to fill in gaps in her life when she didn't have a better offer.

Of course everyone should have their independence and be able to do things but it's not a relationship if you have to make an appointment to see your girlfriend 6 weeks in advance. She should want to see you. Most of those plans she has could probably involve you. If it was any sort of a relationship, you would have been integrated into her life to a certain degree at this stage.

You have not been invited to her house, you haven't met her family (and I presume friends). She doesn't see you as part of her life and to introduce you to this group of people would validate the relationship in some way. Something she doesn't want. Those people may be different from her and if they had met you a few times might have said to her 'why don't you invite X along?' My guess is that they don't even know you exist, you didn't even get to drop her off at her house, just at the end of the road. So nobody ever saw her with you.

Again she's twisting the situation and putting the blame back on you... it's your fault you never called to her house, despite the fact that she clearly never wanted you near the place.
    I made it clear I was more than willing to give it a go but that all I can do is wait, she needs to tell me when I'd even get to see her for an hour next. Her answer to that was that if *I* didn't want to give it a go then fair enough

I did wonder when I read this because you were telling her that you were willing to put up with more of the same, waiting for her to give you an appointment. She still twisted it to make it your fault that you didn't want to give it a go, when she's the one who makes herself permanently unavailable.

She's possibly an OK person outside of this, but she was only using you when it suited her, she was probably enjoying your attention knowing that you liked her and were willing to wait around to meet her when it suited her, and you are best off out of that situation rather than waiting for scraps from her table.

So she was never available at weekends, you never met her friends or went to her home?

OP sounds to me like she already had a boyfriend and you were just a filler/bit on the side for the weekdays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

has no one else said that it looks like she has someone else on the go?

no one is that busy. and in 5 months, you've never been to her house?

dead lucky in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

She had someone else on the go? She has a festering personality disorder/is an emotional abuser (I'm putting my house on that)? She's just a downright selfish cow? We could speculate all day.

OP - you could well be dating my ex. Trust your gut instinct and run a mile. Then, when you're a mile away, run another mile. You're lucky you got out before the really bad stuff started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

hey OP
    i was in the same situation few years ago, she had no time for me during weekends, i did not get introduced to her family, she dragged our relationship 2 years like this .
    I felt like an option to her and this really affected my self esteem in the long run.
    So i broke up with her and felt devastated, for some reasons we all get addicted to things we can't have completely.
    After few weeks I found out that she was still meeting her ex sometimes while going out with me.:mad:

So do not look back, i wouldn't be surprise if u find that she was dating someone else too.
    Do yourself a favor, delete all the contacts with her.

Sorry for bumping this but didn't want to start a new thread, just needed to vent...

The last few days have just been this constant game of push and pull.

So I left things last Thursday night, kinda made it known I didn't necessarily want to do it but that I just couldn't keep going back on forth on this, either she'd just drop the arguement over the past few days and we can meet up sometimes or else it just wasn't going anywhere.

So anyway, come the weekend (where she had looooooooads of plans and couldn't see me) she text me around 9pm on Saturday asking to talk. I said I couldn't right now because I was out with friends and all of a sudden she was so into fixing this and telling me she had "no plans for the night but if YOU don't want to talk...." blah blah...

I offered to talk sunday as I'd be free then but of course when I was free sunday she was too busy.

It's like when I'm available and make my feelings known she wants to play hard to get but the seconds I say I have other plans myself or that I can't do this anymore, she wants me all of a sudden. You'd swear we were 15 years old!

So there's been a bunch of texts and stuff flying around the last few days. A lot of it pretty mean. She's so difficult because she always played hard to get, from the day we met so I could never tell from one minute to the next if she liked me or didn't, or what it was.She's just very standoffish... but any I persevered as despite being shy she seemed to like me.

Anyway, the last texts I got last night were to tell me how I never told her how I feel and only want her when I risk losing her. I was ready to blow but instead just deleted the messages and put my phone down. Its like she's living on a different planet. The whole relationship I feel I'm sweating as to her feelings on me but I've made it pretty clear I was interested in a relationship her and in her and she says I never did!?!?!

I presume it's just all stupid excuses now that we're finished. I'm ready to blow but I know the best thing for myself is to keep my phone away and not react to the texts.

There's really something strange up with her though. Like, she won't make her feelings known about anything or tell me anything about herself but then has a go at me for apparently being that way. It makes no sense at all. There's plenty we don't know about each other because of how standoffish she's been but I think I was pretty open about anything we ever spoke about. It's like I'm supposed to read her mind and know what's going on with her and know everything she wants but literally she just says nothing to me about anything. If I ask what she fancies for dinner I get a run around, let alone asking her opinion on anything bigger than that.

Uuuuugh.... sorry for dragging this up again. Venting helped.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

You are doing the right thing not responding. This girl likes her drama, don't get caught up in it! Shes headwrecking you even now, so you know you are better out of it. Silence is your best defence here even though it may drive her temporarily crazy. Let her rant on. She will give up eventually, with her deciding you are the evil villain of the whole thing. Like I said, youre better out.

People are crazy, man. Don't underestimate it. It's all a bit twisted and I believe she loved the control she exerted over you. She clearly didn't respect you and now you've finally been assertive and took control of the situation, she can't handle it. She probably feels that she's lost. If she gets back with you now, she'll probably be the one breaking up with you in a month's time.

You're on the right track. It's a shame you haven't got the support you need at hand but really mate, stay the course. You're 100% better off and you should focus now on the one who can make you happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Mc Kenzie

Hi Op,

What i got after reading your post, is that she should not have to schedule you in to her hectic lifestyle, nor she choose you over something else.

She should be including yo, with her in her life. family things freind,s. I dont understand why people such as your girlfriend, "have to make time to see you SEPARATELY from all other events. Why cannot she involve you in her life ??

Thats what a relationship is. if she cannot see that then she is not worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Its very simple - when you show/ed interest in her, she looses interest.
    When you stand up for yourself, she will put you down.
    Its a version of "having your cake and and eating it" and a control thing.

I dont think someone, who seems very nice and genuine, should have to or want to put up with this behaviour.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

She is doing what we modern day amateur psychologists(!) call "projecting"!
    She is accusing you of doing all the things that she does herself.. attack is the best form of defense and all that malarky.

You know she's a bit crazy now, so continue to ignore her.. as another poster mentioned she doesn't want to "lose", I think you're hearing so much from her now because she doesn't want to be dumped - but if you agree to get back with her, you could bet your month's salary on it that she would end it with you in a few weeks. Just so she can have her own little victory.

Leave it - go out with your mates, and find another girl who will appreciate you.

Being Devil's advocate here…

- Why is she busy during the week? Could it be she has a lot of stress at work, and is just drained in the evenings?

- Was she willing to have a steady relationship when you guys started out?

- Did she break up with someone recently?

- Would you share interests and hobbies? Would you be good and fun company to meet her friends and travel with her? Or would you expect her to give up these things to stay at home
    with you?
    - Did you buy the tickets for the game chancing that she would go with you? Did she clearly state she was going to the game with you, and that is why you bought her ticket?

Not trying to be mean or anything, but I agree with a previous poster who said that maybe her views on a relationship and on her time alone might be different from yours, and she is just feeling suffocated as things are now. Just offering a different view… not always things can be explained simply by being someone else in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

She's a controller. She loved the control she had on you with her contradictory behaviour. Now you've taken it away she's acting up. It's a type of bullying, IMO.

I've been in situations like this before, not in romantic relationships but in so-called "friendships". Stop trying to figure her out. Truly, you probably wouldn't want to know why she behaves like this. Rest assured that her behaviour has nothing to do with you. She's messed up in some way. Leave her off and let her deal with it and steer clear of controlling types in future.

Personally, I avoid them like the plague and have a much more tranquil life as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

I'd put money on her having a bf already. No time during most of the week and practically never available the weekends, far too suss for my liking.

You seem to get the odd scrap of time, the time that could be explained away to her bf as meeting friends/gym/yoga, etc. The fact you had to drop her at the end of the road and not her place is very dodgy.

I mean, if you were only being used as a temp bf until something better came along it wouldn't be that big a deal to have you around her place the odd time or meet her friends once or twice. But she has gone to serious lengths to hide you.

Have you met any of her friends or family at all at any stage, were you introduced as the bf? I know this will seem a childish question to ask, but were you down as her bf on Facebook? My reason for asking this is if you were, then the theory of her having a bf is out the window. Although I guess there could have still been someone else.

She text you at 9pm of a Sat night wanting to talk, very late isn't it? But had no time the Sunday or after that? Seems like the fella was out for the night and she took her chances.

Of course she could just be mental, but I just can't see you being used as a temp bf cause there's far too much trouble here to hide your "relationship"

The good news is you seem a good guy and are far far better off :D Give it a few weeks and I bet you'll be looking back and cringing over how you wasted your time on someone like her with her behaviour ;)

Being Devil's advocate here…
    - Why is she busy during the week? Could it be she has a lot of stress at work, and is just drained in the evenings?
    Yes, we both have careers so I don't expect to be out on the town 7 nights a week but I don't know what she's doing in the evenings. From the little I can gather she might be at home, out drinking, out an some events, or, I'm not sure what else... she's just always "busy".
    - Was she willing to have a steady relationship when you guys started out?
    She is a bit standoffish about these topics but said she wanted me to be her boyfriend.
    - Did she break up with someone recently?
    I don't think so but she also never spoke about previous relationships.
    - Would you share interests and hobbies? Would you be good and fun company to meet her friends and travel with her? Or would you expect her to give up these things to stay at home with you?
    Yes, we seemed to enjoy a lot of the same things which is how we got started. I don't know how I'd get on with her friends as she never wanted me around if she was with them. When she has plans with other people she is "too busy to see me" and never asked me along. She'd only see me alone and probably at my house. It was me who expressed the interest in going out more instead of just calling to my house for an hour or so every now and then.
    - Did you buy the tickets for the game chancing that she would go with you? Did she clearly state she was going to the game with you, and that is why you bought her ticket?
    No, I bought the tickets after she said she'd like to go.
    Not trying to be mean or anything, but I agree with a previous poster who said that maybe her views on a relationship and on her time alone might be different from yours, and she is just feeling suffocated as things are now. Just offering a different view… not always things can be explained simply by being someone else in the picture.
    Very possibly but it seems odd that suggesting meeting for more than an hour here and there or leaving the house occasionally could be deemed "suffocating" but I guess it could....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

This whole thing absolutely reeks of someone having an affair. You're better off out.

Hi OP,

Sorry for asking you so many questions, I was just trying to rule out a few possibilities. Fair play to you, you seem like a really nice guy and her behaviour is indeed a bit weird.

With that said, I agree with Daisybelle 100% regarding how different people see relationships differently., and it might have nothing to do with cheating … so just trying to give some perspective…
    (although the ticket one is unforgivable! She was a bit of a b*tch there alright!)

You say you are living abroad. In some countries, and in some big cities especially, this schedule can be quite the norm for relationships, ie not seeing each other during weekdays though talking over the phone often, and then juggling weekends between family, friends and the boyfriend. So she might not even think she is doing anything weird.

Also, it might not be the norm to mix family and friends and boyfriends, simply because the talks and activities you have with one group might be completely different from the other group, so some people might prefer keeping these 3 parts of their lives independent. Unless she is meeting up with huge groups of people, it is a bit of a pain (for me, at least) to bring the boyfriend along to everything and spend all night trying to make sure he and my grandmother, or he and my gay friend, have something in common to talk about.

Another thing is time alone. Some people really enjoy their time alone and in fact need it in order to unwind.

For those who live in the country, this feels normal. But as you said, you don’t have family and friends there, so I see how it can get lonely and pointless, and maybe this is not the ideal arrangement for you. But then “ideal” doesn’t exist ;)

A few other explanations that came to my mind…

- Maybe she is really stressed and tired with work and the little time she has alone she prefers being with friends/family with whom she doesn’t need to put an effort, she can meet them directly after work, vent and talk about anything and not have to worry about clothes/shoes/flirting/pleasant conversation.

- Maybe she just broke up with someone recently and got into the new relationship too quickly. Maybe she was still enjoying and needing her time alone or partying with friends and hushed too quickly in this new relationship and now she wants the best of both worlds. Therefore she wants to take it “lightly” for now.

- Maybe she is not over someone yet but realised you are a cool guy and thought with time she could fall in love with you and forget the other one. But still have some days when she is down, when the failure in the other relationship still gets to her and she is licking her wounds

- Maybe she was “not that into you” in the beginning, but thought feelings could develop with time

- Maybe she is depressed. A lot of people with depression can seem very normal and upbeat when you see them, but in other days they but need to withdrawn from people or from some people. The part where she played the victim because you wouldn’t go to her house or something got my attention. I think that sounded more like someone who is insecure and/or has some issues than someone who is cold and manipulative.

Just my two cents…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

I don't know how I'd get on with her friends as she never wanted me around if she was with them. When she has plans with other people she is "too busy to see me" and never asked me along. She'd only see me alone and probably at my house. It was me who expressed the interest in going out more instead of just calling to my house for an hour or so every now and then

Jesus that alone screams affair to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

affair or no affair...you are being a door mat....get the **** out of there if you have any self respect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

If she's not having an affair, then she's an abuser. She's pushing you to see how much of her crazy you'll take before she commits, to see if you're a willing co-dependent. Was probably abused by one of her parents.

Hi OP,

Sorry for asking you so many questions, I was just trying to rule out a few possibilities. Fair play to you, you seem like a really nice guy and her behaviour is indeed a bit weird.

With that said, I agree with Daisybelle 100% regarding how different people see relationships differently., and it might have nothing to do with cheating … so just trying to give some perspective…
    (although the ticket one is unforgivable! She was a bit of a b*tch there alright!)

You say you are living abroad. In some countries, and in some big cities especially, this schedule can be quite the norm for relationships, ie not seeing each other during weekdays though talking over the phone often, and then juggling weekends between family, friends and the boyfriend. So she might not even think she is doing anything weird.

Also, it might not be the norm to mix family and friends and boyfriends, simply because the talks and activities you have with one group might be completely different from the other group, so some people might prefer keeping these 3 parts of their lives independent. Unless she is meeting up with huge groups of people, it is a bit of a pain (for me, at least) to bring the boyfriend along to everything and spend all night trying to make sure he and my grandmother, or he and my gay friend, have something in common to talk about.

Another thing is time alone. Some people really enjoy their time alone and in fact need it in order to unwind.

For those who live in the country, this feels normal. But as you said, you don’t have family and friends there, so I see how it can get lonely and pointless, and maybe this is not the ideal arrangement for you. But then “ideal” doesn’t exist ;)

A few other explanations that came to my mind…

- Maybe she is really stressed and tired with work and the little time she has alone she prefers being with friends/family with whom she doesn’t need to put an effort, she can meet them directly after work, vent and talk about anything and not have to worry about clothes/shoes/flirting/pleasant conversation.

- Maybe she just broke up with someone recently and got into the new relationship too quickly. Maybe she was still enjoying and needing her time alone or partying with friends and hushed too quickly in this new relationship and now she wants the best of both worlds. Therefore she wants to take it “lightly” for now.

- Maybe she is not over someone yet but realised you are a cool guy and thought with time she could fall in love with you and forget the other one. But still have some days when she is down, when the failure in the other relationship still gets to her and she is licking her wounds

- Maybe she was “not that into you” in the beginning, but thought feelings could develop with time

- Maybe she is depressed. A lot of people with depression can seem very normal and upbeat when you see them, but in other days they but need to withdrawn from people or from some people. The part where she played the victim because you wouldn’t go to her house or something got my attention. I think that sounded more like someone who is insecure and/or has some issues than someone who is cold and manipulative.

Just my two cents…

I think it's a bit beside the point. All valid suggestions but even if the reasons for her 'behaviour' is much more easily explained and innocent, then the point would still remain that it amounts to a serious clash in values.

If she only wants something highly casual by the OP's standards, she clearly doesn't respect the OP's definition of a healthy relationship one single bit. She has acknowledged that the OP is dissatisfied with their relationship and undertook to do more but reneged immediately. I'm sure the OP doesn't want to be a rebound or a distraction. This alone is reason enough to break up.

Hey OP here again.

So this has dragged on and on.

- I initially said I'd take her back when she asked a couple of weeks ago but she immediately filled up the following few weeks.
    - She then text me that Saturday night asking to talk but I'd already made plans as she said she had plans but then at this time, said she had no plans and was mad I wouldn't talk.
    - It was back and forth and she said last week she wanted to talk it out but would be away for the weekend and as the weekend progressed she backtracked again and I got frustrated.
    - Now she says she wants nothing to do with me.
    - It's come out that she feels I didn't "persue" her enough and she didn't know where she stood with me. Which is exactly how I felt with her despite trying hard. I don't get it.
    - I was trying my best to work with that info but now she says its too late.
    - She also now says I seem to like her more than she likes me but she has already said that I wasn't making her feel like I wanted her as much as she wanted me before. So which is it? It makes no sense?

The whole thing is being done by text. She won't answer my texts for hours and won't take my calls. She is "away" again all this week.

My head is absolutely fried. I'm so lonely on my own in another country. I'm just not able for all of this. I don't get what the problem is but everything I say, shes taking the worst possible meaning from when I didnt mean anything offensive at all. I just don't get it.

My head is fried. Why do girls act like this? I mean if two people are getting on well and all that, why isn't that enough, both show some respect but she wanted this big chase, and I apparenly didnt chase enough, and then when I DO show her I wanted her, she doesnt want that either...

Can someone please explain to me? What do girls want? I just don't get it anymore and it's breaking me.