Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you want betting posts in the golf forum?

• 16-07-2012 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭

As per the title, simple vote:

Vote "Yes" if you want to allow betting conversations in the golf forum
    Vote "No" if you dont.

Allow Gambling posts in the golf forum 96 votes

Yes, Allow Gambling/Odds Posts
    0% 0 votes
    No, Leave that to the Gambling Forum
    100% 96 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

GreeBo wrote: »
    As per the title, simple vote:

Vote "Yes" if you want to allow betting conversations in the golf forum
    Vote "No" if you dont.

Do you mean betting conversations within threads (eg thread discussing The Open 2012, someone starts listing of odds for various players and the bets they've made, taking things off topic) or threads devoted to betting, eg thread called "The Open 2012: Betting"? Or both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

I can see the argument for both sides... realms of "Got Tiger at 10-1 e/w" can be annoying but I find most conversations about tournaments during a round of golf involves people saying who they have backed and at what price and therefore, dont see the harm on a forum.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    I can see the argument for both sides... realms of "Got Tiger at 10-1 e/w" can be annoying but I find most conversations about tournaments during a round of golf involves people saying who they have backed and at what price and therefore, dont see the harm on a forum.

I agree with you but thats all well and good but before you know it the thread is overtaken with betting and not about the golf.

Personally I'd rather read peoples opinions on a topic rather than what odds they got a player at.

Where do we draw the line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Seriously, can't believe people are making a mountain out of a molehill on this one.
    Just leave it in, have two threads every week for both european, and pga events, and people can discuss who they backed, shots, course, players etc to do with that event.

It's not rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

newport2 wrote: »
    Do you mean betting conversations within threads (eg thread discussing The Open 2012, someone starts listing of odds for various players and the bets they've made, taking things off topic) or threads devoted to betting, eg thread called "The Open 2012: Betting"? Or both?

What about having just one thread where all betting talk is discussed on here?
    It'd save duplicating threads for each event.

Have to say it'd be missed if it wasn't allowed.

I'd say a lot of the talk would be around Majors, in my eyes, they're something akin to the Grand National.. a time when non-gamblers bet for a bit of interest/fun.... Flutters' (new word, well done me) rather than Gamblers if you get me.

Whats that first step again? Admitting you don't have a problem, it's just a flutter :)

Any chance of making the poll results public?

Have a few quid on result

*Even money on someone saying The Sand/Bunker in reply to where to draw the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I agree with you but thats all well and good but before you know it the thread is overtaken with betting and not about the golf.

Personally I'd rather read peoples opinions on a topic rather than what odds they got a player at.

Where do we draw the line?

Why do you even have to draw a line? If a the thread titled "The Open 2012" starts to become overrun with odds etc.... I'd assume that's what people want to discuss. Seems to me it's a non issue but I could see it being an issue on a thread about which wet gear ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Personally I have no problem with someone saying something like "I hope Molinari can keep it going, I have him at 50/1" or something, but I think people listing 10 players with odds and prices is a bit much for the golf forum, I dont want to have to trawl through the Open thread to see whats happening, I want to be able to just read it see the updates and what people are saying about it.

Since there is already a specific forum for gambling and that forum has a thread on the Open I really dont see why it would be an issue to do your gambling posting there, where knowledgeable, likeminded people are already discussing the exact same thing? Its not like its a big effort to post in another forum, especially since one you post once you will be subscribed...

Personally I have no problem with someone saying something like "I hope Molinari can keep it going, I have him at 50/1" or something, but I think people listing 10 players with odds and prices is a bit much for the golf forum, I dont want to have to trawl through the Open thread to see whats happening, I want to be able to just read it see the updates and what people are saying about it.

I'd agree with that... but again, as CharlieIRL says, where do you draw the line? Glad I'm not moderating the topic!! :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Why do you even have to draw a line? If a the thread titled "The Open 2012" starts to become overrun with odds etc.... I'd assume that's what people want to discuss. Seems to me it's a non issue but I could see it being an issue on a thread about which wet gear ;)

sure you don't need myself of Greebo here at all then.

Since there is already a specific forum for gambling and that forum has a thread on the Open I really dont see why it would be an issue to do your gambling posting there, where knowledgeable, likeminded people are already discussing the exact same thing? Its not like its a big effort to post in another forum, especially since one you post once you will be subscribed...

I think there is a difference between having to post on the Gambling forum and this.
    Drawing such a simple comparison, whilst complementary to us (I see what you did there :) ) isn't as simple as you put it.

I wouldn't post on the Gambling forum, even though it is but a few clicks away, my main reason being.
    My bets on the Majors are just placed to have a bit of additional interest, placed so I can have a bit craic with the lads when comparing who we backed, how they're doing etc. I'm not in it to win my fortune etc. I believe the idea on the Gambling forum is that it's taken all more seriously, a lot of "professional"... type gamblers.
    There could also be the issue of too much golf talk on the gambling forum.... :D

In a round about way, you nearly get a better coverage of whats going on with the "gambling" talk in the thread.
    You're pretty much guaranteed that there's a large spread of players being backed, so as a result you incredibly understanding and generous non gambling folk (see what I did there :) ) are getting more updates as the tournament is going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

I like gambling threads simply because it allows the nerdier/more statistical oriented of Boards members a place to show off their knowledge. I very rarely act on tips, but the nuggets of information that come from someone pointing out that player X has the most improved driving accuracy on the tour are great reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭mecco

More of a lurker here so feel free to ignore me but isn't it usually the case that the run-up to big tournaments is all about betting and odds because there isn't much else to talk about anyway.

Once the tournament starts, the thread becomes about the actual golf as people mostly have their bets on at that stage, and you get the occasional "Don't fcuk up now Paddy/Rory/whoever, i have money on". Which is all good and interesting to me. For whatever that's worth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Any chance of making the poll results public?

Have a few quid on result

*Even money on someone saying The Sand/Bunker in reply to where to draw the line

Here pal, if you want to draw lines, go to de bleedin zoo :P

ok I'll get my coat.

Ps I voted yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Golf betting is golf related.

The posters in the gambling forum rarely post here.

I'd prefer to read the selections/tips from those who actually play/love the game, The posters here.

Bizarre the drama over this non issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

It would be ridiculous in the golf thread if for example talking about alan dunbars chances this week you cant mention that he is 999/1 on betfair and the like it goes hand in hand with judging the chances of somebody winning an event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

I like the way it is - I find the betting discussion acts as a nice lead up to the tournament and includes comments on the form of various players. Then when the tournament kicks off it becomes more golf-centric. I think it works well that way. Just my opinion. (And as an aside - I only bet on some of the majors.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Nothing wrong with an auld flutter to make the Majors more enjoyable, also having the results hidden is abit dictatorial, unhide the results!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Cant see an issue with gambling talk on the golf forum. Its pretty minimal to be honest and adds to the interest before/during and event...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭finchkerry

Firstly, master stroke on leaving the poll closed. Really insightful, bravo....

Can't say I ever bet that much however that's not to say I don't like reading about odds. Betting threads on the golf forum is more of a way of keeping in track of the form players than pure gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

The idea of stoping a poll is sort of anti-democratic IMO. But, I know boards is not a free speech zone. But, can't see harm in a poll - anyway.

I bet you, gambling is way out of hand in Ireland - but, if lads are going to win at (125/1) yeeee haaaa . as i did on Clarke - we all should get a piece of the pie.

Great tips on here, would be wrong, to not to share the knowledge. ;)

Paddy and Phil all the way this week.

Stoping a poll?:confused:
    I don't know how you could be any more democratic than having a poll, but I guess it just goes to prove that you are damned if you do and damned if you don't.

The poll automatically shows the results when its complete, its the fairest way you to get peoples actual opinions rather than follow the crowd.

Finchkerry I think that's the first post of yours I ever read, its also going to be the last, congrats on the speediest ignore ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I dont see the harm.

Its pretty much the norm in any sport forum on here when events come up, people have a chat about who they have backed and stuff.

I know its one of the main interests I have for watching golf, funny enough not a big viewer of the game, unless I've got sheets on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Major sporting events and gambling go hand in hand nowadays.
    Politics, rugby, GAA and soccer fora can happily accept gambling talk on the main threads, why not golf.

Also fairly lolbiased that you have the poll to close 5 days after the biggest golf event of them all, and have set this new rule for the Open regardless of the results of the poll.

It's not too late to admit you are wrong and scrap the 'no gambling talk' rule from the Open thread, or at least wait until the poll results.

I'm much of a lurker on this forum so doesn't really affect me directly.

Also fairly lolbiased that you have the poll to close 5 days after the biggest golf event of them all, and have set this new rule for the Open regardless of the results of the poll.
    I'm not quite sure how you think you know what we are planning on doing with regards to this poll and the Open thread, but thanks so much for taking the time to "contribute".

The date the poll closes is irrelevant, it was never going to be an opened ended poll so I picked 10 days, shoot me. :rolleyes:
    As soon as the majority has voted we will review the results.

The rule was also in place before the poll. The poll was created based on feedback to see what the majority of members wanted.

I love the conspiracy theory crap some of you guys come up with, I really do.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

As soon as the majority has voted we will review the results.

just as a matter of interest how will you know when the majority have voted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

It's only natural when talking about who you think will win to mention who you backed.

I agree it can be a bit much when people give a big list of 10 golfers they have backed each way, but that doesn't seem to be the norm.

It's not serious gambling, it's just having a punt. It's more about having an interest in the golf than trying to actually make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Gmpd

Don't see the harm.. Alto I wouldn't be contributing much and I'd only be posting the same post for most majors €5 e/w on paddy and big phil "just for the interest" ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Borisss wrote: »
    Golf betting is golf related.

The posters in the gambling forum rarely post here.

I'd prefer to read the selections/tips from those who actually play/love the game, The posters here.

Bizarre the drama over this non issue.

That's not true whatsoever.

Oh, and I love/play golf. Thank you very much :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

I'm agin it. I totally don't care what odds joebobanonymous got on what golfers. If somebody has something to say about a player's chances, then there's nothing stopping them from doing so (e.g. "I think Harro is coming into form") but all too often we get pages of yawn-tastic lists of players and odds with no informative information whatsoever.

I also feel that the mods should ignore the majority when they inevitably vote for allowing gambling - democratic internet moderation is a really bad idea.

I'm agin it. I totally don't care what odds joebobanonymous got on what golfers. If somebody has something to say about a player's chances, then there's nothing stopping them from doing so (e.g. "I think Harro is coming into form") but all too often we get pages of yawn-tastic lists of players and odds with no informative information whatsoever.

I also feel that the mods should ignore the majority when they inevitably vote for allowing gambling - democratic internet moderation is a really bad idea.

so the mods have put up a poll to find out the general consensus but you think they should ignore it if the majority didnt vote the same way as you

wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

mikeunt wrote: »
    so the mods have put up a poll to find out the general consensus but you think they should ignore it if the majority didnt vote the same way as you

wtf?
    I think that the mods will probably have a better view of what's best for the forum, whereas most of the posters will just focus on what they would like and won't have much of a perspective on how that will impact upon the overall health of the place. I think that they should treat the poll as an information gathering exercise rather than a decision maker.

(I'm also being a bit tongue in cheek - I don't really mind all that much :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I think that the mods will probably have a better view of what's best for the forum, whereas most of the posters will just focus on what they would like and won't have much of a perspective on how that will impact upon the overall health of the place. I think that they should treat the poll as an information gathering exercise rather than a decision maker.

So if the results of the poll are 95% - 5% in favour of odds discussions and all the mods are in the 5% then we should not be allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

I smell communism.

well if you really dont mind that much at all then let the mods do what they do best which is modding to the best of their ability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Stoping a poll?:confused:
    I don't know how you could be any more democratic than having a poll, but I guess it just goes to prove that you are damned if you do and damned if you don't.

The poll automatically shows the results when its complete, its the fairest way you to get peoples actual opinions rather than follow the crowd.

Finchkerry I think that's the first post of yours I ever read, its also going to be the last, congrats on the speediest ignore ever.

GeeBo - i picked this up all wrong - sorry about that. :o

Yes see the idea now - off to eat crayons now.

I posted this in the other thread but it's obviously relevant to this thread too.

Right, now that the dust has settled on The Open, we now only have a few weeks until the last major of the year. I think it is about time this silly fiasco is settled.

I think the poll gives a fair representation of the views of the contributors to the forum. That combined with the other thread (the one with the undisclosed poll) where most posts were in agreement that betting posts should be allowed.

I understand boards.ie does not need to entertain the "freedom of speech" argument but where there are no legal or moral ramifications, ignoring the majority on what they want on their form smacks of dictatorship.

So looking forward... allow betting posts in threads. No need for a separate thread. As some users have highlighted, the majority of betting talk takes place before the event when there is not alot of golf to talk about but as soon as the event starts, the betting talk subsides and people come on here to talk about the golf.

Closing this as the decision has been made.
    Thx to all who voted.