Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car hit, Driver drove off.

• 14-07-2012 4:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭

(but then he came back :pac:)

so, now that i have your attention,

about 5 hours ago i was sitting in my car parked on side of the road in a parking space, sitting with engine on, lights on, seatbelt on, handbrake on and eating chinese food happy away to myself.

the car in front of me was trying to get out and (as you do parnell parked) reversed and drove out.

as he reversed he hit the front of my car (very very slowly) and caused very minor damage.

i got out looked at it, he also got out came back to look.

i asked for details, he said f*ck ya, got in the car and drove off.

he came back a little later (as he works there delivering) and i said it to him again.

he denied everything, that he didnt even reverse at all.

I got the gardai up, took statements from both of us, other guy calling me a liar trying to do a scam and all sorts, saying he didnt touch my car cause his car had no damage.

he wouldnt stop talking and being a rude person soo much the garda had to shout at him "SHUT UP AND LISTEN".

that garda did say its one word vs another, that it may be sorted out either by ourselves, insurance companies or court.

the other guy says no problems, he's not paying nor is his insurance, he'll see me in court for scamming etc, trying to say i did the damage hitting a kerb.

now here's the fun bit.

the pub 20 feet up the road has a lovely cctv camera pointing down where the incident happened, the owner is getting the footage for me.

the other shops were closed at the time but there are definitly more with cameras pointing at the spaces, aswell as the garage across the road.

im thinking maybe if i can show him at least reversing (like he said he didnt) i stand a good chance maybe ?

the damage to my car is very minor, a broken clip maybe. but im just so angry about how he went about this.

i will be going back in the morning to get all the cctv footage i can shake a stick at.

so, my question is, where do i stand here ?

do i stand a chance here ?

the guy lied to the garda once or twice and changed his story and the garda pulled him up on it too.

if i get enough evidence to support my claim could it still go to court ?

i've being in a genuine accident before where the person was terrified and sorry and so on and no hassle, car fix and happy, nothing bad etc. but this guy has me angry to the point where im thinking do i skin him for what he has etc ?

can he be done for leaving the scene of an accident (he claims there is non) and giving a false official statement ?

thanks all.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

All for a broken clip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Getting new clip and forgetting about it would be cheaper than spending all your time getting CCTV etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'd have to agree with the previous two posters.
    Your time and that of those you will be getting this footage from, as well as Gardai and everyone else you may get involved in this is far more valuable than the cost of the repair by the sounds of it.
    It's a pain in the hole, possibly and rather annoying but sometimes you got to know when to let things be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

On a point of principle I'd want it fixed, whether is cost €10 or €100.

The other guy can't decide if his insurance pays out or not. Get a quote and put in a claim, even if it's only €100. More than likely his insurance will pay out, such a small claim (no point going to court). The best thing is he will loose his no claims bonus.

I'm also sure his insurance company will be very interested to hear he's working as a delivery driver, they might not know this.

Get the CCTV if you can, you were right to report it, god knows how many times he has done it before.

On a point of principle I'd want it fixed, whether is cost €10 or €100.

The other guy can't decide if his insurance pays out or not. Get a quote and put in a claim, even if it's only €100. More than likely his insurance will pay out, such a small claim (no point going to court). The best thing is he will loose his no claims bonus.

I'm also sure his insurance company will be very interested to hear he's working as a delivery driver, they might not know this.

Get the CCTV if you can, you were right to report it, god knows how many times he has done it before.
    In an ideal world, we'd want it paid.
    Sometimes though these things just aren't worth the bother.
    (I'd love to have the time to make things difficult for the guy as he does appear to be a d1ck, so perhaps reporting it might be a worthwhile option)

I've let people "off" with minor tips in the past, once they appear not to be a d1ck, in the hope that Karma will come good when I need it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

On one hand there's the time and effort

But on the other hand there's the principle of it & if I met a total Dick like this I'd want to get one over on him both through the law & also possibly (as someone else mentioned) with his insurance company if he's driving under SDP insurance.

I'm quite stubborn so would almost make it my "hobby" for the next while to f*ck him over as much as possible but it's up to you if the time is worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it was me getting hit I'd be happy to leave it if the other guy had just said "sorry about that".
    This whole "**** off" would make me want to pursue it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

There is a very good chance that he hasn't told his insurers that he using the car for business purposes - take-away deliveries. You might be able to use this as leverage in your negotiations with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Dont tell him you have the footage tell the cops and his insurance. Sounds like a right a** hole he does. I've had a few situations where i was hit badly and not and in all situations the other person put the blame on me 1 was where the road narrowed from 2 to 1 lane I was in the left lane other car outside and she pushed my mirror in and scuffed my wheel arch I got out had a look and she started screaming at me you did you f did it and lots more I was late for work now with traffic checked my car which was nearly new hers was 12 years old no damage at all. She put a claim on my insurance which she never saw on car also my insurance gave my name and address and she kept calling at my house for over a month proper phsyco, had cops looking for me, she was looking for €750 for damage to car. Eventually proved her wrong but took some time crazy. Other ones other driver hit side of my car/jeep with front of theirs and took 3 years to get money to fix solicitors and court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Thanks for the replies there guys,

I know the damage is so small, i even said it to the gardai, "sorry, i hate to waste your time and so on" and they said "damage is damage regardless of how small or big"

now i know i said broken clip, but im not sure if the trim part its connected to needs replacing completely or not as its not a clip that can be taken out and replaced.

its a piece of trim the goes around the wheel arch and connects to a piece of trim that goes along the bottom of the front bumper and they dont connect anymore, so im not 100% sure if it would be possible to fix.

I agree with all the previous posts, it is the principle, and he also says he's going to take me to court for insurance scam etc. <- This made me quite annoyed as he was lying out of his face saying he didnt even reverse.

I was also annoyed that i was left standing there at the scene of an accident while he pissed off elsewhere leaving me like a fool.

I know some say its a waste of time for something so small etc. but i do want to make this my business to get this guy back in the ass so i dont mind at all.

will be going back to the scene in a little while to see all the other business's around with cctv that may be willing to help,

im glad the owner of the pub was very helpful last night, fair play to him and i'll see him in a little while.

I'm also hoping that it doesnt look good on his part that he changed his story twice with the gardai and that he will be caught out lying here, and probably i'm hoping he gets the sack from his job too as i did make his manager aware of this too.

but all this above said he only word vs word until i get cctv to prove otherwise,

soo i will head off today to go find some cctv and will report back with what i have.

thanks again all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Op, I would just go all the way now. Show him the video and then ask him:

" well, do you want to pay it yourself, or do I now call in your insurance company and ask nicely them to sort it out. A good friend mr. Dealer will love to change that clip for a lot more and you will have your NCBs gone too."

At this situation it's not about how big damage, but it's about to teach fecker a lesson.
    It's all nice and mighty, but if that would happen to anyone's car in here and prick would have an attidute problems I bet most of you would pursue the fecker too. I know I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

if you have him on cctv
    leaving the scene of an accident is a very serious offence
    sounds like an arse, he showed have maned up
    fup him, you should not be at any loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I hate the Irish attitude of "Sure it's too much hassle, leave it".

Principle matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Can you imagine what else this asshole gets up to if he will outright lie and accuse someone else of lying over a few quid and a minor tip? To a Garda's face?

OP, please get this wanker over a barrell, and instead of using as leverage just dunk him repeatedly. Let this crook worry about karma and other fairy stories. With a bit of luck he'll be in trouble with his own insurer because he's been lying to them also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Op, I would just go all the way now. Show him the video and then ask him:

" well, do you want to pay it yourself, or do I now call in your insurance company and ask nicely them to sort it out. A good friend mr. Dealer will love to change that clip for a lot more and you will have your NCBs gone too."

At this situation it's not about how big damage, but it's about to teach fecker a lesson.
    It's all nice and mighty, but if that would happen to anyone's car in here and prick would have an attidute problems I bet most of you would pursue the fecker too. I know I would.
    I can't think of a single reason to engage further with the driver of the other car in any way. OP should go straight through his insurance, including a replacement car for while their own is being repaired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

This is what insurance companies are for OP, just submit a claim and let them deal with it. The other driver has absolutely zero say whether they admit liability or not, let the two companies slug it out and if it happened as you say and you have solid evidence then it'll be over in minutes IMHO.

No way will this end up in court over the amounts involved, easier for both companies to just settle tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Savman wrote: »
    This is what insurance companies are for OP, just submit a claim and let them deal with it. The other driver has absolutely zero say whether they admit liability or not, let the two companies slug it out and if it happened as you say and you have solid evidence then it'll be over in minutes IMHO.

No way will this end up in court over the amounts involved, easier for both companies to just settle tbh.

honestly I'm really hoping it doesn't go to court for the simple reason the amount is soo small I'd feel quite stupid. I already have 4 cameras that can see it and the guys from 2 of them are getting me dvds on Monday, one is on holiday so I have to wait for him to return and I already have a dvd from the guys across the road.

the manager from the store he works at is also looking for cctv themselves to see who is telling the truth etc.

now honestly I dont want anyone to lose a job or anything so I don't know how it will play out.

let the games begin !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Just get the footage OP. He damaged your car end of story so it's either his responsibility or that of his insurance company. If he loses his job, that's a separate matter & absolutely nothing to do with you. I'll bet you're quite reasonable & wouldn't have gone any further had he just put his hands up on the spot

My car was scraped in Dundrum shopping centre & needless to say whoever did it legged it so I know how it feels. Also happened on a banger I learned to drive in. It's bollox & ends up costing money.

b
    Just get the footage OP. He damaged your car end of story so it's either his responsibility or that of his insurance company. If he loses his job, that's a separate matter & absolutely nothing to do with you. I'll bet you're quite reasonable & wouldn't have gone any further had he just put his hands up on the spot

My car was scraped in Dundrum shopping centre & needless to say whoever did it legged it so I know how it feels. Also happened on a banger I learned to drive in. It's bollox & ends up costing money.

If he had said sorry or whatever then fine it happens but he didn't so no matter what happens my car will be fixed from his side.

just waiting for the rest of the cctv and to call my ins company a call on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

All for a broken clip?
    Getting new clip and forgetting about it would be cheaper than spending all your time getting CCTV etc etc.
    kippy wrote: »
    I'd have to agree with the previous two posters.
    Your time and that of those you will be getting this footage from, as well as Gardai and everyone else you may get involved in this is far more valuable than the cost of the repair by the sounds of it.
    It's a pain in the hole, possibly and rather annoying but sometimes you got to know when to let things be.

All to put an arsehole that thinks he's above all else and laws/common decency don't apply to him, firmly in his place. That is worth the effort, IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Fair play to you OP, that person needs a lesson in behaviour and manners. Hope you get a good outcome, well done for pursuing him.

just on a side note to all of this

I downloaded dailyroads voyager to my phone and it will be staying in the windscreen !

I don't want to push this but what are the chances of getting compensation from this fool ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'd get everything I could out of the prick. Accidents happen, but being abusive and accusing you of lying? He deserves to be taken to the cleaners and hopefully lose his job. I've no sympathy for people like that.

how would you go about that when saying it to your company ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Sounds like a dick, feck the money make him sweat on principle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I don't want to push this but what are the chances of getting compensation from this fool ?
    Compensation for what, exactly? You weren't hurt, so all you're going to get is your own car put back in its pre-accident state and any associated expenses (ie car rental) reimbursed. You are obliged to inform your insurance company immediately - they'll give you an accident report form to fill out, and you should also pass on any CCTV evidence you manage to gather, names of Gardaí etc. You get your car repaired and then forget about the whole thing. Under no circumstances should you either initiate or accept any contact whatsoever with the other party - let the insurance companies handle it from here on in.

i have no intention of contacting the other party, only his insurance.

compensation ?

well I suppose for the whole hassle of this, him lying, saying that I am scramming him and him wasting time and all sorts my this more ****.

I'm not entirely sure to be honest

all I know though my car will be fixed final. bug if I can get extra out of this knob I'd like to

i have no intention of contacting the other party, only his insurance.

compensation ?

well I suppose for the whole hassle of this, him lying, saying that I am scramming him and him wasting time and all sorts my this more ****.

I'm not entirely sure to be honest

all I know though my car will be fixed final. bug if I can get extra out of this knob I'd like to
    Nah, you rarely, if ever, get compensated (in financial terms) in situations like this for the "hassle" element of it.

so progress today.

sent off my psa license renewal - check

spoke to my insurance company about everything, got a quote off car craft too for €77 for everything all in.

other party spoke to me and said his insurance "experts" wants to see my car.

no bother. turns out to be axa. lol

they said. no problem, we'll replace that part and re-align the bumper for you.

grand thanks. see ya later :-)

fun. I hope this guy loses his ncb and is done for lying.

now to drive off into the sunset with elton john crocodile rock :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

All to put an arsehole that thinks he's above all else and laws/common decency don't apply to him, firmly in his place. That is worth the effort, IMHO.

I just work out how much time it will take, work out what I get paid normally for that time and if the return is less then I just forget about.

I can use that time for other things such as doctors appointments, spending time with my wife, doing the garden etc, I already burn 12 hours / week just getting to and from work, last thing i'd want to is spend more of my well earned time off on some arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

just on a side note to all of this

I downloaded dailyroads voyager to my phone and it will be staying in the windscreen !

I got a CARPA 120 Black box a few years ago, It records everything and have a large memory capacity with 16GB memory card. It records in front of the car and into the cabin so it record driver and passengers and any hit from behind.
    I had one unruly passenger years ago, I wished I had this to recorder. I could replay her reckless behaviour back for others to see what really happened and the lies she claimed to others, that I was driving very fast and reckless and claims she never hit me while I was driving. She hit me because I would not speed up, I was driving at the speed limit!! She is now my ex and was sober at the time, we were on our way to town to the pub to meet up with friends. That night ended a long going saga, in which I dumped her that night and let her so called friends drop her home and refused to go out with her again, despite pressure from former friends and family members, claiming she so sweet. She had a Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde personality.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/NEW-Dual-Camera-Car-Cam-GPS-BlackBox-Black-Box-/150508738653?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item230b05185d
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/CARPA-120-DUAL-CAMERA-2-CHANNELS-Car-Black-Box-DVR-GPS-gopro-dod-NIGHT-VISION-IR-/120949021999?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c291f9d2f

Some of these black boxes have issues. mine the knobs no longer work as it made from light plastic, but it still recording which is important and the setting I can set within the SD card files. I review the events recording after a month and delete if no incidence happened of just a bump/small speed bump on the road that set the write protection over the 3 minute recording file.

http://www.youtube.com/user/CarpaSurveillance

The Final straw for me getting one was because of reckless mothers taking on Mobile phones, pulling out in front of me with young toddlers kids loose and jumping around in their car while pulling into or out on to the road outside the school during the first big freeze two years ago. I got a few close scares because of them. It got me over the fear of privacy. Now I am paranoid that it might not record the incident I want, knowing the full force of Murphy's Law as an engineer. What can go wrong will go wrong. Hopefully, please god I will never need it, but it would be good insurance of having a unbiased witness. My Insurance company do not know about it nor will I have the desire to tell them.

I know of one young mother a few door down from me who nuts on the road, who sued a taxi driver for hitting her with kids in the car and stated that the Taxi driver waved her on to come onto the road. I have no doubt she pulled out in front of him quickly without been waved on, as I often witness her pull in front of cars like a nutter in the driving seat that she is. He got done for reckless driving even though he was on the main road originally and not coming on to the main road like she did but because he hit her rear bumper, he got done in the Courts both civil through insurance and by the DPP for reckless driving. Judge said he was lucky he did not hurt anyone otherwise it would have been dangerous driving.

I have brought the CARPA 130 waiting for it to be delivered, as it takes a higher capacity up to 32gb and better built and better temperature range. I rather pay up to €250 to have a unbiased witness rather than have to hassle of liars get away with it.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=m570.l3201&_nkw=CARPA+130&_sacat=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 acer15

I just work out how much time it will take, work out what I get paid normally for that time and if the return is less then I just forget about.

I can use that time for other things such as doctors appointments, spending time with my wife, doing the garden etc, I already burn 12 hours / week just getting to and from work, last thing i'd want to is spend more of my well earned time off on some arsehole.

Do you apply that logic when you log onto boards?

acer15 wrote: »

Do you apply that logic when you log onto boards?
    He probably gets some enjoyment from logging into boards.