Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not being on Facebook is cool...or is it?

• 13-07-2012 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

Im not on Facebook, hateful thing IMO.
    But lately im surprised at the amount of pressure people are putting on me to join, its as if that being on it is the be all and end all.
    When I tell others im not on, they damn near spit their drink out in disgust.

What the f*+k, is anyone else with me here!!

And before anyone jumps in with the "because you have no friends" comment, I do, plenty, haha, f*$k off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Usually my retort of "Facebook me hole" procludes them from asking me again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

GastroBoy wrote: »
    Have you ever been on it? If not, on what basis is it hateful? It's no more hateful than any large scale social interaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I use facebook as a new avenue to troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Not being on facebook isn't cool, nor is it uncool.

If you aren't on it cuz you have no need or use for it, that's grand.

The ones however who make a point of not being on facebook, especially ones who were at one stage but have now closed their accounts, as if they are above it or some sh*te - are just as much of an arsehole as the retards addicted to facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Being on Facebook is neither cool or uncool, it is simply convenient.

OP, I suggest you stop worrying about what your peers think of you and concentrate on what make you happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

na gave up on it 2 yrs ago, no more perving or stalking for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

Not being on Facebook is similar to not having a mobile phone in the late 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Kwack

I HATE facebook. Used be on it and was constantly getting friend requests form people I wouldn't say hello to in real life.
    My ex an me had so many fights about me playing xbox with her mates as "xbox is stupid and for kids"(im 29 btw) yet she logged into facebook for hours at a time playing farmville etc?!? She honestly could not see how silly her argument was! Thankfully she is an ex and current girlfriend is awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

You still using Bebo op?? Must be cold and lonely in there now................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Private Piles

Depends on your age really...

In my experience the people that I know who are over 35 and on facebook are a little bit creepy and sad, no offence to anyone here if you fall into that bracket, as I said that's just my experience.

Then you have the desperately insecure types that still use it to show off, look for attention and sympathy or compliments.

And then you have people who just have their fb account to communicate with their reals friends. I know that's what my friends and I seem to have drifted into, if we are planning a get-together (because we all live in different parts of the country) we all talk together on a message thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

People who think they're cool for not being on Facebook are absolute knobheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Pushtrak wrote: »
    Have you ever been on it? If not, on what basis is it hateful? It's no more hateful than any large scale social interaction.

I had an account for about six months before I deleted it, and I've never regretted it. It eats up time and the flow of updates on what people are having for dinner, what their dogs have done, and how much they've managed to drink etc were grating on my nerves. I don't need to know any of it.

If I'm good friends with you I'll call you up or see you. If you're a facebook friend there's probably a good reason why you're not more. If I meet you at a party I don't want you privy to the details of my life so I won't accept your friend request. To some this appears rude. Its just easier to avoid it altogether.

I've always felt it promoted fairly empty interactions, and I don't miss it. What really irritates me now is being considered out of the loop because I choose not to participate. Ultimately, I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I don't really get all the hate for it. Once you have the privacy settings the way you want it, it's grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

Depends on your age really...

In my experience the people that I know who are over 35 and on facebook are a little bit creepy and sad, no offence to anyone here if you fall into that bracket, as I said that's just my experience.

Then you have the desperately insecure types that still use it to show off, look for attention and sympathy or compliments.

And then you have people who just have their fb account to communicate with their reals friends. I know that's what my friends and I seem to have drifted into, if we are planning a get-together (because we all live in different parts of the country) we all talk together on a message thread.

Ah, so basically everyone who uses FB who is not one of your pals, well there's something wrong with them.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

frag420 wrote: »
    You still using Bebo op?? Must be cold and lonely in there now................

BEBO me hole.......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I closed mine about 2.5 years ago. Im 31 not really into that "sort of thing" if your name is not in my phonebook then you are not a friend..don't need to be friends with tards from school and the likes online.. Hotmail and phoning people ftw!

puffishoes wrote: »
    Ah, so basically everyone who uses FB who doesn't use it the way my pals do is not one of your pals, well there's something wrong with them.

:cool:

Yep pretty much. And I include my boyfriend in that, he still uses fb for showing off and 'like' whoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Closed mine about 6 months ago. At that stage had about 60-70% of the people on it blocked, in that I couldn't see their updates.

The absolute shíte people write about themselves thinking other people want to know is mindblowing. There's seriously something lacking in your life if you feel the need to tell people on facebook what you had for dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I quit it last year for a number of reasons.
    It was taking up so much of my time, every time i sat at a computer I felt compelled to check it. At times I almost felt trapped by it and eventually said enough is enough.
    It's a total nightmare if you have a girlfriend. Girls are particularly idiotic when it comes to facebook and every time someone left a message or something she didnt know about it was a bloody fight.
    I dont like people knowing what Im doing and where I am all the time. And before you say 'Well dont post updates about it,' it was more friends posting **** like "in pub with such and such," or getting tagged in photos.
    The targeted advertising stuff really creeped me out.
    Even with full security restrictions on I was very uncomfortable with the amount of things people in my workplace could glean about my private life and at one stage a disgruntled ex employee tried to use facebook to get me fired.
    Contrary to its claim to be a 'social network' I found it to be one of the most anti-social things a person could engage with. People would sit using it on there phone in the pub talkng about what a great time they were having. The girlfriend would sit for hours on her laptop looking at the same **** and could only go a few hours without checking it. I began to see less and less of Friends who I had spoken regularly to before facebook. It seemed 'liking' something or leaving a three line comment was easier than arranging to meet up.

The big thing however was that every time i looked at it i started to really hate my friends and family. People whom I love and adore in real life began to irk me endlessly online.
    Their endless barrage of inane and idiotic comments about every single thought that entered their mind infuriated me.
    Worse, I found myself doing it. After I had written some big rant about some insignificant thing that had happened one day I looked at it and realised I was a self obsessed, self-important, narcissistic cunt an that nobody needed to know, nor indeed cared to hear, every detail of every aspect of every day. That was when I quit it.
    I pray to God it goes the way of Bebo and the Dodo soon and people can get back to actually communicating with each other instead of at each other. With real words, proper spelling and grammar as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

I just hate when people use it to appear like they've some sort of superior lifestyle...

..like certain people who go on holiday and brag about the fact they're there and you're here...

..fcuk off ya useless prick, you're only on holiday! We all go on them.

I wouldn't mind but it's only to the Canary islands!!!! Twat.

Edit: and upload a picture of the weather app to show how warm it is compared to here. Christ's sake..if you're not in Ireland you're pretty much guaranteed better weather anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

baz2009 wrote: »
    People who think they're cool for not being on Facebook are absolute knobheads.

With a sig like yours you should take care who you call a knobhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

To the anti-facebook crowd, is boards better? Worse? And why? Just curious how people can post often on boards and complain about facebook. Be it as in the previous post about anti-social reasons, especially, but not exclusively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The idea of having a facebook isnt bad. Keep in touch with distant friends & family or another avenue to talk to your current friends. You cant fault the idea of the site. Problem is, its what the average person does that makes it so fecking... well stupid.

Eg,

[1], Going out of your way to have 400+ friends (or whatever) Adding acquaintances. To even adding people you barely know. Best one is people adding other people from their past tho :rolleyes: Some job you had over a decade ago. Someone you barely talked to and havent talked to since :rolleyes: *click add*
    [2], Posting so many pictures of your nights out to make it seem you have an amazing social life :rolleyes:
    [3], constantly updating your status with random crap that no one really cares about ... "going to see batman tonight! :D" .... "watching batman at the moment (via facebook mobile)" ... "watched batman so awesome!" ... "in kfc after watching batman! yummy!" ... who cares.

Problem is there are so many people "keeping up with the jones" and thats why the above happens.

I don't really understand how people can spend so much time on it, but then I don't really read everyone's statuses in massive detail, and I certainly don't play any of the games
    it's good for keeping in touch with people, sending the odd private message, posting up some pictures

Pushtrak wrote: »
    To the anti-facebook crowd, is boards better? Worse? And why? Just curious how people can post often on boards and complain about facebook. Be it as in the previous post about anti-social reasons, especially, but not exclusively.

Boards is completely different. It's an anonymous forum for discussing a vast array of topics. Facebook is just a way of shouting "look at me, look at me" at every person you have ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

GastroBoy wrote: »
    But lately im surprised at the amount of pressure people are putting on me to join, its as if that being on it is the be all and end all.
    When I tell others im not on, they damn near spit their drink out in disgust.

What the f*+k, is anyone else with me here!!

And before anyone jumps in with the "because you have no friends" comment, I do, plenty, haha, f*$k off.

I get where you re coming from in your post- Id be private enough I don,t use facebook or any social network site, I used facebook briefly for a short while then deleted my profile, while I used it briefly I never used any pictures of myself as the main profile picture, I honestly don,t get nor understand how some people put almost everything up on facebook for example photos of nights out, what they did for the day updating status, wedding album photos/posting where they plan to go for lunch or dinner that day- I don,t understand either how some people on facebook have very little set to private viewing for friends only and leave their facebook profile wide open for everyone and anyone to see and look at, I remember in one conversation with some friends, I asked them do you not realize having your facebook profile open to the general public anyone could be looking at your at data and could use it without you knowing, one reply was she never really thought about it and wasn,t bothered who might look at her open facebook profile- plus to add in todays social media people should realize having an open facebook account with everything on public viewing, employers can be looking up people online before Interviews and finding out info on interviewees and just see one little thing they mightn,t like and not hire the person for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I don't necessarily think facebook is just a way of shouting "look at me, look at me". Certainly some people use it for that, but I don't, and my friends don't. Then again, I haven't signed up everyone I ever met as a friend on facebook.

If you hate facebook, maybe your facebook friends are just assholes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Boards is completely different. It's an anonymous forum for discussing a vast array of topics. Facebook is just a way of shouting "look at me, look at me" at every person you have ever met.

I'd say you are correct about facebook, but half right about boards :P

With Facebook you can certainly get alot of "look at me" types. But on boards you can get alot of "i'm right, YOU'RE WRONG!" types tho.

The big thing however was that every time i looked at it i started to really hate my friends and family.

Same here, and I was very surprised to realise that people I would have considered confident and secure clearly weren't!

I also started spying on my brother and telling my mam what/who he was at (not too proud of that) :o

Now I have a new account with about 12 friends on it and only use the messages every couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

99% of the population seem to be born with the curious gene. The need to find out whats going on in the lives of your family, friends, neighbours, people you havent seen in years etc etc. Hence why people spend so long stalking online. I lack that gene so have no real need for facebook. If I meet the person or I call them or they me, then fine, lets catch up. But I have no desire to trawl through people lives via facebook, and even less of a desire to put my life on it for others to trawl through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BazDel

I can see why your friends would want you to join OP. I use facebook to communicate with my friends a lot and it's a handy way to leave messages and stuff. The problem for your friends is that while they're all chatting on Facebook they need to contact you some other way. I guess if you were on it also it would just be handier :)

Also a lot of people complain about people they barely know adding them and people posting crap. These are valid points but easily avoided. Just make sure you only add people you want to talk to. You can always unfriend or block what people say later on if you have to.

Diapason wrote: »
    I don't necessarily think facebook is just a way of shouting "look at me, look at me". Certainly some people use it for that, but I don't, and my friends don't. Then again, I haven't signed up everyone I ever met as a friend on facebook.

If you hate facebook, maybe your facebook friends are just assholes?

Well I dont know you and I've never seen your account so I couldnt possibly comment on your good self.
    What I would say is that I have plenty of friends who would make the same claim as you and genuinely dont even realise when they're doing that shite. The odd time the gf shows me stuff on facebook I see people who claim to only use it the odd time for talking to friends doing the exact same attention seeking stuff as everyone else.
    Im not condemning them, I did it myself for years, its just the nature of the site and the way it makes people act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

The problem with fb is that when you actually get together with your friends there's nothing left to say

Well I dont know you and I've never seen your account so I couldnt possibly comment on your good self.
    What I would say is that I have plenty of friends who would make the same claim as you and genuinely dont even realise when they're doing that shite. The odd time the gf shows me stuff on facebook I see people who claim to only use it the odd time for talking to friends doing the exact same attention seeking stuff as everyone else.
    Im not condemning them, I did it myself for years, its just the nature of the site and the way it makes people act

Hey, you could be right. Don't they say that if there's no asshole in your group of friends then you're the asshole? I could easily be the asshole!!

Diapason wrote: »
    Hey, you could be right. Don't they say that if there's no asshole in your group of friends then you're the asshole? I could easily be the asshole!!

Im sure you're lovely.

mitosis wrote: »
    The problem with fb is that when you actually get together with your friends there's nothing left to say

Like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

yep im not on that ****e either, as ive always said its just a stage for people to show off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I've tried to get the bang off a number of my ex grilfriends.

Its handy that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd say you are correct about facebook, but half right about boards :P

With Facebook you can certainly get alot of "look at me" types. But on boards you can get alot of "i'm right, YOU'RE WRONG!" types tho.

You're wrong about that and I'm right about you being wrong about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Not 'cool'..alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

maximoose wrote: »
    Not being on facebook isn't cool, nor is it uncool.

If you aren't on it cuz you have no need or use for it, that's grand.

The ones however who make a point of not being on facebook, especially ones who were at one stage but have now closed their accounts, as if they are above it or some sh*te - are just as much of an arsehole as the retards addicted to facebook.

lol.. sure that's the reason why everyone moved from Bebo to Facebook. Ask anyone that used to be active on Bebo what they think of it now, and basically the response will be 'it's below me', 'full of kids and scangers'... all of which are now on bloody Facebook like.

I've never really understood why those sites are so popular. Sure they're good for keeping in touch with people but that's about it as far as I can tell. My mates never shut up about it.. even when talking to each other in person they'll inevitably end up chatting about Facebook.. it's mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I don't think it's a question of cool...

I'm toying with closing mine. I wouldn't miss it. I used to think it was great for keeping in contact with people but I don't see it that way anymore.

At the start it was new and fun but it's all routine now. I could tell you what will be posted each day. The start of the week people complain about hangovers, midweek it's Who's going out? Friday it's Wooooo! FRIDAY, and some what's going on messages. That's not everyone, but that is a lot of it.
    A lot more adds too. "Share this to win" spam.
    I like seeing the odd picture but it doesn't tickle me. We're all only looking at the girls, a bit of voyeurism.
    How do I feel about it? I'll put it like this. If you met someone for a pint or lunch and they pulled out a wad of random photos from when they were drunk, pulling faces and some holiday snaps how enthusiastic are you going to be to sit there and have to look at them?

Looking at Facebook is like perpetually looking into the living room the morning after.

For me Twitter is a far better social platform and doesn't have as much nonsense attached to it. Added to that, I'm on Boards, and I don't feel I need more than that between the two. They kill enough time themselves.
    I have a phone, I have e-mail, Twitter. As far as being in contact goes, It would be difficult not to reach me if someone really wanted to.

I find Boards a better platform. A much larger user base that covers any topic under the sun and the relative anonymity that you don't need to watch what you type. No eggshells there.

Twitter is lightweight and more information driven, as well as for keeping up with people. It rewards wit more so. If something is very concise, funny or intelligent it can get a lot of re-tweets and that person can get some followers out if it. Stupid stuff will as well but I find Twitter a much more savvy place and with way more humour injected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭sarabroderick

not being on facebook should be like giving money to charity, it should be done silently and without a big fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

It's like ironically cool,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Contrary to its claim to be a 'social network' I found it to be one of the most anti-social things a person could engage with. People would sit using it on there phone in the pub talkng about what a great time they were having. The girlfriend would sit for hours on her laptop looking at the same **** and could only go a few hours without checking it. I began to see less and less of Friends who I had spoken regularly to before facebook. It seemed 'liking' something or leaving a three line comment was easier than arranging to meet up.

The big thing however was that every time i looked at it i started to really hate my friends and family. People whom I love and adore in real life began to irk me endlessly online.
    Their endless barrage of inane and idiotic comments about every single thought that entered their mind infuriated me.
    Worse, I found myself doing it. After I had written some big rant about some insignificant thing that had happened one day I looked at it and realised I was a self obsessed, self-important, narcissistic cunt an that nobody needed to know, nor indeed cared to hear, every detail of every aspect of every day. That was when I quit it.
    I pray to God it goes the way of Bebo and the Dodo soon and people can get back to actually communicating with each other instead of at each other. With real words, proper spelling and grammar as well.

AGREE WHOLEHEARTLY.

Facebook profile now deleted! :D

I'm freeeeeee.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Cuddlemonsta

I would open a Facebook account if Facebook could notify me when someone delete's me. That way I could 'Like' it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lesserspottedchloe

Personally I think Facebook is a load of arse. I do have an account to keep in touch with friends/family abroad and bitch about college with my classmates-people use it for many different reasons!

But, lately I log in less and less due to the amount of people that use it as a P.R. tool for their fabulous lives and wonderful relationships..seriously nobody wants to see a picture of what you had for dinner last night (congrats you know how to work a microwave), if you love your boyfriend soooo much why don't you just walk into the next room and tell him? And if the gig your at is so 'awesome' why are you constantly checking your FB and updating your status every 10mins? :pac:

rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

what's this obsession with whether things are cool or not

who gives a toss. join facebook if you want. dont if you dont want

Also, I must admit that I'm really quite interested in what people are having for dinner. Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

facebook is dying a slow, painful death.
    that's why Zuckerberg did the IPO, to put a monetary value on the company, and give him an exit strategy.